DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant’s response filed under 37 C.F.R. §1.111 in response to a non-final office action. Claims 7 and 10-12 have been amended. Claims 7-12 are subject to examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 7 and 10-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeineddine et al. (US 2023/0189262 A1, hereinafter “Zeineddine”) in view of Lee et al (US 2020/0235832 A1, hereinafter “Lee”) and Muruganathan et al. (US 2023/0269612 A1, hereinafter “Muruganathan”).
Regarding Claim 7, Zeineddine teaches a terminal comprising: a transmitter configured to transmit a capability indicating the maximum number of resource sets which are received simultaneously (Zeineddine: The apparatus 2200 can include ... a transceiver 2250 ... The transceiver 2250 can include a transmitter, see paragraphs [0214]-[0215]; A capability of a device in terms of the number of antenna panels, their duplexing capabilities ... may be communicated via signaling, see paragraph [0179]; The maximum number of TRS a UE can be configured with is a UE capability: The maximum number of TRS resource sets (per component carrier (CC)) the UE is able to track simultaneously ... The maximum number of TRS resource sets configured to UE across CCs, see paragraphs [0054]-[0057]);
a receiver configured to receive a configuration indicating a resource type (Zeineddine: The transceiver 2250 can include a transmitter and/or a receiver, see paragraph [0215]; the UE is configured with two TRSs (i.e., two NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet configured with higher layer parameter trs-Info), see paragraph [0170]); and
a processor configured to control, based on the configuration, reception of two resources, the two resources being included in two resource sets respectively, the two resource sets being in accordance with the capability (Zeineddine: The apparatus 2200 can include a housing 2210, a controller 2220 ... the controller 2220 may be any programmable processor, see paragraphs [0214]-[0216]; With two periodic TRSs configured, the UE uses the first (first pair) DMRS symbol(s) to estimate the channel from RRH1 ... [and] the second (second pair) DMRS symbol(s) to estimate the channel from RRH2, see paragraph [0171]).
Zeineddine does not explicitly teach simultaneous reception of resources using two spatial domain filters, respectively.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches simultaneous reception of resources using two spatial domain filters, respectively (Lee: CSI-RS ... resources can be received simultaneously by the UE ... with multiple simultaneous spatial domain receive filters, see paragraph [0220]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zeineddine to include the features as taught by Lee above in order to improve data receive efficiency (Lee: see paragraph [0137]).
While Zeineddine teaches the scenarios that the resource type is periodic or semi-persistent (Zeineddine: The TRS contains either 2 or 4 periodic CSI-RS resources, see paragraph [0050]), and
the resource type is aperiodic (Zeineddine: an aperiodic TRS is a set of aperiodic CSI-RS for tracking that may be optionally configured, see paragraph [0058]),
Zeineddine-Lee does not explicitly teach when the resource type is periodic or semi-persistent, the configuration indicates a report setting, the report setting indicates a resource setting, and the resource setting indicates the two resource sets, and
when the resource type is aperiodic, the configuration indicates a channel state information (CSI) aperiodic trigger state, and the CSI aperiodic trigger state indicates a report setting and indicates the two resource sets for channel measurement.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Muruganathan teaches when the resource type is periodic or semi-persistent, the configuration indicates a report setting, the report setting indicates a resource setting, and the resource setting indicates the two resource sets (Muruganathan: a UE can be configured with multiple CSI reporting settings ... and multiple CSI resource settings ... Each CSI resource setting can contain multiple CSI resource sets ... The CSI(s) reported by the UE can be periodic, semi-persistent, see paragraph [0013]), and
when the resource type is aperiodic, the configuration indicates a channel state information (CSI) aperiodic trigger state, and the CSI aperiodic trigger state indicates a report setting and indicates the two resource sets for channel measurement (Muruganathan: if the CSI report setting is linked with an aperiodic resource setting ... the aperiodic NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement [and] the aperiodic CSI-IM resource set for interference measurement ... to use for a given CSI report setting is also included in the aperiodic trigger state definition, see paragraph [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zeineddine-Lee to include the features as taught by Muruganathan above in order to reduce CSI reporting latency (Muruganathan: see paragraph [0120]).
Regarding Claim 8, Zeineddine-Lee-Muruganathan teaches the terminal according to claim 7.
Lee further teaches the two spatial domain filters are different from each other (Lee: CSI-RS ... resources can be received simultaneously by the UE ... with multiple simultaneous spatial domain receive filters, see paragraph [0220]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Lee is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 7.
Regarding Claim 9, Zeineddine-Lee-Muruganathan teaches the terminal according to claim 7.
Lee further teaches the configuration indicates one or more resources for interference measurement (Lee: The UE may ... receive an interference measurement resource configuration from the BS, see paragraph [0282]; the interference measurement resource may include ... a non-zero interference measurement resource, see paragraph [0287]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zeineddine to include the features as taught by Lee above in order to improve beam management (Lee: see paragraph [0234]).
