DETAILED ACTION
Joint Inventors
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 and 14 have been amended. No claims have been added or canceled. The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection has been updated in view of amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument regarding the “amount of clearance” are unconvincing, as the difference between the calculation of a vector representation and the instant applications claimed language of “wherein determining the respective amount of clearance includes determining a distance or a vector representation of a respective amount of distance or space between the portion of the robot and one or more objects in an operational environment” is not discernable to Examiner. Examiner finds that the broadest reasonable interpretation of an amount of clearance remains taught by the obstacle avoidance method described in the reference.
Applicant then contends that Lee does not disclose “the visual indication of the determined amount of clearance including at least one of: i) at least one … that represents the transition between the two configurations.”. Examiner contends Applicant is unnecessarily limiting the scope of the teaching reference, which merely is to the color coordinated success and failure grading based on clearance. Lee does not need to be directed to the exact invention of the instant application as long as it is a relevant teaching that could have been used to adjust to the specific system already disclosed. In this case, Lee is perfectly capable of teaching the use of colored line segments related to clearance determination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12, 14-25, 91, 98-99, 101, and 105-109 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda (US20190143518, referred to as Maeda) in view of Lee et al. (US20220355483, referred to as Lee).
Regarding claim 1: Maeda discloses: A method of motion planning in a processor-based system, the method comprising: for at least one movement of a robot, for each of at least one or more portions of the robot, determining a respective amount of clearance between the portion of the robot and one or more objects in an operational environment via at least one processor-based simulation; ([0037] FIGS. 1 and 2 are diagrams illustrating a configuration of a robot system including a robot trajectory generation system according to a first embodiment of the present invention. FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating a configuration of the entire robot system including the robot trajectory generation system. In FIG. 1, a calculation processing unit 1 may be configured by hardware, such as a personal computer (PC), for example. A keyboard 11 and a mouse 12 (or a pointing device, such as a track pad) to be used by an operator (a robot teaching person) to input an operation instruction are connected to the calculation processing unit 1 as an input unit. Furthermore, a display 13 serving as a display device to be used by the operator to check an input operation instruction and robot trajectories generated based on the operation instruction is connected to the calculation processing unit 1. [0040] The robot trajectory generation apparatus of FIG. 1 generates trajectories of a plurality of robot arms 5 and 6 (two robot arms in this case) installed in the same working environment, for example. An obstacle 7 not to interfere with or collide with the robot arms 5 and 6 may be disposed in the working environment of the robot arms 5 and 6. The obstacle 7 may be any object disposed in the working environment other than the robot arms 5 and 6, such as a part supply device, a ventilation duct, or a case of the calculation processing unit 1. In trajectory generation control to be described below, robot trajectories are generated such that the robot arms 5 and 6 do not interfere with the obstacle 7 or the robot arms 5 and 6 do not interfere with each other.) wherein determining the respective amount of clearance includes determining a distance or a vector representation of a respective amount of distance or space between the portion of the robot and one or more objects in an operational environment; causing a presentation of a roadmap for movement of the robot in a form of a graph having a plurality of nodes and a plurality of edges, each edge coupling the nodes of a respective pair of nodes, the nodes representing respective configurations of the robot, and the edges representing a respective transition between a respective pair of the configurations of the robot represented by the nodes of the pair of nodes coupled by the respective edge; for at least one or more of the portions of the robot, ([0066] In step S102 of FIG. 3, one trajectory of the robot arm 5 (A) or the robot arm 6 (B) is generated in accordance with the data on the starting point and the ending point of trajectory definition data included in the operation instruction list in order of the priority levels determined in step S101. In this case, the CPU 20 calculates a trajectory from the starting point to the ending point such that (a space of) the obstacle registered in the obstacle memory is avoided as described below. A general trajectory generation algorithm, such as the RRT or the PRM described above, may be used for the calculation of the trajectory from the starting point to the ending point. [0098] In the path planning process and the path shortening process, a process of checking whether the robot arms (5 and 6) do not interfere with each other or do not interfere with the obstacle (7) is performed in the 3D virtual space. Here, the shape data of the robot arms (5 and 6) and the obstacle data (SV) stored in the obstacle memory 2201 may be used as aggregate of voxels (or polygons) described above, for example. Then it is determined whether aggregates of voxels (polygons) are geometrically in contact with each other so that it is determined whether the robot arms (5 and 6) interfere with each other or interfere with the obstacle (7).) causing a presentation of a visual indication of the determined amount of clearance in the presentation of the roadmap; ([0004] a robot programing method for performing 3D virtual display of a working area of the robot apparatuses using a display apparatus of a robot control terminal and inputting trajectories while the robot apparatuses are operated in this virtual environment may be used. In robot teaching using such a virtual environment, an input unit, such as a keyboard, a pointing device, or a touch panel, is used to input teaching points for control of the robot apparatuses instead of the teaching pendant. [0037] In FIG. 1, a calculation processing unit 1 may be configured by hardware, such as a personal computer (PC), for example. A keyboard 11 and a mouse 12 ( or a pointing device, such as a track pad) to be used by an operator (a robot teaching person) to input an operation instruction are connected to the calculation processing unit 1 as an input unit. Furthermore, a display 13 serving as a display device to be used by the operator to check an input operation instruction and robot trajectories generated based on the operation instruction is connected to the calculation processing unit 1.) [the visual indication of the determined amount of clearance including at least one of: i) at least one numerical value spatially associated with a respective one of the edges that represents the transition between the two configurations, ii) one or more colors spatially associated with a respective one of the edges that represents the transition between the two configurations, each color representative of an amount of clearance, or iii) a heat map spatially associated with a respective one of the edges that represents the transition between the two configurations;] receiving at least one input that represents at least one adjustment to a motion of the robot; adjusting a roadmap for the robot based at least in part on the received at least one input; providing drive signals based on the adjusted roadmap to cause the robot to move according to the adjusted roadmap. ([0052] As illustrated in FIG. 4, the robot arms 5 and 6 are closely disposed in the working environment and the obstacle 7 is included in the working environment. Therefore, it is likely that interference may be generated among the links, the joint shafts, and the end effectors of the robot arms depending on angles of the joint shafts of the two robot arms. In the trajectory generation control described below, robot trajectories are generated such that the robot arms 5 and 6 do not interfere with each other. In this case, robot trajectories are generated such that the robot arms 5 and 6 also do not interfere with the obstacle 7. Then the robot control data is transmitted to the robot arms 5 and 6 so that the robot arms 5 and 6 are driven along the generated trajectories. In this way, the arms may be controlled to be in specific positions and orientations, the end effectors 54 and 64 may perform specific operations of assembling parts and processing parts so that a product is fabricated. [0053] Hereinafter, a robot trajectory generation, in particular, a method for generating robot trajectories such that passing regions of a plurality of robots do not overlap with each other will be described with reference to FIGS. 3, 5, 6A, 6B, 6C, 14, 15A, 15B, and 15C. [0129] the operation instruction Mb1 of the robot arm 6 moves a reference portion of an arm from the starting point Sa1 to the ending point Ga1 and the operation instruction Mb2 moves the reference portion of the arm from the starting point Sb2 to the ending point Gb2 in FIG. 8A. In this case, the robot arm 6 moves from a position of Sa1 to a position of Gb2 through a position of Ga1. An operation instruction list corresponding to an instruction Op1 is configured as follows.)
