DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 are pending.
Priority
The instant application filed 6/1/2023 is a National Stage entry of PCT/US21/61973, International Filing Date of 12/6/2021. PCT/US21/61973 Claims Priority from Provisional Application 63122251, filed 12/7/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 2/7/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the Information Disclosure Statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steffen et al. US 2004/0142859 A1 published July 22, 2004 and Sonninen, TM., Hämäläinen, R.H., Koskuvi, M. et al. Metabolic alterations in Parkinson’s disease astrocytes. Sci Rep 10, 14474 (2020).
Claim 1 is generally directed towards a method of treating a polyamine imbalance-related disorder, the method comprising administering phenylbutyrate to a subject in need thereof, thereby treating the polyamine imbalance-related disorder.
Steffen teaches a method of treating Parkinson's disease in a patient, comprising identifying a patient at risk for Parkinson's disease; and administering to the patient a therapeutically effective amount of a deacetylase inhibitor (claim 37), wherein the deacetylase inhibitor is sodium phenylbutyrate (claim 40).
Steffen is silent on a polyamine imbalance in PD.
Sonninen teaches that in PD, there are alterations in the disease and specifically in polyamines. Sonninen states, “PD astroglial cells manifest increased levels of polyamines and polyamine precursors while lysophosphatidylethanolamine levels are decreased, both of these changes have been reported also in PD brain.”
Sonninen teaches in the Discussion on page 8:
Sonninen teaches that there is a polyamine “imbalance” in PD.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would know to treat PD with sodium phenylbutyrate as taught in the art, and in doing so would be treating a polyamine imbalance disorder as the disease is shown to be one in light of Sonninen. As such claim 1 in obvious in view of the art.
Claim 6 requires sodium phenylbutyrate, this is taught by Steffen.
Sonninen also teaches facts about PD rendering claims 2 and 7 obvious. Sonninen states:
Sonninen is noting that the LRRK2 mutation plays a role in the diagnosis and polyamine imbalance in PD. Therefore providing motivation to screen patients for the mutation when treating the disease for diagnostic value.
Therefore a person of ordinary skill would be motivated to diagnose and screen patients using genetics to look for an LRRK2 mutation in order to indicate PD, and then given the diagnosis one would look to treat PD with the available methods including those of Steffen by using sodium phenylbutyrate as taught in the art. Therefore claims 2 and 7 are obvious at the time of filing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 and 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/MICHAEL J SCHMITT/Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629