Claims Status
The remarks filed 05/05/2026 are acknowledged.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Applicant’s election of Group II, claim 14, in the reply filed on 05/05/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant’s election of the following species in the reply filed 05/05/2026 is acknowledged: polysorbate 80 and sucrose. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-13 and 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/05/2026.
Claim 14 is under examination.
Priority
The instant application is a 371 of PCT/CN2021/132037 and claims priority to People’s Republic of China application CN202011405207.9. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) and receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Although the certified copy of the foreign priority document was received, the Examiner is unable to determine whether or not the Chinese foreign priority document discloses what is presently claimed because the document is in Chinese. Therefore, priority is given with the effective filing date of 11/22/2021, which is the PCT filing date.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/31/2023, 07/31/2024, 06/11/2025, and 04/16/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, except where noted. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Notably, the disclosure statement filed lists a Search Report. The listing of the references cited in a Search Report itself is not considered to be an information disclosure statement (IDS) complying with 37 CFR 1.98. 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2) requires a legible copy of: (1) each foreign patent; (2) each publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; (3) for each cited pending U.S. application, the application specification including claims, and any drawing of the application, or that portion of the application which caused it to be listed including any claims directed to that portion, unless the cited pending U.S. application is stored in the Image File Wrapper (IFW) system; and (4) all other information, or that portion which caused it to be listed. In addition, each IDS must include a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office (see 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1) and (b)), and MPEP § 609.04(a), subsection I. states, "the list ... must be submitted on a separate paper." Therefore, the references cited in the Search Report have not been considered. Applicant is advised that the date of submission of any item of information or any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the IDS, including all "statement" requirements of 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Note: If copies of the individual references cited on the Search Report are also cited separately on the IDS (and these references have not been lined-through) they have been considered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains embedded hyperlinks and/or other forms of browser-executable code (see page 30, line 16 of the specification). Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http://, www., or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 14 recites
An acronym (i.e. TSLP). The first time an acronym is used, it must be accompanied by the definition of the abbreviation. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (WO2014031718; 05/21/2023 IDS) in view of Shi (WO2020244544; 05/31/2023 IDS) and Andya (EP1802344; instant PTO-892).
Li teaches stable formulations of antibodies against TSLP [0004], specifically, a lyophilized pharmaceutical formulation (composition) of an anti-TSLP antibody or antigen binding fragment thereof that when reconstituted comprises a) 40-100 mg/mL antibody, b) about 7% sucrose (equivalent to 70 mg/mL), c) about 0.02% polysorbate 80 (equivalent to 0.2 mg/mL), and d) about 10 mM histidine buffer at a pH of 5.5 [0014]. MPEP 2144.05 (I) states “in the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facia case of obviousness exists.”
However, Li does not specifically teach that the anti-TSLP antibody comprises a heavy chain set forth in SEQ ID NO: 139 and a light chain set forth in SEQ ID NO: 140 or that the histidine buffer is a histidine-acetate buffer.
Shi teaches an anti-TSLP antibody that comprises the heavy chain amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 139 and the light chain amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 140 [0096, 0104, 0580-0584], which is a monoclonal antibody. Shi further teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising a therapeutically effective amount of the anti-TSLP and one or more pharmaceutically acceptable carriers, diluents, buffers, or excipients [0111].
SEQ ID NOs: 139 and 140 of Shi have 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NOs: 139 and 140 of the instant claim.
Andya teaches histidine-acetate, pH 5.5 to 6.5, as a particularly useful buffer for formulating monoclonal antibodies, and that the formulation retards degradation of the antibody product therein [0041].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formulated the antibody of Shi in the pharmaceutical composition of Li. One would have been motivated to use the pharmaceutical composition of Li to formulate a composition comprising the antibody of Shi because Liu teaches this formulation provides a stable formulation for antibodies against TSLP. One of skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that formulating the antibody of Shi in the composition of Li would produce a composition with superior stabilization properties. It further would have been obvious to have substituted the histidine buffer of Li to be the histidine-acetate buffer of Andya with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to have made this modification because Andya teaches that histidine-acetate is a particularly useful buffer for formulating monoclonal antibodies, and that the formulation retards degradation of the antibody product therein.
Additionally, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007),
discloses that if a technique has been used to improve one method, and a person of
ordinary skill would recognize that it would be used in similar methods in the same way,
using the technique is obvious unless its application is beyond that person's skill. It
would be obvious to apply a known technique to a known product to be used in a known
method that is ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Thus, the combination
of prior art references as combined provides a prima facie case of obviousness, absent
convincing evidence to the contrary.
