Detailed Office Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al. (2019/0369422; “Zeng”) in view of Kim et al. (An active carbon-nanotube polarizer-embedded electrode and liquid-crystal alignment, Nanoscale, June 2020, 12, 17698; “Kim”) and further in view of von und zu Liechtenstein, Maximilian Ralph Peter (2017/0336641; “von und zu Liechtenstein”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Zheng discloses in figures 2, 3, and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Zheng – Selected Text, embodiments a display structure 1 having a polarizer structure 12characterized by two polarizers: a first polarizer 121 and a second polarizer 122, with the first polarizer 121 overlaying optical sensor 3. Zheng, figures 2, 3, and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Zheng – Selected Text.
Zheng – Figures 2, 3, and 4
Zheng – Selected Text
Abstract. A display structure and an electronic device having the same are provided. The display structure includes a display screen and a light adjusting component located at a light emitting side of the display screen. An operating state of the light adjusting component comprises a light transmitting state and a polarization state, and the light adjusting component comprises a first region and a second region which are independently controllable. The display screen comprises a plurality of independently controllable pixels. Further, when the first region of the light adjusting component is in the light transmitting state, the pixels that are in the display screen and correspond to the first region are disabled to allow light emitted from the first region to penetrate through the display screen.
Background/Summary
[0005] According to a first aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided a display structure, which includes: a light adjusting component, where an operating state of the light adjusting component includes a light transmitting state and a polarization state, and the light adjusting component includes a first region and a second region which are independently controllable; and a display screen including a plurality of independently controllable pixels. The light adjusting component is located at a light emitting side of the display screen, and when the first region is in the light transmitting state, the pixels that are in the display screen and correspond to the first region are disabled to allow light emitted from the first region to penetrate through the display screen.
[0006] According to a second aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided an electronic device, which includes: a camera structure; and a display structure. The display structure may include: a light adjusting component and a display screen. An operating state of the light adjusting component includes a light transmitting state and a polarization state, and the light adjusting component includes a first region and a second region which are independently controllable. The display screen includes a plurality of independently controllable pixels. When the first region is in the light transmitting state, the pixels that are in the display screen and correspond to the first region are disabled to allow light emitted from the first region to penetrate through the display screen. The light adjusting component of the display structure is located at a light emitting side of the display screen, the camera structure is arranged at the other side of the display screen, and a lens of the camera structure is arranged corresponding to the first region.
[0007] According to a third aspect, a display apparatus may include a light adjusting component configured to operate in one of two operation states: a light transmitting state and a polarization state, the light adjusting component comprising a first region and a second region which are independently controllable. The display apparatus may further include a display screen comprising a plurality of independently controllable pixels. When the first region is in the light transmitting state, the display screen is configured to disable pixels corresponding to the first region, where the disabled pixels allow light emitted from the first region to pass through the display screen.
[0027] According to a first aspect of the present disclosure, a display structure 1 is provided. As shown in FIG. 2, the display structure 1 includes a display screen 11 and a light adjusting component 12 disposed at a light emitting side of the display screen 11.
[0028] Here, the light adjusting component 12 has two operating states: a light transmitting state and a polarization state. Further, the light adjusting component 12 includes a first region 121 and a second region 122, where the first and second regions 121 and 122 are independently controllable, as shown in FIG. 3.
[0029] The display screen 11 may include a plurality of independently controllable pixels. In one or more embodiments, when the first region 121 is in the light transmitting state, the pixels that are in the display screen 11 and correspond to the first region 121 may be disabled to allow light emitted from the first region 121 to penetrated through the display screen 11.
[0030] A working principle of the display structure provided by embodiments of the present disclosure will be described below.
[0031] Since the display screen 11 includes a plurality of independently controllable pixels and the first region 121 and the second region 122 of the light adjusting component 12 are independently controllable, the display structure 1 provided by embodiments of the present disclosure may include the following two operation states during use: a display state and a partial light transmitting state.
[0032] When the display structure 1 is operating in the display state, the pixels in the display screen 11 are enabled and the light adjusting component 12 is in the polarization state. The light adjusting component 12 arranged at the light emitting side of the display screen 11 serves as a polarizer, so that the whole display structure 1 normally displays an image.
