FINAL ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 3/12/2026 has been received and claims 1-8 and 10-16 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 11/17/2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “flow regulating device” in claim 1; “disinfection system” in claim 4.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Specifically, the “flow regulating device” is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification, namely a combination of a first valve associated with a steam generator and a second valve associated with a compressed air source.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, there is no written description support for a corresponding structure for the “disinfection system” within the Specification.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 4, it is not clear what specific structure corresponds with the “disinfection system”. For examination purposes, corresponding structure for the “disinfection system” is deemed to be one or more UVC light source(s) such as UVC lamp(s) or UVC LED(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tumiatti (ITMI20070118).
As to Claim 1, Tumiatti (‘118) discloses a system for cleaning and/or disinfecting a tool for dental or surgical use (see Figure 1), comprising a steam generator (“caldaia” - c1), a compressed air source (“aria compressa”), and a flow regulating device (r1, e1-e3, V1-V4; e4, V6) configured to inject wet steam and compressed air into at least one channel of the tool for dental or surgical use that is to be cleaned and/or disinfected (see Figure).
While Tumiatti (‘118) does not appear to specifically teach that the flow regulating device (r1, e1-e3, V1-V4; e4, V6) is configured to inject at least partially simultaneously wet steam and compressed air into at least one channel of the tool, as the flow regulating device (r1, e1-e3, V1-V4; e4, V6) of Tumiatti (‘118) discloses the same corresponding structure for the flow regulating device (which is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) and being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function – see paragraph 5 above), the flow regulating device of Tumiatti is deemed to perform the same function and meets this limitation.
As to Claim 6, Tumiatti (‘118) discloses that the flow regulating device (r1, e1-e3, V1-V4; e4, V6) comprises a first valve (r1, e1-e3, V1-V4) for outlet of wet steam and a second valve (e4, V6) for outlet of compressed air (see Figure 1), said second valve (e4) being/capable of being self-regulating (see English translation, p. 1 – 4th – 5th lines from the bottom).
As to Claim 8, Tumiatti (‘118) discloses that the flow regulating device comprises a mixing chamber (7) configured to make a fluid-air mixture, which is deliverable via a third valve (MV11, RV; MV1-MV4) (see Figure 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tumiatti (ITMI20070118) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hruza (EP0638298).
Tumiatti (‘118) is relied upon for disclosure described in the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
As to Claim 2, Tumiatti (‘118) discloses that the system further comprises a fixing support in the form of a coupling nose (b) for said tool for dental or surgical use to be cleaned and/or disinfected through which wet steam-air mixture is being injectable directly via said coupling nose (b) (see Figure; see English translation, p. 2 - claim 5 ), Tumiatti (‘118) does not appear to specifically teach a separate fixing support with a connecting nose.
However, it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a fixing support that is provided with a coupling nose in a system for cleaning and/or disinfecting a tool for dental or surgical use. Hruza (‘298) discloses a system for cleaning and/or disinfecting a tool for dental or surgical use (13) (see Figures 1-2), comprising a steam generator (45), a compressed air source (48), a flow regulating device (MV1-MV10, MV13, MV15-MV16) configured to inject wet steam and compressed air into at least one channel of the tool for dental or surgical use that is to be cleaned and/or disinfected (via 16 - see Figure 7), and a fixing support (12) for said tool (13) for dental or surgical use to be cleaned and/or disinfected (see Figure 2), said fixing support (12) being provided with a coupling nose (16) as a substitute for a motor (see Figures 2, 5-7 and 9) where wet steam-air mixture being/capable of being injectable directly via said coupling nose (16), in order to allow coupling of the tool to the system so as to enable delivery of fluids and gases for cleaning and sterilization of the tool (see Figures 1-9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a separate fixing support and a coupling nose in the system of Tumiatti as a known alternate configuration in order to enable coupling of the tool in the system to deliver and inject fluids and gases into the tool so as to effect cleaning and sterilization of the tool for reuse as shown by Hruza.
As to Claim 3, Hruza (‘298) discloses that the fixing support (12) is disposed in a closed enclosure (1, 2) (see Figures 1-2, 6 and 9).
As to Claim 5, Hruza (‘298) discloses that the system further comprises a user interface (52 via 50) making is possible/being capable to determine at least one input parameter selected from among temperature, pressure, wet steam fraction and/or compressed air fraction (see Figures 1 and 7; see English translation, p. 5 – lines 7-8, p. 6 - lines 7-9).
Thus, Claims 2-3 and 5 would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combined teachings of Tumiatti (‘118) and Hruza (‘298).
Claim(s) 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tumiatti (ITMI20070118) and Hruza (EP0638298) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Xu (CN108404145).
Tumiatti (‘118) and Hruza (‘298) are relied upon for disclosure described in the rejection of claim 3 under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Neither Tumiatti (‘118) nor Hruza (‘298) appears to specifically teach that the enclosure is provided with a disinfection system with UVC rays.
It was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a disinfection system utilizing UVC rays in a system for cleaning and/or disinfecting a tool for dental or surgical use. Xu (‘145) discloses a system for cleaning and/or disinfecting a tool for dental or surgical use (see Figure 1), comprising a closed enclosure (7) (see Figures 1 and 6), a steam generator (3) (see English translation, p. 9 lines 16-17), and a disinfection system with UVC rays (42) (see Figure 7; see English translation, p. 10 lines 12-17), in order to provide a plurality of separate cleaning and sterilization processes of the tool (see English translation, Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a disinfection system with UVC rays in the system of Tumiatti as a known additional sterilization means in order to enable a plurality of sterilization processes for the tool within the system to provide a thorough and effective cleaning and sterilization of the tool for reuse as shown by Xu.
Thus, Claim 4 would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103 over the combined teachings of Tumiatti (‘118), Hruza (‘298), and Xu (‘145).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the primary reason is due to the limitation that “the flow regulating device further comprises a bypass channel connected to said second valve, said bypass channel being configured to convey an auxiliary compressed air flow to a pneumatic drive system driving in rotation at least some rotating parts of said tool for dental or surgical use” in the claim. None of prior art of record such as Tumiatti specifically teaches “a bypass channel connected to said second valve, said bypass channel being configured to convey an auxiliary compressed air flow to a pneumatic drive system driving in rotation at least some rotating parts of said tool”. It would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a bypass channel connected to a second valve where said bypass channel is configured to convey an auxiliary compressed air flow to a pneumatic drive system driving in rotation at least some rotating parts of a tool for dental or surgical use in a system for cleaning and/or disinfecting a tool for dental or surgical use.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, as to applicant’s argument on pp. 6-8 of Remarks regarding claim 1 , examiner disagrees and points out that the structure disclosed by the prior art of Tumiatti as the “flow regulating device” is not merely “capable of” performing the function (and such argument about capability is not applicable in this instance as the claim rejection does not indicate that Tumiatti is merely capable of having the same claimed function) but is deemed to perform the same claimed function since the limitation/structure of “a flow regulating device” is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) where the prior art of Tumiatti teaches the corresponding structure for the flow regulating device (which was previously indicated/discussed in the prior Office Action and is currently set forth in paragraph 5 above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action (i.e. 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and (b) rejections of claim 4). Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REGINA M YOO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758