DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/01/2023, 07/03/2024, 08/27/2025, and 09/25/225 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2021/0130760 A1-Castillo et al (hereinafter “Castillo”, has an earlier effective filing date as of the provisional application).
Regarding claim 1, Castillo discloses an apparatus for culturing cells (cell culturing arts and, more particularly, to a bioreactor, para. [0002]; and Castillo discloses an apparatus for culturing cells in a bioreactor, abstract, line 1), comprising: a bioreactor vessel (bioreactor 100, para. [0077], line 1, Fig. 1); and a monolithic structured cell culture bed disposed in a portion of the vessel (the monolithic nature of the structured fixed beds in the bioreactor 100 help to promote consistency of the cell culturing operation throughout, and thus homogeneity, para. [0150], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 2, Castillo discloses further including an agitator for flowing fluid through the monolithic structured cell culture bed (the first chamber 116 may include an agitator for causing fluid flow within the bioreactor 100, para. [0078], lines 7-8, Fig. 3. Further, Castillo discloses the monolithic nature of the structured fixed beds in the bioreactor 100 help to promote consistency of the cell culturing operation throughout, and thus homogeneity, para. [0150], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 3, Castillo discloses wherein the monolithic structured cell culture bed is annular (a bioreactor including a structured fixed bed forming a central column of the bioreactor; the structured fixed bed may comprise a spiral bed, para. [0032], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 4, Castillo discloses wherein the monolithic structured cell culture bed is cuboid (the fixed bed is a structured fixed bed could take a variety of sizes or shapes, para. [0075], lines 3, and 6-7).
Regarding claim 5, Castillo discloses wherein the monolithic structured cell culture bed (the monolithic nature of the structured fixed beds in the bioreactor 100 help to promote consistency of the cell culturing operation throughout, and thus homogeneity, para. [0150], lines 1-5) comprises a sheet (matrix material of structured fixed bed, para. [0080], lines 1-2, Fig. 3A shows at least one sheet of the fixed bed) of interconnected objects (one or more immobilization layers 122a, Fig. 3A) having a partially curved or rounded shape (Fig. 3A shows a partially curved or rounded shape sheet of the structured fixed bed in the bioreactor; Castillo discloses the structured fixed bed can be subsequently spirally or concentrically rolled along an axis or core, para. [0080], lines 18-19, Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 6, Castillo discloses wherein the monolithic structured cell culture bed (the monolithic nature of the structured fixed beds in the bioreactor 100 help to promote consistency of the cell culturing operation throughout, and thus homogeneity, para. [0150], lines 1-5) comprises a three-dimensional matrix of objects (the spacer layer can be a mesh or comprises a mesh structure. Also, the mesh structure or mesh can be a structure comprising a network or web-like pattern of filament, wire or thread, para. [0076], lines 1-5, Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 7, Castillo discloses wherein the objects in the three- dimensional matrix are directly connected (the spacer layer can be a mesh or comprises a mesh structure. Also, the mesh structure or mesh can be a structure comprising a network or web-like pattern of filament, wire or thread, para. [0076], lines 1-5, Fig. 3B; further, Fig. 3B shows the matrix is directly connected).
Regarding claim 8, Castillo discloses wherein the objects in the three-dimensional matrix are connected by connectors forming a space between the objects (the spacer layer can be a mesh or comprises a mesh structure. Also, the mesh structure or mesh can be a structure comprising a network or web-like pattern of filament, wire or thread, para. [0076], lines 1-5, Fig. 3B; further, Fig. 3B shows the matrix is connected filament-like structures to cells).
Regarding claim 9, Castillo discloses wherein the bioreactor vessel includes an annular chamber for receiving the monolithic structured cell culture bed (annular chamber 120, para. [0078], line 16, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Castillo discloses wherein the bioreactor vessel (bioreactor 100, Figs. 1-3) and the monolithic structured cell culture bed comprise a unitary structure (spiral bed 122 in Fig. 3 is shown comprising a unitary structure).
