DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 16, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the aerosol distribution column" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by YANEZ (WO 2018/189195).
Yanez teaches a non-combustible aerosol provision device comprising a receptacle (420 in figure 4) that defines a rod-shaped consumable receiving space; and a vaporizer (401) for generating an aerosol from an aerosol precursor material, wherein the vaporizer communicates with the rod-shaped consumable receiving space so that, in use, aerosol may pass from the vaporizer and into a rod-shaped consumable received within the rod-shaped consumable receiving space (abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Yanez teaches an aerosol distribution column (460) that upstands from a base of the receptacle and into the rod shaped consumable receiving space, so that, in use, the rod shaped consumable may be placed over the aerosol distribution column so that the aerosol distribution column extends within the rod shaped consumable, and wherein the aerosol distribution column is configured to introduce aerosol directly into the rod shaped consumable received within the rod shaped consumable receiving space.
Regarding claim 3, Yanez teaches an internal bore of the aerosol distribution column communicates the vaporizer with an aperture in the aerosol distribution column, so that aerosol may pass from the vaporizer, through the aperture and into the rod-shaped consumable received within the rod-shaped consumable receiving space (page 1 lines 23-25).
Regarding claim 4, figure 4 shows the internal bore communicates with a plurality of apertures (462) spaced along a length of the aerosol distribution column.
Regarding claim 5, figure 4 shows a lowermost aperture of the plurality of apertures is positioned between 10% and 50% of the way along the length of the aerosol distribution column, measured from the base of the receptacle.
Claim(s) 1, 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KIM et al. (WO 2020/101213, wherein US 2020/0345066 has been used as an English language equivalent).
Kim teaches a non-combustible aerosol provision device comprising a receptacle (42 in figure 6) that defines a rod-shaped consumable receiving space; and a vaporizer (53) for generating an aerosol from an aerosol precursor material, wherein the vaporizer communicates with the rod-shaped consumable receiving space so that, in use, aerosol may pass from the vaporizer and into a rod-shaped consumable received within the rod-shaped consumable receiving space (see airflow arrows in figure 6).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches a heater (43 in figure 6) configured to heat the rod-shaped consumable receiving space.
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches the heater comprises an inductor coil that extends around the receptacle (para. 0043).
Regarding claim 8. Kim teaches the receptacle comprises a cylindrical wall (42), and wherein the cylindrical wall is configured to be inductively heated by the inductor coil (para. 0043).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches the aerosol distribution column is configured to be inductively heated by the inductor coil (para. 0043).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of copending Application No. 18/040059 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 is taught by copending claims 1 and 2. Instant claim 9 is taught by copending claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/CYNTHIA SZEWCZYK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741