DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Remarks
The amendment filed on 06/11/2026 has been entered. No claims have been amended, claims 21-46 were previously canceled, and claims 47-48 have been added. Therefore, claims 1-20 and 47-48 remain pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “3D” needs written in full form followed by the abbreviation of said term. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-18, 20, and 47-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2021/0130760 A1-Castillo et al (hereinafter “Castillo”, has an earlier effective filing date as of the provisional application).
Regarding claim 1, Castillo discloses an apparatus for culturing cells (cell culturing arts and, more particularly, to a bioreactor, para. [0002]; and Castillo discloses an apparatus for culturing cells in a bioreactor, abstract, line 1), comprising: a bioreactor vessel (bioreactor 100, para. [0077], line 1, Fig. 1); and a monolithic structured cell culture bed disposed in a portion of the vessel (the monolithic nature of the structured fixed beds in the bioreactor 100 help to promote consistency of the cell culturing operation throughout, and thus homogeneity, para. [0150], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 2, Castillo discloses further including an agitator for flowing fluid through the monolithic structured cell culture bed (the first chamber 116 may include an agitator for causing fluid flow within the bioreactor 100, para. [0078], lines 7-8, Fig. 3. Further, Castillo discloses the monolithic nature of the structured fixed beds in the bioreactor 100 help to promote consistency of the cell culturing operation throughout, and thus homogeneity, para. [0150], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 3, Castillo discloses wherein the monolithic structured cell culture bed is annular (a bioreactor including a structured fixed bed forming a central column of the bioreactor; the structured fixed bed may comprise a spiral bed, para. [0032], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 4, Castillo discloses wherein the monolithic structured cell culture bed is cuboid (the fixed bed is a structured fixed bed could take a variety of sizes or shapes, para. [0075], lines 3, and 6-7).
Regarding claim 5, Castillo discloses wherein the monolithic structured cell culture bed (the monolithic nature of the structured fixed beds in the bioreactor 100 help to promote consistency of the cell culturing operation throughout, and thus homogeneity, para. [0150], lines 1-5) comprises a sheet (matrix material of structured fixed bed, para. [0080], lines 1-2, Fig. 3A shows at least one sheet of the fixed bed) of interconnected objects (one or more immobilization layers 122a, Fig. 3A) having a partially curved or rounded shape (Fig. 3A shows a partially curved or rounded shape sheet of the structured fixed bed in the bioreactor; Castillo discloses the structured fixed bed can be subsequently spirally or concentrically rolled along an axis or core, para. [0080], lines 18-19, Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 6, Castillo discloses wherein the monolithic structured cell culture bed (the monolithic nature of the structured fixed beds in the bioreactor 100 help to promote consistency of the cell culturing operation throughout, and thus homogeneity, para. [0150], lines 1-5) comprises a three-dimensional matrix of objects (the spacer layer can be a mesh or comprises a mesh structure. Also, the mesh structure or mesh can be a structure comprising a network or web-like pattern of filament, wire or thread, para. [0076], lines 1-5, Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 7, Castillo discloses wherein the objects in the three- dimensional matrix are directly connected (the spacer layer can be a mesh or comprises a mesh structure. Also, the mesh structure or mesh can be a structure comprising a network or web-like pattern of filament, wire or thread, para. [0076], lines 1-5, Fig. 3B; further, Fig. 3B shows the matrix is directly connected).
Regarding claim 8, Castillo discloses wherein the objects in the three-dimensional matrix are connected by connectors forming a space between the objects (the spacer layer can be a mesh or comprises a mesh structure. Also, the mesh structure or mesh can be a structure comprising a network or web-like pattern of filament, wire or thread, para. [0076], lines 1-5, Fig. 3B; further, Fig. 3B shows the matrix is connected filament-like structures to cells).
Regarding claim 9, Castillo discloses wherein the bioreactor vessel includes an annular chamber for receiving the monolithic structured cell culture bed (annular chamber 120, para. [0078], line 16, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Castillo discloses wherein the bioreactor vessel (bioreactor 100, Figs. 1-3) and the monolithic structured cell culture bed comprise a unitary structure (spiral bed 122 in Fig. 3 is shown comprising a unitary structure).
Regarding claim 11, Castillo discloses wherein the monolithic structured cell culture bed (previously discussed above) comprises one or more pathways for unobstructed fluid flow (spacer layers 122b forms a tortuous path for cells and fluid to flow between the immobilization layers 122a, para. [0080], lines 9-14, Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 12, Castillo discloses wherein the one or more pathways are linear (fluid may then flow radially inwardly to a central return chamber 126, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Castillo discloses wherein the one or more pathways are non-linear (spacer layers 122b forms a tortuous path for cells and fluid to flow between the immobilization layers 122a, para. [0080], lines 9-14, Fig. 3A, shows non-linear pathways).
