DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Munjurulimana (US 20220320659 A1) in view of Koga (US 20200369324 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Munjurulimana discloses a battery case of an
automobile (See Figs. 1-12 [0034]-[0057]), comprising:
a battery tray (see Fig. 1 10);
a plurality of cross frame parts ( multiple of crossbars 16 shown in Fig. 1, see annotated Figure 1 below); and
an impact absorbing member (see Fig. 1, portion of 30 inside of 32 see annotated, Fig. 5 below, 60, and Figs. 5-10 [0041]-[0048]) , wherein:
the battery tray has a bottom surface (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 4, 14 and Fig. 1 14), a
first side portion (See Fig. 5 shows 32 left or right side portion of 30, see Figs. 3 and 4
[0039]-[0041], see annotated Fig. 5 below), and a second side portion (See Fig. 5 32 left
or right side portion of 30, see Figs. 3 and 4 [0039]-[0041] see annotated Fig. 5 below);
the first side portion (See Fig. 5 shows 32 left or right side portion of 30, see Figs. 3 and 4 [0039]-[0041], see annotated Fig. 5) and the second side portion (32 right or left side portion of 30, see Figs. 3 and 4) face each other;
the plurality of cross frame parts (multiple of crossbars 16 shown in Fig. 1) extend in a direction from the second side portion toward the first side portion;
the plurality of cross frame parts (multiple of crossbars 16 shown in Fig. 1) are arranged at intervals along a longitudinal direction of the first side portion (See Fig. 5 shows 32 left or right side portion of 30, see Figs. 3 and 4 [0039]-[0041], see annotated Fig. 5 below);
the impact absorbing member (see Fig. 1, portion of 30 inside of 32 see Figs. 5-
10, 60) is joined to an outer side of at least the first side portion (32 right or left side portion of 30, see Figs. 3 and 4) of the first side portion and the second side portion; and the impact absorbing member includes a corrugated portion (see Fig. 1, portion
of 30 inside of 32 see Figs. 5-10, 60, Figs. 7A and 7B) and the corrugated portion is formed in at least a longer range than an interval between the two cross frame parts (see Fig. 1, portion of 30 inside of 32 see Figs. 5-10, 60, Figs. 7A and 7B).
Munjurulimana discloses that the impact absorbing member can include a variety of shapes [0043].
However, Munjurulimana does not disclose the geometry required for the corrugated portions. corrugated portion has a plurality of bottom surfaces and a plurality of convex portions; the bottom surfaces of the corrugated portion are each between the convex portions; the convex portion has a top surface, two side surfaces, and two ridge lines; the two side surfaces of the convex portion face each other; the two ridge lines of the convex portion are ridge lines connecting the top surface of the convex portion and the two side surfaces of the convex portion; the two ridge lines of the convex portion extend in the direction from the second side portion toward the first side portion; and the bottom surfaces extend along an entire length of the top surfaces in the direction from the second side portion toward the first side portion.
Koga discloses an impact absorbing ([0005]) corrugated member (See Figs. 6 and Fig. 2, 7 which is analogous to 3 see annotated figure below [0084]-[0085][0111]-[0116]) which has a corrugated portion which includes a plurality of bottom surfaces (see Fig. 6, 7, 7L and portions between 711 [0114]-[0115]) and a plurality of convex portions (see plurality of convex shapes); the bottom surfaces of the corrugated portion are each between the convex portions (see annotated figure below); the convex portion has a top surface (See Fig. 6, 712[0114]-[0115]) , two side surfaces (see Fig. 6, 711[0114]-[0115]) , and two ridge lines (intersection of top and side surface); the two side surfaces of the convex portion face each other (see Fig. 6, 711[0114]-[0115]) ; the two ridge lines of the convex portion are ridge lines connecting the top surface of the convex portion and the two side surfaces of the convex portion (See annotated figure below); the two ridge lines of the convex portion extend in the direction from the second side portion toward the first side portion (see annotated figure of Munjurulimana Figs. 2 and 5 direction of convex portion will be the same) ; and the bottom surfaces extend along an entire length of the top surfaces (see Fig. 2 of Koga) in the direction from the second side portion toward the first side portion (see annotated figure of Munjurulimana Figs. 2 and 5 direction of convex portion will be the same).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the of filing to modify the shape of the impact absorbing corrugate member of Munjurulimana to have the shape as disclosed by Koga because Koga discloses that the corrugated shape is also a shape which is able to absorb impact.
Regarding claim 4, modified Munjurulimana discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Munjurulimana discloses a reinforcing member (see annotated drawing below), wherein: the reinforcing member (See annotated Fig. 10 below) extends along a longitudinal direction of the impact absorbing member; and the reinforcing member is joined to an end face portion opposite to an end face portion that is joined to the battery tray in the impact absorbing member.
Regarding claim 5, modified Munjurulimana discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Munjurulimana discloses a reinforcing member (See annotated Fig. 10), wherein: the reinforcing member extends along a longitudinal direction of the impact absorbing member; and the reinforcing member includes a first face and a second face, wherein: the first face is joined to the outer side of the side portion of the battery tray to which the impact absorbing member is joined; and the second face is joined to the top surfaces of the convex portions of the impact absorbing member.
Regarding claim 6, modified Munjurulimana discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Munjurulimana discloses the reinforcing member includes a third face (See annotated Fig. 10), wherein: the third face is connected to the second face; and the third face is joined to an end face portion opposite to an end face portion that is joined to the battery tray in the impact absorbing member.