Regarding Claim 10, the limitations of claim 10 are substantially the same as the limitations of claim 7, and claim 10 is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 12, Zeineddine teaches a system comprising: a terminal comprising: a receiver configured to receive a configuration (Zeineddine: The apparatus 2200 can include ... a transceiver 2250 ... The transceiver 2250 can include ... a receiver, see paragraphs [0214]-[0215]; the UE is configured with two TRSs (i.e., two NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet configured with higher layer parameter trs-Info), see paragraph [0170]); and
a base station configured to transmit the configuration (Zeineddine: a network entity for communicating with a user equipment is provided. The network entity includes ... a transceiver that transmits a higher layer configuration to the user equipment for defining two timing reference signals, see paragraph [0011]).
Regarding all other limitations of Claim 12, the limitations are substantially the same as the limitations of claim 7, and are therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeineddine in view of Farag et al. (US 2021/0226689 A1, hereinafter “Farag”) and Muruganathan.
Regarding Claim 11, Zeineddine teaches a base station comprising: a receiver configured to receive a capability indicating the maximum number of resource sets which are received simultaneously (Zeineddine: A capability of a device in terms of the number of antenna panels, their duplexing capabilities ... may be communicated via signaling ... A device may report its capability with respect to the “device panel” to the gNB, see paragraphs [0179]-[0181]; The maximum number of TRS a UE can be configured with is a UE capability: The maximum number of TRS resource sets (per component carrier (CC)) the UE is able to track simultaneously ... The maximum number of TRS resource sets configured to UE across CCs, see paragraphs [0054]-[0057], see paragraph []);
a transmitter configured to transmit a configuration indicating a resource type (Zeineddine: a network entity for communicating with a user equipment is provided. The network entity includes ... a transceiver that transmits a higher layer configuration to the user equipment for defining two timing reference signals, see paragraph [0011]; A TRS is a non-zero power (NZP)-channel state information (CSI)-reference signal (RS) resource set with trs-info set to true, see paragraph [0050]); and
a processor configured to control, based on the configuration, transmission of two resources, the two resources being included in two resource sets respectively, the two resource sets being in accordance with the capability (Zeineddine: The network entity includes a controller, see paragraph [0011]; With two periodic TRSs configured, the UE uses the first (first pair) DMRS symbol(s) to estimate the channel from RRH1 ... [and] the second (second pair) DMRS symbol(s) to estimate the channel from RRH2, see paragraph [0171]).
Zeineddine does not explicitly teach simultaneous transmission of resources using two spatial domain filters, respectively.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Farag teaches simultaneous transmission of resources using two spatial domain filters, respectively (Farag: a device pair (such as a UE and a gNB) is able to simultaneously use multiple beams having different spatial filters (including non-overlapping spatial filters) to transmit and receive channels, see paragraph [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zeineddine to include the features as taught by Farag above in order to achieve better beam adaptation to a dynamic environment (Farag: see paragraph [0074]).
While Zeineddine teaches the scenarios that the resource type is periodic or semi-persistent (Zeineddine: The TRS contains either 2 or 4 periodic CSI-RS resources, see paragraph [0050]), and
the resource type is aperiodic (Zeineddine: an aperiodic TRS is a set of aperiodic CSI-RS for tracking that may be optionally configured, see paragraph [0058]),
Zeineddine-Farag does not explicitly teach when the resource type is periodic or semi-persistent, the configuration indicates a report setting, the report setting indicates a resource setting, and the resource setting indicates the two resource sets, and
when the resource type is aperiodic, the configuration indicates a channel state information (CSI) aperiodic trigger state, and the CSI aperiodic trigger state indicates a report setting and indicates the two resource sets for channel measurement.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Muruganathan teaches when the resource type is periodic or semi-persistent, the configuration indicates a report setting, the report setting indicates a resource setting, and the resource setting indicates the two resource sets (Muruganathan: a UE can be configured with multiple CSI reporting settings ... and multiple CSI resource settings ... Each CSI resource setting can contain multiple CSI resource sets ... The CSI(s) reported by the UE can be periodic, semi-persistent, see paragraph [0013]), and
when the resource type is aperiodic, the configuration indicates a channel state information (CSI) aperiodic trigger state, and the CSI aperiodic trigger state indicates a report setting and indicates the two resource sets for channel measurement (Muruganathan: if the CSI report setting is linked with an aperiodic resource setting ... the aperiodic NZP CSI-RS resource set for channel measurement [and] the aperiodic CSI-IM resource set for interference measurement ... to use for a given CSI report setting is also included in the aperiodic trigger state definition, see paragraph [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zeineddine-Farag to include the features as taught by Muruganathan above in order to reduce CSI reporting latency (Muruganathan: see paragraph [0120]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416