Further, regarding the specific concentrations for all of the components of the
composition (i.e. antibody, histidine-acetate, sucrose, and polysorbate 80), these are art
recognized variables and therefore, one would engage in routine optimization to obtain
the desired result of a stable formulation for the composition, thus arriving at these
specific concentrations as claimed. See MPEP 2144.05 (II). Further, it is the normal
desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known. The
MPEP states the following: generally, differences in concentration or temperature will
not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there
is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[Where the general
conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the
optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller. 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a
temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70%
was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the
claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson. 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at
1382 (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already
generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of
percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”); In re Hoeschele, 406
F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell
within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover
because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed
ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this
principle, see Merck & Co. Inc, v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc.. 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d
1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert, denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling. 897 F.2d 1147, 14
USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler. 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362
(Fed. Cir. 1997). The determination of specific excipients at specific concentrations in
the instant composition requires only routine experimentation for one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, given that the excipients and antibody are common to include in the
formulation of antibody compositions, as taught in the art above, without specific
evidence that the indicated concentrations are critical to the formulation, the
identification of these properties will not render the subject matter patentable.
Double Patenting
U.S. Patent No. 12,202,891 (‘891)
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,202,891 (‘891) in view of Li (WO2014031718; 05/21/2023 IDS) and Andya (EP1802344; instant PTO-892).
Regarding claim 14 of the instant application, claim 9 of ‘891 teaches an anti-thymic stromal lymphopoietin (anti-TSLP) antibody comprising: a heavy chain comprising the amino acid shown in SEQ ID NO: 139, and a light chain comprising the amino acid sequence as shown in SEQ ID NO: 140.
SEQ ID NOs: 139 and 140 of ‘891 have 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NOs: 139 and 140 of the instant claim.
However, ‘891 does not specifically teach that the antibody is in a pharmaceutical composition that comprises 100-150 mg/mL of the antibody, 0.1-0.8 mg/mL polysorbate 80, 10-30mM histidine-acetate buffer, and 50-70 mg/mL sucrose, wherein the
pharmaceutical composition has a pH of 5.5-6.5.
Li teaches stable formulations of antibodies against TSLP [0004], specifically, a lyophilized pharmaceutical formulation (composition) of an anti-TSLP antibody or antigen binding fragment thereof that when reconstituted comprises a) 40-100 mg/mL antibody, b) about 7% sucrose (equivalent to 70 mg/mL), c) about 0.02% polysorbate 80 (equivalent to 0.2 mg/mL), and d) about 10 mM histidine buffer at a pH of 5.5 [0014]. MPEP 2144.05 (I) states “in the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facia case of obviousness exists.”
Andya teaches histidine-acetate, pH 5.5 to 6.5, as a particularly useful buffer for formulating monoclonal antibodies, and that the formulation retards degradation of the antibody product therein [0041].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formulated the antibody of ‘891 in the pharmaceutical composition of Li. One would have been motivated to use the pharmaceutical composition of Li to formulate a composition comprising the antibody of ‘891 because Liu teaches this formulation provides a stable formulation for antibodies against TSLP. One of skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that formulating the antibody of ‘891 in the composition of Li would produce a composition with superior stabilization properties. It further would have been obvious to have substituted the histidine buffer of Li to be the histidine-acetate buffer of Andya with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to have made this modification because Andya teaches that histidine-acetate is a particularly useful buffer for formulating monoclonal antibodies, and that the formulation retards degradation of the antibody product therein.
Additionally, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007),
discloses that if a technique has been used to improve one method, and a person of
ordinary skill would recognize that it would be used in similar methods in the same way,
using the technique is obvious unless its application is beyond that person's skill. It
would be obvious to apply a known technique to a known product to be used in a known
method that is ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Thus, the combination
of prior art references as combined provides a prima facie case of obviousness, absent
convincing evidence to the contrary.
Further, regarding the specific concentrations for all of the components of the
composition (i.e. antibody, histidine-acetate, sucrose, and polysorbate 80), these are art
recognized variables and therefore, one would engage in routine optimization to obtain
the desired result of a stable formulation for the composition, thus arriving at these
specific concentrations as claimed. See MPEP 2144.05 (II). Further, it is the normal
desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known. The
MPEP states the following: generally, differences in concentration or temperature will
not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there
is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[Where the general
conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the
optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller. 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a
temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70%
was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the
claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson. 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at
1382 (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already
generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of
percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”); In re Hoeschele, 406
F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell
within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover
because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed
ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this
principle, see Merck & Co. Inc, v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc.. 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d
1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert, denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling. 897 F.2d 1147, 14
USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler. 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362
(Fed. Cir. 1997). The determination of specific excipients at specific concentrations in
the instant composition requires only routine experimentation for one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, given that the excipients and antibody are common to include in the
formulation of antibody compositions, as taught in the art above, without specific
evidence that the indicated concentrations are critical to the formulation, the
identification of these properties will not render the subject matter patentable.
U.S. Patent No. 12,404,323 (‘323)
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,404,323 (‘323) in view of Li (WO2014031718; 05/21/2023 IDS) and Andya (EP1802344; instant PTO-892).
