DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 10-12 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruse USPGPub 20200056116, EFSA “Scientific Opinion on Mineral Oil Hydrocarbons in Food” EFSA Journal 2012;10(6):2704, Couper, James R. et al. (2012). Chemical Process Equipment - Selection and Design (3rd Edition) and Xu “Short-Path Distillation for Lipid Processing” in Healthful Lipids, C.C. Akoh ed., 2019.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 12 and 15-18, Bruse teaches a process for reducing hydrocarbon impurities in liquid vegetable oil comprising subjecting the vegetable oil to short path evaporation (SPE) to obtain a retentate and a distillate under the following conditions:
Pressure: < 0.001 mbar [0032]
Temperature: 100°-300° C [0034]
Bruse discloses the vegetable oil may comprise, inter alia, sunflower oil. [0021]
Bruse is silent regarding removing mineral oil saturated hydrocarbons (MOSH) and mineral oil aromatic hydrocarbons (MOAH).
EFSA teaches “The (predominantly applied) physical refining of edible oils (removal of free fatty acids in the deodorisation step) yields a condensate containing the free fatty acids, some valuable components like tocopherols, but also most of the MOH below about <C27 contaminating crude edible oils.” (Sec. 6.1.7.1)
EFSA further teaches “The MOAH content of MOH present in food are mostly around 20 %, but may in vegetable oil and oil seeds be up to 30 - 35 % of the MOH levels. The MOAH fraction could represent a carcinogenic risk. Therefore the CONTAM Panel considers the exposure to MOAH through food to be of potential concern.” (Sec. 8) EFSA also states “there is potential concern associated with the current background exposure to MOSH”. (Sec. 8) “The carbon-numbers of the MOSH to which humans are exposed via food range from C12 to C40 with centres ranging from C18 to C34 (Table 3). Evidence from analyses of the MOSH content of human tissues show an accumulation of MOSH with carbon numbers between n-C16 to n-C35 with centres around n-C23 to n-C24. The accumulating constituents appear to be unresolved MOSH mainly branched- and alkyl-substituted cycloalkanes.
Bruse and EFSA are both directed towards contaminants in refined oil products. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have ensured the removal of MOSH and MOAH from the palm oil disclosed by Bruse since EFSA discloses these were known contaminants with carcinogenic activity.
Bruse does not explicitly teach the SPE processing conditions recited.
Couper teaches that the rate of evaporation in molecular distillation processes (e.g. SPE) is predicted by the theoretical Langmuir equation (pg. 452):
It is clear from this equation that the evaporation rate for a given analyte having a molecular weight M and partial pressure P0 is controlled by the temperature of evaporation. Higher temperatures clearly yield higher rates of evaporation.
Xu teaches that, as a milder separation technology, short path distillation has been used in the oil and fat industry for the separation of monoacylglycerols (MAG), polyunsaturated fatty acids (PUFA) from fish oil derivatives, carotenoids, and tocopherols.(Pg. 127) Xu states:
“Feeding rate and evaporator temperature are the most important factors as shown in the previous study (8). An increase in feeding rate will increase the productivity of the process, but will reduce the residence time of the fluids in the evaporator and affect the separation efficiency. The high volatility of the evaporation at a high feeding rate will increase the loss of heat. Therefore, the evaporator temperature and the efficiency of heat transfer of the evaporator are also related to the feeding rate. These factors interact with each other; however, too high an evaporation temperature will reduce the separation efficiency even though the volatility can be increased.”
Bruse, Couper and Xu are all directed to short path distillation. Couper and Xu are text book references that establish the level of ordinary skill in the short path distillation art recognized the result effective variables that were necessary to optimize in order to successfully remove a given target analyte from a lipid matrix. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have optimized the flow rate of the process of Bruse depending on the molecular weight of the impurity being removed, the partial pressure of the impurity being removed and the temperature being used for SPE. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have balanced the speed of impurity removal with the efficiency of the removal of a given impurity. Likewise, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to employ the most stringent and hygienic laboratory standards to ensure the highest yield of purified oil balanced with the time and expense of the SPE process since this is the goal of all purification processes. Therefore the yields and functional limitations recited in claims 1, 8, 12 and 15-18 merely reflect the obvious optimization of known prior art processes.
The pressure and temperature of the SPE process of Bruse overlap or encompass the values recited in claims 1, 2 and 7. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) Given that MOAH/MOSH removal and the relationship between pressure, temperature and evaporation rate were known in the art, the feed rate recited in claim 1 merely reflects the obvious optimization of the process of Bruse.
Bruse and EFSA illustrate that impurities including MOAH and MOSH were well known in the food oil processing arts to be carcinogenic contaminants. Bruse, Couper and Xu establish that one of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize the utility of SPE for removal of contaminants and would have a reasonable expectation of success of removal of contaminants to sub-ppm levels based on their molecular weight/boiling point through optimization of SPE processing conditions. As such, the limitations of claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 12 and 15-18 merely reflect the employment of a known technique for lipid processing to remove known contaminants and yield a predictable result.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Bruse teaches degumming. [0043]
Regarding claims 5, 10 and 11, Bruse teaches sparging with steam at a temperature of 180°-230° C at a flow rate of 0.7-2.5 wt%. [0024-0031,0056]
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruse USPGPub 20200056116, EFSA “Scientific Opinion on Mineral Oil Hydrocarbons in Food” EFSA Journal 2012;10(6):2704, Couper, James R. et al. (2012). Chemical Process Equipment - Selection and Design (3rd Edition) and Xu “Short-Path Distillation for Lipid Processing” in Healthful Lipids, C.C. Akoh ed., 2019 as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Pudel “3-MCPD- and glycidyl esters can be mitigated in vegetable oils by use of short path distillation” Eur. J. Lipid Sci. Technol. 2016, 118, 396–405.
Regarding claim 14, Bruse teaches what has been recited above. Bruse further teaches that the process disclosed can reduce the quantity of 3-MCPD and 3-MCPD fatty esters to less than 1 ppm. [0039]
Bruse is silent regarding explicitly disclosing the removal of glycidyl esters.
Pudel discloses that 3-MCPD and glycidyl esters are carcinogenic to humans. (Sec. 1) Pudel teaches removal of 3-MCPD and glycidyl esters from vegetable oils using short path distillation. (abstract) Pudel teaches “In all short path distilled palm oils treated with different settings of process variables (Table 3) 3-MCPD-FE were not detected (LOD >0.1 mg/kg), while the level for G-FE ranged between limit of detection and 0.7 mg/kg (0.7 ppm). Most of the samples were below 0.2 mg/kg (0.2 ppm) (19 from 25).” (Sec. 3.1)
Bruse and Pudel are both directed towards use of SPE to remove 3-MCPD. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have performed SPE in Bruse to ensure removal of glycidyl esters to levels less than 0.2 ppm as disclosed by Pudel since this compound was known to be carcinogenic and could be removed concurrently with 3-MCPD. Therefore, the limitations of claim 14 are rendered obvious by the modification of Bruse with the cited references.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3 and 4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17-19 of copending Application No. 18/007310 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 17-19 of the reference application anticipate or render obvious present claims 1, 3 and 4.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because they are not relevant to the combination of references in the new grounds of rejection presented above.
Conclusion
/Michele L Jacobson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793