[0033] When the display structure 1 is operating in the partial light transmitting state, the pixels that are in the display screen 11 and correspond to the first region 121 are disabled and the first region 121 in the light adjusting component 12 is in the light transmitting state. In this partial light transmitting state, light may be emitted from the first region 121 and penetrated through the display screen 11, and the first region 121 does not serve as a polarizer. In other words, the display screen 11 disables the display function by turning off the pixels correspond to the first region 121 so that light may pass through the display screen 11 to reach camera sensors.
[0034] It is to be noted that since the first region 121 and the second region 122 are independently controllable, the partial light transmitting state of the display structure 1 also includes a case that the first region 121 is in the light transmitting state and the second region 122 is in the polarization state. In this case, the pixels that are in the display screen 11 and correspond to the second region 122 are controlled to be enabled, so that a part that is in the display structure 1 and corresponds to the second region 122 may normally display an image.
[0035] For the display structure 1 provided by the present disclosure, the display state and the partial light transmitting state of the display structure 1 may be realized through the display screen 11 including a plurality of independently controllable pixels and the light adjusting component 12 having a light transmitting state and a polarization state. When the display structure 1 cooperates with another structure, such as, a camera structure, in an electronic device, a display function of the display structure 1 and a function of the another structure may be simultaneously implemented by using the first region 121 of the light adjusting component 12. The another structure may associate with the display structure 1 by the first region 121. A cooperation process will be detailed below with the cooperation of the display structure 1 provided by embodiments of the present disclosure and the camera structure as an embodiment.
[0036] A lens 2 of the camera structure may be arranged corresponding to the first region 121 of the light adjusting component 12.
[0037] When the lens 2 is not started, the display structure 1 is in the display state and the display structure 1 displays normally. In other words, the display structure 1 may be controlled to adjust its operation state according to whether the lens 2 is started or not.
[0038] When the lens 2 is started, the display structure 1 is in the partial light transmitting state. For example, in response to receiving a signal indicating that the lens 2 is started, the electronic device may switch the display structure into the partial light transmitting state. When the first region 121 of the light adjusting component 12 is in the light transmitting state, the pixels that are in the display screen 11 and correspond to the first region 121 are controlled to be disabled. As a result, a part that is in the display structure 1 and corresponds to the first region 121 is light-transmissive. In this case, the lens 2 may be used to shoot photos by acquiring light emitted into and penetrated through the display screen 11 from the first region 121. Further, since the first region 121 does not serve as a polarizer, the light penetrated through the first region 121, e.g., the light emitted into the display screen 11, is not polarized light, thereby effectively ensuring shooting quality of the lens.
[0039] In conclusion, when the display structure 1 provided by embodiments of the present disclosure is applied in an electronic device and the camera structure is started, the display structure 1 may operate in the partial light transmitting state through the cooperation of the display screen 11 and the light adjusting component 12, thereby realizing both the display function of the display structure 1 and the shooting function of the camera structure. Therefore, the front camera can be installed and used normally without arranging an opening, such as, a groove, a hole or the like, in the display structure 1. The display screen 11 in the display structure 1 may be set to an entire rectangle, square, or the like. In this way, the screen-to-body ratio of the electronic device with the display structure 1 is further increased and the full screen can be realized by using the disclosed display structure 1, thereby optimizing the external appearance of the electronic device and further satisfying the aesthetic requirement of the public.
[0044] As shown in FIG. 2, when the electrical field of the liquid crystal lens is turned on, the liquid crystal molecules in the liquid crystal lens are regularly arranged under an action of the electrical field. At this time, only the light vibrated along a preset direction may pass through a gap between the liquid crystal molecules. In other words, the liquid crystal lens has a polarization function, and the light adjusting component 12 is in the polarization state.
[0045] As shown in FIG. 3, when the electrical field of the liquid crystal lens is turned off, the liquid crystal molecules in the liquid crystal lens are irregularly arranged. At this time, the light vibrated along each direction may pass through the liquid crystal lens, and the light adjusting component 12 is in the light transmitting state.
[0046] In some embodiments, the light adjusting component 12 may also include a second controller. The second controller is to control the electrical field of the liquid crystal lens of the first region 121 and the second region 122 to be turned on and turned off, respectively. The operating states of the first region 121 and the second region 122 may be respectively controlled by the second controller, so that the display structure 1 has both the display state and the partial light transmitting state.
