DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
An amendment, filed 2/18/2026, is acknowledged. Claim 1 is amended; Claim 2 is canceled. No new matter is present. Claims 1 and 3 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beals (WO 2020/018477).
With respect to Claim 1, Beals teaches an aluminum alloy, with a composition in mass%, as follows (para. 8-9, 41, 43):
Claim 1
Beals
Si
7.0-9.0
0.1-7.5
Cu
2.0-4.0
0.05-5.0
Mg
0.8-1.2
0.1-5.0
Fe
0.3-0.5
0.12-1.0
Mn
0.3-0.5
≤ 1.8
Zn
2.8-4.0
0.05-6.1
Sr
0.008-0.04
≤ 0.06
Al
Balance with unavoidable impurities
Balance with 0.1 or less total other elements
Be
Optionally, 0.001-0.004
-
Ti
Optionally, 0.05-0.005
Optionally, ≤ 0.2
B
Optionally, 0.01-0.005
-
Compositional ranges including zero are interpreted as optional elements. Thus, Beals teaches an aluminum alloy with compositional ranges overlapping each of the instantly required ranges, overlapping one of the optional element ranges, and that does not require any elements outside the closed composition (see claim 1 preamble, reciting “An aluminum alloy consisting of”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select from the portion of the overlapping ranges. Overlapping ranges, in particular, where the ranges of a claimed composition overlap with the ranges disclosed in the prior art, have been held sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05.
With respect to Claim 3, Beals teaches that the aluminum alloy exhibits increased strength and Young’s modulus, useful as structural components for automotive vehicles. (para. 32). The reference teaches exemplary embodiments demonstrating the range of properties achievable with the claimed alloy, including examples such as A356 – T6 having a yield strength (i.e. 0.2% proof stress, which one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize is conventionally presented as a 0.2% yield strength) of 36 ksi (approx. 248 MPa) and 8% elongation. (Fig. 9, also including additional embodiments with higher and lower proof stress and elongation values). Thus, Beals is deemed to teach an aluminum alloy with proof stress and elongation values overlapping the instantly claimed ranges. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select from the portion of the overlapping ranges. MPEP 2144.05. Additionally, Beals is deemed to teach that the 0.2% proof stress and elongation at break are result effective variables that may controlled through the composition and/or processing of the alloy. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select a 0.2% proof stress and elongation at break from the ranges of values demonstrated as achieved from the alloy of Beals, in order to obtain a desired balance of strength and elongation for a particular application. For example, the alloy may be selected to have higher strength with lower elongation/ductility or higher elongation/ductility with lower strength depending on the needs of the part.
Finally, Beals teaches that the aluminum alloy is useful for casting and teaches cast components from said alloy (see, e.g., para. 8-9), and therefore, teaches “An aluminum alloy casting material.”
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 2/18/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Pietrowski and Choi have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of Applicant’s amendments to the claims. Specifically, Claim 1 was amended to require a closed composition including Sr. Pietrowski and Choi each require a content of at least one element (e.g. Ni) outside that claimed and therefore, fail to teach the aluminum alloy as required by the amended claim 1. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Beals, as detailed above.
Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/JOHN A HEVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735