DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendments filed 07/10/2026.
Claims 1-5 and 10-24 are pending. Claims 1-5 are being examined. Claims 6-9 are canceled. Claims 10-24 are withdrawn from further consideration. Claim 1 is amended with no new subject matter being introduced.
New grounds of rejection are made in light of the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koenemann et al. (US 2019/0023905 A1) in view of Iftime et al. (US 8222313 B2).
Considering claim 1, Koenemann teaches a UV curable ink composition suitable for use in security printing comprising a covert UV fluorescent dye; one or more acrylate monomers and one or more acrylate oligomers; and photoinitiators (Koenemann, [0022], [0701], [0703], [0708]-[0710], [0712]).
Koenemann teaches the covert UV fluorescent dye is dissolved in the acrylate monomers/oligomers (Koenemann, [0706]).
Koenemann does not explicitly teach the viscosity of the inkjet ink is from 5 cps to 20 cps.
However, Koenemann teaches printing ink for inkjet printing are usually formulated as liquid printing inks with comparatively low viscosity (Koenemann, [0701]). Iftime teaches a low viscous liquid UV curable ink that is jettable with a viscosity of from about 5 mPa-s to about 20 mPa-s (i.e., 5-20cps) (Iftime, paragraph bridging Col. 35 and 36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the viscosity of the ink to be 5-20 cps. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to do so in order to be able to use the ink composition for inkjet printing with a reasonable expectation of success.
Considering claim 2, Koenemann teaches the covert fluorescent dye may fluoresce in any one of a multiple of colors when exposed to ultraviolet radiation (Koenemann, [0022]).
Considering claim 3, Koenemann teaches the covert fluorescent dye is 0.01-5 wt.% of the ink composition (Koenemann, [0705]). A prima facie case of obviousness exists because the claimed range of 0.1-5 wt.% lies within the range taught by Koenemann (see MPEP §2144.05(I)).
Considering claim 4, Koenemann teaches the security inkjet ink further comprises a colored organic pigment dispersion (Koenemann, [0717]).
Considering claim 5, Koenemann teaches the colored organic pigment dispersion is 1-15 wt.% of the ink composition (Koenemann, [0716]). A prima facie case of obviousness exists because the claimed range of 1-10 wt.% lies within the range taught by Koenemann (see MPEP §2144.05(I)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANITA NASSIRI-MOTLAGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734