[0047] It is to be noted that the liquid crystal lens in the light adjusting component 12 may cover an effective display region of the display screen 11. The effective display region of the display screen 11 refers to a region that is in the display screen 11 and viewable by a user. The liquid crystal lens covers the effective display region of the display screen 11, thereby effectively avoiding a case that the display structure 1 cannot display normally due to a lack of a polarizer. In this way, an image displayed by the display screen 11 is relatively complete without omission.
[0048] The display structure 1 provided by an example of the present disclosure may have the display state and the partial light transmitting state. When the display structure 1 cooperates with another structure, such as, a camera structure, the display structure 1 and the another structure may be normally used at the same time without arranging an opening (such as a hole, or a groove) in the display structure 1, thereby further increasing the screen-to-body ratio of the electronic device with the display structure 1. In this case, the external appearance of the electronic device is optimized and the user requirements are satisfied as possible.
[0049] It is also to be noted that when the display structure 1 provided by the present disclosure is in the display state, both the first region 121 and the second region 122 of the light adjusting component 12 are in the polarization state, so that the effective display region of the display structure 1 may display normally. Contents displayed in the effective display region of the display structure 1 are relatively complete, thereby effectively avoiding a loss of displayed information caused by arranging the opening in the display structure 1.
[0053] When the electronic device is in the display mode, the camera structure is turned off, and the display structure 1 is in the display state. At this case, the display structure 1 normally displays an image.
[0054] When the electronic device is in the shooting mode, the camera structure is started or activated, and the display structure 1 is in the partial light transmitting state. At this case, a part that is in the display structure 1 and corresponds to the first region 121 is light-transmissive, so that the lens 2 of the camera structure may shoot photos by acquiring the light emitted into and penetrated through the display screen 11 from the first region 121.
[0055] In addition, when the electronic device is in the shooting mode, the second region 122 of the light adjusting component 12 in the display structure 1 is in the polarization state, that is, a part that is in the display structure 1 and corresponds to the second region 122 may still display normally.
[0062] In some embodiments, the electronic device may also include a controlling apparatus, such as, a processor. The controlling apparatus is electrically connected to the display structure 1, and may send a controlling instruction to the display structure 1 when receiving a starting instruction of the camera structure. The controlling instruction is configured to enable the first region 121 of the light adjusting component 12 to be in the light transmitting state and disable the pixels that are in the display screen 11 and correspond to the first region 121.
[0063] At this case, the part that is in the display structure 1 and corresponds to the first region 121 is light-transmissive, and the display structure 1 is in the partial light transmitting state. The lens 2 may shoot by acquiring the light emitted into and penetrated through the display screen 11 from the first region 121.
Further regarding claim 1, Zheng does not explicitly disclose: a first polarizer, a first electrode, and a second electrode, wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are respectively attached to two opposite surfaces of the first polarizer, and the first electrode and the second electrode are configured to enable or disable a polarization function of the first polarizer according to applied voltage.
However, Kim discloses in figure 4, and related figures and text, for example, Kim – Selected Text, embodiments of a polarizer comprising two electrodes CNT- sheet film sandwiching LC Layer: “The P-ECS film functions simultaneously as a transparent electrode, a film-type polarizer, and a LC alignment layer, demonstrating the multi-functionality of the active CNT film.” Kim, abstract. Kim discloses that the polarizer’s transmittance and intensity are controlled, in part, by the CNT sheet film’s configurations and any applied voltages. Kim, figure 4, and related figures and text, for example, Kim – Selected Text.
Kim – Figure 4.
Kim – Selected Text
Abstract. We report a method for constructing an active optical polarizer using an aligned carbon nanotube (CNT) sheet that is flexible, bendable, transparent, conductive, and also serves to anchor liquid-crystal (LC) molecules. …, a twisted nematic LC device constructed using the P-ECS films shows a good bright–dark switching performance. The P-ECS film functions simultaneously as a transparent electrode, a film-type polarizer, and a LC alignment layer, demonstrating the multi-functionality of the active CNT film.
Conclusions. An active CNT polarizer film that is flexible, bendable, and transparent with good polarization efficiency was fabricated. The exposed CNTs rendered the surface conductive and brought about the alignment of LC molecules. … the multi-functional P-ECS film can lead to cost reduction by merging and replacing several components into one component.