Maeda does not explicitly disclose: the visual indication of the determined amount of clearance including at least one of: i) at least one numerical value spatially associated with a respective one of the edges that represents the transition between the two configurations, ii) one or more colors spatially associated with a respective one of the edges that represents the transition between the two configurations, each color representative of an amount of clearance, or iii) a heat map spatially associated with a respective one of the edges that represents the transition between the two configurations;
Maeda does not disclose the following limitations, however Lee, from an analogous field of endeavor, further teaches: the visual indication of the determined amount of clearance including at least one of: i) at least one numerical value spatially associated with a respective one of the edges that represents the transition between the two configurations, ii) one or more colors spatially associated with a respective one of the edges that represents the transition between the two configurations, each color representative of an amount of clearance, or iii) a heat map spatially associated with a respective one of the edges that represents the transition between the two configurations; ([0031] The GUI provides a tool enabling remote control of the robot that informs the operators when the robot is at a maximum boundary of movement. For example, different icons and graphical representations can be illustrated to how movement that is outside of a range of movement of the robot. The visualizations can render portions of the robot in different colors or provide transparent views when maximum movement or a collision is likely to occur. [0083] FIG. 7 illustrates an example of the GUI 124 with the boundary illustration 214 having modified characteristics, according to an example implementation. Within examples, extending the robot 200 past the boundary illustration 214 causes both the sphere and the transparent representation 212 of the robot 200 to change colors, such as turn red. Thus, modifying characteristics can include the computing device 122 changing a color of the transparent representation 212 of the robot 200 and of the boundary illustration 214 on the GUI 124. Other characteristics may be changed as well, such as causing the boundary illustration 214 or the transparent representation 212 of the robot 200 to blink or further alarms can be triggered including haptic or audio feedback to the operator. [0091] the method can include modifying characteristics of the representation on the GUI 124 illustrating the collision to inform of acceptable movement of the robot 200. Here, a collision may be acceptable or desired, in some operation, and so the characteristics of the end effector 224 may be adjusted to show a green color, for example. As such, collisions between known collision volumes are evaluated by locally simulating each runnable program (Action) in the GUI 124, shown by changing a color on the robot 200.)
Maeda and Lee are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of robotic trajectory collision GUI representation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the clearance trajectory calculation system of Maeda to enable the color GUI representation taught in Lee. The motivation for modification would have been to provide an alternate style of data representation for the purpose of presenting the calculated data to the user for monitoring of the clearances as they are computed for the purpose of creating a more customizable and individualized experience.
Regarding claim 2: The combination of Maeda and Lee teaches: The method of claim 1
Maeda further discloses: wherein the robot includes a robotic appendage comprising at least two links, at least one joint and an end of arm tool, and ([Fig. 1] robots depicted contain two links, at least one joint, and an end of arm tool) causing a presentation of a visual indication of the determined amount of clearance in the presentation of the roadmap includes causing a presentation of a visual indication of the determined amount of clearance in the presentation of the roadmap for all of the links, the joints and the end of arm tool of the robotic appendage. ([0004] a robot programing method for performing 3D virtual display of a working area of the robot apparatuses using a display apparatus of a robot control terminal and inputting trajectories while the robot apparatuses are operated in this virtual environment may be used. In robot teaching using such a virtual environment, an input unit, such as a keyboard, a pointing device, or a touch panel, is used to input teaching points for control of the robot apparatuses instead of the teaching pendant. [0037] In FIG. 1, a calculation processing unit 1 may be configured by hardware, such as a personal computer (PC), for example. A keyboard 11 and a mouse 12 (or a pointing device, such as a track pad) to be used by an operator (a robot teaching person) to input an operation instruction are connected to the calculation processing unit 1 as an input unit. Furthermore, a display 13 serving as a display device to be used by the operator to check an input operation instruction and robot trajectories generated based on the operation instruction is connected to the calculation processing unit 1. [0043] Note that the robot trajectory generation apparatus of FIG. 1 may be connected to robot arms of the real machine which are targets of trajectory generation and may generate robot trajectories even in an offline environment in which the robot trajectory generation apparatus is not connected to any robot arm. In the robot trajectory generation in the offline environment, the robot arms 5 and 6 which are program targets are virtually displayed on the display 13 in a 3D manner. Such a 3D virtual display GUI enables operation of arms and joints virtually displayed on the display 13 using the keyboard 11, the mouse 12, or the like. [0044] By using the virtual environment, (positions and orientations in) the starting point and the ending point of the robot trajectory may be input by operating the robot arms 5 and 6 which are virtually displayed, instead of the dialog display described below (refer to FIG. 14 described below, for example). Furthermore, in this virtual environment, an operation of changing arrangement of robot arms and an obstacle in a virtual space may be performed where appropriate. [0052] As illustrated in FIG. 4, the robot arms 5 and 6 are closely disposed in the working environment and the obstacle 7 is included in the working environment. Therefore, it is likely that interference may be generated among the links, the joint shafts, and the end effectors of the robot arms depending on angles of the joint shafts of the two robot arms. In the trajectory generation control described below, robot trajectories are generated such that the robot arms 5 and 6 do not interfere with each other. In this case, robot trajectories are generated such that the robot arms 5 and 6 also do not interfere with the obstacle 7. Then the robot control data is transmitted to the robot arms 5 and 6 so that the robot arms 5 and 6 are driven along the generated trajectories. In this way, the arms may be controlled to be in specific positions and orientations, the end effectors 54 and 64 may perform specific operations of assembling parts and processing parts so that a product is fabricated. [0053] Hereinafter, a robot trajectory generation, in particular, a method for generating robot trajectories such that passing regions of a plurality of robots do not overlap with each other will be described with reference to FIGS. 3, 5, 6A, 6B, 6C, 14, 15A, 15B, and 15C.)
