DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-7 and 11-19) and species ii (X1 is a triazine derivative represented by Formula (1-A)) in the reply filed on 4/15/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the flame retardant resin composition of Group II and the molded article of Group III contain the flame retardant agent of elected Group I. As such, if the flame retardant agent of Group I is found to be novel and nonobvious the claims of Groups II and III would also necessarily be novel and nonobvious and should be rejoined at that time. This is not found persuasive because invention of Group I is not found to be novel.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 5, 8-10, 13 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 4/15/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ottenheijm (US 20030055152 A1) in view of Olson et al (US 20220063238 A1) and Papakonstantinou et al (US 20220017415 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ottenheijm teaches a flame-retardant system (B) comprising melamine polyphosphate PMP-100 (Nissan Chemical Industries) [0030].
As evidenced by the applicant, PMP-100 reads on the claimed phosphate compound represented by Formula (1) [P35 “Composition A2” spec.].
Ottenheijim is silent about the claimed equation (I) relating loose bulk density, D10 and D50 of the flame-retardant system.
In the same field of endeavor, Olson teaches a flame-retardant mineral having particle size distribution with D50 of about 75-150 micron and D10 of about 40-70 micron [0066].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to form a flame-retardant system according to Ottenheijm having particle size distribution with D50 of about 75-150 micron and D10 of about 40-70 micron, as Olson demonstrates this range to be suitable for a flame-retardant material. This represents the use of a suitable range of D50 and D10 in a flame-retardant system similar to those of Olson and used in similar application. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416-21 (2007). See MPEP 2141.
In the same field of endeavor, Papakonstantinou teaches a flame-retardant material comprising an expandable material having a loose bulk density of about 15-450 kg/m3 [0012, 0036].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to form a flame-retardant system according to Ottenheijm having a loose bulk density of about 15-450 kg/m3 (0.015-0.45 g/cm3) as Papakonstantinou demonstrates this range to be suitable for a flame-retardant material. This represents the use of a suitable range of loose bulk density in a flame-retardant system similar to those of Papakonstantinou and used in similar application. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416-21 (2007). See MPEP 2141.
When d=0.015-0.45 g/cm3, D50=75-150 micron and D10=40-70 micron, d/(D50-D10) = 0.0001-0.09, as calculated by the examiner, overlapping the claimed equation (I) of 0.030 ≤ d/(D50-D10) ≤ 0.110. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Regarding claim 2, the density of d=0.015-0.45 g/cm3 overlaps the claimed equation (II) of 0.20 ≤ d ≤ 0.80. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, melamine polyphosphate PMP-100 meets the claimed phosphate compound represented by Formula (1) where X1 is melamine.
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 11-12 and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hisashi et al (US 20070176154 A1) in view of Ottenheijm (US 20030055152 A1), Olson et al (US 20220063238 A1) and Papakonstantinou et al (US 20220017415 A1). ChemSrc (Piperazine Pyrohosphate”, 2025-08-26) is cited as evidentiary reference.
Regarding claim 1, Hisashi teaches a flame-retardant composition comprising melamine polyphosphate (B) and piperazine pyrophosphate (A) [abstract].
Hisashi is silent about the claimed Formula (I).
In the same field of endeavor, Ottenheijm teaches a flame-retardant system (B) comprising melamine polyphosphate PMP-100 (Nissan Chemical Industries) [0030].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select the PMP-100 as the melamine polyphosphate in Hisachi’s composition, as it is expressly disclosed as being useful in this capacity. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07.
As evidenced by the applicant, PMP-100 reads on the claimed phosphate compound represented by Formula (1) [P35 “Composition A2” spec.].
Hisashi is silent about the claimed equation (I) relating loose bulk density, D10 and D50 of the flame-retardant system.
In the same field of endeavor, Olson teaches a flame-retardant mineral having particle size distribution with D50 of about 75-150 micron and D10 of about 40-70 micron [0066].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to form a flame-retardant system according to Ottenheijm having particle size distribution with D50 of about 75-150 micron and D10 of about 40-70 micron, as Olson demonstrates this range to be suitable for a flame-retardant material. This represents the use of a suitable range of D50 and D10 in a flame-retardant system similar to those of Olson and used in similar application. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416-21 (2007). See MPEP 2141.
In the same field of endeavor, Papakonstantinou teaches a flame-retardant material comprising an expandable material having a loose bulk density of about 15-450 kg/m3 [0012, 0036].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to form a flame-retardant system according to Ottenheijm having a loose bulk density of about 15-450 kg/m3 (0.015-0.45 g/cm3) as Papakonstantinou demonstrates this range to be suitable for a flame-retardant material. This represents the use of a suitable range of loose bulk density in a flame-retardant system similar to those of Papakonstantinou and used in similar application. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416-21 (2007). See MPEP 2141.
When d=0.015-0.45 g/cm3, D50=75-150 micron and D10=40-70 micron, d/(D50-D10) = 0.0001-0.09, as calculated by the examiner, overlapping the claimed equation (I) of 0.030 ≤ d/(D50-D10) ≤ 0.110. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Piperazine pyrophosphate (A) has the following structure, as evidenced by ChemSrc:
which reads on the claimed Formula (2) wherein the claimed Y1 is piperazine.
Regarding claim 2, the density of d=0.015-0.45 g/cm3 overlaps the claimed equation (II) of 0.20 ≤ d ≤ 0.80. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Regarding claims 3-4, 6-7, 11-19, the PMP-100 meets the claimed Formula (1); and the piperazine pyrophosphate meets the claimed Formula (2) as stated above.
Conclusion
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762