Election/Restrictions
Applicant's reply to the Restriction Requirement, dated July 15, 2026, has been received. By way of this submission, Applicant has elected, without traverse, Group I: claims 1-4, 7-16, 21-24, 27-35, 37-42, 46, 49-51, 54-55, 58-64, 66-67, and 69, drawn to mutant IL-10 polypeptides, and the species of amino acid substitutions N92L, R107A, and D144A, along with insertion of 6 amino acids immediately following residue K117; SEQ ID NO: 427, CDRs of SEQ ID NOs: 225 and 232-236, VH of SEQ ID NO: 251, and VL of SEQ ID NO: 252, embodiment (c) of claim 51, and a first polypeptide chain that comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 153, a second polypeptide chain that comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 154, a third polypeptide chain that comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 155, and a fourth polypeptide chain that comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 153.
Claims 1-4, 7-16, 21-24, 27-35, 37-42, 46, 49-51, 54-55, 58-64, 66-67, 69, 71, 76, and 79 are pending in the application. Claims 11, 30, 32, 38, 41, 54-55, 69, 71, 76, and 79 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-4, 7-10, 12-16, 21-24, 27-29, 31, 33-35, 37, 39-40, 42, 46, 49-51, 58-64, 66-67, and 69 are therefore under examination before the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 16, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
"[T]he purpose of the written description requirement is to 'ensure that the scope of the right to exclude, as set forth in the claims, does not overreach the scope of the inventor's contribution to the field of art as described in the patent specification.'" Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1353-54 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc) (quoting Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916, 920 (Fed. Cir. 2004)). To satisfy the written description requirement, the specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1562-63, 19 USPQ2d 1111 (Fed. Cir. 1991). See also MPEP 2163.04.
For a claim to a genus, a generic statement that defines a genus of substances by only their functional activity does not provide an adequate written description of the genus. Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly, 43 USPQ2d 1398 (CAFC 1997). The recitation of a functional property alone, which must be shared by the members of the genus, is merely descriptive of what the members of the genus must be capable of doing, not of the substance and structure of the members. The Federal Circuit has cautioned that, for claims reciting a genus of antibodies with particular functional properties (e.g., high affinity, neutralization activity, competing with a reference antibody for binding), "[c]laiming antibodies with specific properties, e.g., an antibody that binds to human TNF-α with A2 specificity, can result in a claim that does not meet written description even if the human TNF-α protein is disclosed because antibodies with those properties have not been adequately described." Centocor Ortho Biotech Inc. v. Abbott Labs., 97 USPQ2d 1870, 1875, 1877-78 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
"[A] sufficient description of a genus . . . requires the disclosure of either a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can 'visualize or recognize' the members of the genus." Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1350 (quoting Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568-69). A "representative number of species" means that those species that are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. AbbVie Deutschland GMBH v. Janssen Biotech, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014) ("The '128 and '485 patents, however, only describe species of structurally similar antibodies that were derived from Joe-9. Although the number of the described species appears high quantitatively, the described species are all of the similar type and do not qualitatively represent other types of antibodies encompassed by the genus."). Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus to provide a "representative number" of species.
The "structural features common to the members of the genus" needed for one of skill in the art to 'visualize or recognize' the members of the genus takes into account the state of the art at the time of the invention. For antibodies, the Federal Circuit has found that possession of a mouse antibody heavy and light chain variable regions provides a structural "stepping stone" to the corresponding chimeric antibody, but not to human antibodies. Centocor, 97 USPQ2d at 1875 ("[T]he application only provides amino acid sequence information (a molecular description of the antibody) for a single mouse variable region, i.e., the variable region that the mouse A2 antibody and the chimeric antibody have in common. However, the mouse variable region sequence does not serve as a stepping stone to identifying a human variable region within the scope of the claims."). A chimeric antibody shares the full heavy and light chain variable regions with the corresponding mouse antibody; that is, the structure shared between a mouse and chimeric antibody would generally be expected to conserve the antigen binding activity.
Lastly, even if a selection procedure is disclosed that was, at the time of the invention, sufficient to enable the skilled artisan to identify antibodies with the recited functional properties, the written description provision of 35 U.S.C § 112 is severable from its enablement provision. Ariad, 94 USPQ2d at 1167; Centocor at 1876 ("The fact that a fully-human antibody could be made does not suffice to show that the inventors of the '775 patent possessed such an antibody.")
In Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, 124 USPQ2d 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2017), relying upon Ariad Pharms., Inc. v. Eli Lily & Co., 94 USPQ2d 1161 (Fed Cir. 2010), it is noted that to show invention, a patentee must convey in its disclosure that is "had possession of the claimed subject matter as of the filing date. Demonstrating possession "requires a precise definition" of the invention. To provide this precise definition" for a claim to a genus, a patentee must disclose "a representative number of species within the scope of the genus of structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can visualize or recognize the member of the genus" (see Amgen at page 1358).
Also, it is not enough for the specification to show how to make and use the invention, i.e., to enable it (see Amgen at page 1361).
An adequate written description must contain enough information about the actual makeup of the claimed products – "a precise definition, such as structure, formula, chemic name, physical properties of other properties, of species falling with the genus sufficient to distinguish the gene from other materials", which may be present in "functional terminology when the art has established a correlation between structure and function" (Amgen page 1361).
In the instant case, claims 4 and 16 are drawn to a mutant IL-10 polypeptide, comprising an amino acid sequence having at least 80% amino acid sequence identity to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, wherein the mutant IL-10 polypeptide exhibits increased binding affinity to an IL-10RB polypeptide as compared to binding affinity of the wild-type mature IL-10 polypeptide. However, the specification only discloses a mutant IL-10 with the mutation N92I. The claims attempt to claim every mutant IL-10 polypeptide with the function of increased binding affinity; however, the specification fails to disclose a representative number of species falling with the scope of the genus or structure common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can visualize or recognize the member of the genus of the claimed polypeptide.
Similarly, embodiment (i) of claim 40 recites an antigen-binding molecule that binds CD8, CD4, or PD-1, while permitting numerous permutations within the recited complementarity determining regions (CDRs). This allows for thousands of possible combinations, not all of which will possess the claimed property of binding CD8, CD4, or PD-1. The specification does not disclose a representative number of species falling with the scope of the genus or structure common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can visualize or recognize the member of the genus of the claimed antigen-binding molecule.
A "representative number of species" means that those species that are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. AbbVie Deutschland GMBH v. Janssen Biotech, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014). Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. The "structural features common to the members of the genus" needed for one of skill in the art to 'visualize or recognize' the members of the genus takes into account the state of the art at the time of the invention. For example, the Federal Circuit has found that possession of a mouse antibody heavy and light chain variable regions provides a structural "stepping stone" to the corresponding chimeric antibody, but not to human antibodies. Centocor Ortho Biotech Inc. v. Abbott Labs., 97 USPQ2d 1870, 1875 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Here, the claims are directed to a genus of antigen-binding molecules are defined by their desired binding to an antigen and function of such binding. It is well-known in the art that antibodies have a large repertoire of distinct structures and that a huge variety of antibodies can be made to bind to a single epitope. For example, Lloyd et al. taught that over hundreds of functional antibody fragments can be isolated from an antibody library that bind to the same antigen wherein these antibodies have distinct heavy and light chain sequences (Protein Eng Des Sel. 2009 Mar;22(3):159-68; see page 159, right column, first paragraph: "Selection of such libraries to a given antigen can give rise to several hundreds to thousands of different antibodies.") The high degree of polymorphism in antibody generation evidences a lack of structure-function correlation for antibodies.
Given the well-known high level of polymorphism of such molecules, the skilled artisan would not have been in possession of the vast repertoire of polypeptides encompassed by the claimed invention; one of skill in the art would conclude that applicant was not in possession of the structural attributes of a representative number of species possessed by the members of the genus as claimed. One of skill in the art would conclude that the specification fails to disclose a representative number of species to describe the claimed genus.
Claim Rejections – Improper Markush
Claims 40, 42, and 62 are rejected on the basis that they contain an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). A Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives defined by the Markush group (i.e., alternatives from which a selection is to be made
in the context of a combination or process, or alternative chemical compounds as a whole) share a “single structural similarity” and a common use. A Markush grouping meets these requirements in two situations. First, a Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives are all members of the same recognized physical or chemical class or the same art-recognized class, and are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent and have a common use. Second, where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the alternatives do not belong to a recognized class as set forth above, the members of the Markush grouping may be considered to share a “single structural similarity” and common use where the alternatives share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. See MPEP § 2117.
The Markush grouping of claims 40, 42, and 62 are improper because the alternatives defined by the Markush grouping do not share both a single structural similarity and a common use for the following reasons: while all members of the group are antibodies, they possess different binding partners (CD8, CD4, or PD-1). Using the above example, the various antibodies of the Markush group are patentably distinct from one another as prior art on one would not anticipate or render obvious any of the others.
