This office action is in response to remarks filed on 03/28/2026.
Claims 1-2, 17, 19-20, 39 and 42-46 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1, 19, 39, and 44-46 are amended.
Response to Amendments
Claims 1, 19, 39, and 44-46 have been considered based on amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 19, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al (US20230198721A1) (hereinafter "Gao") in view of Khoshnevisan et al (US20210195600A1) (hereinafter "Khoshnevisan"), as supported by provisional application 62952209 filed on December 20, 2019, and in view of Chen et al (US20110110316A1) (hereinafter "Chen").
Regarding claim 1, Gao discloses a control channel transmission method, applied to a network device, comprising:
sending at least two candidate control channels to a User Equipment (UE) through a plurality of Transmission and Reception Points (TRPs) ([0058] In NR Release 17, it has been proposed to further introduce PDCCH enhancement with multiple TRPs as shown in FIG. 7. [0063] 3. PDCCH repetition with soft combining [0064] A PDCCH is repeated over two CORESETs each associated with one TRP. Soft combining is performed before PDCCH decoding, and the UE needs to know that a certain PDCCH candidate in a first CORESET corresponds to another PDCCH candidate in a second CORESET.), wherein there is a first corresponding link (TCI state) between information related to a first candidate control channel of the at least two candidate control channels and information related to other candidate control channels of the at least two candidate control channels except for the first candidate control channel ([0035] a list of up to 64 TCI-States can be configured in a CORESET p. [0028] These TCI states are used to provide QCL relationships between the source DL RS(s) in one RS Set in the TCI State and the PDCCH DMRS ports (i.e., for DMRS ports for PDCCHs received in one of the search spaces defined over CORESET p). [0153] In this embodiment, the ith (i=0, 1, . . . , NREG−1) REG in the CORESET is associated with TCI state ks (0≤s<NTCI−1) with s=(i)mod(NTCI), where “mod” is a modulo function with i=NTCIq+s and q is an integer. An example is shown in FIG. 9, where NTCI=2 and NREG=18. A first subset of REGs consists of even numbered REGs (i.e., REGs 0,2,4,6,8,10,12,14,16) and is mapped to TCI state k0 (the first TCI state), and a second subset of REGs consists of odd numbered REGs (i.e., REGs 1,3,5,7,9,11,13,15,17) and is mapped to TCI state k1 (the second TCI state).).
Gao fails to disclose a control channel transmission method, comprising: wherein each of the plurality of TRPs corresponds to a respective one of the at least two candidate control channels, each of the plurality of TRPs is configured to send part of a content of a Downlink Control Information (DCI), and the at least two candidate control channels are combined by the UE based on the first corresponding link to obtain the DCI; wherein the at least two candidate control channels are in one Search Space set or one Control Resource Set (CORESET).
However, Khoshnevisan discloses a control channel transmission method, comprising:
wherein each of the plurality of TRPs corresponds to a respective one of the at least two candidate control channels ([0151] Some of the network devices, such as a base station 105, may include subcomponents such as an access network entity 140, which may be an example of an access node controller (ANC). Each access network entity 140 may communicate with the UEs 115 through one or more other access network transmission entities 145, which may be referred to as radio heads, smart radio heads, or transmission/reception points (TRPs).), each of the plurality of TRPs is configured to send part of a content of a Downlink Control Information (DCI), and the at least two candidate control channels are combined by the UE based on the first corresponding link to obtain the DCI ([0119] For example, a UE may combine a PDCCH candidate corresponding to a search space set and another PDCCH candidate corresponding to another search space set (or the same search space set) to form a combined PDCCH candidate. The described techniques may be used to determine when DCI decoded from the search space sets corresponds to the combined PDCCH candidate. For example, the UE or base station (or both) may identify that DCI corresponds to the combined PDCCH candidate based on identifying the combined PDCCH candidate from a first and second search space set (e.g., a default to determination. In other examples, the UE or base station (or both) may identify that DCI corresponds to the combined PDCCH candidate based on indications included in the DCI, such as a bit indicator, a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) (e.g., that scrambles a portion of the DCI, one or more demodulation reference signals (DMRSs), or both), or a scrambling identifier for the PDCCH.);
wherein the at least two candidate control channels are in one Search Space set or one Control Resource Set (CORESET) ([0119] For example, a UE may combine a PDCCH candidate corresponding to a search space set and another PDCCH candidate corresponding to another search space set (or the same search space set) to form a combined PDCCH candidate. [0138] A control region (e.g., a control resource set (CORESET)) for a physical control channel may be defined by a number of symbol periods and may extend across the system bandwidth or a subset of the system bandwidth of the carrier. One or more control regions (e.g., CORESETs) may be configured for a set of the UEs 115. For example, one or more of the UEs 115 may monitor or search control regions for control information according to one or more search space sets, and each search space set may include one or multiple control channel candidates in one or more aggregation levels arranged in a cascaded manner.).
