DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-14, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Humphrey et al. (“Indole β-Nucleophilic Substitution. Part 6. Photochemical Transformations of Oxepino[3,2-b]indolones”, J. Chem. Soc. Perkin Trans. I, 1983, page 2413-2416, hereafter Humphrey).
Regarding claims 12-14, 16, and 18, Humphrey discloses Compound 5b (page 2414).
The Compound 5b of Humphrey has identical structure as Applicant’s Formula (1) in combination of Formula (3).
Claims 12-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wallwork et al. (WO 2021/062491 A1, hereafter Wallwork).
Regarding claims 12-16, and 18-19, Humphrey discloses the following compound ([00193], hereafter Compound 5).
The Compound 5 of Wallwork has identical structure as Applicant’s Formula (1) in combination of Formula (2), meeting all the limitations of claims 12-16 and 18.
Wallwork discloses that the polycyclic part of the Compound 5 can be formed by a cyclization reaction between acetyl chloride (i.e. the first reactant in the reaction below) and an indigo compound (i.e. the second reactant in the reaction below) ([00155]).
Wallwork discloses a process preparing the Compound 5 of Wallwork via a cyclization reaction between 2-(4-((2-ethylhexyl)oxy)phenyl)acetyl chloride and the indigo compound ([00193]), meeting all the limitations of claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rauber et al. (EP 0312076 A1, hereafter Rauber).
Regarding claims 12-18 and 20-21, Rauber discloses a compound represented by Formula (I) ([0011]) and used for hyperlipidemia ([0001]). Rauber exemplifies Compound (b) ([0011]).
The fused ring including R3 and R4 of the Compound (b) of Rauber is not a 5-membered S-containing ring (i.e. thiazole); however, Rauber does teach the entire group of
can be replaced by
([0012]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Compound (b) of Rauber by substituting the group represented by
of Formula (I) of Rauber with a structure of
, as taught by Rauber.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The modification provides Modified compound (b) of Rauber, which has identical structure of Applicant’s Formula (1) in combination of Formula (3), meeting all the limitations of claims 12-18.
Rauber does not disclose a specific suspension medicine comprising the Modified compound (b) of Rauber; however, Rauber does teach that the compound of Rauber can be used to form an oral application in the form of suspension ([0028]). An oral medicine in the form of suspension necessarily includes water and inactive ingredients such as filler, buffer, and/or salt as well as the Modified compound (b) which is an active ingredient, to control of the dosing amount of the active medicine and adjust pH and salt concentration to assist absorption of the active medicine to the body.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Modified compound (b) of Rauber by incorporating it into an oral suspension medicine with water and an inactive ingredients such as filler, buffer, and/or salt, as taught by Rauber.
The motivation of doing so would have been to provide an oral suspension medicine for hyperlipidemia, based on the teaching of Rauber.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
The modification provides a formulation (i.e. oral suspension medicine for hyperlipidemia) including the Modified Compound (b) of Rauber, a solvent (water), and a further compound (an inactive ingredient such as filler, buffer, and/or salt), meeting all the limitations of claims 20-21.
Claims 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ernst et al. (DE 1951157 A1, the original document is referred to for figures and tables, and the English translation is referred to for the remainder body of the patent, hereafter Ernst).
Regarding claims 12-18, Ernst discloses a fluorescent compound (Abstract of the English translation) which is represented by Formula I (page 1 and 12 of the original document). Ernst exemplifies bis-benzoxazo-isoquinolone (Example 8 on page 5).
Ernst does not disclose a specific bonding configuration of the bis-benzoxazo-isoquinolone nor its structural formula; however, Ernst does teach that in Formula I, n can be 0; R3 can be a structure represented by
; and R1 and R2 can be hydrogen; X can be oxygen or sulfur (claim 1, page 13).
There are 16 position isomers having a bond at different positions between two benzoxazo-isoquinolone structures (i.e. each position isomer having a bond between 1 and 1’, 1 and 2’, 1 and 3’, 1 and 4’, 2 and 1’, …, or 4 and 4’ in the figure above). However, the instant claim 12 excludes only one isomer having a bond between positions 2 and 2’.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the bis-benzoxazo-isoquinolone by connecting two benzoxazo-isoquinolone structures with any one of 1 and 1’, 1 and 2’, 1 and 3’, 1 and 4’, 2 and 1’, …, or 4 and 4’, except 2 and 2’, as taught by Ernst.
The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). The substitution would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). There are finite number of bonding configurations. The selection of a bond from positions 1 and 1’, 1 and 2’, 1 and 3’, 1 and 4’, 2 and 1’, …, or 4 and 4’, except 2 and 2’ between two benzoxazo-isoquinolone would have been one from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E).
Furthermore, the compound bis-benzoxazo-isoquinolone is a position isomer with similar compounds in which two benzoxazo-isoquinolone structures are connected via a bond selected from positions 1 and 1’, 1 and 2’, 1 and 3’, 1 and 4’, 2 and 1’, …, or 4 and 4’, except 2 and 2’.
With respect to position isomers, the examiner points to the MPEP which states: A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. “An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.” In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963) and In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1991) for an extensive review of the case law pertaining to obviousness based on close structural similarity of chemical compounds. Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties.” In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious). See MPEP 2144.09 I and 2144.09 II.