To overcome this rejection, Applicant may set forth each alternative (or grouping of patentably indistinct alternatives) within an improper Markush grouping in a series of independent or dependent claims and/or present convincing arguments that the group members recited in the alternative within a single claim in fact share a single structural similarity--for example, a disclosed common consensus sequence--as well as a common use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-10, 12-15, 24, 27, 29, 33, 35, 37, 46, 49, 51, 59-61, 63-64, 66-67 and 69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Moore (US20210171596A1).
Moore teaches a mutant IL-10 polypeptide with a mutation at position N92 (para. 0393), which is pertinent to claims 1, 2 and 29.
Moore further teaches that the mutant IL-10 polypeptide may have a mutation at position D144N (para. 0392), which is pertinent to claims 7-10, 12-15, and 33.
Moore further teaches that the mutant IL-10 polypeptide may be a heterodimer (para. 0335), which is pertinent to claim 24.
Moore further teaches that the mutant IL-10 polypeptide may be a monomer (para. 0295), which is pertinent to claim 27.
Moore further teaches a fusion protein comprising two mutant IL-10 polypeptides attached to (i.e., fused to) an antigen binding domain (para. 0023), which is pertinent to claims 35 and 46.
Moore further teaches that the antigen-binding domain may bind to CD8 (para. 0034), which is pertinent to claim 37.
Moore further teaches that the mutant IL-10 polypeptides may be attached to the antigen binding domain by a linker, such as (GGGGS)n, where n is an integer between 0 and 5 (para. 0318-0319), which is pertinent to claims 49, 51, 55, and 60-61.
Moore further teaches that the Fc domain may have substitutions of Y349C, T366W, S354C, T366S, L368A, and Y407V (para. 0010), which is pertinent to claim 59.
Moore further teaches nucleic acids encoding the above protein (para. 0020), which is pertinent to claim 63.
Moore further teaches expression vectors comprising the above nucleic acid (para. 0523-0524), which is pertinent to claim 64.
Moore further teaches a host cell comprising a nucleic acid encoding the above nucleic acid, and a method of making the fusion protein by culturing the above host cell (para. 0020-0021), which is pertinent to claims 66 and 67.
Moore further teaches pharmaceutical formulations comprising the above fusion protein and pharmaceutically acceptable carriers, excipients or stabilizers (para. 0571), which is pertinent to claim 69.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 50 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore as applied to claim 49 above, and further in view of Bernett (US20190016778A1).
The teachings of Moore have been discussed supra. However, Moore does not teach the structure of antibody as recited in claim 50.
Bernett teaches a fusion protein comprising in interleukin attached to an antigen binding domain, wherein the heavy chain of the antigen binding domain comprises VH-CH1-hinge-CH2-CH3, and the light chain comprises a VL and CL (para. 0007-0011).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Moore and Bernett to arrive at the claimed invention. An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to do so, and have a reasonable expectation of success, since both Moore and Bernett are concerned with interleukin and antibody fusion proteins. Moore teaches a mutant IL-10 polypeptide with a mutation at position N92, and this polypeptide may be fused to an antigen binding domain. The claimed arrangement of polypeptides comprising such an antigen-binding domain are taught by Bernett. One of ordinary skill could apply the structure of Bernett to the fusion protein of Moore by known methods, with each component of the combination performing its known, usual function, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Claim 58 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore and Bernett as applied to claim 50 above, and further in view of Bloom (US20090298167A1).
The teachings of Moore and Bernett have been discussed supra. However, Moore and Bernett do not teach amino acid substitutions of L234A, L235A, and G237A.
Bloom teaches that modifications to the Fc regions of a protein can affect binding protein affinity for the Fc gamma R1 receptor, such as by changing Leu to Ala at position 234 (L234A), changing Leu to Ala at position 235 (L235A), and/or changing Gly to Ala at position 237 (G237A) (para. 0134).
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Moore, Bernett, and Bloom to arrive at the claimed invention. Combinations of interleukins and antibodies were known in the art, according to the teachings of Moore and Bernett. Bloom teaches amino acid substitutions of L234A, L235A, and G237A in the context of an antibody, as well as advantages in making such modifications. One of ordinary skill could apply the amino acid substitutions of Bloom to the fusion protein of Moore and Bernett by known methods, with each component of the combination performing its known, usual function, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 21-23, 28, 31, 34, and 39 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/PETER JOHANSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642