Regarding claim 11, Castillo discloses wherein the monolithic structured cell culture bed (previously discussed above) comprises one or more pathways for unobstructed fluid flow (spacer layers 122b forms a tortuous path for cells and fluid to flow between the immobilization layers 122a, para. [0080], lines 9-14, Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 12, Castillo discloses wherein the one or more pathways are linear (fluid may then flow radially inwardly to a central return chamber 126, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Castillo discloses wherein the one or more pathways are non-linear (spacer layers 122b forms a tortuous path for cells and fluid to flow between the immobilization layers 122a, para. [0080], lines 9-14, Fig. 3A, shows non-linear pathways).
Regarding claim 14, Castillo discloses wherein the monolithic structured cell culture bed (the monolithic nature of the structured fixed beds in the bioreactor 100 help to promote consistency of the cell culturing operation throughout, and thus homogeneity, para. [0150], lines 1-5) comprises randomly arranged objects (Fig. 3B shows randomly arranged objects L on matrix formed by immobilization layers 122a and spacer layers 122b).
Regarding claim 15, Castillo discloses wherein the monolithic structured cell culture bed (the monolithic nature of the structured fixed beds in the bioreactor 100 help to promote consistency of the cell culturing operation throughout, and thus homogeneity, para. [0150], lines 1-5) comprises a first zone having a greater density of objects than a second zone (the modules of the bioreactor 100 interact to create a place for growing cells, such as in a high-density manner using a fixed bed, para. [0081], lines 25-27; further, Castillo discloses via Fig. 3B, cells are disposed at various densities).
Regarding claim 16, Castillo discloses wherein the monolithic structured cell culture bed is adapted to create a fluid flow gradient (the first chamber 116 may include an agitator for causing fluid flow within the bioreactor 100, para. [0078], lines 7-8, Fig. 3. Further, Castillo discloses the monolithic nature of the structured fixed beds in the bioreactor 100 help to promote consistency of the cell culturing operation throughout, and thus homogeneity, para. [0150], lines 1-5, that is, a fluid flow gradient is created via the agitator in the chamber. Additionally, Castillo discloses an impeller speed may be adjusted to compensate for an increase in pressure drop so as to maintain consistent linear velocity from bottom of reactor to top of reactor, para. [0119], lines 19-22).
Regarding claim 17, Castillo discloses wherein the monolithic structured cell culture bed is 3D printed (Castillo discloses it may be possible to 3D print the embodiment, para. [0116], line 14-15).
Regarding claim 18, Castillo discloses wherein the monolithic structured cell culture bed is compressible (the spacer layer can be a mesh or comprises a mesh structure. Also, the mesh 122b structure or mesh can be a structure comprising a network or web-like pattern of filament, wire or thread, para. [0076], lines 1-5, Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 19, Castillo discloses wherein the monolithic structured cell culture bed includes regions of varying porosity (the network can define pores , openings or perforations formed of a three-dimensional weave, para. [0076], lines 5-6; that is, the mesh structure previously discussed above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0130760 A1-Castillo as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of US 2018/0282678 A1-Castillo et al (hereinafter “Castillo ‘678”).
Regarding claim 19, Castillo teaches the invention discussed above in claim 18. Further, Castillo teaches a monolithic cell culture bed, also discussed above. However, Castillo does not explicitly teach a compressor.
For claim 19, Castillo ‘678 teaches a cell growth matrix assembly or structured cell growth matrix (para. [0007]) and Castillo teaches the matrix of the device can be compressed by any method known to the person skilled in the art (para. [0057], lines 2-5), which reads on the instant claim limitation of a compressor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time, to further include a compressor, as taught by Castillo ‘678, because Castillo ‘678 suggests compression of the matrix allow for improving overall performance of the matrix, which includes the spacer layers of the device (para. [0057]).
Conclusion
/L.A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/MICHAEL L HOBBS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799