Therefore, at the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify bis-benzoxazo-isoquinolone shown above such that the two benzoxazo-isoquinolone structures are connected via a bond selected from positions 1 and 1’, 1 and 2’, 1 and 3’, 1 and 4’, 2 and 1’, …, or 4 and 4’, except 2 and 2’. A compound in which two benzoxazo-isoquinolone structures are connected via a bond selected from positions 1 and 1’, 1 and 2’, 1 and 3’, 1 and 4’, 2 and 1’, …, or 4 and 4’, except 2 and 2’ would represent a position isomer of the bis-benzoxazo-isoquinolone. One of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the position isomers having each respective structure would act in similar manner.
The modification provides Modified compound of Ernst which has two benzoxazo-isoquinolone units connected by a bond selected from positions 1 and 1’, 1 and 2’, 1 and 3’, 1 and 4’, 2 and 1’, …, or 4 and 4’, except 2 and 2’.
Claims 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ernst et al. (DE 1951157, the original document is referred to for figures and tables, and the English translation is referred to for the remainder body of the patent) as applied to claims 12-18 above, further in view of Nakashima et al. (US 2006/0093857 A1, hereafter Nakashima).
Regarding claims 20-23, the Modified compound of Ernst reads on all the features of claim 12 as outlined above.
Ernst does not disclose a specific organic electroluminescent device comprising the Modified compound of Ernst; however, Ernst does teach that the compound of Ernst is a fluorescent material (Abstract).
Nakashima discloses an organic electroluminescent device comprising an oligonaphthalene derivative as a blue dopant (Abstract, [0075], Fig. 1). Nakashima teaches the structure of the organic electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transport layer, and a cathode ([0117]-[0122]).
Nakashima teaches that a dopant can be added in the light emitting layer, and the dopant can be an any fluorescent luminescent material including oxazole derivatives ([0074]). Nakayama teaches the luminescence from the dopant is efficient because the oligonaphthalene derivative has extremely large band gap ([0073]).
Nakashima further teaches a host can be added ([0075]).
Nakashima teaches the light emitting layer can be formed by a solution method including spin coating and inkjet ([0071]). It is known in the art that the solution method requires a solvent because the host and dopants are solid phase materials.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Modified compound of Ernst by incorporating it into the light emitting layer with a host and an oligonaphthalene derivative of Nakashima in an organic electroluminescent device having structure of an anode, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transport layer, and a cathode, wherein the light emitting layer is formed by a solution method, as taught by Nakashima.
The motivation of doing so would have been to provide an organic electroluminescent device having with high efficiency, based on the teaching of Nakashima.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
The modification provides Organic electroluminescent device of Ernst as modified by Nakashima comprising an anode, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transport layer, and a cathode, wherein the light emitting layer contains a host, an oligonaphthalene derivative as a fluorescent dopant, the Modified compound of Ernst as a fluorescent dopant; the light emitting layer is formed by a solution method such as inkjet or spin coating using a formulation comprising the Modified compound of Ernst, an oligonaphthalene derivative, a host, and a solvent; and the organic electroluminescent device is an electronic device, meeting all the limitations of claims 20-23.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ernst et al. (DE 1951157, the original document is referred to for figures and tables, and the English translation is referred to for the remainder body of the patent) in view of Nakashima et al. (US 2006/0093857 A1) as applied to claims 12-18 and 20-23 above, further in view of Seo et al. (US 2002/0121860 A1, hereafter Seo).
Regarding claim 24, the Organic electroluminescent device of Ernst as modified by Nakashima reads on all the features of claims 12 and 20-23 as outlined above.
The device comprises an anode, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer (a host, an oligonaphthalene derivative as a fluorescent dopant, the Modified compound of Ernst as a fluorescent dopant), an electron transport layer, and a cathode.
The device does not comprise a mixed layer between the light emitting layer and the electron transport layer.
Seo teaches that a mixed layer between two neighboring organic layers of an organic optoelectronic device (“organic light-emitting device”) contains both the neighboring organic layer materials (“mixed layer” (105) in Fig. 1B; [0050]; “2nd mixed region” between “light emitting region” and “electron transporting region” in Fig. 19).
Seo teaches that by introducing a mixed layer in-between two neighboring organic layers (device structure of Fig. 1B), the energy barrier is lowered and more carriers can be injected ([0054]).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the Organic electroluminescent device of Ernst as modified by Nakashima by incorporating a mixed layer between the light emitting layer and the electron transport layer, as taught by Seo.
The motivation of doing so would provide lowered energy barrier and improved carrier injection, based on the teaching of Seo.
Furthermore, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known material to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
The modification provides Organic electroluminescent device of Ernst as modified by Nakashima and Seo comprising an anode, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer (a host, an oligonaphthalene derivative as a fluorescent dopant, the Modified compound of Ernst as a fluorescent dopant), a mixed layer comprising the Modified compound of Ernst, an electron transport layer, and a cathode, wherein the mixed layer is equated with a hole blocking layer or an electron transport layer.
Conclusion
/SEOKMIN JEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786