DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-18 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II a method for manufacturing a battery case, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/20/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, drawn to a battery case of an automobile, claims 1-9, in the reply filed on 01/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Munjurulimana (US 20220320659 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Munjurulimana discloses a battery case of an automobile (See Figs. 1-12 [0034]-[0057]), comprising:
a battery tray (see Fig. 1 10);
a plurality of cross frame parts ( multiple of crossbars 16 shown in Fig. 1, see annotated Figure 1 below); and
an impact absorbing member (see Fig. 1, portion of 30 inside of 32 see annotated, Fig. 5 below, 60, and Figs. 5-10 [0041]-[0048]) , wherein:
the battery tray has a bottom surface (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 4, 14 and Fig. 1 14), a first side portion (See Fig. 5 shows 32 left or right side portion of 30, see Figs. 3 and 4 [0039]-[0041], see annotated Fig. 5 below), and a second side portion (See Fig. 5 32 left or right side portion of 30, see Figs. 3 and 4 [0039]-[0041] see annotated Fig. 5 below);
the first side portion (See Fig. 5 shows 32 left or right side portion of 30, see Figs. 3 and 4 [0039]-[0041], see annotated Fig. 5) and the second side portion (32 right or left side portion of 30, see Figs. 3 and 4) face each other;
the plurality of cross frame parts (multiple of crossbars 16 shown in Fig. 1) extend in a direction from the second side portion toward the first side portion;
the plurality of cross frame parts (multiple of crossbars 16 shown in Fig. 1) are arranged at intervals along a longitudinal direction of the first side portion (See Fig. 5 shows 32 left or right side portion of 30, see Figs. 3 and 4 [0039]-[0041], see annotated Fig. 5 below);
the impact absorbing member (see Fig. 1, portion of 30 inside of 32 see Figs. 5-10, 60) is joined to an outer side of at least the first side portion (32 right or left side portion of 30, see Figs. 3 and 4) of the first side portion and the second side portion; and
the impact absorbing member includes a corrugated portion (see Fig. 1, portion of 30 inside of 32 see Figs. 5-10, 60, Figs. 7A and 7B), wherein:
the corrugated portion is formed in at least a longer range than an interval between the two cross frame parts (see Fig. 1, portion of 30 inside of 32 see Figs. 5-10, 60, Figs. 7A and 7B) ;
the corrugated portion has a plurality of bottom surfaces (see Fig. 7A or 7B and annotated Figure below) and a plurality of convex portions (see annotated Fig. 7A or 7B below);
the bottom surfaces (see annotated Fig. 7A or 7B below) of the corrugated portion are each between the convex portions (see annotated Fig. 7A or 7B below);
the convex portion has a top surface (see annotated Fig. 7A or 7B below), two side surfaces, and two ridge lines;
the two side surfaces of the convex portion face each other (see annotated Fig. 7A or 7B below);
the two ridge lines of the convex portion are ridge lines connecting the top surface of the convex portion and the two side surfaces of the convex portion (see annotated Fig. 7B below); and the two ridge lines of the convex portion extend in the direction from the second side portion toward the first side portion (see annotated Fig. 7A or 7B below, note that the two different set of corrugations run perpendicular to each other therefore one of the corrugations extends in the direction from the second side
portion toward the first side portion ).
Regarding claim 4, Munjurulimana discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Munjurulimana discloses a reinforcing member (see annotated drawing below), wherein: the reinforcing member (See annotated Fig. 10 below) extends along a longitudinal direction of the impact absorbing member; and
the reinforcing member is joined to an end face portion opposite to an end face portion that is joined to the battery tray in the impact absorbing member.
Regarding claim 5, Munjurulimana discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Munjurulimana discloses a reinforcing member (See annotated Fig. 10), wherein: the reinforcing member extends along a longitudinal direction of the impact absorbing member; and the reinforcing member includes a first face and a second face, wherein: the first face is joined to the outer side of the side portion of the battery tray to which the impact absorbing member is joined; and the second face is joined to the top surfaces of the convex portions of the impact absorbing member.
Regarding claim 6, Munjurulimana discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Munjurulimana discloses the reinforcing member includes a third face (See annotated Fig. 10), wherein: the third face is connected to the second face; and
the third face is joined to an end face portion opposite to an end face portion that is joined to the battery tray in the impact absorbing member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Munjurulimana (US 20220320659 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Munjurulimana discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Munjurulimana does not explicitly disclose wherein a height a of the convex portion and a width b of the convex portion in a cross section perpendicular to the ridge lines of the convex portion, and, a length d of the convex portion in an extending direction of the ridge lines satisfy the relations of 0.2 ≤a/d≤0.3 and 0.2≤ b/d ≤0.3.
Munjurulimana discloses that the rib designs can be varied ([0043]) and that the structure that the ribs are a part of is responsible for absorbing energy during impact ([0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the rib design of Munjurulimana to have the claimed dimensions (a, b, d) to optimize the amount of energy during impact the rib design can absorb.