Regarding claim 3: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 2, but further directed to an additional component of “at least one cable”, which is further disclosed by Maeda: at least one cable ([0037] In FIG. 1, a calculation processing unit 1 may be configured by hardware, such as a personal computer (PC), for example. A keyboard 11 and a mouse 12 (or a pointing device, such as a track pad) to be used by an operator (a robot teaching person) to input an operation instruction are connected to the calculation processing unit 1 as an input unit. Furthermore, a display 13 serving as a display device to be used by the operator to check an input operation instruction and robot trajectories generated based on the operation instruction is connected to the calculation processing unit 1.)
Regarding claim 4: The combination of Maeda and Lee teaches: The method of claim 1
Maeda further discloses: wherein causing a presentation of a visual indication of the determined amount of clearance in the presentation of the roadmap includes providing a visual indication of a minimum clearance experienced by any portion of the robot in moving between two configurations that are represented as a respective pair of nodes connected by a respective edge. ([0058] In this embodiment, these operation instructions are input as starting points and ending points, serving as trajectory definition data, of trajectories corresponding to the individual operation instructions. The starting points and the ending points are represented by 3D (XYZ) coordinates for moving reference portions of the arms set in positions near base portions of the end effectors 54 and 64 in the tip ends of the robot arms 5 and 6, for example. [0059] Data on the starting points and the ending points of the trajectories are input to the input field 1322 and the input field 1323, respectively. In FIG. 14, a pair of Sa1 and Ga1, a pair of Sa2 and Ga2, and a pair of Sa3 and Ga3 are input as pairs of a starting point and an ending point of the operation instructions Mal, Ma2, and Ma3 of the robot arm 5 (A), respectively. Furthermore, a pair of Sbl and Gal and a pair of Sb2 and Gb2 are input as pairs of a starting point and an ending point of the operation instructions Mbl and Mb2 of the robot arm 6(8), respectively. [0060] Note that, although the data on the starting points and the ending points are represented by character strings, such as "Sal" and "Gal" described above, in the fields in this embodiment, the data may be represented by numerical values, such as data on 3D coordinates in practice. In this case, the numerical values of the data on the starting points and the ending points may be manually input using the keyboard 11 or the like or may be determined by operating the robot arms 5 and 6 virtually displayed. For example, the operator points a space virtually displayed in the display 13 using the mouse 12 so as to input a coordinate of a reference portion of a desired arm. Alternatively, the operator may operate the robot arms 5 and 6 virtually displayed in the display 13 using the mouse 12 or the like so that the robot arms 5 and 6 are brought into positions and orientations corresponding to the desired coordinates of the arm reference portions, and the coordinates of the reference portions may be determined using a dialog not illustrated. In each case, numerical value data corresponding to the determined coordinates of the reference portions is input to the field 1322 and the field 1323 as starting point data and ending point data, respectively.)
Regarding claim 5: The combination of Maeda and Lee teaches: The method of claim 1
Maeda further discloses: wherein causing a presentation of a visual indication of the determined amount of clearance in the presentation of the roadmap includes providing a visual indication of a minimum clearance experienced by at least one portion of the robot in moving between two configurations as at least one numerical value spatially associated with a respective one of the edges that represents the transition between the two configurations. ([0058] In this embodiment, these operation instructions are input as starting points and ending points, serving as trajectory definition data, of trajectories corresponding to the individual operation instructions. The starting points and the ending points are represented by 3D (XYZ) coordinates for moving reference portions of the arms set in positions near base portions of the end effectors 54 and 64 in the tip ends of the robot arms 5 and 6, for example. [0059] Data on the starting points and the ending points of the trajectories are input to the input field 1322 and the input field 1323, respectively. In FIG. 14, a pair of Sa1 and Ga1, a pair of Sa2 and Ga2, and a pair of Sa3 and Ga3 are input as pairs of a starting point and an ending point of the operation instructions Mal, Ma2, and Ma3 of the robot arm 5 (A), respectively. Furthermore, a pair of Sbl and Gal and a pair of Sb2 and Gb2 are input as pairs of a starting point and an ending point of the operation instructions Mbl and Mb2 of the robot arm 6(8), respectively. [0060] Note that, although the data on the starting points and the ending points are represented by character strings, such as "Sal" and "Gal" described above, in the fields in this embodiment, the data may be represented by numerical values, such as data on 3D coordinates in practice. In this case, the numerical values of the data on the starting points and the ending points may be manually input using the keyboard 11 or the like or may be determined by operating the robot arms 5 and 6 virtually displayed. For example, the operator points a space virtually displayed in the display 13 using the mouse 12 so as to input a coordinate of a reference portion of a desired arm. Alternatively, the operator may operate the robot arms 5 and 6 virtually displayed in the display 13 using the mouse 12 or the like so that the robot arms 5 and 6 are brought into positions and orientations corresponding to the desired coordinates of the arm reference portions, and the coordinates of the reference portions may be determined using a dialog not illustrated. In each case, numerical value data corresponding to the determined coordinates of the reference portions is input to the field 1322 and the field 1323 as starting point data and ending point data, respectively.)