Consequently, in light of Kim’s embodiments of polarizers, Kim, figure 4, and related figures and text, for example, Kim – Selected Text, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zheng’s embodiments to disclose: a first polarizer, a first electrode, and a second electrode, wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are respectively attached to two opposite surfaces of the first polarizer, and the first electrode and the second electrode are configured to enable or disable a polarization function of the first polarizer according to applied voltage; Zheng, figures 2, 3, and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Zheng – Selected Text; Kim, figure 4, and related figures and text, for example, Kim – Selected Text; because the resulting configurations and methods would facilitate using polarization states to tailor displayed images. von und zu Liechtenstein, figures 9A and 9B, and related figures and text, for example, von und zu Liechtenstein – Selected Text (“Since the transmittance depends on applied drive voltage, also the contrast is a function of the voltage and usually increases with increasing amplitude.”).
von und zu Liechtenstein – Figures 9A and 9B
von und zu Liechtenstein – Selected Text
[0016] The present inventor has also realized that is can be advantageous to not only occlude the virtual image. Instead there are embodiments shown wherein the virtual image is slightly transparent in order to allow a user of the virtual monitor to remain aware of the real world behind the monitor. There are also embodiments where the area in the field of view not subject to occluded augmented reality artifacts is dimmed in order to provide better contrast for viewing the augmented reality artifacts. Moreover, there are embodiments wherein the virtual monitor apparatus can be used as smart sunglasses whenever the virtual monitor is not in use. Smart sunglasses in this context are understood to be sunglasses whereby the lenses can be dimmed by electronic means and wherein the dimming may equally be applied to the entire lens area, or to individually controllable dimmable cells which make up the lens.
[0082] FIG. 9A depicts a birefringence-based embodiment of a shutter cell of the type which may be used to make up the pixels of the occlusion matrix. The shutter consists of a polarization modulator in the form of a liquid crystal cell positioned between linear polarizers. Applying a drive voltage reorients birefringent liquid crystal molecules thereby changing the phase retardation of light passing through the liquid crystal cell. This results in a change in transmittance of light passing through the shutter structure. Analogue gray-scale operation between fully open and closed states may be realized by voltage amplitude modulation, allowing the shutter to be used as a variable attenuating filter. The liquid crystal cell 9191 may comprise birefringent liquid crystal molecules 9180 sandwiched between transparent electrodes 9174. The transparent electrodes may be made from indium tin oxide in a preferred embodiment, however those skilled in the art will realize that other suitable materials, such as silver nanowire for example, can also be used. The light absorption of birefringent-type cell varies significantly with the external voltage 9171 applied to the transparent electrodes 9174. The depicted liquid crystal cells are of normally white type, whereby normally white type can be achieved by using a polarizer 9173 and an analyzer 9175 with perpendicularly aligned rubbing directions, whereas for a normally black cell the rubbing directions of polarizer and analyzer would be aligned. In this way, without any applied voltage 9191, the director of liquid crystal molecules are uniformly aligned parallel to the indium tin oxide surfaces 9174, and incident light 9180 from an unpolarized real-world light source 9135 is strongly absorbed before it reaches an entrance pupil of a human eye 9183. Otherwise, when applying a sufficient external voltage to the liquid crystal cell 9192 the birefringent liquid crystal molecules 9180 are reoriented parallel to the applied electric field, and the light absorbance of the cell is decreased, as can be seen in the graph 9193. In graph 9193 the y-axis 9170 depicts luminous transmittance, whereas the x-axis 9172 depicts the applied voltage.
[0083] FIG. 9B depicts a suitable drive waveform, which may applied to the transparent electrodes of the liquid crystal cell embodiments exemplified in FIG. 9A. The depicted cells possess mono-stable normally white operation. Therefore, without voltage applied the shutter is in its fully open and light-transmitting state. When the drive voltage 9240 is applied, the cell switches to a closed and light-absorbing state. This is exemplified by curve 9215, which signifies light transmittance. Since the transmittance depends on applied drive voltage, also the contrast is a function of the voltage and usually increases with increasing amplitude. In the diagram, the y-axis 9225 denotes the both the drive voltage and light transmittance. The x-axis 9220 denotes the time axis. Depicted is also the positive amplitude 9235 and the negative amplitude 9230. The drive voltage must be continually applied throughout the duration of the time that the shutter is required to be in the closed state. Increasing the drive voltage amplitude increases the contrast and also shortens the closing time. The transmittance of the liquid crystal cell reacts to the root mean square (RMS) voltage. In order to prevent ion migration within the liquid crystal layer that might impair performance and lifetime, it is recommended that there should be no net direct current (DC) bias presence in the drive signal. A proof-of-concept embodiment was using the LCC-230 (manufactured by LC-Tec AB, Sweden) which is a liquid crystal controller which incorporates two independent liquid crystal channels, each with 30V.sub.RMS of range.
