DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi et al. (US 2017/0250432).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Takahashi discloses a fuel cell catalyst([0013]), comprising a carbon powder carrier([0013], [0131]), and catalyst particles carried on the carbon powder carrier([0138]-[0142]), wherein the catalyst particles are Pt alloy particles([0139]-[0140]), the fuel cell catalyst has 0.65 mmol/g or more of hydrophilic groups(preferably 0.7 mmol/g or more [0061] which differs from the claimed range by 0.05 therefore is sufficiently specific and anticipates). The examiner notes the limitations
when 0.5 g of the fuel cell catalyst is immersed in 30 mL of a 0.5 mol/L sulfuric acid solution and maintained at room temperature for 100 hours while stirring, an elution amount of Pt is 0.625 mg or less per gram of the fuel cell catalyst (claim 1) and wherein the elution amount of Pt is 0.300 mg or less per gram of the fuel cell catalyst (claim 3) are results to be achieved. As Takahashi discloses the fuel cell catalyst, it follows the fuel cell catalyst has the properties when the steps are performed.
Regarding claim 2, Takahashi discloses the hydrophilic groups are acidic groups([0061]).
Regarding claim 4, Takahashi discloses the Pt alloy particles are alloy particles containing: Pt, and one or more metals selected from the group consisting of Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, Ni, Cu, Ga, Ru, Ir, Pd, Os, and Rh([0139]-[0140]).
Regarding claim 5, Takahashi discloses an average particle size of the catalyst particles is 2 nm or more and 10 nm or less( 3 nm or more and 10 nm or less [0142]).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Takahashi discloses an electrode of a fuel cell, comprising the fuel cell catalyst according to claim 1 ([0041]-[0043]) and wherein the electrode is a cathode([0043]).
Regarding claim 8, Takahashi discloses a fuel cell, comprising the electrode according to claim 6 ([0202]-[0205]).
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In particular, the allowable limitation is a method for the production of the fuel cell catalyst according to claim 1, the method comprising the steps of: carrying the catalyst particles on a carbon powder carrier to prepare a catalyst particle-carrying carbon powder; contacting the catalyst particle-carrying carbon powder with an oxidizing agent to impart hydrophilic groups to the catalyst particle-carrying carbon powder to prepare a fuel cell catalyst precursor; and contacting the fuel cell catalyst precursor with a reducing agent to prepare a fuel cell catalyst.
In the instant invention, the hydrophilic group imparting step may involve heat treatment during or after contact between the catalyst particle-carrying carbon powder and the oxidizing agent ([0122] US 2023/0420695). In the reduction step, the fuel cell catalyst precursor is brought into contact with a reducing agent to prepare the fuel cell catalyst([0124]). In this reduction step, it is desirable to adjust the degree of reduction so that the hydrophilic groups on the catalyst particles are removed by reduction but the hydrophilic groups on the carbon powder carrier are not removed([0124]).
Takahashi discloses a method for the production of the fuel cell catalyst according to claim 1 ([0160]-[0162]), the method comprising the steps of: carrying the catalyst particles on a carbon powder carrier to prepare a catalyst particle-carrying carbon powder([0163]-[0186]); contacting the catalyst particle-carrying carbon powder with an oxidizing agent to impart hydrophilic groups to the catalyst particle-carrying carbon powder to prepare a fuel cell catalyst precursor([0187]-[0189]); but does not disclose, teach or render obvious contacting the fuel cell catalyst precursor with a reducing agent to prepare a fuel cell catalyst.
6. Claims 10 & 11 are objected to as being dependent upon allowable claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the allowable claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724