Regarding claim 6: The combination of Maeda and Lee teaches: The method of claim 1
Maeda further discloses: wherein the robot includes a robotic appendage comprising at least two links, at least one joint and an end of arm tool, and ([Fig. 1] robots depicted contain two links, at least one joint, and an end of arm tool) causing a presentation of a visual indication of the determined amount of clearance in the presentation of the roadmap includes providing a visual indication of a minimum clearance experienced by any portion of the robotic appendage in moving between two configurations as a single numerical value spatially associated with a respective one of the edges that represents the transition between the two configurations, the single numerical value representing a smallest minimum distance among all determined minimum distances for all of the links, the joints and the end of arm tool of the robotic appendage for the movement represented by the respective one of the edges. ([0058] In this embodiment, these operation instructions are input as starting points and ending points, serving as trajectory definition data, of trajectories corresponding to the individual operation instructions. The starting points and the ending points are represented by 3D (XYZ) coordinates for moving reference portions of the arms set in positions near base portions of the end effectors 54 and 64 in the tip ends of the robot arms 5 and 6, for example. [0059] Data on the starting points and the ending points of the trajectories are input to the input field 1322 and the input field 1323, respectively. In FIG. 14, a pair of Sa1 and Ga1, a pair of Sa2 and Ga2, and a pair of Sa3 and Ga3 are input as pairs of a starting point and an ending point of the operation instructions Mal, Ma2, and Ma3 of the robot arm 5 (A), respectively. Furthermore, a pair of Sbl and Gal and a pair of Sb2 and Gb2 are input as pairs of a starting point and an ending point of the operation instructions Mbl and Mb2 of the robot arm 6(8), respectively. [0060] Note that, although the data on the starting points and the ending points are represented by character strings, such as "Sal" and "Gal" described above, in the fields in this embodiment, the data may be represented by numerical values, such as data on 3D coordinates in practice. In this case, the numerical values of the data on the starting points and the ending points may be manually input using the keyboard 11 or the like or may be determined by operating the robot arms 5 and 6 virtually displayed. For example, the operator points a space virtually displayed in the display 13 using the mouse 12 so as to input a coordinate of a reference portion of a desired arm. Alternatively, the operator may operate the robot arms 5 and 6 virtually displayed in the display 13 using the mouse 12 or the like so that the robot arms 5 and 6 are brought into positions and orientations corresponding to the desired coordinates of the arm reference portions, and the coordinates of the reference portions may be determined using a dialog not illustrated. In each case, numerical value data corresponding to the determined coordinates of the reference portions is input to the field 1322 and the field 1323 as starting point data and ending point data, respectively.)
Regarding claim 7: The combination of Maeda and Lee teaches: The method of claim 1
Maeda further discloses: wherein the robot includes a robotic appendage comprising at least two links, at least one joint and an end of arm tool, and ([Fig. 1] robots depicted contain two links, at least one joint, and an end of arm tool) causing a presentation of a visual indication of the determined amount of clearance in the presentation of the roadmap includes providing a visual indication of a minimum clearance experienced by any portion of the robotic appendage in moving between two configurations as a plurality of numerical values spatially associated with the edge, the plurality of numerical values representing respective determined minimum distances for all of the links, the joints and the end of arm tool of the robotic appendage at respective ones of three or more poses of the robotic appendage which the robotic appendage assumes in transitioning between the configurations represented by the nodes of the pair of nodes connected by the edge. ([0058] In this embodiment, these operation instructions are input as starting points and ending points, serving as trajectory definition data, of trajectories corresponding to the individual operation instructions. The starting points and the ending points are represented by 3D (XYZ) coordinates for moving reference portions of the arms set in positions near base portions of the end effectors 54 and 64 in the tip ends of the robot arms 5 and 6, for example. [0059] Data on the starting points and the ending points of the trajectories are input to the input field 1322 and the input field 1323, respectively. In FIG. 14, a pair of Sa1 and Ga1, a pair of Sa2 and Ga2, and a pair of Sa3 and Ga3 are input as pairs of a starting point and an ending point of the operation instructions Mal, Ma2, and Ma3 of the robot arm 5 (A), respectively. Furthermore, a pair of Sbl and Gal and a pair of Sb2 and Gb2 are input as pairs of a starting point and an ending point of the operation instructions Mbl and Mb2 of the robot arm 6(8), respectively. [0060] Note that, although the data on the starting points and the ending points are represented by character strings, such as "Sal" and "Gal" described above, in the fields in this embodiment, the data may be represented by numerical values, such as data on 3D coordinates in practice. In this case, the numerical values of the data on the starting points and the ending points may be manually input using the keyboard 11 or the like or may be determined by operating the robot arms 5 and 6 virtually displayed. For example, the operator points a space virtually displayed in the display 13 using the mouse 12 so as to input a coordinate of a reference portion of a desired arm. Alternatively, the operator may operate the robot arms 5 and 6 virtually displayed in the display 13 using the mouse 12 or the like so that the robot arms 5 and 6 are brought into positions and orientations corresponding to the desired coordinates of the arm reference portions, and the coordinates of the reference portions may be determined using a dialog not illustrated. In each case, numerical value data corresponding to the determined coordinates of the reference portions is input to the field 1322 and the field 1323 as starting point data and ending point data, respectively.)
Regarding claim 8: The combination of Maeda and Lee teaches: The method of claim 1
Maeda further discloses: wherein causing a presentation of a visual indication of the determined amount of clearance in the presentation of the roadmap includes providing a visual indication of a minimum clearance experienced by at least one portion of the robot in moving between two configurations as [one or more colors spatially associated with a respective one of the edges that represents the transition between the two configurations, each color representative of an amount of clearance]. ([0004] a robot programing method for performing 3D virtual display of a working area of the robot apparatuses using a display apparatus of a robot control terminal and inputting trajectories while the robot apparatuses are operated in this virtual environment may be used. In robot teaching using such a virtual environment, an input unit, such as a keyboard, a pointing device, or a touch panel, is used to input teaching points for control of the robot apparatuses instead of the teaching pendant. [0037] In FIG. 1, a calculation processing unit 1 may be configured by hardware, such as a personal computer (PC), for example. A keyboard 11 and a mouse 12 (or a pointing device, such as a track pad) to be used by an operator (a robot teaching person) to input an operation instruction are connected to the calculation processing unit 1 as an input unit. Furthermore, a display 13 serving as a display device to be used by the operator to check an input operation instruction and robot trajectories generated based on the operation instruction is connected to the calculation processing unit 1. [0043] Note that the robot trajectory generation apparatus of FIG. 1 may be connected to robot arms of the real machine which are targets of trajectory generation and may generate robot trajectories even in an offline environment in which the robot trajectory generation apparatus is not connected to any robot arm. In the robot trajectory generation in the offline environment, the robot arms 5 and 6 which are program targets are virtually displayed on the display 13 in a 3D manner. Such a 3D virtual display GUI enables operation of arms and joints virtually displayed on the display 13 using the keyboard 11, the mouse 12, or the like. [0044] By using the virtual environment, (positions and orientations in) the starting point and the ending point of the robot trajectory may be input by operating the robot arms 5 and 6 which are virtually displayed, instead of the dialog display described below (refer to FIG. 14 described below, for example). Furthermore, in this virtual environment, an operation of changing arrangement of robot arms and an obstacle in a virtual space may be performed where appropriate. [0052] As illustrated in FIG. 4, the robot arms 5 and 6 are closely disposed in the working environment and the obstacle 7 is included in the working environment. Therefore, it is likely that interference may be generated among the links, the joint shafts, and the end effectors of the robot arms depending on angles of the joint shafts of the two robot arms. In the trajectory generation control described below, robot trajectories are generated such that the robot arms 5 and 6 do not interfere with each other. In this case, robot trajectories are generated such that the robot arms 5 and 6 also do not interfere with the obstacle 7. Then the robot control data is transmitted to the robot arms 5 and 6 so that the robot arms 5 and 6 are driven along the generated trajectories. In this way, the arms may be controlled to be in specific positions and orientations, the end effectors 54 and 64 may perform specific operations of assembling parts and processing parts so that a product is fabricated. [0053] Hereinafter, a robot trajectory generation, in particular, a method for generating robot trajectories such that passing regions of a plurality of robots do not overlap with each other will be described with reference to FIGS. 3, 5, 6A, 6B, 6C, 14, 15A, 15B, and 15C.)