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayukawa (US 2018/0148099 A1) in view of Munjurulimana (US 20220320659 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Ayukawa discloses a battery case of an automobile (See Figs. 1, 3 [0040]-[0051]), comprising:
a battery tray (16 [0041]);
a plurality of cross frame parts (15 [0041]); and
an impact absorbing member (30 [0043]), wherein:
the battery tray has a bottom surface [0041], a first side portion (See annotated Figure 1 below) , and a second side portion (See annotated Figure 1 below);
the first side portion and the second side portion face each other;
the plurality of cross frame parts (15 [0041]) extend in a direction from the second side portion toward the first side portion;
the plurality of cross frame parts (15 [0041]) are arranged at intervals along a longitudinal direction of the first side portion (See annotated Figure 1 below);
the impact absorbing member (30 [0043][0060]-able to absorb impact during collision) is joined to an outer side of at least the first side portion of the first side portion (17, see annotated Figure 3 below, will be on both right and left side of vehicle, see Fig. 1, between 16 and 20) and the second side portion(17, see annotated Figure 3 below, will be on both right and left side of vehicle, see Fig. 1, between 16 and 20).
Ayukawa discloses that the impact absorbing member can have different designs (see 30 in Fig. 2-8).
However, Ayukawa does not disclose the impact absorbing member includes a corrugated portion, wherein:
the corrugated portion is formed in at least a longer range than an interval between the two cross frame parts;
the corrugated portion has a plurality of bottom surfaces and a plurality of convex
portions;
the bottom surfaces of the corrugated portion are each between the convex portions;
the convex portion has a top surface, two side surfaces, and two ridge lines;
the two side surfaces of the convex portion face each other;
the two ridge lines of the convex portion are ridge lines connecting the top surface of the convex portion and the two side surfaces of the convex portion; and
the two ridge lines of the convex portion extend in the direction from the second side
portion toward the first side portion.
Munjurulimana discloses the impact absorbing member includes a corrugated portion (see Fig. 1, portion of 30 inside of 32 see Figs. 5-10, 60), wherein:
the corrugated portion is formed in at least a longer range than an interval between the two cross frame parts (see Fig. 1, portion of 30 inside of 32 see Figs. 5-10, 60) ;
the corrugated portion has a plurality of bottom surfaces (see Fig. 7A or 7B and annotated Figure below) and a plurality of convex portions (see annotated Fig. 7A or 7B below);
the bottom surfaces (see annotated Fig. 7A or 7B below) of the corrugated portion are each between the convex portions (see annotated Fig. 7A or 7B below);
the convex portion has a top surface (see annotated Fig. 7A or 7B below), two side surfaces, and two ridge lines;
the two side surfaces of the convex portion face each other (see annotated Fig. 7A or 7B below);
the two ridge lines of the convex portion are ridge lines connecting the top surface of the convex portion and the two side surfaces of the convex portion (see annotated Fig. 7B below); and the two ridge lines of the convex portion extend in the direction from the second side portion toward the first side portion (see annotated Fig. 7A or 7B below, note that the two different set of corrugations run perpendicular to each other therefore one of the corrugations extends in the direction from the second side portion toward the first side portion ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the design of the impact absorbing structure of Ayukawa to have the design as disclosed by Munjurulimana because Munjurulimana discloses that is an effective design for an impact absorbing element attached to a battery frame and Ayukawa discloses that different designs can be used.
Regarding claim 4, modified Ayukawa discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Ayukawa discloses a reinforcing member (See annotated Fig. 3 above, which shows faces of reinforcing member), wherein: the reinforcing member extends along a longitudinal direction of the impact absorbing member; and the reinforcing member is joined to an end face portion opposite to an end face portion that is joined to the battery tray in the impact absorbing member.
Regarding claim 5, modified Ayukawa discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Ayukawa a reinforcing member (See annotated Fig. 3 above, which shows faces of reinforcing member), wherein: the reinforcing member extends along a longitudinal direction of the impact absorbing member; and the reinforcing member includes a first face and a second face, wherein: the first face is joined to the outer side of the side portion of the battery tray to which the impact absorbing member is joined; and the second face is joined to the top surfaces of the convex portions of the impact absorbing member.
Regarding claim 6, modified Ayukawa discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Ayukawa discloses the reinforcing member includes a third face (See annotated Fig. 3 above, which shows faces of reinforcing member), wherein: the third face is connected to the second face; and the third face is joined to an end face portion opposite to an end face portion that is joined to the battery tray in the impact absorbing member.
Regarding claim 7, modified Ayukawa discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Ayukawa discloses the reinforcing member includes a slope between the first face and the second face (See annotated Fig. 3 above, which shows faces of reinforcing member).
Regarding claim 3, modified Ayukawa discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Ayukawa does not explicitly disclose wherein a height a of the convex portion and a width b of the convex portion in a cross section perpendicular to the ridge lines of the convex portion, and, a length d of the convex portion in an extending direction of the ridge lines satisfy the relations of 0.2 ≤a/d≤0.3 and 0.2≤ b/d ≤0.3.
Munjurulimana discloses that the rib designs can be varied ([0043]) and that the structure that the ribs are a part of is responsible for absorbing energy during impact ([0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the rib design of modified Ayukawa to have the claimed dimensions (a, b, d) to optimize the amount of energy during impact the rib design can absorb as disclosed by Munjurulimana.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
DEVINA PILLAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/DEVINA PILLAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726