Regarding claims 2-16, as dependent upon claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zheng in view of Kim and further in view of von und zu Liechtenstein’s embodiments of polarizer structures, and related display terminals and methods, to disclose:
2. The polarizer structure of claim 1, wherein upon a condition of no voltage being applied to the first electrode and the second electrode, the polarization function of the first polarizer is enabled; and upon a condition of the first electrode and the second electrode being applied with a first voltage having same magnitude and opposite polarities respectively, the polarization function of the first polarizer is disabled, wherein a magnitude of the first voltage is greater than a preset threshold. Zheng, figures 2, 3, and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Zheng – Selected Text; Kim, figure 4, and related figures and text, for example, Kim – Selected Text; von und zu Liechtenstein, figures 9A and 9B, and related figures and text, for example, von und zu Liechtenstein – Selected Text.
3. The polarizer structure of claim 1, wherein the first polarizer is a carbon nanotube polarizer. Zheng, figures 2, 3, and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Zheng – Selected Text; Kim, figure 4, and related figures and text, for example, Kim – Selected Text; von und zu Liechtenstein, figures 9A and 9B, and related figures and text, for example, von und zu Liechtenstein – Selected Text.
4. The polarizer structure of claim 1, wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are transparent electrodes. Zheng, figures 2, 3, and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Zheng – Selected Text; Kim, figure 4, and related figures and text, for example, Kim – Selected Text; von und zu Liechtenstein, figures 9A and 9B, and related figures and text, for example, von und zu Liechtenstein – Selected Text.
5. A terminal device, comprising: a display unit configured to display an image; an image capture unit configured to capture an image from the outside of the terminal device; and the polarizer structure of claim 1, wherein an orthographic projection of the polarizer structure on the display unit at least partially coincides with an orthographic projection of the image capture unit on the display unit. Zheng, figures 2, 3, and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Zheng – Selected Text; Kim, figure 4, and related figures and text, for example, Kim – Selected Text; von und zu Liechtenstein, figures 9A and 9B, and related figures and text, for example, von und zu Liechtenstein – Selected Text.
6. The terminal device of claim 5, further comprising a processing unit, wherein upon a condition of receiving a first control instruction, the processing unit controls the image capture unit to be turned on, and applies a first voltage having a magnitude greater than a preset threshold to the first electrode and the second electrode, so as to control to disable the polarization function of the first polarizer. Zheng, figures 2, 3, and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Zheng – Selected Text; Kim, figure 4, and related figures and text, for example, Kim – Selected Text; von und zu Liechtenstein, figures 9A and 9B, and related figures and text, for example, von und zu Liechtenstein – Selected Text.
7. The terminal device of claim 6, wherein upon a condition of receiving a second control instruction, the processing unit controls the display unit to display an image to be displayed, and stops applying the first voltage to the first electrode and the second electrode, so as to control to enable the polarization function of the first polarizer. Zheng, figures 2, 3, and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Zheng – Selected Text; Kim, figure 4, and related figures and text, for example, Kim – Selected Text; von und zu Liechtenstein, figures 9A and 9B, and related figures and text, for example, von und zu Liechtenstein – Selected Text.
8. The terminal device of claim 7, wherein the display unit comprises a first display region and a second display region, the orthographic projection of the polarizer structure on the display unit coincides with the orthographic projection of the image capture unit on the display unit, and the polarizer structure and the image capture unit are located in the first display region. Zheng, figures 2, 3, and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Zheng – Selected Text; Kim, figure 4, and related figures and text, for example, Kim – Selected Text; von und zu Liechtenstein, figures 9A and 9B, and related figures and text, for example, von und zu Liechtenstein – Selected Text.