Maeda does not explicitly disclose: [one or more colors spatially associated with a respective one of the edges that represents the transition between the two configurations, each color representative of an amount of clearance]
Maeda does not disclose the following limitations, however, Lee, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches: one or more colors spatially associated with a respective one of the edges that represents the transition between the two configurations, each color representative of an amount of clearance ([0031] The GUI provides a tool enabling remote control of the robot that informs the operators when the robot is at a maximum boundary of movement. For example, different icons and graphical representations can be illustrated to how movement that is outside of a range of movement of the robot. The visualizations can render portions of the robot in different colors or provide transparent views when maximum movement or a collision is likely to occur. [0083] FIG. 7 illustrates an example of the GUI 124 with the boundary illustration 214 having modified characteristics, according to an example implementation. Within examples, extending the robot 200 past the boundary illustration 214 causes both the sphere and the transparent representation 212 of the robot 200 to change colors, such as turn red. Thus, modifying characteristics can include the computing device 122 changing a color of the transparent representation 212 of the robot 200 and of the boundary illustration 214 on the GUI 124. Other characteristics may be changed as well, such as causing the boundary illustration 214 or the transparent representation 212 of the robot 200 to blink or further alarms can be triggered including haptic or audio feedback to the operator. [0091] the method can include modifying characteristics of the representation on the GUI 124 illustrating the collision to inform of acceptable movement of the robot 200. Here, a collision may be acceptable or desired, in some operation, and so the characteristics of the end effector 224 may be adjusted to show a green color, for example. As such, collisions between known collision volumes are evaluated by locally simulating each runnable program (Action) in the GUI 124, shown by changing a color on the robot 200.)
As previously stated, Maeda and Lee are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of robotic trajectory collision GUI representation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the clearance trajectory calculation system of Maeda to enable the color GUI representation taught in Lee. The motivation for modification would have been to provide an alternate style of data representation for the purpose of presenting the calculated data to the user for monitoring of the clearances as they are computed for the purpose of creating a more customizable and individualized experience.
Regarding claim 9: The combination of Maeda and Lee teaches: The method of claim 1
Maeda further discloses: wherein the robot includes a robotic appendage comprising at least two links, at least one joint and an end of arm tool, and ([Fig. 1] robots depicted contain two links, at least one joint, and an end of arm tool) causing a presentation of a visual indication of the determined amount of clearance in the presentation of the roadmap includes providing a visual indication of a minimum clearance experienced by any portion of the robotic appendage in moving between two configurations as [a single color spatially associated with a respective one of the edges that represents the transition between the two configurations, the single color representing] a smallest minimum distance among all determined minimum distances for all of the links, the joints and the end of arm tool of the robotic appendage for the movement represented by the respective edge. ([0004] a robot programing method for performing 3D virtual display of a working area of the robot apparatuses using a display apparatus of a robot control terminal and inputting trajectories while the robot apparatuses are operated in this virtual environment may be used. In robot teaching using such a virtual environment, an input unit, such as a keyboard, a pointing device, or a touch panel, is used to input teaching points for control of the robot apparatuses instead of the teaching pendant. [0037] In FIG. 1, a calculation processing unit 1 may be configured by hardware, such as a personal computer (PC), for example. A keyboard 11 and a mouse 12 ( or a pointing device, such as a track pad) to be used by an operator (a robot teaching person) to input an operation instruction are connected to the calculation processing unit 1 as an input unit. Furthermore, a display 13 serving as a display device to be used by the operator to check an input operation instruction and robot trajectories generated based on the operation instruction is connected to the calculation processing unit 1. [0043] Note that the robot trajectory generation apparatus of FIG. 1 may be connected to robot arms of the real machine which are targets of trajectory generation and may generate robot trajectories even in an offline environment in which the robot trajectory generation apparatus is not connected to any robot arm. In the robot trajectory generation in the offline environment, the robot arms 5 and 6 which are program targets are virtually displayed on the display 13 in a 3D manner. Such a 3D virtual display GUI enables operation of arms and joints virtually displayed on the display 13 using the keyboard 11, the mouse 12, or the like. [0044] By using the virtual environment, (positions and orientations in) the starting point and the ending point of the robot trajectory may be input by operating the robot arms 5 and 6 which are virtually displayed, instead of the dialog display described below (refer to FIG. 14 described below, for example). Furthermore, in this virtual environment, an operation of changing arrangement of robot arms and an obstacle in a virtual space may be performed where appropriate. [0052] As illustrated in FIG. 4, the robot arms 5 and 6 are closely disposed in the working environment and the obstacle 7 is included in the working environment. Therefore, it is likely that interference may be generated among the links, the joint shafts, and the end effectors of the robot arms depending on angles of the joint shafts of the two robot arms. In the trajectory generation control described below, robot trajectories are generated such that the robot arms 5 and 6 do not interfere with each other. In this case, robot trajectories are generated such that the robot arms 5 and 6 also do not interfere with the obstacle 7. Then the robot control data is transmitted to the robot arms 5 and 6 so that the robot arms 5 and 6 are driven along the generated trajectories. In this way, the arms may be controlled to be in specific positions and orientations, the end effectors 54 and 64 may perform specific operations of assembling parts and processing parts so that a product is fabricated. [0053] Hereinafter, a robot trajectory generation, in particular, a method for generating robot trajectories such that passing regions of a plurality of robots do not overlap with each other will be described with reference to FIGS. 3, 5, 6A, 6B, 6C, 14, 15A, 15B, and 15C.)
