DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “the preparation stage is configured to transport the ingot to be squared to the squaring chamber concurrently with the moving away of the ingot without the cut edges by the unloading stage” in the last lines. It is unclear how the preparation stage and unloading stage can be concurrently used to move “the ingot” in two different directions. There is antecedent basis for one ingot in the claims, making this claim limitation unclear. While the claim refers to “the ingot to be squared” and “the ingot without the cut edges,” it appears these are intended to refer to the same ingot at different points in the cutting system, making the claimed concurrent movements unclear. For the purposes of this examination, this claim will be read as defining that the preparation stage and unloading stage are capable of moving different ingots simultaneously, as this appears to be applicant’s intent.
Claims 2-18 are rejected as indefinite due to their dependency upon rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 113306030, previously cited) alone.
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a system for squaring an ingot, comprising: a squaring chamber (4) configured to cut edges from the ingot ([n0042]); and a movement stage (elements 1, 2) disposed at one side of the squaring chamber in a first direction (right side as viewed in fig 2), wherein the movement stage is provided with a loading mechanism (element 1 and the parts of element 2 shown in fig 2) and an unloading mechanism (shown in fig 4; unloading mechanism including elements 25-28), the loading mechanism and the unloading mechanism are respectively arranged on two opposite sides of the movement stage in a second direction different from the first direction (as shown in fig 2, loading mechanism 1 on front facing side; elements 25-28 of unloading mechanism are unlabeled in fig 2, but extend behind element 3 on opposite back side), the loading mechanism comprises: a preparation stage (elements 20-23) configured to be movable in the first direction and/or the second direction (movement described in [n0058]; see directions labeled in annotated figs below) to transfer the ingot to be squared to the squaring chamber ([n0060]; “sends the rod 5 to the cutting operation mechanism 4 for cutting”), the unloading mechanism comprises: an unloading stage (25) configured to be movable in the third direction (vertically movable as described [n0067-n0068]) and the second direction (moves in second direction by drive 29 as described [n0066] and [n0058]) to make the ingot without the cut edges move away (moves the cut square bars as described [n0066]), and the preparation stage (elements 20-23 moved by drive 24 as described [n0060]) is configured to transport an ingot to be squared to the squaring chamber concurrently with the moving away of the ingot without the cut edges by the unloading stage (as described [n0018] and [n0060], the loading and unloading mechanisms are configured to work independently of one another and are therefore capable of concurrent movement).
Li does not explicitly disclose that the preparation stage is not movable in the third direction (vertical direction) or that the unloading mechanism is not movable in the first direction (see directions labeled in annotated figs below). However, Li does not disclose any means for moving the preparation stage in the third direction or moving the unloading mechanism in the first direction, which implies that these elements are not movable in these directions. Omission of an element and its function is obvious if the function of the element is not desired (MPEP 2144.04 II. A.). As Li does not describe moving the preparation stage in the third direction or moving the unloading mechanism in the first direction, it is clear that these movements are not desired. Thus It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the preparation stage immovable in the third direction and the unloading mechanism immovable in the first direction, as these directions are not necessary to perform the processing described by Li and omitting such a movement would not alter the function or capabilities of the system.
Regarding claim 2, Li as modified, teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Li further teaches the squaring chamber comprises a hold mechanism (element 3 detailed in fig 5) configured to be movable in the first direction (movement in the first direction described [n0075]) for holding the ingot, and the hold mechanism comprises main hold shafts (34) and auxiliary hold shafts (35); the main hold shafts are configured to hold end surfaces of the ingot (as shown in fig 5); the auxiliary hold shafts are configured to hold opposite end surfaces of the cut edges of the ingot ([n0073]; holding “edge skins”); and the main hold shafts and the auxiliary hold shafts are configured to move together to the movement stage in the first direction ([n0075]).
Regarding claim 3, Li, as modified, teaches all the limitations of claim 2 as described above. Li further teaches the loading mechanism further comprises: a loading stage (1 detailed in fig 3) secured at an end portion of the movement stage in the second direction (as shown in fig 2); wherein the preparation stage (elements 20-23) is disposed close to the squaring chamber and cooperates with the loading stage (as shown in fig 2), wherein the loading stage and the preparation stage are provided with loading tracks (10, 22 labeled in figs 3-4) arranged coaxially (shown in fig 2); the preparation stage is further provided with two clamping members (21) for grasping the ingot (shown in fig 4); and a height of the loading track of the preparation stage is higher than a height of an original position of the loading track of the loading stage (as shown in fig 2), and the loading stage is configured to move up and down in a vertical direction ([n0045]), so that the ingot disposed on the loading stage moves onto the preparation stage along the loading track ([n0051]).