Regarding claim 14 of the instant application, claim 1 of ‘323 teaches a method for treating a human patient having a TSLP-related disease, the method comprising administering to the human patient a therapeutically effective amount of an anti-TSLP antibody comprising: i) a heavy chain variable region comprising HCDR1, HCDR2 and HCDR3 as shown in SEQ ID NO: 26, SEQ ID NO: 94 and SEQ ID NO: 28, respectively; and, (ii) a light chain variable region comprising LCDR1, LCDR2 and LCDR3 as shown in SEQ ID NO: 29, SEQ ID NO: 113 and SEQ ID NO: 31, respectively; wherein the TSLP-related disease is asthma, or nasal polyposis, claim 2 teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the anti-TSLP antibody further comprises a heavy chain variable region comprising the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 97, and a amino acid sequence of the light chain variable region comprising the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 119, claim 3 teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the anti-TSLP antibody further comprises an antibody heavy chain constant region and a light chain constant region; wherein the heavy chain constant region is selected from the group consisting of human IgG1, IgG2, IgG3 and IgG4 constant regions; and wherein the light chain constant region is selected from the group consisting of human antibody K (kappa), human antibody λ (lambda) chain constant regions, claim 4 teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the anti-TSLP antibody further comprises a heavy chain constant region as shown in SEQ ID NO: 133, and a light chain constant region as shown in SEQ ID NO: 134, and claim 5 teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the anti-TSLP antibody further comprises a heavy chain region as shown in SEQ ID NO: 139, and a light chain region as shown in SEQ ID NO: 140.
SEQ ID NOs: 139 and 140 of ‘323 have 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NOs: 139 and 140 of the instant claim.
However, ‘323 does not specifically teach that the antibody is in a pharmaceutical composition that comprises 100-150 mg/mL of the antibody, 0.1-0.8 mg/mL polysorbate 80, 10-30mM histidine-acetate buffer, and 50-70 mg/mL sucrose, wherein the
pharmaceutical composition has a pH of 5.5-6.5.
Li teaches stable formulations of antibodies against TSLP [0004], specifically, a lyophilized pharmaceutical formulation (composition) of an anti-TSLP antibody or antigen binding fragment thereof that when reconstituted comprises a) 40-100 mg/mL antibody, b) about 7% sucrose (equivalent to 70 mg/mL), c) about 0.02% polysorbate 80 (equivalent to 0.2 mg/mL), and d) about 10 mM histidine buffer at a pH of 5.5 [0014]. MPEP 2144.05 (I) states “in the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facia case of obviousness exists.”
Andya teaches histidine-acetate, pH 5.5 to 6.5, as a particularly useful buffer for formulating monoclonal antibodies, and that the formulation retards degradation of the antibody product therein [0041].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formulated the antibody of ‘323 in the pharmaceutical composition of Li. One would have been motivated to use the pharmaceutical composition of Li to formulate a composition comprising the antibody of ‘323 because Liu teaches this formulation provides a stable formulation for antibodies against TSLP. One of skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that formulating the antibody of ‘323 in the composition of Li would produce a composition with superior stabilization properties. It further would have been obvious to have substituted the histidine buffer of Li to be the histidine-acetate buffer of Andya with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to have made this modification because Andya teaches that histidine-acetate is a particularly useful buffer for formulating monoclonal antibodies, and that the formulation retards degradation of the antibody product therein.
Additionally, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007),
discloses that if a technique has been used to improve one method, and a person of
ordinary skill would recognize that it would be used in similar methods in the same way,
using the technique is obvious unless its application is beyond that person's skill. It
would be obvious to apply a known technique to a known product to be used in a known
method that is ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Thus, the combination
of prior art references as combined provides a prima facie case of obviousness, absent
convincing evidence to the contrary.
Further, regarding the specific concentrations for all of the components of the
composition (i.e. antibody, histidine-acetate, sucrose, and polysorbate 80), these are art
recognized variables and therefore, one would engage in routine optimization to obtain
the desired result of a stable formulation for the composition, thus arriving at these
specific concentrations as claimed. See MPEP 2144.05 (II). Further, it is the normal
desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known. The
MPEP states the following: generally, differences in concentration or temperature will
not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there
is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[Where the general
conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the
optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller. 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a
temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70%
was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the
claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson. 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at
1382 (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already
generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of
percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”); In re Hoeschele, 406
F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell
within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover
because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed
ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this
principle, see Merck & Co. Inc, v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc.. 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d
1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert, denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling. 897 F.2d 1147, 14
USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler. 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362
(Fed. Cir. 1997). The determination of specific excipients at specific concentrations in
the instant composition requires only routine experimentation for one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, given that the excipients and antibody are common to include in the
formulation of antibody compositions, as taught in the art above, without specific
evidence that the indicated concentrations are critical to the formulation, the
identification of these properties will not render the subject matter patentable.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/B.E.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1675
/JEFFREY STUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1675