Maeda does not explicitly disclose: [a single color spatially associated with a respective one of the edges that represents the transition between the two configurations, the single color representing]
Maeda does not disclose the following limitations, however, Lee, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches: a single color spatially associated with a respective one of the edges that represents the transition between the two configurations, the single color representing ([0031] The GUI provides a tool enabling remote control of the robot that informs the operators when the robot is at a maximum boundary of movement. For example, different icons and graphical representations can be illustrated to how movement that is outside of a range of movement of the robot. The visualizations can render portions of the robot in different colors or provide transparent views when maximum movement or a collision is likely to occur. [0083] FIG. 7 illustrates an example of the GUI 124 with the boundary illustration 214 having modified characteristics, according to an example implementation. Within examples, extending the robot 200 past the boundary illustration 214 causes both the sphere and the transparent representation 212 of the robot 200 to change colors, such as turn red. Thus, modifying characteristics can include the computing device 122 changing a color of the transparent representation 212 of the robot 200 and of the boundary illustration 214 on the GUI 124. Other characteristics may be changed as well, such as causing the boundary illustration 214 or the transparent representation 212 of the robot 200 to blink or further alarms can be triggered including haptic or audio feedback to the operator. [0091] the method can include modifying characteristics of the representation on the GUI 124 illustrating the collision to inform of acceptable movement of the robot 200. Here, a collision may be acceptable or desired, in some operation, and so the characteristics of the end effector 224 may be adjusted to show a green color, for example. As such, collisions between known collision volumes are evaluated by locally simulating each runnable program (Action) in the GUI 124, shown by changing a color on the robot 200.)
As previous stated, Maeda and Lee are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of robotic trajectory collision GUI representation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the clearance trajectory calculation system of Maeda to enable the color GUI representation taught in Lee. The motivation for modification would have been to provide an alternate style of data representation for the purpose of presenting the calculated data to the user for monitoring of the clearances as they are computed for the purpose of creating a more customizable and individualized experience.
Regarding claim 10: The combination of Maeda and Lee teaches: The method of claim 1
Maeda further discloses: wherein the robot includes a robotic appendage comprising at least two links, at least one joint and an end of arm tool, and ([Fig. 1] robots depicted contain two links, at least one joint, and an end of arm tool) causing a presentation of a visual indication of the determined amount of clearance in the presentation of the roadmap includes providing a visual indication of a minimum clearance experienced by any portion of the robotic appendage in moving between two configurations as [a plurality of colors spatially associated with a respective one of the edges that represents the transition between the two configurations, the plurality of colors] representing respective determined minimum distances for all of the links, the joints and the end of arm tool of the robotic appendage at respective ones of three or more poses of the robotic appendage which the robotic appendage assumes in transitioning between the configurations represented by the nodes of the pair of nodes connected by the respective one of the edges. ([0004] a robot programing method for performing 3D virtual display of a working area of the robot apparatuses using a display apparatus of a robot control terminal and inputting trajectories while the robot apparatuses are operated in this virtual environment may be used. In robot teaching using such a virtual environment, an input unit, such as a keyboard, a pointing device, or a touch panel, is used to input teaching points for control of the robot apparatuses instead of the teaching pendant. [0037] In FIG. 1, a calculation processing unit 1 may be configured by hardware, such as a personal computer (PC), for example. A keyboard 11 and a mouse 12 (or a pointing device, such as a track pad) to be used by an operator (a robot teaching person) to input an operation instruction are connected to the calculation processing unit 1 as an input unit. Furthermore, a display 13 serving as a display device to be used by the operator to check an input operation instruction and robot trajectories generated based on the operation instruction is connected to the calculation processing unit 1. [0043] Note that the robot trajectory generation apparatus of FIG. 1 may be connected to robot arms of the real machine which are targets of trajectory generation and may generate robot trajectories even in an offline environment in which the robot trajectory generation apparatus is not connected to any robot arm. In the robot trajectory generation in the offline environment, the robot arms 5 and 6 which are program targets are virtually displayed on the display 13 in a 3D manner. Such a 3D virtual display GUI enables operation of arms and joints virtually displayed on the display 13 using the keyboard 11, the mouse 12, or the like. [0044] By using the virtual environment, (positions and orientations in) the starting point and the ending point of the robot trajectory may be input by operating the robot arms 5 and 6 which are virtually displayed, instead of the dialog display described below (refer to FIG. 14 described below, for example). Furthermore, in this virtual environment, an operation of changing arrangement of robot arms and an obstacle in a virtual space may be performed where appropriate. [0052] As illustrated in FIG. 4, the robot arms 5 and 6 are closely disposed in the working environment and the obstacle 7 is included in the working environment. Therefore, it is likely that interference may be generated among the links, the joint shafts, and the end effectors of the robot arms depending on angles of the joint shafts of the two robot arms. In the trajectory generation control described below, robot trajectories are generated such that the robot arms 5 and 6 do not interfere with each other. In this case, robot trajectories are generated such that the robot arms 5 and 6 also do not interfere with the obstacle 7. Then the robot control data is transmitted to the robot arms 5 and 6 so that the robot arms 5 and 6 are driven along the generated trajectories. In this way, the arms may be controlled to be in specific positions and orientations, the end effectors 54 and 64 may perform specific operations of assembling parts and processing parts so that a product is fabricated. [0053] Hereinafter, a robot trajectory generation, in particular, a method for generating robot trajectories such that passing regions of a plurality of robots do not overlap with each other will be described with reference to FIGS. 3, 5, 6A, 6B, 6C, 14, 15A, 15B, and 15C.)
Maeda does not explicitly disclose: [a plurality of colors spatially associated with a respective one of the edges that represents the transition between the two configurations, the plurality of colors]
Maeda does not disclose the following limitations, however, Lee, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches: a plurality of colors spatially associated with a respective one of the edges that represents the transition between the two configurations, the plurality of colors ([0031] The GUI provides a tool enabling remote control of the robot that informs the operators when the robot is at a maximum boundary of movement. For example, different icons and graphical representations can be illustrated to how movement that is outside of a range of movement of the robot. The visualizations can render portions of the robot in different colors or provide transparent views when maximum movement or a collision is likely to occur. [0083] FIG. 7 illustrates an example of the GUI 124 with the boundary illustration 214 having modified characteristics, according to an example implementation. Within examples, extending the robot 200 past the boundary illustration 214 causes both the sphere and the transparent representation 212 of the robot 200 to change colors, such as turn red. Thus, modifying characteristics can include the computing device 122 changing a color of the transparent representation 212 of the robot 200 and of the boundary illustration 214 on the GUI 124. Other characteristics may be changed as well, such as causing the boundary illustration 214 or the transparent representation 212 of the robot 200 to blink or further alarms can be triggered including haptic or audio feedback to the operator. [0091] the method can include modifying characteristics of the representation on the GUI 124 illustrating the collision to inform of acceptable movement of the robot 200. Here, a collision may be acceptable or desired, in some operation, and so the characteristics of the end effector 224 may be adjusted to show a green color, for example. As such, collisions between known collision volumes are evaluated by locally simulating each runnable program (Action) in the GUI 124, shown by changing a color on the robot 200.)