Regarding claim 4, Li, as modified, teaches all the limitations of claim 3 as described above. Li further teaches each of the clamping members (21) comprises two jaws disposed opposite to each other in the second direction (on opposite sides of the ingot as shown in fig 4), each jaw has a C-like shaped inner sidewall (wall facing ingot), and the loading track (22) of the preparation stage extends in the first direction passing through a clamping area defined by the jaws (as shown in fig 4).
Regarding claim 5, Li, as modified, teaches all the limitations of claim 3 as described above. Li further teaches the loading track (22) on the preparation stage comprises a stopper (see annotated fig below) for positioning the ingot, and the stopper is secured at an end of the loading track on the preparation stage close to the squaring chamber (as shown in fig 4); a first clamping member of the clamping members close to the stopper is configured to move in the second direction (clamping and releasing motion described [n0059]); a second clamping member of the clamping members away from the stopper is configured to move in the first direction (longitudinal motion described [n0065]) and the second direction ([n0059]; both clamping members are movable in the second direction).
Regarding claim 6, Li, as modified, teaches all the limitations of claim 5 as described above. Li further teaches a pull bar (20) is disposed on the second clamping member (fig 4), and the second clamping member is driven by the pull bar to pull the ingot to move toward the stopper (longitudinal movement caused by element 20 described [n0061]) and to make the ingot being abutted against and secured onto the preparation stage by the stopper (as shown in fig 4), and the pull bar has an L-shaped configuration, one end of the pull bar is secured to a side surface (see annotated fig) close to the loading stage of the one of the second clamping members away from the stopper, and another end of the pull bar is suspended (suspended end pointing downward).
Regarding claim 7, Li, as modified, teaches all the limitations of claim 3 as described above. Li further teaches the unloading mechanism (elements 25-28) is disposed at an end portion of the movement stage away from the loading mechanism (as shown in fig 4), the unloading mechanism comprises the unloading stage (25) partially secured to the movement stage and a collection box (27) for collecting the cut edges; the unloading stage is located above the collection box in the a third direction (as shown in fig 4, element 25 is located at a height above collection box 27), and operates independently from the collection box (as these elements are used for collecting different elements of the cut workpiece, they operate independently as broadly claimed); and the unloading stage is configured to move up and down in the third direction to receive the ingot without the cut edges ([n0068]) and to move the ingot to an unloading turnover stage (note that the unloading turnover stage is not positively recited as a part of the claimed system; as the unloading stage has a track capable of transporting the ingot, it is capable of achieving the function of moving the ingot to a different stage such as an unloading turnover stage).
Regarding claim 10, Li, as modified, teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Li further teaches the movement stage comprises a slide stage (elements 24, 29, 210, 211) disposed outside the squaring chamber (4), the loading mechanism and the unloading mechanism are both disposed parallel to the first direction and perpendicular to the second direction (tracks of loading and unloading mechanism are parallel to the first direction as shown in fig 4), and the loading mechanism and the unloading mechanism are separately slidably disposed along the second direction (via elements 24 and 29 as described [n0058]).
Regarding claim 11, Li, as modified, teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as described above. Li further teaches a method for squaring an ingot by using the system for squaring the ingot of claim 6 (as detailed in the rejection above), wherein the method for squaring the ingot comprises: sequentially cutting respective pairs of opposite cut edges in the squaring chamber (described [n0072]), and collecting the pairs of cut edges at a position between the squaring chamber and the movement stage after cutting the respective pairs of the opposite cut edges, and obtaining the ingot without the cut edges by the unloading mechanism (as described [n0067]), and at the same time, loading another ingot with cut edges to be removed to the squaring chamber by the loading mechanism ([n0060]).
