DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1, Figures 1-6, claims 1, 2, 5, 8-15, 18 and 20, in the reply filed on August 18, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 6 and 7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 18, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8-15, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baur et al. (US 10,113,575) in view of Fuchs (US 4,116,573).
As to claims 1, 2 and 15, Baur et al. disclose a connector for two components, a first component 102 of which has a groove 112 with a bore 128 crossing the groove, comprising:
a plate-shaped first fitting 130 with a slot 176 and a first opening 188 crossing the slot, which first fitting can be inserted immersed into the groove under an at least approximate alignment of the first opening with the bore,
a second fitting 130 which can be anchored on a second component 104 and has a fin 178 and a second opening 188 passing through the fin, which fin can be inserted into the slot under an at least approximate alignment of the second opening with the first opening, and
a fastener is configured to be passed through the bore, the first and the second opening in order to align the bore, the first and the second opening with each other (Figures 1-2,18-22; C26 L42-45).
Baur et al. fail to disclose a connector wherein the fastener comprises a screw bolt which has a conical end; wherein the conical end has an apex angle of 60° to 120° or of about 90°; and wherein the first and second openings are threaded.
Fuchs teaches a connector wherein a fastener comprises a screw bolt 26 which has a conical end 31; wherein the conical end has an apex angle of 60° to 120° or of about 90°; and wherein an opening 25 in a first fitting 23 is threaded; the screw thread of the bolt securely retaining the bolt within the first fitting, and the conical end of the bolt providing for easier alignment and assembly of the bolt within the fitting (Figures 1-4). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector disclosed by Baur et al. wherein the fastener comprises a threaded bolt with a conical end, as taught by Fuchs, such that the first and second openings are threaded, in order to more securely retain the fastener within the first and second fittings, and to provide for easier alignment and assembly of the fastener within the fittings.
Assuming arguendo that the Fuchs reference fails to explicitly teach or suggest a pair of threaded first and second openings, Examiner notes that within such modification of the connector disclosed by Baur et al. to comprise a screw bolt at taught by Fuchs, inherently, the second opening 188 in second fitting 130 would matingly engage the threads of the screw bolt in order to allow the conical end of the screw bolt to extend through the second opening and into a distal portion of the first opening 188 of the first fitting 130.
Furthermore, it is well-known and readily-apparent within the art for a pair of aligned first and second openings to both be threaded to matingly engage the threads of a screw bolt; the threading of both openings providing for a more secure connection between elements. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector disclosed by Baur et al. to comprise a screw bolt as taught by Fuchs, wherein the first and second openings are both threaded, as it is well-known and readily-apparent within the art for a pair of aligned first and second openings to both be threaded to matingly engage the threads of a screw bolt in order to provide for a more secure connection between elements.
As to claim 5, Baur et al. disclose a connector wherein the fin 178 is set off in relation to the rest of the second fitting 130 in a stepped manner by a reduced plate thickness (Figures 1-2,18-22).
As to claim 8, Baur et al. disclose a connector of which the groove 112 of the first component 102 has an undercut 114 in the shape of an arc of a circle on at least one of its groove flanks, wherein the first fitting carries has a rib 138 in the shape of a circular arc for engagement in the undercut (Figures 1-2,18-22).
As to claim 9, Baur et al. disclose a connector wherein the first fitting 130, seen in the direction of the first opening 188, has approximately the shape of a sector of a circle, along the a circular arc of which the rib 138 is arranged (Figures 1-2,18-22).
As to claim 10, Baur et al. disclose a connector of which the second component 130 has a groove 112 with an undercut 114 in the shape of an arc of a circle on at least one of its groove flanks, characterized in that wherein the second fitting carries has a rib 138 in the shape of a circular are for engagement in the undercut (Figures 1-2,18-22).
As to claim 11, Baur et al. disclose a connector wherein the second fitting 130, seen in the direction of the second opening 188, has approximately the shape of a sector of a circle, along the a circular arc of which the rib 138 is arranged and from the a chord of which the fin 178 protrudes (Figures 1-2,18-22).
As to claim 12, Baur et al. disclose a connector wherein the first fitting 130 and/or the second fitting 130 carry has at least one cutting edge 138 in the shape of a circular arc for cutting into a groove flank of the groove 112 of the first component 102 or a groove 112 of the second component 104, respectively (Figures 1-2,18-22).
As to claim 13, Baur et al. disclose a connector wherein one of the fin 178 and the slot 176 has a latching projection, a spring clip or a resilient latching pawl and the other one has a latching recess interacting therewith to latch the fin upon insertion into the slot (Figures 1-2,18-22).
