Status of the claims
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-10, 13-16, 20-22, and 24-29 are pending and examined herein.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 9, 22, 24, and 27 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 7, 9, and 27 each recite the final limitation as “both the UMI sequences and the BC sequences are or are added by a method of claim 1.”
Claim 22 recites “the method of amplification and/or sequencing and/or of the obtained polynucleotide sequences” in both (d)(i) and (d)(ii).
Claim 24 references “the first and/or second cut-offs determined in claim 22 step (c)” when this should say “claim 24 step (c)”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 7, 9, 20-21, 24, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the subarrays" in 3(b)(i). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This may be rectified by removing reference to “the subarrays” or providing prior antecedent basis in the instant claim or in a claim it is dependent on. Other solutions are possible.
Claim 7 is directed to both a product (“array of polynucleotides”) and process (“method”). According to MPEP § 2173.05(p)(II), “A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using an apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).” For the purpose of examination, this claim will be interpreted as being directed towards the process, as it is believed that is what the applicant intended. This rejection may be rectified by removing reference to either the product or the process.
Claims 9 and 27 recite several optional limitations (“optionally wherein [limitation X], further optionally wherein [limitation Y]”) followed by a limitation recited as “and wherein [limitation Z]”. It is unclear whether [limitation Z] is subsumed under one of the optional limitations and is therefore optional itself, or if it is intended to be non-optional. For the purpose of examination, this limitation will be interpreted as being non-optional. This rejection may be overcome by specifically citing whether [limitation Z] is optional or non-optional. Other solutions are possible.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “the polynucleotides of a sample” in the preamble. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. This rejection can be rectified by removing the word “the” preceding the limitation. Other solutions are possible
Claim 20 recites the limitation “…to produce a library of polynucleotides amplified from or tagging analytes in the sample…” in part (c). The limitation of “tagging” is indefinite because it is grammatically unclear. As the limitation is modified by the conjunction “or”, it will be disregarded for the purpose of examination. To overcome this rejection, the claim may be rephrased to make the action of “tagging” clear, or the limitation may be excluded altogether.
Claim 20 also lists several method steps ((a), (b), (c)) without a conjunction to indicate whether all, one, or a subset of these steps are required. For the purpose of examination, the claim will be interpreted as reciting: (a), (b), and (c), optionally (d). To overcome this rejection, add a conjunction such as “and”, “or”, or “and/or”. Other solutions are possible.
Claim 21 is rejected as it is dependent on indefinite claim 20.
Claim 24 recites the limitations "the library", “the BC”, and “the UMI” in the preamble and in 24(a). There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim as there are no references to any of these in the claims upon which the instant claim is dependent (1 and 22). This rejection can be rectified by removing these limitations or providing proper antecedent basis for them.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Wang et al.
Claims 1, 3, 7, 10, 13-16, 20-22, 24, 26, and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (WO 2016/010856, cited in IDS of 2/14/24).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a method (Fig. 1) of adding an identifier sequence (“semi-random barcodes”) to polynucleotides (p. 5, lines 19-21), comprising adding each nucleotide block (“Xmer”) by elongating the polynucleotides using a mixed pool of pre-synthesized nucleotide blocks (p. 5, lines 15-21). Wang also discloses that different nucleotide blocks differ from each other by at least two nucleotide substitutions (p. 6, lines 14-17) and that the identifier sequences are added to at least 100 different polynucleotides (p. 6, lines 10-11).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses that the identifier sequence is added to the polynucleotides using degenerate polynucleotide synthesis (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Wang further discloses that the identifier sequence is a unique molecular identifier sequence (UMI) (p. 4, lines 7-8).
Regarding claim 10, Wang further discloses that each polynucleotide (Fig. 6A) further comprises a PCR handle sequence (p. 46, lines 25-26: “3rd sequence”).
Regarding claim 13, Wang further discloses that the identifier sequence is 4-9 blocks in length (p. 5, lines 6-8).
Regarding claims 20 and 21, Wang further discloses producing a library of polynucleotides (p. 51, lines 12-14) that include a UMI (p. 51, line 13: “semi-random barcode”) and a barcode (p. 51, lines 16-19: “2nd sequence”) by capturing analytes in the sample on an array of polynucleotides synthesized by the method of claim 1 (Fig. 5B; p. 51, lines 19-24), generating copies of the array and sample polynucleotides and amplifying the copies (p. 51, lines 19-24).
Regarding claim 22, Wang further discloses determining the accuracy of amplifying and/or sequencing polynucleotides (p. 53-54, lines 24-8) comprising obtaining sequencing data (p. 53, lines 2-5), determining percentage of identifier sequences that are correctly sequenced (p. 59, lines 11-13), and using the percentage to determine the accuracy and error correct sequences that were incorrectly sequenced (p. 24-25).