Gao and Khoshnevisan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of decoding downlink control information in a combined physical downlink control channel candidate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Gao with Khoshnevisan to create a control channel transmission method, comprising: wherein each of the plurality of TRPs corresponds to a respective one of the at least two candidate control channels, each of the plurality of TRPs is configured to send part of a content of a Downlink Control Information (DCI), and the at least two candidate control channels are combined by the UE based on the first corresponding link to obtain the DCI; wherein the at least two candidate control channels are in one Search Space set or one Control Resource Set (CORESET).
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to increase reliability and diversity without increasing decoding complexity.
Gao fails to disclose a control channel transmission method, comprising: wherein the first corresponding link comprises an offset between Control Channel Element (CCE) indexes of the other candidate control channels and a CCE index of the first candidate control channel, and a value of the offset is equal to a number of CCEs divided by 2.
However, Chen discloses a control channel transmission method, comprising:
wherein the first corresponding link comprises an offset between Control Channel Element (CCE) indexes of the other candidate control channels and a CCE index of the first candidate control channel, and a value of the offset is equal to a number of CCEs divided by 2 ([0092] In a first example, .DELTA..sub.l,m=K.sub.l*m*l/2, where K.sub.l={6, 6, 2, 2} for l={1, 2, 4, 8}, respectively, and m is the carrier index of the other component carriers (i.e., other than carrier 0) scheduled by the given component carrier. That is, the offset is half of the size of the total number of CCEs for each aggregation level. As such, for the m.sup.th component carrier, the offset .DELTA..sub.l,m is equal to 3m for l=1, 6m for l=2, 4m for l=4, and 8m for l=8.).
Gao and Chen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of physical downlink control channel search space design for multi-carrier operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Gao with Chen to create a control channel transmission method, comprising: wherein the first corresponding link comprises an offset between Control Channel Element (CCE) indexes of the other candidate control channels and a CCE index of the first candidate control channel, and a value of the offset is equal to a number of CCEs divided by 2.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to locate PDCCH candidates within a CORESET to prevent decoding ambiguity.
Regarding claim 19, Gao discloses a control channel transmission method, applied to a User Equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving at least two candidate control channels from a network device, wherein the at least two candidate control channels are sent through a plurality of Transmission and Reception Points (TRPs) ([0058] In NR Release 17, it has been proposed to further introduce PDCCH enhancement with multiple TRPs as shown in FIG. 7. [0063] 3. PDCCH repetition with soft combining [0064] A PDCCH is repeated over two CORESETs each associated with one TRP. Soft combining is performed before PDCCH decoding, and the UE needs to know that a certain PDCCH candidate in a first CORESET corresponds to another PDCCH candidate in a second CORESET.),
wherein there is a first corresponding link between information related to a first candidate control channel of the at least two candidate control channels and information related to other candidate control channels of the at least two candidate control channels except for the first candidate control channel ([0035] a list of up to 64 TCI-States can be configured in a CORESET p. [0028] These TCI states are used to provide QCL relationships between the source DL RS(s) in one RS Set in the TCI State and the PDCCH DMRS ports (i.e., for DMRS ports for PDCCHs received in one of the search spaces defined over CORESET p). [0153] In this embodiment, the ith (i=0, 1, . . . , NREG−1) REG in the CORESET is associated with TCI state ks (0≤s<NTCI−1) with s=(i)mod(NTCI), where “mod” is a modulo function with i=NTCIq+s and q is an integer. An example is shown in FIG. 9, where NTCI=2 and NREG=18. A first subset of REGs consists of even numbered REGs (i.e., REGs 0,2,4,6,8,10,12,14,16) and is mapped to TCI state k0 (the first TCI state), and a second subset of REGs consists of odd numbered REGs (i.e., REGs 1,3,5,7,9,11,13,15,17) and is mapped to TCI state k1 (the second TCI state).).
Gao fails to disclose a control channel transmission method, comprising: wherein each of the plurality of TRPs corresponds to a respective one of the at least two candidate control channels, each of the plurality of TRPs is configured to send part of a content of a Downlink Control Information (DCI), and the at least two candidate control channels are combined by the UE based on the first corresponding link to obtain the DCI; wherein the at least two candidate control channels are in one Search Space set or one Control Resource Set (CORESET).