As previous stated, Maeda and Lee are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of robotic trajectory collision GUI representation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the clearance trajectory calculation system of Maeda to enable the color GUI representation taught in Lee. The motivation for modification would have been to provide an alternate style of data representation for the purpose of presenting the calculated data to the user for monitoring of the clearances as they are computed for the purpose of creating a more customizable and individualized experience.
Regarding claim 11: The combination of Maeda and Lee teaches: The method of claim 1
Maeda further discloses: wherein the robot includes a robotic appendage comprising at least two links, at least one joint and an end of arm tool, and ([Fig. 1] robots depicted contain two links, at least one joint, and an end of arm tool) causing a presentation of a visual indication of the determined amount of clearance in the presentation of the roadmap includes providing a visual indication of a minimum clearance experienced by any portion of the robotic appendage in moving between two configurations as a [heat map spatially associated with a respective one of the edges that represents the transition between the two configurations, the heat map representing] respective determined minimum distances for all of the links, the joints and the end of arm tool of the robotic appendage at respective ones of three or more poses of the robotic appendage which the robotic appendage assumes in transitioning between the configurations represented by the nodes of the pair of nodes connected by the respective one of the edges. ([0004] a robot programing method for performing 3D virtual display of a working area of the robot apparatuses using a display apparatus of a robot control terminal and inputting trajectories while the robot apparatuses are operated in this virtual environment may be used. In robot teaching using such a virtual environment, an input unit, such as a keyboard, a pointing device, or a touch panel, is used to input teaching points for control of the robot apparatuses instead of the teaching pendant. [0037] In FIG. 1, a calculation processing unit 1 may be configured by hardware, such as a personal computer (PC), for example. A keyboard 11 and a mouse 12 (or a pointing device, such as a track pad) to be used by an operator (a robot teaching person) to input an operation instruction are connected to the calculation processing unit 1 as an input unit. Furthermore, a display 13 serving as a display device to be used by the operator to check an input operation instruction and robot trajectories generated based on the operation instruction is connected to the calculation processing unit 1. [0043] Note that the robot trajectory generation apparatus of FIG. 1 may be connected to robot arms of the real machine which are targets of trajectory generation and may generate robot trajectories even in an offline environment in which the robot trajectory generation apparatus is not connected to any robot arm. In the robot trajectory generation in the offline environment, the robot arms 5 and 6 which are program targets are virtually displayed on the display 13 in a 3D manner. Such a 3D virtual display GUI enables operation of arms and joints virtually displayed on the display 13 using the keyboard 11, the mouse 12, or the like. [0044] By using the virtual environment, (positions and orientations in) the starting point and the ending point of the robot trajectory may be input by operating the robot arms 5 and 6 which are virtually displayed, instead of the dialog display described below (refer to FIG. 14 described below, for example). Furthermore, in this virtual environment, an operation of changing arrangement of robot arms and an obstacle in a virtual space may be performed where appropriate. [0052] As illustrated in FIG. 4, the robot arms 5 and 6 are closely disposed in the working environment and the obstacle 7 is included in the working environment. Therefore, it is likely that interference may be generated among the links, the joint shafts, and the end effectors of the robot arms depending on angles of the joint shafts of the two robot arms. In the trajectory generation control described below, robot trajectories are generated such that the robot arms 5 and 6 do not interfere with each other. In this case, robot trajectories are generated such that the robot arms 5 and 6 also do not interfere with the obstacle 7. Then the robot control data is transmitted to the robot arms 5 and 6 so that the robot arms 5 and 6 are driven along the generated trajectories. In this way, the arms may be controlled to be in specific positions and orientations, the end effectors 54 and 64 may perform specific operations of assembling parts and processing parts so that a product is fabricated. [0053] Hereinafter, a robot trajectory generation, in particular, a method for generating robot trajectories such that passing regions of a plurality of robots do not overlap with each other will be described with reference to FIGS. 3, 5, 6A, 6B, 6C, 14, 15A, 15B, and 15C.)
Maeda does not explicitly disclose: [heat map spatially associated with a respective one of the edges that represents the transition between the two configurations, the heat map representing]
Maeda does not disclose the following limitations, however, Lee, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches: heat map spatially associated with a respective one of the edges that represents the transition between the two configurations, the heat map representing ([0079] Referring back to FIG. 4, at block 408, the method 400 includes generating a boundary illustration on the GUI representative of a limit of a range of motion of the robot, and the boundary illustration includes an opacity that increases in intensity as the robot approaches the limit of the range of motion. [0080] FIG. 6 illustrates an example of the GUI 124 with a boundary illustration 214, according to an example implementation. Within examples, safety prevents operators from extending the transparent arm too far from a base by showing the boundary illustration 214 as a "shield". The boundary illustration 214 may be a hypothetical or theoretical boundary for a limit of the range of motion of the robot, so that the transparent representation 212 will not cross the boundary illustration 214. [0081] In FIG. 5, the boundary illustration 214 is shown as a honeycomb wall or polygon wall, for example. In some examples, the boundary illustration 214 is generated based on a conceptual spherical boundary representing the limit of the range of motion of the robot 200, and an intensity of the opacity of the boundary illustration 214 is highest from a point on the conceptual spherical boundary closest to the robot 200, and the intensity decreases radiating away from the point on the conceptual spherical boundary. Thus, the sphere shield opacity grows in intensity as the robot 200 approaches the spherical boundary, and the intensity is highest from the point on the spherical boundary closest to an interaction point of the robot 200 radiating outward.)
As previous stated, Maeda and Lee are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of robotic trajectory collision GUI representation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the clearance trajectory calculation system of Maeda to enable the heat map GUI representation taught in Lee. The motivation for modification would have been to provide the for the purpose of presenting the calculated data to the user for monitoring of the clearances as they are computed.