Regarding claim 24, Wang further discloses using the percentage to determine a first cut-off for discarding sequences and collapsing sequenced polynucleotides into groups based on sequence identity (p. 54, lines 4-6).
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses an array of at least 100 (p. 6, lines 10-13) polynucleotides (p. 46, lines 18-20: “a plurality of sets of ss oligonucleotides”) that comprise identifier sequences (p. 46, line 19) made up of a consecutive series of at least 3 nucleotide blocks (p. 5, lines 6-8), wherein the nucleotide blocks were selected from a pool of up to 36 blocks (p. 6, lines 6-9), and each block differs from the others by at least two nucleotide substitutions (p. 6, lines 14-17).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Wang further discloses that each polynucleotide of the array (Fig. 6A) has both barcode (p. 46, lines 21-25: “2nd sequence”) and UMI (p. 46, line 19: “semi-random barcode”) sequences, wherein the barcode sequence of essentially each polynucleotide of the array is the same (p. 46, lines 21-25). Additionally, Wang further discloses a surface comprising a plurality of discrete pre-determined positions associated with arrays of the polynucleotides (p. 47, lines 5-9).
Regarding claim 26, Wang further discloses that the identifier sequence of each polynucleotide is a UMI (p. 4, lines 7-8).
Regarding claim 28, Wang further discloses that each polynucleotide further comprises a PCR handle sequence (p. 46, lines 25-26).
Regarding claim 29, Wang further discloses that the identifier sequence is up to 14 nucleotide blocks in length (p. 5, lines 6-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Wang et al. and Gaytán et al.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. in view of Gaytán et al. (Nuc. Acid. Res. (2009), 37(18): e125). As discussed previously, Wang discloses all limitations of claim 1. However, Wang does not disclose that the nucleotide blocks are phosphoramidites, as Wang does not teach a specific coupling chemistry for synthesizing the polynucleotides. Gaytán discloses phosphoramidite nucleotide blocks (Figure 1), which were well known in the art as evidenced by Damha et al. (WO 2012/024776) (p. 5, lines 3-14). Therefore, all limitations of claim 2 are disclosed by Wang and Gaytán, excepting the actual combination of these elements. Furthermore, in combination all elements would merely perform the same function as they do separately: the method of Wang performs the function of synthesizing polynucleotides from nucleotide blocks and the phosphoramidite nucleotide blocks of Gaytán perform the function of being building blocks for the synthesized polynucleotide. As the use of phosphoramidite nucleotide blocks was well known, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the time of the effective filing date to combine the elements of Wang and Gaytán, yielding the predictable result of a method of synthesizing polynucleotides using phosphoramidite nucleotide blocks.
Wang et al. and Efcavitch et al.
Claims 6 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. in view of Efcavitch et al. (US PG Pub 2019/0344239). As discussed previously, Wang discloses all limitations of claims 1 and 14. Additionally, Wang discloses selecting subsets of possible nucleotide blocks to use in the pool of nucleotide blocks for synthesis (p. 5, lines 22-27). However, Wang does not specifically disclose selecting nucleotide blocks that consist of two or more of the same nucleotide.
Efcavitch discloses synthesis of homopolymer tracts of repeated nucleotides (Fig. 12; p. 1, ¶ [0005]). Additionally, Efcavitch teaches that homopolymer tracts are advantageous because they have “the ability to tolerate errors in sequencing readout technologies” (p. 3, ¶ [0047]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in synthesizing the homopolymer tracts of Efcavitch by the method of Wang because it would simply require selecting a specific subset of nucleotide blocks to use in the pool of nucleotide blocks, which Wang anticipates as discussed above.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date to synthesize the homopolymer tracts of Efcavitch using the method of Wang, necessitating the use of nucleotide blocks that consist of two or more of the same nucleotide, based on the motivation to create a sequence with the ability to tolerate errors as provided by Efcavitch.
Wang et al. and Macosko et al.
Claims 9 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. in view of Macosko et al. (Cell (2015), 161: 1202-1214; cited in IDS of 2/14/24). As discussed previously, Wang discloses all limitations of claims 1 and 14. Additionally, Wang discloses that the polynucleotide array (“sets of ss oligonucleotides”) is divided into a plurality of sub-arrays (“a plurality of sets of ss oligonucleotides”; p. 46, lines 18-20), where each polynucleotide comprises a barcode sequence (p. 46, lines 21-22: “2nd sequence”) that is the same as the barcode sequences of other polynucleotides of the same sub-array, but different from the barcode sequence of polynucleotides of other sub-arrays (p. 46, lines 21-25). However, Wang does not disclose that the barcode sequence is an identifier sequence added to each polynucleotide by the method of claim 1.