However, Khoshnevisan discloses a control channel transmission method, comprising:
wherein each of the plurality of TRPs corresponds to a respective one of the at least two candidate control channels ([0151] Some of the network devices, such as a base station 105, may include subcomponents such as an access network entity 140, which may be an example of an access node controller (ANC). Each access network entity 140 may communicate with the UEs 115 through one or more other access network transmission entities 145, which may be referred to as radio heads, smart radio heads, or transmission/reception points (TRPs).), each of the plurality of TRPs is configured to send part of a content of a Downlink Control Information (DCI), and the at least two candidate control channels are combined by the UE based on the first corresponding link to obtain the DCI ([0119] For example, a UE may combine a PDCCH candidate corresponding to a search space set and another PDCCH candidate corresponding to another search space set (or the same search space set) to form a combined PDCCH candidate. The described techniques may be used to determine when DCI decoded from the search space sets corresponds to the combined PDCCH candidate. For example, the UE or base station (or both) may identify that DCI corresponds to the combined PDCCH candidate based on identifying the combined PDCCH candidate from a first and second search space set (e.g., a default to determination. In other examples, the UE or base station (or both) may identify that DCI corresponds to the combined PDCCH candidate based on indications included in the DCI, such as a bit indicator, a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) (e.g., that scrambles a portion of the DCI, one or more demodulation reference signals (DMRSs), or both), or a scrambling identifier for the PDCCH.);
wherein the at least two candidate control channels are in one Search Space set or one Control Resource Set (CORESET) ([0119] For example, a UE may combine a PDCCH candidate corresponding to a search space set and another PDCCH candidate corresponding to another search space set (or the same search space set) to form a combined PDCCH candidate. [0138] A control region (e.g., a control resource set (CORESET)) for a physical control channel may be defined by a number of symbol periods and may extend across the system bandwidth or a subset of the system bandwidth of the carrier. One or more control regions (e.g., CORESETs) may be configured for a set of the UEs 115. For example, one or more of the UEs 115 may monitor or search control regions for control information according to one or more search space sets, and each search space set may include one or multiple control channel candidates in one or more aggregation levels arranged in a cascaded manner.).
Gao and Khoshnevisan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of decoding downlink control information in a combined physical downlink control channel candidate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Gao with Khoshnevisan to create a control channel transmission method, comprising: wherein each of the plurality of TRPs corresponds to a respective one of the at least two candidate control channels, each of the plurality of TRPs is configured to send part of a content of a Downlink Control Information (DCI), and the at least two candidate control channels are combined by the UE based on the first corresponding link to obtain the DCI; wherein the at least two candidate control channels are in one Search Space set or one Control Resource Set (CORESET).
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to increase reliability and diversity without increasing decoding complexity.
Gao fails to disclose a control channel transmission method, comprising: wherein the first corresponding link comprises an offset between Control Channel Element (CCE) indexes of the other candidate control channels and a CCE index of the first candidate control channel, and a value of the offset is equal to a number of CCEs divided by 2.
However, Chen discloses a control channel transmission method, comprising:
wherein the first corresponding link comprises an offset between Control Channel Element (CCE) indexes of the other candidate control channels and a CCE index of the first candidate control channel, and a value of the offset is equal to a number of CCEs divided by 2 ([0092] In a first example, .DELTA..sub.l,m=K.sub.l*m*l/2, where K.sub.l={6, 6, 2, 2} for l={1, 2, 4, 8}, respectively, and m is the carrier index of the other component carriers (i.e., other than carrier 0) scheduled by the given component carrier. That is, the offset is half of the size of the total number of CCEs for each aggregation level. As such, for the m.sup.th component carrier, the offset .DELTA..sub.l,m is equal to 3m for l=1, 6m for l=2, 4m for l=4, and 8m for l=8.).
Gao and Chen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of physical downlink control channel search space design for multi-carrier operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Gao with Chen to create a control channel transmission method, comprising: wherein the first corresponding link comprises an offset between Control Channel Element (CCE) indexes of the other candidate control channels and a CCE index of the first candidate control channel, and a value of the offset is equal to a number of CCEs divided by 2.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to locate PDCCH candidates within a CORESET to prevent decoding ambiguity.