Regarding claim 12: The combination of Maeda and Lee teaches: The method of claim 1
Maeda further discloses: wherein determining a respective amount of clearance between the portion of the robot and one or more objects in an operational environment includes determining a respective amount of clearance between the portion of the robot and a portion of another robot that operates in the operational environment. ([0007] Furthermore, in addition to the generation of paths which do not cause interference with obstacles in a working environment for one robot, a technique of generating robot trajectories which do not cause interference among a plurality of robots in which positions and orientations are changed by the minute in the working environment has also been proposed.)
Regarding claim 14: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 1, except directed to “at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory processor-readable medium that stores processor- executable instructions”, which is disclosed in Maeda: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory processor-readable medium that stores processor- executable instructions ([0195] Embodiment(s) of the present invention can also be realized by a computer of a system or apparatus that reads out and executes computer executable instructions ( e.g., one or more programs) recorded on a storage medium (which may also be referred to more fully as a 'non-transitory computer-readable storage medium') to perform the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s) and/or that includes one or more circuits (e.g., application specific integrated circuit (ASIC)) for performing the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiment(s))
Regarding claim 15: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 2.
Regarding claim 16: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 3.
Regarding claim 17: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 4.
Regarding claim 18: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 5.
Regarding claim 19: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 6.
Regarding claim 20: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 7.
Regarding claim 21: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 8.
Regarding claim 22: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 9.
Regarding claim 23: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 10.
Regarding claim 24: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 11.
Regarding claim 25: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 12.
Regarding claim 91: The combination of Maeda and Lee teaches: The method of claim 1,
Maeda further discloses: where in the robot includes a robotic appendage, further comprising: receiving at least one input that represents at least one adjustment to a motion of the robot; and adjusting a roadmap for the robot based at least in part on the received at least one input; providing drive signals based on the adjusted roadmap to cause the robotic appendage to move according to the adjusted roadmap. ([0097] Subsequently, in the path shortening process, the path generated in the path planning process may be modified. In a case where the method using the random searching is selected in the path planning process, the generated path may be a detour or an angle may be sharply changed, and therefore, the path is to be modified. Any method may be employed in the path shortening process in this embodiment, such as a method for searching points in the path connected to each other without interference or a method for smoothing the path by approximation using a spline curve. [0098] In the path planning process and the path shortening process, a process of checking whether the robot arms (5 and 6) do not interfere with each other or do not interfere with the obstacle (7) is performed in the 3D virtual space. Here, the shape data of the robot arms (5 and 6) and the obstacle data (SV) stored in the obstacle memory 2201 may be used as aggregate of voxels (or polygons) described above, for example. Then it is determined whether aggregates of voxels (polygons) are geometrically in contact with each other so that it is determined whether the robot arms (5 and 6) interfere with each other or interfere with the obstacle (7).)
Regarding claim 98: The combination of Maeda and Lee teaches: The method of claim 91,
Maeda further discloses: further comprising: causing a presentation of a user interface that allows a user to one or more of: adjust a speed of movement associated with one or more edges, adjust a value of a path smoothing parameter, adjust one or more nodes in the graph, and add one or more nodes to the graph. ([0097] Subsequently, in the path shortening process, the path generated in the path planning process may be modified. In a case where the method using the random searching is selected in the path planning process, the generated path may be a detour or an angle may be sharply changed, and therefore, the path is to be modified. Any method may be employed in the path shortening process in this embodiment, such as a method for searching points in the path connected to each other without interference or a method for smoothing the path by approximation using a spline curve. [0098] In the path planning process and the path shortening process, a process of checking whether the robot arms (5 and 6) do not interfere with each other or do not interfere with the obstacle (7) is performed in the 3D virtual space. Here, the shape data of the robot arms (5 and 6) and the obstacle data (SV) stored in the obstacle memory 2201 may be used as aggregate of voxels (or polygons) described above, for example. Then it is determined whether aggregates of voxels (polygons) are geometrically in contact with each other so that it is determined whether the robot arms (5 and 6) interfere with each other or interfere with the obstacle (7).)
Regarding claim 99: The combination of Maeda and Lee teaches: The method of claim 91
Maeda further discloses: wherein causing a presentation of a roadmap in a form of a graph having a plurality of nodes and a plurality of edges includes causing a presentation of a [graphical] user interface [in which the nodes and the edges in the graph are user selectable icons.] ([0004] a robot programing method for performing 3D virtual display of a working area of the robot apparatuses using a display apparatus of a robot control terminal and inputting trajectories while the robot apparatuses are operated in this virtual environment may be used. In robot teaching using such a virtual environment, an input unit, such as a keyboard, a pointing device, or a touch panel, is used to input teaching points for control of the robot apparatuses instead of the teaching pendant. [0037] a display 13 serving as a display device to be used by the operator to check an input operation instruction and robot trajectories generated based on the operation instruction is connected to the calculation processing unit 1.
Regarding claim 101: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 91.
Regarding claim 108: The combination of Maeda and Lee teaches: The system of claim 14.
Maeda further discloses: wherein, when executed by the at least one processor, the processor-executable instructions cause the at least one processor to: cause a presentation of a user interface that allows a user to one or more of: adjust a speed of movement associated with one or more edges, adjust a value of a path smoothing parameter, adjust one or more nodes in the graph, and add one or more nodes to the graph. ([0097] Subsequently, in the path shortening process, the path generated in the path planning process may be modified. In a case where the method using the random searching is selected in the path planning process, the generated path may be a detour or an angle may be sharply changed, and therefore, the path is to be modified. Any method may be employed in the path shortening process in this embodiment, such as a method for searching points in the path connected to each other without interference or a method for smoothing the path by approximation using a spline curve. [0098] In the path planning process and the path shortening process, a process of checking whether the robot arms (5 and 6) do not interfere with each other or do not interfere with the obstacle (7) is performed in the 3D virtual space. Here, the shape data of the robot arms (5 and 6) and the obstacle data (SV) stored in the obstacle memory 2201 may be used as aggregate of voxels (or polygons) described above, for example. Then it is determined whether aggregates of voxels (polygons) are geometrically in contact with each other so that it is determined whether the robot arms (5 and 6) interfere with each other or interfere with the obstacle (7).)
Regarding claim 109: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 99.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ATTICUS A CAMERON whose telephone number is 703-756-4535. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30 am - 4:30 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/ATTICUS A CAMERON/ /JASON HOLLOWAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658 Examiner, Art Unit 3658A