Regarding claim 12, Li, as modified, teaches all the limitations of claim 11 as described above. Li further teaches before the step of loading another ingot (the listed steps are performed for every successive ingot to be processed) with the cut edges to be removed by the loading mechanism (step described in claim 11 above), securing the ingot on the preparation stage of the loading mechanism, wherein the step of securing the ingot on the preparation stage of the loading mechanism comprises: transporting the ingot onto the preparation stage along the loading tracks from the loading stage of the loading mechanism (from track 10 as described [n0051]); moving the ingot towards one end of the preparation stage close to the squaring chamber (moved toward end with stopper as shown in annotated fig 4 above) by one of the clamping members on the preparation stage close to the loading stage (as described [n0065]); making the end surface of the ingot away from the loading stage abut the stopper on the loading track of the preparation stage (as shown in fig 4); clamping the ingot by all the clamping members ([n0059]); and moving the ingot by the preparation stage to a door of the squaring chamber close to the movement stage ([n0061]; moved to feed port of element 4).
Regarding claim 13, Li, as modified, teaches all the limitations of claim 12 as described above. Li further teaches the step of clamping the ingot by all the clamping members comprises: suspending the hold mechanism (3) at the position between the squaring chamber and the movement stage (as shown in fig 2), and providing in advance (prior to cutting) the hold mechanism at both ends of the ingot (“clamping mechanism” holds ingot as described [n0072] on both ends as shown in fig 6); securing the end surfaces of the ingot by the main hold shafts (34); securing the end surfaces of any pair of opposite cut edges of the ingot by the auxiliary hold shafts (35; as shown in fig 6); moving the ingot by the hold mechanism passing through a space between the clamping members and into the squaring chamber to be cut ([n0072]); and moving the preparation stage to retract opened clamping members ([n0059]; “release the rod”).
Regarding claim 14, Li, as modified, teaches all the limitations of claim 12 as described above. Li further teaches the unloading mechanism comprises an unloading stage (25) partially secured to the movement stage (as shown in fig 4) and a collection box (27) for collecting the cut edges; and wherein the step of collecting the pairs of cut edges at the position between the squaring chamber and the movement stage comprises: moving the collection box from a position below the unloading stage to a position directly below the ingot taken out of the squaring chamber ([n0075]; collection box 27 is moved until it is “located under the edge skin”); releasing the auxiliary hold shafts and dropping the opposite cut edges to fall into the placement elements of the collection box corresponding to the cut edges respectively ([n0067], [n0075]; auxiliary hold shafts 35 “loosen the edge skin” to fall into the collection box 27); repeating the dropping until all the opposite cut edges have been collected ([n0075] as the next step is for receiving the square bar, all the cut edges must necessarily have been collected); and moving the collection box back to its original position (the collection box 27 is moved back to its original position when the unloading mechanism (“square rod receiving mechanism”) moves under the clamping mechanism as described [n0075], as both the unloading mechanism and collection box are both moved by the same feeding seat described [n0066]).
Regarding claim 15, Li, as modified, teaches all the limitations of claim 14 as described above. Li further teaches the step of obtaining the ingot without the cut edges by the unloading mechanism comprises: moving the unloading stage to a position directly located below the ingot ([n0075]; “moved until the square rod receiving mechanism is located under the clamping mechanism”); raising the unloading stage (described [n0068]) to be in contact with a lower end surface of the ingot (rollers 26 of unloading stage “support” the ingot as described [n0067]); releasing the main hold shafts, so that the ingot is placed on the unloading stage ([n0075]; “clamping mechanism places the cut bar material… on the square rod receiving mechanism”); and moving the ingot back to an original position of the unloading stage by the unloading stage ([n0056]; unloading stage (“feeding mechanism”), is moved “back and forth” to receive and move the cut ingot).
Regarding claim 16, Li, as modified, teaches all the limitations of claim 2 as described above. Li further teaches the movement stage comprises a slide stage (elements 24, 29, 210, 211) disposed outside the squaring chamber (4), the loading mechanism and the unloading mechanism are both disposed parallel to the first direction and perpendicular to the second direction (tracks of loading and unloading mechanism are parallel to the first direction as shown in fig 4), and the loading mechanism and the unloading mechanism are separately slidably disposed along the second direction (via elements 24 and 29 as described [n0058]).