Regarding claim 39, Gao discloses a network device, comprising:
a first processor; and ([0214] The transceivers 2206 are also referred to herein as radio circuitry. In some embodiments, the functionality of the wireless communication device 2200 described above (e.g., one or more functions of a wireless communication device 812, UE, or the like, as described herein, e.g., with respect to FIG. 18) may be fully or partially implemented in software that is, e.g., stored in the memory 2204 and executed by the processor(s) 2202.)
a first communication interface ([0214] The transceivers 2206 are also referred to herein as radio circuitry. In some embodiments, the functionality of the wireless communication device 2200 described above (e.g., one or more functions of a wireless communication device 812, UE, or the like, as described herein, e.g., with respect to FIG. 18) may be fully or partially implemented in software that is, e.g., stored in the memory 2204 and executed by the processor(s) 2202.),
wherein the first communication interface is configured to send at least two candidate control channels to a User Equipment (UE) through a plurality of Transmission and Reception Points (TRPs) ([0058] In NR Release 17, it has been proposed to further introduce PDCCH enhancement with multiple TRPs as shown in FIG. 7. [0063] 3. PDCCH repetition with soft combining [0064] A PDCCH is repeated over two CORESETs each associated with one TRP. Soft combining is performed before PDCCH decoding, and the UE needs to know that a certain PDCCH candidate in a first CORESET corresponds to another PDCCH candidate in a second CORESET.), and there is a first corresponding link between information related to a first candidate control channel of the at least two candidate control channels and information related to other candidate control channels of the at least two candidate control channels except for the first candidate control channel ([0035] a list of up to 64 TCI-States can be configured in a CORESET p. [0028] These TCI states are used to provide QCL relationships between the source DL RS(s) in one RS Set in the TCI State and the PDCCH DMRS ports (i.e., for DMRS ports for PDCCHs received in one of the search spaces defined over CORESET p). [0153] In this embodiment, the ith (i=0, 1, . . . , NREG−1) REG in the CORESET is associated with TCI state ks (0≤s<NTCI−1) with s=(i)mod(NTCI), where “mod” is a modulo function with i=NTCIq+s and q is an integer. An example is shown in FIG. 9, where NTCI=2 and NREG=18. A first subset of REGs consists of even numbered REGs (i.e., REGs 0,2,4,6,8,10,12,14,16) and is mapped to TCI state k0 (the first TCI state), and a second subset of REGs consists of odd numbered REGs (i.e., REGs 1,3,5,7,9,11,13,15,17) and is mapped to TCI state k1 (the second TCI state).).
Gao fails to disclose a network device, comprising: wherein each of the plurality of TRPs corresponds to a respective one of the at least two candidate control channels, each of the plurality of TRPs is configured to send part of a content of a Downlink Control Information (DCI), and the at least two candidate control channels are combined by the UE based on the first corresponding link to obtain the DCI; wherein the at least two candidate control channels are in one Search Space set or one Control Resource Set (CORESET).
However, Khoshnevisan discloses a network device, comprising:
wherein each of the plurality of TRPs corresponds to a respective one of the at least two candidate control channels ([0151] Some of the network devices, such as a base station 105, may include subcomponents such as an access network entity 140, which may be an example of an access node controller (ANC). Each access network entity 140 may communicate with the UEs 115 through one or more other access network transmission entities 145, which may be referred to as radio heads, smart radio heads, or transmission/reception points (TRPs).), each of the plurality of TRPs is configured to send part of a content of a Downlink Control Information (DCI), and the at least two candidate control channels are combined by the UE based on the first corresponding link to obtain the DCI ([0119] For example, a UE may combine a PDCCH candidate corresponding to a search space set and another PDCCH candidate corresponding to another search space set (or the same search space set) to form a combined PDCCH candidate. The described techniques may be used to determine when DCI decoded from the search space sets corresponds to the combined PDCCH candidate. For example, the UE or base station (or both) may identify that DCI corresponds to the combined PDCCH candidate based on identifying the combined PDCCH candidate from a first and second search space set (e.g., a default to determination. In other examples, the UE or base station (or both) may identify that DCI corresponds to the combined PDCCH candidate based on indications included in the DCI, such as a bit indicator, a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) (e.g., that scrambles a portion of the DCI, one or more demodulation reference signals (DMRSs), or both), or a scrambling identifier for the PDCCH.);
wherein the at least two candidate control channels are in one Search Space set or one Control Resource Set (CORESET) ([0119] For example, a UE may combine a PDCCH candidate corresponding to a search space set and another PDCCH candidate corresponding to another search space set (or the same search space set) to form a combined PDCCH candidate. [0138] A control region (e.g., a control resource set (CORESET)) for a physical control channel may be defined by a number of symbol periods and may extend across the system bandwidth or a subset of the system bandwidth of the carrier. One or more control regions (e.g., CORESETs) may be configured for a set of the UEs 115. For example, one or more of the UEs 115 may monitor or search control regions for control information according to one or more search space sets, and each search space set may include one or multiple control channel candidates in one or more aggregation levels arranged in a cascaded manner.).
