DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Published Application US20200144600A1 (supplied by applicant), hereafter Zhong.
Regarding claim 1, Zhong discloses a positive electrode ([0036] cathode) for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery ([0033] Li ion battery), comprising:
a positive electrode current collector ([0036] cathode current collector 11); and
a positive electrode mixture layer that is provided on the positive electrode current collector (11) ([0036] first cathode active material layer 12 and second cathode active material layer 13 on cathode current collector 11) and contains a positive electrode active material and a conductive agent ([0037] first cathode active material layer slurry with conductive agent),
wherein the conductive agent contains carbon nanotubes ([0015] conductive agent is carbon nanotubes), and
in a case where the positive electrode mixture layer is divided into two equal parts in a thickness direction ([0036] Fig 1, two active material layers 12 and 13), a mass ratio of the carbon nanotubes to the positive electrode active material contained in an upper half region (13) on a side of a surface is smaller than a mass ratio of the carbon nanotubes to the positive electrode active material contained in a lower half region (12) on a side of the positive electrode current collector (11) ([0084] 0.5 wt % carbon nanotubes in first cathode active material layer 12, none in second cathode active material layer 13).
Regarding claim 3, Zhong discloses wherein the mass ratio of the carbon nanotubes to the positive electrode active material contained in the upper half region (13) on the side of the surface is less than or equal to 0.05 mass% ([0084] 0.5 wt % carbon nanotubes in first cathode active material layer 12, none in second cathode active material layer 13).
Regarding claim 4, Zhong discloses wherein the mass ratio of the carbon nanotubes to the positive electrode active material contained in the lower half region (12) on the side of the positive electrode current collector (11) is greater than or equal to 0.01 mass% and less than or equal to 1 mass% ([0084] 0.5 wt % carbon nanotubes in first cathode active material layer 12, none in second cathode active material layer 13).
Regarding claim 7, Zhong discloses a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery ([0033] Li ion battery) comprising a positive electrode ([0036] cathode), a negative electrode ([0060] anode), and a non-aqueous electrolyte ([0060] electrolyte), wherein the positive electrode is the positive electrode for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery according to claim 1 (see above rejection of claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published Application US20200144600A1 (supplied by applicant), hereafter Zhong.
Regarding claim 5, Zhong discloses the invention as stated above for claim 1.
Zhong further discloses wherein a mass ratio of the carbon nanotubes to the positive electrode active material contained in the positive electrode mixture layer is greater than or equal to 0.5 mass% and less than or equal to 5 mass% ([0056] about 0.5 wt % to about 5 wt % in both of first and second cathode active material layers), which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.005 mass% to 0.5 mass%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding claim 6, Zhong discloses the invention as stated above for claim 1.
Zhong further discloses wherein the conductive agent contains a particulate conductive agent ([0084] conductive carbon black),
a mass ratio of the particulate conductive agent to the positive electrode active material contained in the upper half region on the side of the surface is greater than or equal to 0.05 mass% and less than or equal to 1.4 mass% ([0084] 1.4 wt% carbon black in second cathode active material layer 13, which is close to the claimed range of 0.05 mass%-1.2 mass%. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. (MPEP 2144.05 (I))), and
a mass ratio of the particulate conductive agent to the positive electrode active material contained in the lower half region on the side of the positive electrode current collector is less than or equal to 0.5 mass% ([0084] 0.3 wt% carbon black in first cathode active material layer 12).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published Application US20200144600A1 (supplied by applicant), hereafter Zhong, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Published Application US 20210257610 A1, hereafter Araki.
Regarding claim 2, Zhong discloses wherein the positive electrode active material contains a lithium nickel composite oxide ([0048] lithium nickel cobalt manganese oxide or lithium nickel cobalt aluminum oxide).
Zhong is silent on wherein the lithium nickel composite oxide is of a general formula of LiaNixMyO2-b (where M is at least one element selected from Al, Co, Mn, Fe, Ti, Si, Nb, Mo, W, and Zn, 0≤a<1.05, 0.7<x≤0.95, 0≤y≤0.3, 0≤b<0.05, and x+y=1).
In the analogous art of lithium ion battery cathodes, Araki discloses wherein the lithium nickel composite oxide is of a general formula of LiaNixMyO2-b (where M is at least one element selected from Al, Co, Mn, Fe, Ti, Si, Nb, Mo, W, and Zn, 0≤a<1.05, 0.7<x≤0.95, 0≤y≤0.3, 0≤b<0.05, and x+y=1) ([0030] LitNi1−x−xCoxAlyO2 where x is .1, y is 0.2, t is 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the invention of Zhong to use the lithium nickel composite oxide of Araki as stated above as a selection of a known material based on its suitability for the intended purpose (MPEP 2144.07).
Conclusion
/T.G.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754