9. The terminal device of claim 8, further comprising a second polarizer located in the second display region, wherein upon the condition of no voltage being applied to the first electrode and the second electrode, a polarization degree of the first polarizer is the same as a polarization degree of the second polarizer. Zheng, figures 2, 3, and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Zheng – Selected Text; Kim, figure 4, and related figures and text, for example, Kim – Selected Text; von und zu Liechtenstein, figures 9A and 9B, and related figures and text, for example, von und zu Liechtenstein – Selected Text.
10. A method for controlling amount of incoming light of a terminal device applied to the terminal device of claim 5, comprising: in response to reception of a first control instruction, capturing an image from outside of the terminal device, and applying a first voltage having a magnitude greater than a preset threshold to the first electrode and the second electrode; and in response to reception of a second control instruction to display an image to be displayed, stopping applying the first voltage to the first electrode and the second electrode. Zheng, figures 2, 3, and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Zheng – Selected Text; Kim, figure 4, and related figures and text, for example, Kim – Selected Text; von und zu Liechtenstein, figures 9A and 9B, and related figures and text, for example, von und zu Liechtenstein – Selected Text.
11. The polarizer structure of claim 2, wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are transparent electrodes. Zheng, figures 2, 3, and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Zheng – Selected Text; Kim, figure 4, and related figures and text, for example, Kim – Selected Text; von und zu Liechtenstein, figures 9A and 9B, and related figures and text, for example, von und zu Liechtenstein – Selected Text.
12. The polarizer structure of claim 3, wherein the first electrode and the second electrode are transparent electrodes. Zheng, figures 2, 3, and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Zheng – Selected Text; Kim, figure 4, and related figures and text, for example, Kim – Selected Text; von und zu Liechtenstein, figures 9A and 9B, and related figures and text, for example, von und zu Liechtenstein – Selected Text.
13. The method for controlling amount of incoming light of a terminal device of claim 10, wherein the terminal device further comprises a processing unit, and wherein upon a condition of receiving the first control instruction, the processing unit controls the image capture unit to be turned on, and applies the first voltage having the magnitude greater than the preset threshold to the first electrode and the second electrode, so as to control to disable the polarization function of the first polarizer. Zheng, figures 2, 3, and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Zheng – Selected Text; Kim, figure 4, and related figures and text, for example, Kim – Selected Text; von und zu Liechtenstein, figures 9A and 9B, and related figures and text, for example, von und zu Liechtenstein – Selected Text.
14. The method for controlling amount of incoming light of a terminal device of claim 13, wherein upon a condition of receiving the second control instruction, the processing unit controls the display unit to display the image to be displayed, and stops applying the first voltage to the first electrode and the second electrode, so as to control to enable the polarization function of the first polarizer. Zheng, figures 2, 3, and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Zheng – Selected Text; Kim, figure 4, and related figures and text, for example, Kim – Selected Text; von und zu Liechtenstein, figures 9A and 9B, and related figures and text, for example, von und zu Liechtenstein – Selected Text.
15. The method for controlling amount of incoming light of a terminal device of claim 14, wherein the display unit comprises a first display region and a second display region, the orthographic projection of the polarizer structure on the display unit coincides with the orthographic projection of the image capture unit on the display unit, and the polarizer structure and the image capture unit are located in the first display region. Zheng, figures 2, 3, and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Zheng – Selected Text; Kim, figure 4, and related figures and text, for example, Kim – Selected Text; von und zu Liechtenstein, figures 9A and 9B, and related figures and text, for example, von und zu Liechtenstein – Selected Text.
16. The method for controlling amount of incoming light of a terminal device of claim 15, wherein the terminal device further comprises a second polarizer located in the second display region, and wherein upon the condition of no voltage being applied to the first electrode and the second electrode, a polarization degree of the first polarizer is the same as a polarization degree of the second polarizer. Zheng, figures 2, 3, and 4, and related figures and text, for example, Zheng – Selected Text; Kim, figure 4, and related figures and text, for example, Kim – Selected Text; von und zu Liechtenstein, figures 9A and 9B, and related figures and text, for example, von und zu Liechtenstein – Selected Text.
because the resulting configurations and methods would facilitate using polarization states to tailor displayed images. von und zu Liechtenstein, figures 9A and 9B, and related figures and text, for example, von und zu Liechtenstein – Selected Text.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PETER RADKOWSKI whose telephone number is (571)270-1613. The examiner can normally be reached on M-Th 9-5. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Thomas Hollweg, can be reached on (571) 270-1739. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/PETER RADKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874