DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1 – 3, 6, 10, 13, 17, 20, 27, 30, 32, 34 – 35, 38, 88 – 91, 93, and 105) drawn to a compound, or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, having a structure of formula (I),
wherein X1-2, Y, Ring A, and Ring B, are defined and the species election of
in the reply filed on October 14th, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 108 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II (a method of inhibiting cyclin dependent kinase 19 (CDK19)), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Additionally, claims 3, 6, 10, 13, 17, 20, 27, 30, 32, and 38 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected chemical species. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on October 14th, 2025. Hence claims 1 – 2, 34 – 35, 88 – 91, 93, and 105 are being examined on the merits herein.
However upon searching the elected species;
the elected species was found to be free of the prior art. Thus the search was expanded to rejoin chemical species with the following features: instant Ring A is unsubstituted pyridinyl, instant Ring B is substituted phenyl, instant X1 is N, instant X2 is S, and instant Y is S as defined by instant claim 1.
While chemical species having instant Ring A is unsubstituted pyridinyl, instant Ring B is substituted phenyl, instant X1 is N, instant X2 is S, and instant Y is S are rejoined; these chemical features are not encompassed by claims 3, 6, 10, 13, 17, 20, 27, 30, 32, and 38. Thus claims 3, 6, 10, 13, 17, 20, 27, 30, 32, and 38 are still withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected chemical species or rejoined chemical species wherein instant Ring A is unsubstituted pyridinyl, instant Ring B is substituted phenyl, instant X1 is N, instant X2 is S, and instant Y is S. Nonetheless, the election of species has been modified to only rejoin chemical species wherein instant Ring A is unsubstituted pyridinyl, instant Ring B is substituted phenyl, instant X1 is N, instant X2 is S, and instant Y is S. Thus the restriction requirement set forth in the office action mailed August 15th, 2025 is maintained.
Hence claims 1 – 2, 34 – 35, 88 – 91, 93, and 105 are being examined on the merits herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 105 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 105, recite, “the compound of claim 1 having a structure as recited in Table A,” in line 1; without stating the chemical name or chemical structure. Applicant is reminded that, where possible, claims are to be complete in themselves. Incorporation by reference to a specific figure or table "is permitted only in exceptional circumstances where there is no practical way to define the invention in words and where it is more concise to incorporate by reference than duplicating a drawing or table into the claim. Incorporation by reference is a necessity doctrine, not for applicant’s convenience." Ex parte Fressola, 27 USPQ2d 1608, 1609 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993) (citations omitted). (See MPEP 2173.05(s)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 2, 34 – 35, 88, and 90 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rosenthal et. al. ((2013), Synthesis and SAR studies of 5-(pyridin-4-yl)-1,3,4-thiadiazol-2-amine derivatives as potent inhibitors of Bloom helicase, Bioorg. Med. Chem. Lett., 23, 5660-5666).
Regarding claims 1 – 2, 34 – 35, 88, and 90, Rosenthal et. al. teach compound 7a of the structure
(claim 1) (page 5663 column 1 table 3); wherein instant ring A is an unsubstituted 4-pyridine (claims 2 and 34); instant X1 is N; instant X2 is S; instant Y is S; instant ring B is phenyl (claims 35 and 90) wherein instant RB is Cl (claim 88) in the 3 and 4 position of the phenyl ring. Thus Rosenthal et. al. teach a compound that anticipates instant claims 1 – 2, 34 – 35, 88, and 90.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 89 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenthal et. al. ((2013), Synthesis and SAR studies of 5-(pyridin-4-yl)-1,3,4-thiadiazol-2-amine derivatives as potent inhibitors of Bloom helicase, Bioorg. Med. Chem. Lett., 23, 5660-5666) in view of Lima et. al. ((2005), Bioisosterism: A Useful Strategy for Molecular Modification and Drug Design, 12, 23 – 49).
The teachings of Rosenthal et. al. as they relate to claim 1, from which claim 89 depend, are given previously in this office action and are fully incorporated here.
However, Rosenthal et. al. fails to teach a compound wherein instant Ring B is
(claim 89).