As to claim 14, Baur et al. disclose a connector wherein the slot 176 has latching projections lying opposite to one another in the slot’s entry region and the fin 178 has latching recesses on both sides interacting therewith (Figures 1-2,18-22).
As to claims 18 and 20, Baur et al. disclose a connector comprising:
a first fitting 130 having a slot 176 and a first opening 188 extending into the slot, the first fitting adapted to be mounted in a groove 112 of a first component 102 having a bore 128 extending into the groove such that the first opening approximately aligns with the bore in the first component;
a second fitting 130 adapted to be mounted in a groove 112 of a second component 104, the second fitting including a fin 178 having a second opening 188 extending through the fin, the fin configured to be inserted into the slot of the first fitting such that the second opening in the fin approximately aligns with the first opening in the first fitting; and
a fastener having a conical end configured to be passed through the bore, the first opening and the second opening to thereby align the bore, the first opening and the second opening with each other (Figures 1-2,18-22; C26 L42-45).
Baur et al. fail to disclose a connector wherein the fastener comprises a threaded bolt having a conical end; wherein the conical end has an apex angle of 60° to 120°; and wherein the second opening in the fin is threaded.
Fuchs teaches a connector wherein a fastener comprises a threaded bolt 26 having a conical end 31; wherein the conical end has an apex angle of 60° to 120°; and wherein an opening 25 in a first fitting 23 is threaded; the screw thread of the bolt securely retaining the bolt within the first fitting, and the conical end of the bolt providing for easier alignment and assembly of the bolt within the fitting (Figures 1-4). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector disclosed by Baur et al. wherein the fastener comprises a threaded bolt with a conical end, as taught by Fuchs, such that the first and second openings are threaded, in order to more securely retain the fastener within the first and second fittings, and to provide for easier alignment and assembly of the fastener within the fittings.
Assuming arguendo that the Fuchs reference fails to explicitly teach or suggest a pair of threaded first and second openings, Examiner notes that within such modification of the connector disclosed by Baur et al. to comprise a screw bolt at taught by Fuchs, inherently, the second opening 188 in second fitting 130 would matingly engage the threads of the screw bolt in order to allow the conical end of the screw bolt to extend through the second opening and into a distal portion of the first opening 188 of the first fitting 130.
Furthermore, it is well-known and readily-apparent within the art for a pair of aligned first and second openings to both be threaded to matingly engage the threads of a screw bolt; the threading of both openings providing for a more secure connection between elements. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector disclosed by Baur et al. to comprise a screw bolt as taught by Fuchs, wherein the first and second openings are both threaded, as it is well-known and readily-apparent within the art for a pair of aligned first and second openings to both be threaded to matingly engage the threads of a screw bolt in order to provide for a more secure connection between elements.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 14, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to claims 1 and 18, Attorney argues that:
Fuchs fails to teach or suggest modifying the connector disclosed by Baur et al. wherein the fastener comprises a screw bolt which has a conical end; and wherein the first and second openings are threaded, as conical opening 15 of fastening rod 14 of the Fuchs reference is not threaded.
Examiner disagrees. As to claims 1 and 18, Fuchs teaches a connector wherein a fastener comprises a screw bolt 26 which has a conical end 31; and wherein an opening 25 in a first fitting 23 is threaded; the screw thread of the bolt securely retaining the bolt within the first fitting, and the conical end of the bolt providing for easier alignment and assembly of the bolt within the fitting (Figures 1-4). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector disclosed by Baur et al. wherein the fastener comprises a threaded bolt with a conical end, as taught by Fuchs, such that the first and second openings are threaded, in order to more securely retain the fastener within the first and second fittings, and to provide for easier alignment and assembly of the fastener within the fittings.
Assuming arguendo that the Fuchs reference fails to explicitly teach or suggest a pair of threaded first and second openings, Examiner notes that within such modification of the connector disclosed by Baur et al. to comprise a screw bolt at taught by Fuchs, inherently, the second opening 188 in second fitting 130 would matingly engage the threads of the screw bolt in order to allow the conical end of the screw bolt to extend through the second opening and into a distal portion of the first opening 188 of the first fitting 130.
Furthermore, it is well-known and readily-apparent within the art for a pair of aligned first and second openings to both be threaded to matingly engage the threads of a screw bolt; the threading of both openings providing for a more secure connection between elements. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector disclosed by Baur et al. to comprise a screw bolt as taught by Fuchs, wherein the first and second openings are both threaded, as it is well-known and readily-apparent within the art for a pair of aligned first and second openings to both be threaded to matingly engage the threads of a screw bolt in order to provide for a more secure connection between elements.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
12/11/25
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619