Macosko discloses an array of polynucleotides (“primers”) that is divided into a plurality of sub-arrays (“primers on the surface of any one bead”), where each polynucleotide comprises a barcode sequence that is the same as the barcode sequences of other polynucleotides of the same sub-array, but different from the barcode sequence of polynucleotides of other sub-arrays (p. 1203, A Split-Pool Synthesis Approach…; Figure 1B). Additionally, Macosko discloses that the barcode sequence is synthesized by the same building blocks used to construct the identifier sequence (“UMI”; p. 1203, col. 2, lines 3-14) and that the barcode sequence is added before the UMI (Figure 1B).
Furthermore, Wang teaches that constructing identifier sequences using nucleotide blocks to create semi-random barcodes is advantageous over random barcodes (such as those of Macosko) because they “allow corrections to errors in the barcodes arising from library preparation, amplification, and sequencing” (p. 4, lines 13-15).
The distinctions between the methods of Wang and Macosko are ultimately that Wang does not explicitly disclose that the barcode sequence is synthesized in the same way as the UMI, and Macosko uses mononucleotides as opposed to nucleotide blocks to build the polynucleotide. Outside of these differences, however, they are largely compatible, indicating that substitution of elements between the two methods would yield predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date to combine the barcode synthesis method of Macosko with the polynucleotide synthesis method of Wang to yield the predictable result of a barcode sequence constructed by the method of claim 1, based on the motivation of allowing error correction of the barcode sequencing results provided by Wang.
Double Patenting
Application 18/853,764
Claims 1, 3, 6, 9-10, 14, 16, 20-21, 25, and 27-28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 42, 43-45, 47, 49-52, 54, and 57-61 of copending Application No. 18/853,764 in view of Macosko et al..
Regarding claim 1, claims 42, 49, and 58 of the reference application each disclose a method of adding an identifier sequence (“first identifier sequence”) to an array of polynucleotides (“capture polynucleotides”) wherein the identifier sequence comprises a series of discrete nucleotide blocks that are added from a mixed pool of nucleotide blocks, wherein each nucleotide block sequence in the pool differs from each other nucleotide block in the pool by at least two nucleotide substitutions (42/49 (iii); 58(ii)). However, the reference application does not explicitly disclose adding a different identifier sequence to each of at least 100 different polynucleotides.
Macosko discloses adding a different identifier sequence to each of 48 different polynucleotides (Fig. 1D). This is a conventional and routine number of identifier sequences used in high-throughput sequencing applications, indicating that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date to add a different identifier sequence to each of at least 100 polynucleotides, rendering claim 1 obvious.
Regarding claim 3, claims 43 and 50 of the reference application further disclose adding an identifier sequence to the polynucleotides using degenerate polynucleotide synthesis (43/50 (c)).
Regarding claim 14, all common limitations with claim 1 are obvious as discussed above. Furthermore, claims 43, 50, and 59 also disclose that the nucleotide block sequences are homodimers or homotrimers (43/50/59 (b)). This would limit the pool of nucleotide blocks to 4-5 sequences (AA, TT, (UU), CC, and GG; or AAA, TTT, (UUU), CCC, and GGG), which fulfills the limitation of “a pool of up to 36 nucleotide block sequences” of claim 14, rendering it obvious as well.
Regarding claims 6 and 25, as the reference application discloses homodimer/homotrimer nucleotide block sequences as discussed above, this also fulfills the limitation of each nucleotide block consisting of two or more of the same nucleotide.
Regarding claims 9 and 27, claims 45, 47, 52, 54, and 61 of the reference application each further disclose that the polynucleotide array is divided into a plurality of sub-arrays (44/47/51/54/61: “micro-particles”) and that the identifier sequence of the polynucleotides is a barcode sequence that is the same for all polynucleotides of the same sub-array, but different from those of the different sub-arrays (45/47/52/54/61).
Regarding claims 10 and 28, claims 42, 49, and 58 each disclose that the polynucleotides comprise an analyte capture region (“RNA capture region”) and a PCR handle sequence (42/49 (i); 58(ii)).
Regarding claim 16, the reference application discloses a plurality of micro-particles (“one or more micro-particles”) where the polynucleotides of the micro-particles have barcodes unique to each micro-particle as discussed in regards to claims 9 and 27 above.
Regarding claim 20, claims 42 and 49 of the reference application each disclose a method of producing a library comprising capturing analytes on an array of polynucleotides (42/49 (i): “capturing RNA molecules of the sample on a set of capture polynucleotides”), generating copies of the polynucleotides including the barcode sequence (42/49 (ii): “performing reverse transcription of captured sample RNA molecules… primed using the capture polynucleotides”), and amplifying the copies to produce a library of polynucleotides including the barcode sequence (42/49 (iv): “amplifying the cDNA… to generate a library of amplified cDNA flanked by the first and second identifier sequences”).
Regarding claim 21, claim 57 of the reference application discloses a library produced by the disclosed method.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/ALEXANDRA OLSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1684
/JEREMY C FLINDERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1684