Nevertheless, Lime et. al. teach that bioisosterism is a strategy of Medicinal Chemistry for the rational design of new drugs, applied with a lead compound (LC) as a special process of molecular modification (page 23 column 1 paragraph 1). Furthermore, Lime et. al. teach that the success of this strategy in developing new substances which are therapeutically attractive has observed a significant growth in distinct therapeutic classes, being amply used by the pharmaceutical industry to discover new analogs of therapeutic innovations commercially attractive, and also as a tool useful in the molecular modification (page 23 column 1 paragraph 2). Moreover, Lime et. al. teach that there may be innumerous reasons for the use of bioisosterism to design new drugs, including the necessity to improve pharmacological activity, gain selectivity for a determined receptor or enzymatic isoform subtype – with simultaneous reduction of certain adverse effects -, or even optimize the pharmacokinetics the LC might present (page 23 column 1 paragraph 3). Additionally, Lima et. al. teach that -OH, -NH2, -CH3, -OR, -F,-Cl,-Br, -I, -SH, -Si3, -SR, and -PH2, are classical monovalent bioisostere equivalents (page 25 column 1 Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the 4-Cl of compound 7a of Rosenthal et. al. in view of Lima et. al. that is to, replace the 4-Cl for a 4-F. One or ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve pharmacological activity, gain selectivity for a determined receptor or enzymatic isoform subtype – with simultaneous reduction of certain adverse effects -, or even optimize the pharmacokinetics the compound 7a. One ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because -F and -Cl are known in the art classical monovalent bioisostere equivalents.
Claims 91 and 93 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenthal et. al. ((2013), Synthesis and SAR studies of 5-(pyridin-4-yl)-1,3,4-thiadiazol-2-amine derivatives as potent inhibitors of Bloom helicase, Bioorg. Med. Chem. Lett., 23, 5660-5666) and Lima et. al. ((2005), Bioisosterism: A Useful Strategy for Molecular Modification and Drug Design, 12, 23 – 49) as applied to claims 89 above.
The teachings of Rosenthal et. al. as they relate to claims 1 and 90, from which claims 91 and 93 depend, are given previously in this office action and are fully incorporated here. Moreover, the teachings of Lima et. al. as they relate to claim 89, are given previously in this office action and are fully incorporated here.
However, the prior art of Rosenthal et. al. and Lima et. al. fails to teach a compound wherein ring B is
(claim 91), wherein instant R1 are in the meta position and Y1 is an C1-C6alkyloxy (claim 93).
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: oval] Nevertheless, as mentioned above, Lima et. al. teach that -OH, -NH2, -CH3, -OR, -F,-Cl,-Br, -I, -SH, -Si3, -SR, and -PH2, are classical monovalent bioisostere equivalents (page 25 column 1 Table 1). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the prior art Cl atom with the instant recitation -OR group as known in the art monovalent bioisostere equivalents. Moreover, in regard to instant claim 91 limitation that instant R1 is in the meta position
(circled); the only difference between the instant compound and the prior art compound of 7a
of Lima et. al. is the position of the -Cl atom; the ortho position (squared). Thus given that the only structural difference between a compound species of the instant claims and the prior art compound of 7a is the position of one of the instant R1 substituents both compounds are position isomers. Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977).(MPEP 2144.09(II)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the 4-Cl of compound 7a of Rosenthal et. al. in view of Lima et. al. that is to, replace the 4-Cl with an C1-C6alkyloxy such as -OCH3. Additionally, it would have been obvious to further move the instant R1 from the ortho position to the meta position. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve pharmacological activity, gain selectivity for a determined receptor or enzymatic isoform subtype – with simultaneous reduction of certain adverse effects -, or even optimize the pharmacokinetics the compound 7a. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because -Cl and -OCH3 are known in the art classical monovalent bioisostere equivalents.
Claim 105 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenthal et. al. ((2013), Synthesis and SAR studies of 5-(pyridin-4-yl)-1,3,4-thiadiazol-2-amine derivatives as potent inhibitors of Bloom helicase, Bioorg. Med. Chem. Lett., 23, 5660-5666) and Lima et. al. ((2005), Bioisosterism: A Useful Strategy for Molecular Modification and Drug Design, 12, 23 – 49) as applied to claims 89 above.
The teachings of Rosenthal et. al. as they relate to claim 1, from which claim 105 depend, are given previously in this office action and are fully incorporated here. Moreover, the teachings of Lima et. al. as they relate to claim 89, are given previously in this office action and are fully incorporated here.
However, the prior art of Rosenthal et. al. and Lima et. al. fails to teach a compound of structure
, that is instant A32; wherein instant Y is O (claim 105).
Nevertheless, Lima et. al. further teach that -O-,-S-,-Br, -I, -SH, and -PH2, are classical divalent bioisostere equivalents (page 25 column 1 Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to further modify instant Y position of the modified compound 7a of Rosenthal et. al. and Lima et. al. that is to, replace the O atom for a S atom. One or ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve pharmacological activity, gain selectivity for a determined receptor or enzymatic isoform subtype – with simultaneous reduction of certain adverse effects -, or even optimize the pharmacokinetics the compound 7a. One ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because O and S are known in the art classical divalent bioisostere equivalents.
Conclusion
Claims 1 – 2, 34 – 35, 88 – 91, 93, and 105 are rejected.
/DAWANNA SHAR-DAY WHITE/Examiner, Art Unit 1627