Regarding claim 14, Castillo discloses wherein the monolithic structured cell culture bed (the monolithic nature of the structured fixed beds in the bioreactor 100 help to promote consistency of the cell culturing operation throughout, and thus homogeneity, para. [0150], lines 1-5) comprises randomly arranged objects (Fig. 3B shows randomly arranged objects L on matrix formed by immobilization layers 122a and spacer layers 122b).
Regarding claim 15, Castillo discloses wherein the monolithic structured cell culture bed (the monolithic nature of the structured fixed beds in the bioreactor 100 help to promote consistency of the cell culturing operation throughout, and thus homogeneity, para. [0150], lines 1-5) comprises a first zone having a greater density of objects than a second zone (the modules of the bioreactor 100 interact to create a place for growing cells, such as in a high-density manner using a fixed bed, para. [0081], lines 25-27; further, Castillo discloses via Fig. 3B, cells are disposed at various densities).
Regarding claim 16, Castillo discloses wherein the monolithic structured cell culture bed is adapted to create a fluid flow gradient (the first chamber 116 may include an agitator for causing fluid flow within the bioreactor 100, para. [0078], lines 7-8, Fig. 3. Further, Castillo discloses the monolithic nature of the structured fixed beds in the bioreactor 100 help to promote consistency of the cell culturing operation throughout, and thus homogeneity, para. [0150], lines 1-5, that is, a fluid flow gradient is created via the agitator in the chamber. Additionally, Castillo discloses an impeller speed may be adjusted to compensate for an increase in pressure drop so as to maintain consistent linear velocity from bottom of reactor to top of reactor, para. [0119], lines 19-22).
Regarding claim 17, Castillo discloses wherein the monolithic structured cell culture bed is 3D printed (Castillo discloses it may be possible to 3D print the embodiment, para. [0116], line 14-15).
Regarding claim 18, Castillo discloses wherein the monolithic structured cell culture bed is compressible (the spacer layer can be a mesh or comprises a mesh structure. Also, the mesh 122b structure or mesh can be a structure comprising a network or web-like pattern of filament, wire or thread, para. [0076], lines 1-5, Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 20, Castillo discloses wherein the monolithic structured cell culture bed includes regions of varying porosity (the network can define pores, openings or perforations formed of a three-dimensional weave, para. [0076], lines 5-6; that is, the mesh structure previously discussed above).
Regarding claim 47, Ling discloses an apparatus for culturing cells (cell culturing arts and, more particularly, to a bioreactor, para. [0002]; and Castillo discloses an apparatus for culturing cells in a bioreactor, abstract, line 1), comprising: a bioreactor vessel (bioreactor 100, para. [0077], line 1, Fig. 1): and a structured cell culture bed disposed in a portion of the vessel (the monolithic nature of the structured fixed beds in the bioreactor 100 help to promote consistency of the cell culturing operation throughout, and thus homogeneity, para. [0150], lines 1-5; a matrix material for use in forming a structured fixed bed for culturing cells in any of the disclosed bioreactors, para. [0040], lines 1-3, Figs. 3A, 3B, and 3C), wherein the structured cell culture bed comprises a three-dimensional monolith in the form of a scaffold or lattice comprising multiple interconnected units or objects (it can be appreciated that the monolithic nature of the structured fixed beds in the bioreactors 100, 200, 300, 400, 500 help to promote consistency of the cell culturing operation throughout, and thus homogeneity, para. [0150], lines 1-5; and a single monolithic fixed bed could be used, which in this or any disclosed embodiment may take any size, shape, or form, para. [0084], lines 8-10).
Regarding claim 48, Ling discloses wherein the structured cell culture bed comprises one or more objects that are fused or sintered together to form a monolithic matrix (it can be appreciated that the monolithic nature of the structured fixed beds in the bioreactors 100, 200, 300, 400, 500 help to promote consistency of the cell culturing operation throughout, and thus homogeneity, para. [0150], lines 1-5; and a single monolithic fixed bed could be used, which in this or any disclosed embodiment may take any size, shape, or form, para. [0084], lines 8-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0130760 A1-Castillo as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of US 2018/0282678 A1-Castillo et al (hereinafter “Castillo ‘678”).
Regarding claim 19, Castillo teaches the invention discussed above in claim 18. Further, Castillo teaches a monolithic cell culture bed, also discussed above. However, Castillo does not explicitly teach a compressor.