Regarding claim 3, modified Munjurulimana discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Munjurulimana does not explicitly disclose wherein a height a of the convex portion and a width b of the convex portion in a cross section perpendicular to the ridge lines of the convex portion, and, a length d of the convex portion in an extending direction of the ridge lines satisfy the relations of 0.2 ≤a/d≤0.3 and 0.2≤ b/d ≤0.3.
Munjurulimana discloses that the rib designs can be varied ([0043]) and that the
structure that the ribs are a part of is responsible for absorbing energy during impact ([0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the rib design of Munjurulimana to have the claimed dimensions (a, b, d) to optimize the amount of energy during impact the rib design can absorb.
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayukawa (US 2018/0148099 A1) in view of Munjurulimana (US 20220320659 A1) in view of Koga (US 20200369324 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Ayukawa discloses a battery case of an automobile
(See Figs. 1, 3 [0040]-[0051]), comprising:
a battery tray (16 [0041]);
a plurality of cross frame parts (15 [0041]); and
an impact absorbing member (30 [0043]), wherein:
the battery tray has a bottom surface [0041], a first side portion (See annotated Figure 1 below) , and a second side portion (See annotated Figure 1 below);
the first side portion and the second side portion face each other; the plurality of cross frame parts (15 [0041]) extend in a direction from the second side portion toward the first side portion;
the plurality of cross frame parts (15 [0041]) are arranged at intervals along a longitudinal direction of the first side portion (See annotated Figure 1 below);
the impact absorbing member (30 [0043][0060]-able to absorb impact during collision) is joined to an outer side of at least the first side portion of the first side portion (17, see annotated Figure 3 below, will be on both right and left side of vehicle, see Fig 1, between 16 and 20) and the second side portion(17, see annotated Figure 3 below, will be on both right and left side of vehicle, see Fig. 1, between 16 and 20).
Ayukawa discloses the impact absorbing member is formed in at least a longer range than an interval between the two cross frame parts ([0053]).
Ayukawa discloses that the impact absorbing member can have different designs
(see 30 in Fig. 2-8).
Munjurulimana discloses that impact absorbing members can be oriented such that the two ridge lines of the convex portion extend in the direction from the second side portion toward the first side portion (see annotated figure of Munjurulimana Figs. 2 and 5 direction of convex portion will be the same).
Koga discloses an impact absorbing ([0005]) corrugated member (See Figs. 6 and Fig. 2, 7 which is analogous to 3 see annotated figure below [0084]-[0085][0111]-[0116]) which has a corrugated portion which includes a plurality of bottom surfaces (see Fig. 6, 7, 7L and portions between 711 [0114]-[0115]) and a plurality of convex portions (see plurality of convex shapes); the bottom surfaces of the corrugated portion are each between the convex portions (see annotated figure below); the convex portion has a top surface (See Fig. 6, 712[0114]-[0115]) , two side surfaces (see Fig. 6, 711[0114]-[0115]) , and two ridge lines (intersection of top and side surface); the two side surfaces of the convex portion face each other (see Fig. 6, 711[0114]-[0115]) ; the two ridge lines of the convex portion are ridge lines connecting the top surface of the convex portion and the two side surfaces of the convex portion (See annotated figure below) and the bottom surfaces extend along an entire length of the top surfaces (see Fig. 2 of Koga).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the of filing to modify the shape of the impact absorbing open channel member of Ayukawa to have the shape as disclosed by Koga and that the open channel member has the orientation as disclosed by Munjurulimana because Koga and Munjurulimana discloses that the corrugated shape is also a shape which is able to absorb impact and an orientation which is able to absorb impact, respectively.
Regarding claim 4, modified Ayukawa discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Ayukawa discloses a reinforcing member (See annotated Fig. 3 above, which shows faces of reinforcing member), wherein: the reinforcing member extends along a longitudinal direction of the impact absorbing member ([0052]); and the reinforcing member is joined to an end face portion opposite to an end face portion that is joined to the battery tray in the impact absorbing member.
Regarding claim 5, modified Ayukawa discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. In addition, Ayukawa a reinforcing member (See annotated Fig. 3 above, which shows faces of reinforcing member), wherein: the reinforcing member extends along a longitudinal direction of the impact absorbing member ([0053]); and the reinforcing member includes a first face and a second face, wherein: the first face is joined to the outer side of the side portion of the battery tray to which the impact absorbing member is joined; and the second face is joined to the top surfaces of the convex portions of the impact absorbing member.
Regarding claim 6, modified Ayukawa discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Ayukawa discloses the reinforcing member includes a third face (See annotated Fig. 3 above, which shows faces of reinforcing member), wherein: the third face is connected to the second face; and the third face is joined to an end face portion opposite to an end face portion that is joined to the battery tray in the impact absorbing member.
Regarding claim 7, modified Ayukawa discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Ayukawa discloses the reinforcing member includes a slope between the first face and the second face (See annotated Fig. 3 above, which shows faces of reinforcing member).
Regarding claim 3, modified Ayukawa discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Ayukawa does not explicitly disclose wherein a height a of the convex portion
and a width b of the convex portion in a cross section perpendicular to the ridge lines of the convex portion, and, a length d of the convex portion in an extending direction of the ridge lines satisfy the relations of 0.2 ≤a/d≤0.3 and 0.2≤ b/d ≤0.3.
Munjurulimana discloses that the rib designs can be varied ([0043]) and that the structure that the ribs are a part of is responsible for absorbing energy during impact ([0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to
modify the rib design of modified Ayukawa to have the claimed dimensions (a, b, d) to
optimize the amount of energy during impact the rib design can absorb as disclosed by Munjurulimana.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim,
but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DEVINA PILLAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/DEVINA PILLAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726