DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made to Applicant’s claim amendments received 24 June 2026. Claims 1, 3-7, 9-14 and 16-18 are currently pending. Claims 2, 8 and 15 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claims 4 and 14, the claims recite the limitation "the large grain size layers". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
As to claim 12, the claim recites the limitation of “large grain size layer”. However, claim 11, upon which claim 12 is dependent already recites the limitation of a large grain size layer. Therefore, it is unclear as to if the limitation of claim 12 intends to refer back to the limitation of claim 11 or to a new and separate limitation. For the purpose of Examination, the claim has been broadly interpreted to include, at least, both of the above interpretations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2019-177327 A to Kato (Kato).
As to claims 1, 4, 6, 7 and 14, Kato teaches an electrodeionization device for removing boron from water to be treated comprising boron, the device comprising an anode (11), a cathode (12) and a plurality of deionization chambers (16) each partitioned by a pair of ion exchange membranes (13/14) between the anode (11) and the cathode (12), the deionization chambers (16) filled with a mixed anion and cation exchange resin; wherein the resin in the deionization chambers (16) is filed in layers along a water flow direction, an upper layer and a lower layer comprising a large grain size of anion and cation exchange resin with an average grain size larger than 0.4 mm and a middle layer formed with small size grain of anion and cation exchange resins at 0.1 to 0.4 mm (Paragraphs 0012-0014 and 0021-0022; Figures 1 and 2). Kato further teaches that instead of providing the layers fully separated, the small size layer can be mixed with large size particles at a ratio of, preferably 9:1 to 7:3 large to small (10-30% small), thus rendering obvious forming any one of these stacked layers, thus for example, the middle layer and the upper and not the lower layer, the upstream layer along the flow of the water to be treated, as a mixed layer as a combination of disclosed embodiments.
As to claims 3 and 16, Kato teaches the apparatus of claims 1 and 2. As discussed above, Kato renders obvious the provision of the top two layers as mixed layers, thus the mixed layer provided within 25% of the length of the deionization chamber measured from the upper outlet along the flow of the water to be treated.
As to claim 5, Kato teaches the apparatus of claim 1. As discussed above, Kato renders obvious the provision of the top two layers as mixed layers, thus filed between 20 and 80% of the height along the length of the deionization chamber along the flow of the water to be treated.
As to claims 9, 10, 17 and 18, Kato teaches the apparatus of claims 1 and 7. Kato further teaches that a portion of the water passing through the deionization chamber (16) should be sent to the concentration chamber (15), the chambers separated by an ion exchange membrane, thus each chamber capable of being considered a small deionization chamber separated by an intermediate ion exchange membrane, the first small deionization chamber (for example rightmost chamber 16) filed with anion exchange resins and the second small deionization chamber (for example rightmost chamber 15) closer to the cathode and filed with (Paragraphs 0023, 0024 and 0026; Figure 1).
As to claims 11, 12 and 13, Kato teaches an electrodeionization method for removing boron from water to be treated comprising boron, the method comprising passing water to be treated through a plurality of deionization chambers (16) each partitioned by a pair of ion exchange membranes (13/14) and arranged between an anode (11) and a cathode (12), while applying a DC voltage between the anode (11) and the cathode (12), the deionization chambers (16) filled with an ion exchange resin comprising mixed anion and cation resins; wherein the resin in the deionization chambers (16) is filed in layers along a water flow direction, an upper layer and a lower layer comprising a large grain size of anion and cation resin with an average grain size larger than 0.4 mm and a middle layer formed with small size grain of anion and cation resin at 0.1 to 0.4 mm (Paragraphs 0012-0014 and 0021-0022; Figures 1 and 2). Kato further teaches that instead of providing the layers fully separated, the small size layer can be mixed with large size particles at a ratio of, preferably 9:1 to 7:3 large to small (10-30% small), thus rendering obvious forming any one of these stacked layers, thus for example, the middle layer and the upper and not the lower layer, the upstream layer along the flow of the water to be treated, as a mixed layer as a combination of disclosed embodiments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 24 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argue that Kato fails to render obvious mixing the layers, as only a single recitation of “may also be mixed together” without any additional discussion or details. However, the Examiner maintains that every teaching of a reference is applicable and that this teaching would render obvious mixing any of the three layers and maintains the rejection absent an effective showing of unexpected results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2013/0068624 A1 to Hasegawa et al. – Discussing a narrower interpretation of the intermediate ion exchange membrane
US 2008/0067069 A1 to Gifford et al. - Discussing layers and mixtures of resin sizes
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794