For claim 19, Castillo ‘678 teaches a cell growth matrix assembly or structured cell growth matrix (para. [0007]) and Castillo teaches the matrix of the device can be compressed by any method known to the person skilled in the art (para. [0057], lines 2-5), which reads on the instant claim limitation of a compressor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time, to further include a compressor, as taught by Castillo ‘678, because Castillo ‘678 suggests compression of the matrix allow for improving overall performance of the matrix, which includes the spacer layers of the device (para. [0057]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On page of applicant’s remarks, applicant indicate the status of the claims and the relied upon art cited in the previously mailed Office Action. Additionally, applicant recites claim 1 of the instant application, cites paragraph 0079 of the specification of the instant application and cites section MPEP 2111. On the bottom of page 1, applicant asserts the claim requires a single three-dimensional monolithic bed, not a bed assembled from discrete layers, sheets, spacer elements, or stacked components. In response, a single three-dimensional monolithic bed is not novel, as indicated by the relied upon art cited in the rejection above. Moreover, the reference of Castillo, relates to a structured fixed bed, where three-dimensional monolithic beds are known in the art. Castillo discloses the following: “in any embodiment , it can be appreciated that the monolithic nature of the structured fixed beds in the bioreactors 100, 200, 300, 400, 500 help to promote consistency of the cell culturing operation throughout , and thus homogeneity, para. [0150], lines 1-5).” Also, Castillo discloses “a single monolithic fixed bed could be used , which in this or any disclosed embodiment may take any size, shape, or form (para. [0084], lines 8-10).
On page 2, paragraph 1 of applicant’s remarks, applicant asserts Castillo does not disclose the claimed structure. Further, applicant cites paragraph 0150 of the previously mailed Office Action, and which was also discussed above in this section. The applicant has also cited section 2131 of the MPEP and asserts Castillo teaches spacer layers comprising mesh, alternately positioned or superimposed with cell immobilization layers from paragraph [0076] of Castillo and applicant cites paragraph 0080 of Castillo. In their, remarks, applicant asserts that layered and rolled assembly is the opposite of the claimed monolithic bed, which avoids discrete portion such as elements or layers placed on top of or adjacent one another to form a whole. In response, applicant has acknowledged that Castillo discloses in any embodiment , it can be appreciated that the monolithic nature of the structured fixed beds in the bioreactors 100, 200, 300, 400, 500 help to promote consistency of the cell culturing operation throughout , and thus homogeneity (para. [0150], lines 1-5). In the latter, Castillo explicitly discloses any embodiment can comprise a monolithic nature of the disclosed bioreactors. Additionally, Castillo also discloses a single monolithic fixed bed could be used, which in this or any disclosed embodiment may take any size, shape, or form, para. [0084], lines 8-10). That is, the latter to citations of Castillo, paragraphs 0150 and 0084, explicitly disclose that a single monolithic fixed bed can be used with any disclosed embodiment. Moreover, any form, shape or sized may be used as well. Furthermore, the alleged “layered-and-rolled assembly” asserted by applicant, is nonetheless a single monolithic structure as indicated in Figs. 3, 3A and 3B. That is, the “layers” form a monolithic structure together and alone, as shown in the previously mentioned figures. Castillo discloses a single monolithic fixed bed could be used, which in this or any disclosed embodiment may take any size, shape, or form, para. [0084], lines 8-10).
On page 2, the second paragraph, applicant asserts “the Office Action maps multiple dependent “object”, “matrix,” sheet, mesh, and pathway limitations to Castillo’s spacers layers, immobilization layers, and mesh. But those features are part of Castillo’s assembled layered bed, not a monolithic structured cell culture bed as claimed. Castillo also describes the spiral bed as a cartridge that may be dropped or placed into the chamber”. Also, applicant asserts Castillo discloses multiple structured fixed beds in a stacked configuration …”. The applicant asserts Castillo fails to discloses the claimed monolithic structured cell culture bed in as complete detail as required by claim 1. The claimed feature of 3D printing is also asserted by applicant to not be disclosed by Castillo, in particular, applicant asserts the 3D printing disclosed in Castillo refers to forming an impeller 600, not manufacturing the cell culture bed as a single monolithic three-dimensional scaffold. In response, the latter argument is also not found persuasive because as discussed above in this section, Castillo discloses the following: “in any embodiment, it can be appreciated that the monolithic nature of the structured fixed beds in the bioreactors 100, 200, 300, 400, 500 help to promote consistency of the cell culturing operation throughout , and thus homogeneity, para. [0150], lines 1-5).” Also, Castillo discloses “a single monolithic fixed bed could be used , which in this or any disclosed embodiment may take any size, shape, or form (para. [0084], lines 8-10). Additionally, the “layers” of Castillo formed together or individually are monolithic structures. Regarding applicant’s assertation that “Castillo also describes the spiral bed as a cartridge that may be dropped or placed into the chamber”, applicant’s application also pertains to the matrix 124 is inserted into the bioreactor 100 (paragraph 0057 of the specification). Also, Castillo discloses the embodiment can be 3D printed. Specifically, Castillo discloses “it may also be possible to 3D print the embodiment, to pause the 3D printing, paragraph 0116.” Castillo discloses “to relaunch the 3D printing to form the impeller 600.” Therefore, for the reasons discussed above, Castillo does disclose the claimed monolithic structured cell culture bed in as required by claim 1 of the instant application.
