DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group VI with the glass microspheres and
species in the reply filed on June 03, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 03, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13, 14, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) and (a2) as being anticipated by US 2009/0011216 (Suzuki).
Suzuki discloses a foam molded product comprising:
a polymer made by polymerizing dicyclopentadiene alone or with a norbornene comonomer [0035] (meets Applicants’ polymer made by addition polymerization of at least one cycloolefin comprising a ring containing a single carbon-carbon double bond);
a polymerization catalyst [0038] (meets Applicants’ addition polymerization catalyst); and
thermally expandable polymeric microspheres [0042]/[0046] (meet Applicants’ expanded polymeric microspheres) (e.g., abstract, [0025], [0035], [0040], [0052], [0068-0069], examples, claims).
As to claim 13, Suzuki expressly sets forth (Examples 1-4) a foam molded product comprising:
a polymer made by polymerizing dicyclopentadiene and ethylidene norbornene [0069] (meets Applicants’ polymer made by addition polymerization of at least one cycloolefin comprising a ring containing a single carbon-carbon double bond);
a tungsten-based polymerization catalyst [0038] (meets Applicants’ addition polymerization catalyst); and
thermally expandable polymeric microspheres (meets Applicants’ expanded polymeric microspheres).
As to claim 14, Suzuki discloses the polymer made by polymerizing dicyclopentadiene alone or with a norbornene comonomer is preferably crosslinked. [0004]/[0016]/[0034].
As to claim 16, Suzuki expressly uses ethylidene norbornene.
As to claim 20, Suzuki discloses the same method steps for producing the foam molded articles (e.g., examples).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 13, 14, 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a10 and (a2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 2010/0144924 (Yoshiwara) as evidenced by JP 2014178595 A (Fujii).
Yoshiwara discloses a composite comprising:
a polymer obtained by polymerizing a cycloolefin monomer having a ring structure with a carbon-carbon double bond [0018] (meets Applicants’ polymer made by addition polymerization of at least one cycloolefin comprising a ring containing a single carbon-carbon double bond);
a polymerization catalyst [0026] (meets Applicants’ addition polymerization catalyst); and
hollow particles inclusive of hollow glass particles [0075] (meets Applicants’ hollow glass microspheres) (e.g., abstract, [0001], [0013], [0018-0026], [0059-0075], examples, claims).
As to claim 13, Yoshiwara expressly sets forth (Example 1) a composite comprising:
a polymer made by polymerizing 2-norbornene (NB) and tetracyclo[6.2.1.13,6.02,7 ]dodec-4-ene (TCD) [0183] (meets Applicants’ polymer made by addition polymerization of at least one cycloolefin comprising a ring containing a single carbon-carbon double bond);
a polymerization catalyst [0182] (meets Applicants’ addition polymerization catalyst); and
Shirasu balloons, which as evidenced by Fujii are hollow glass balloons (meets Applicants’ hollow glass microspheres).
The composite would be expected to be a foam composite given the presence of the hollow particles.
As to claim 14, Yoshiwara discloses the polymer is crosslinked [0011].
As to claim 16, Yoshiwara discloses 2-norbornene.
As to claim 18, given that Yoshiwara’s composite is similarly-constituted, it would be expected that such would have a similar dielectric constant. This is particularly so given that Yoshiwara discloses the composites have a low dielectric constant [0009].
As to claim 19, Yoshiwara discloses the composite is preferably laminated on a substrate [0147].
As to claim 20, Yoshiwara discloses the same method steps for producing the (foam) composite (e.g., examples).
Yoshiwara anticipates the above-rejected claims in that it is reasonably believed that the exemplified Shirasu balloons are hollow glass balloons, as evidenced by Fujii. In the alternative, it would have been within the purview of Yoshiwara’s inventive disclosure [0075], and obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, to use hollow glass balloons as viable hollow inorganic particles with the reasonable expectation of success.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0144924 (Yoshiwara) as evidenced by JP 2014178595 A (Fujii) described hereinabove.
As to claim 15, it would have been within the purview of one having ordinary skill in the art to select the type and amount of cycloolefin monomers per Yoshiwara in accordance with the desired glass transition temperature.
As to claim 17, it is within the purview of Yoshiwara’s inventive disclosure [0046], and obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, to further include a plasticizer for its expected additive effect and with the reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2009/0011216 (Suzuki) described hereinabove.
As to claim 15, it would have been within the purview of one having ordinary skill in the art to select the type and amount of cycloolefin monomers per Suzuki in accordance with the desired glass transition temperature.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2009/0011216 (Suzuki) in view of US 2010/0144924 (Yoshiwara), both described hereinabove.
As to claim 17, it would have been within the purview of one having ordinary skill in the art to further include additives that are conventionally used in similar-such crosslinkable compositions, e.g., plasticizers as taught by Yoshiwara, for their expected additive effect and with the reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claims 13-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No 12,466,162. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented article comprises a composite foam comprising the same presently claimed materials (cycloolefin-based polymer, addition polymerization catalyst and hollow glass microspheres).
Conclusion
/ANA L. WOODWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765