Regarding claim 17, Li, as modified, teaches all the limitations of claim 13 as described above. Li further teaches the unloading mechanism comprises an unloading stage (25) partially secured to the movement stage (as shown in fig 4) and a collection box (27) for collecting the cut edges; and wherein the step of collecting the pairs of cut edges at the position between the squaring chamber and the movement stage comprises: moving the collection box from a position below the unloading stage to a position directly below the ingot taken out of the squaring chamber ([n0075]; collection box 27 is moved until it is “located under the edge skin”); releasing the auxiliary hold shafts and dropping the opposite cut edges to fall into the placement elements of the collection box corresponding to the cut edges respectively ([n0067], [n0075]; auxiliary hold shafts 35 “loosen the edge skin” to fall into the collection box 27); repeating the above steps until all the opposite cut edges have been collected ([n0075] as the next step is for receiving the square bar, all the cut edges must necessarily have been collected); and moving the collection box back to its original position (the collection box 27 is moved back to its original position when the unloading mechanism (“square rod receiving mechanism”) moves under the clamping mechanism as described [n0075], as both the unloading mechanism and collection box are both moved by the same feeding seat described [n0066]).
Regarding claim 18, Li, as modified, teaches all the limitations of claim 17 as described above. Li further teaches the step of obtaining the ingot without the cut edges by the unloading mechanism comprises: moving the unloading stage to a position directly located below the ingot ([n0075]; “moved until the square rod receiving mechanism is located under the clamping mechanism”); raising the unloading stage (described [n0068]) to be in contact with a lower end surface of the ingot (rollers 26 of unloading stage “support” the ingot as described [n0067]); releasing the main hold shafts, so that the ingot is placed on the unloading stage ([n0075]; “clamping mechanism places the cut bar material… on the square rod receiving mechanism”); and moving the ingot back to an original position of the unloading stage by the unloading stage ([n0056]; unloading stage (“feeding mechanism”), is moved “back and forth” to receive and move the cut ingot).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Lu (WO 2022/057296, previously cited).
Regarding claim 8, Li, as modified, teaches all the elements of claim 7 as described above. Li further teaches the unloading stage is disposed with an unloading track (element 25 provides a track); both the unloading track and the loading tracks (10, 22) comprise a plurality of rollers (elements 26, 23, and 11); the rollers (26) of the unloading track are all horizontally arranged (as shown in fig 4); the rollers (23, 11) of the loading tracks are all arranged obliquely upward and facing each other (as shown in figs 4 and 3); and an end portion of the unloading track close the squaring chamber is provided with a plurality of sets of baffles (see annotated fig above) for preventing the ingot without the cut edges from shifting, and the baffles are arranged spaced apart from each other in the first direction and are disposed on both sides of the unloading track (as shown in fig 4).
Li is silent as to a material of the rollers of the unloading track and loading tracks. However, it has been held that it is obvious to “a known material based on its suitability for its intended use” (MPEP 2144.07). Lu teaches a system for squaring an ingot including tracks including a conveying part made of a rubber material ([0286], [0375]). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the rollers of the loading and unloading tracks of Li out of rubber, as rubber is known to be a suitable material for a part which contacts and transports an ingot, the rubber providing the advantage of preventing damage to the workpiece as taught by Lu ([0286], [0375]).
Regarding claim 9, Li, as modified, teaches all the limitations of claim 8 as described above. Li further teaches the collection box comprises two placement elements (see annotated fig above), the placement elements extend in parallel in the first direction and are respectively disposed at two opposite sides of the collection box in the second direction (as shown in fig 4), and a distance between the placement elements is not greater than a width of the ingot without the cut edges (note that the ingot is not a part of the claimed system and a size of the intended workpiece not actively limit a dimension of the claimed distance); and the collection box is configured to move to a location directly below the ingot ([n0067]) and outside the squaring chamber (outside squaring chamber 4 as described ([n0066]) with the two placement elements symmetrically disposed with respect to a central axis of the ingot before each pair of opposite cut edges falls (capable of this placement by movement caused by feeding drive mechanism described in [n0066-n0067).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4 Feb 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1 and its dependent’s, applicant argues that Li fails to teach several of the newly claimed limitations with regard to movement of the preparation stage and unloading stage. Examiner respectfully disagrees, as these limitations are taught or rendered obvious by Li as detailed in the rejection above. Specifically, applicant identifies element 3 of Li as a preparation stage, arguing that it does not make the claimed movements in conjunction with and concurrently with the claimed unloading stage. However, as detailed in the rejection above, elements 20-23 have been identified as the claimed preparation stage. As detailed above, the preparation stage of Li is configured to perform the claimed movements and to transport an ingot concurrently with the movement of an ingot by the unloading stage.
Applicant’s amendments have overcome the previous rejections under 112b. However, the claim amendments have raised new issues of clarity as detailed in the rejections above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARCEL T DION/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723