DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5, 8-10, 13 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 4/15/2026.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 8/24/2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 1 and 17 is/are currently amended. Claim(s) 4 has/have been cancelled. Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-20 is/are pending with claim(s) 5, 8-10, 13 and 20 withdrawn from consideration. Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 11-12 and 14-19 is/are under examination in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument filed on 8/24/2026, with respect to 103 rejection has been fully considered but is not persuasive.
Applicant argued that Hisashi does not disclose zinc oxide or a silane coupling agent.
In response, Hisashi does disclose zinc oxide or a silane coupling agent, as stated in the 103 rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 11-12 and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hisashi et al (US 20070176154 A1) in view of Ottenheijm (US 20030055152 A1), Olson et al (US 20220063238 A1), Papakonstantinou et al (US 20220017415 A1), and Meada (US 20090264573 A1). ChemSrc (Piperazine Pyrohosphate”, 2025-08-26) is cited as evidentiary reference.
Regarding claim 1, Hisashi teaches a flame-retardant composition comprising piperazine pyrophosphate (A) and melamine polyphosphate (B) [abstract].
Piperazine pyrophosphate (A) has the following structure, as evidenced by ChemSrc:
which reads on the claimed Formula (2) wherein the claimed Y1 is piperazine.
Hisashi is silent about the claimed Formula (I) for the melamine polyphosphate (B).
In the same field of endeavor, Ottenheijm teaches a flame-retardant system (B) comprising melamine polyphosphate PMP-100 (Nissan Chemical Industries) [0030].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select the PMP-100 as the melamine polyphosphate in Hisachi’s composition, as it is expressly disclosed as being useful in this capacity. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07.
As evidenced by the applicant, PMP-100 reads on the claimed phosphate compound represented by Formula (1) [P35 “Composition A2” spec.].
Hisashi is silent about the claimed equation (I) relating loose bulk density, D10 and D50 of the flame-retardant system.
In the same field of endeavor, Olson teaches a flame-retardant mineral having particle size distribution with D50 of about 75-150 micron and D10 of about 40-70 micron [0066].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to form a flame-retardant system according to Ottenheijm having particle size distribution with D50 of about 75-150 micron and D10 of about 40-70 micron, as Olson demonstrates this range to be suitable for a flame-retardant material. This represents the use of a suitable range of D50 and D10 in a flame-retardant system similar to those of Olson and used in similar application. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416-21 (2007). See MPEP 2141.
In the same field of endeavor, Papakonstantinou teaches a flame-retardant material comprising an expandable material having a loose bulk density of about 15-450 kg/m3 [0012, 0036].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to form a flame-retardant system according to Ottenheijm having a loose bulk density of about 15-450 kg/m3 (0.015-0.45 g/cm3) as Papakonstantinou demonstrates this range to be suitable for a flame-retardant material. This represents the use of a suitable range of loose bulk density in a flame-retardant system similar to those of Papakonstantinou and used in similar application. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416-21 (2007). See MPEP 2141.
When d=0.015-0.45 g/cm3, D50=75-150 micron and D10=40-70 micron, d/(D50-D10) = 0.0001-0.09, as calculated by the examiner, overlapping the claimed equation (I) of 0.030 ≤ d/(D50-D10) ≤ 0.110. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Hisashi teaches that the flame retardant composition further comprises inorganic flame retardant as auxiliary agent, including zinc oxide [0034].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select zinc oxide as the auxiliary agent in Hisashi’s composition, as it is expressly disclosed as being useful in this capacity. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07.
Hisashi teaches that the flame retardant composition comprises silicone oil for surface treatment of flame retardant (e.g., zinc oxide) in order to suppress aggregation [abstract, 0010, 0034, Table 1]. Hisashi does not mention silane coupling agent.
In the same field of endeavor, Maeda teaches a flame-retardant composition comprising silane coupling agent or silicone oil for surface treatment in for miscibility of inorganic flame retardant [0045].
It is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents for the same purpose where the equivalence is recognized by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.06. Since Maeda recognized silicone oil and silane coupling agent are equivalent for the same purpose of surface treatment of flame regardant, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of filing to substitute silicone oil with silane coupling agent in Hisashi’s composition.
Regarding claim 2, the density of d=0.015-0.45 g/cm3 overlaps the claimed equation (II) of 0.20 ≤ d ≤ 0.80. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Regarding claims 3, 6-7, 11-19, the PMP-100 meets the claimed Formula (1); and the piperazine pyrophosphate meets the claimed Formula (2) as stated above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762