On the bottom of page 2 and the top and middle of page 3 of the applicant’s remarks, applicant discusses the U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 19 of the claimed invention. In particular, on the bottom of page 2, applicant asserts “the cited combination fails to teach or suggest both the required compressible monolithic bed and the required compressor structure. Moreover, applicant asserts “Castillo does not teach that its ‘monolithic structured cell cultured bed’ is compressible.” Moreover, applicant asserts “The Office Action relies on Castillo’s mesh and porosity disclosure for claim 18, citing spacer layers that ‘can be a mesh’ and may define pores, openings, or perforations. But mesh openings and fluid-flow porosity are not a disclosure that a bed is mechanically compressible or that it is operated by compression.” Further, applicant mentions the compressibility feature of the instant application. In response, Castillo discloses the spacer layer can be a mesh or comprises a mesh structure. In some embodiments, mesh structure or mesh can be a structure comprising a network or web-like pattern of filament, wire or thread. In some embodiments, the network can define pores , openings or perforations formed of a three-dimensional weave. In some embodiments, the spacer layers and/or the cell immobilization layers of a spacer section and a immobilization section can be made of a biocompatible polymer, for polyethylene. Biocompatible polymers are known in the art to be flexible and elastic. Castillo discloses various materials, such as polyethylene, which is also known in the art to be flexible.
On the middle and bottom of page 3 of applicant’s remarks, applicant discussed the secondary reference, Castillo ‘678 “describes one or more cell immobilization layers superimposed on one or more spacer layers…”. Paragraph 0057 of Castillo ‘678, cited in the Office Action is discussed by applicant. It is asserted by applicant that the following relied paragraph of Castillo ‘678 paragraph 0057 is generic: “Castillo teaches the matrix of the device can be compressed by any method known to the person skilled in the art (para. [0057], lines 2-5).” Regarding the latter, applicant asserts the following regarding the latter citation of Castillo ‘678 “that generic statement that compression can occur ‘by any method’ is not a disclosure of an apparatus that includes a compressor, much less a compressor integrated with the apparatus for compressing a monolithic structured cell culture bed as claimed.” In response, the latter argument is also not found persuasive because Castillo ‘678 explicitly teaches “The matrix according to any embodiment of the invention can be compressed by any method known to the person skilled in the art, para. [0057], lines 2-5). That is, any method by a person having skilled in the art suitable to the invention, in this case, regarding a compressible structured cell culture bed. Moreover, the claim of the instant application merely recites “a compressor for compressing the monolithic structured cell culture bed.” That is, a compressor apparatus is not recited by claim 19 of the instant application. In addition, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., compressor apparatus; a compressor in the form of a movable plunger 130 or a movable internal or external wall also forming a compressor or plunger) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
On the bottom of page 3 and the top of page 4, applicant asserts “Castillo ‘678 identifies no corresponding compressor device and provides no teaching that such a device is included in the apparatus.” In response, the latter argument is not found persuasive because Castillo ‘678 explicitly teaches “The matrix according to any embodiment of the invention can be compressed by any method known to the person skilled in the art, para. [0057], lines 2-5). That is, any method by a person having skilled in the art suitable to the invention, in this case, regarding a compressible structured cell culture bed. Moreover, the claim of the instant application merely recites “a compressor for compressing the monolithic structured cell culture bed.” That is, a compressor apparatus is not recited by claim 19 of the instant application. In addition, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., compressor apparatus; a compressor in the form of a movable plunger 130 or a movable internal or external wall also forming a compressor or plunger) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Lastly, new claims 47 and 48 are also rejected for the reasons discussed above in the rejection. Therefore, claims 1-20 and newly added claims 47-48 stand rejected for the reasons discussed above in the rejection and in the response to arguments section of the Office Action.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/MICHAEL L HOBBS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799