Gao and Khoshnevisan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of decoding downlink control information in a combined physical downlink control channel candidate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Gao with Khoshnevisan to create a network device, comprising: wherein each of the plurality of TRPs corresponds to a respective one of the at least two candidate control channels, each of the plurality of TRPs is configured to send part of a content of a Downlink Control Information (DCI), and the at least two candidate control channels are combined by the UE based on the first corresponding link to obtain the DCI; wherein the at least two candidate control channels are in one Search Space set or one Control Resource Set (CORESET).
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to increase reliability and diversity without increasing decoding complexity.
Gao fails to disclose a network device, comprising: wherein the first corresponding link comprises an offset between Control Channel Element (CCE) indexes of the other candidate control channels and a CCE index of the first candidate control channel, and a value of the offset is equal to a number of CCEs divided by 2.
However, Chen discloses a network device, comprising:
wherein the first corresponding link comprises an offset between Control Channel Element (CCE) indexes of the other candidate control channels and a CCE index of the first candidate control channel, and a value of the offset is equal to a number of CCEs divided by 2 ([0092] In a first example, .DELTA..sub.l,m=K.sub.l*m*l/2, where K.sub.l={6, 6, 2, 2} for l={1, 2, 4, 8}, respectively, and m is the carrier index of the other component carriers (i.e., other than carrier 0) scheduled by the given component carrier. That is, the offset is half of the size of the total number of CCEs for each aggregation level. As such, for the m.sup.th component carrier, the offset .DELTA..sub.l,m is equal to 3m for l=1, 6m for l=2, 4m for l=4, and 8m for l=8.).
Gao and Chen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of physical downlink control channel search space design for multi-carrier operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Gao with Chen to create a network device, comprising: wherein the first corresponding link comprises an offset between Control Channel Element (CCE) indexes of the other candidate control channels and a CCE index of the first candidate control channel, and a value of the offset is equal to a number of CCEs divided by 2.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to locate PDCCH candidates within a CORESET to prevent decoding ambiguity.
Claims 2 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Khoshnevisan and Chen, as applied to claims 1, 19, or 39 above, and further in view of Bagheri et al (US20200053757A1) (hereinafter "Bagheri").
Regarding claim 2, Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, fails to disclose a method wherein contents of the at least two candidate control channels are the same; or the at least two candidate control channels constitute a same DCI.
However, Bagheri discloses a method wherein contents of the at least two candidate control channels are the same; or (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.)
the at least two candidate control channels constitute a same DCI ([0071] In certain embodiments, similar to multi-TRP PDCCH transmissions (e.g., in which multiple PDCCHs carrying the same DCI are transmitted by multiple TRPs), multiple PDSCHs carrying a same TB or TBs may be transmitted by the multiple TRPs to improve a reliability of a UE's PDSCH reception).
Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, and Bagheri are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for search space design for multi-carrier operation and downlink assignments for downlink control channel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, with Bagheri to create a method wherein contents of the at least two candidate control channels are the same; or the at least two candidate control channels constitute a same DCI.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve the reliability of a UE's PDSCH reception by transmitting multiple PDSCHs, in which multiple PDCCHs carrying the same DCI are transmitted by multiple TRPs.
Regarding claim 20, Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, fails to disclose the method wherein contents of the at least two candidate control channels are the same; or the at least two candidate control channels constitute a same DCI.
However, Bagheri discloses the method wherein contents of the at least two candidate control channels are the same; or (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.)
the at least two candidate control channels constitute a same DCI ([0071] In certain embodiments, similar to multi-TRP PDCCH transmissions (e.g., in which multiple PDCCHs carrying the same DCI are transmitted by multiple TRPs), multiple PDSCHs carrying a same TB or TBs may be transmitted by the multiple TRPs to improve a reliability of a UE's PDSCH reception).
Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, and Bagheri are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for search space design for multi-carrier operation and downlink assignments for downlink control channel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, with Bagheri to create the method wherein contents of the at least two candidate control channels are the same; or the at least two candidate control channels constitute a same DCI.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve the reliability of a UE's PDSCH reception by transmitting multiple PDSCHs, in which multiple PDCCHs carrying the same DCI are transmitted by multiple TRPs.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Khoshnevisan and Chen, as applied to claims 1, 19, or 39 above, and further in view of Yi et al (US20220039140A1) (hereinafter "Yi").
Regarding claim 17, Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, fails to disclose the method further comprising sending a first information to a User Equipment (UE), the first information being configured to indicate a respective Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state of each of the at least two candidate control channels.
However, Yi discloses the method further comprising: sending a first information to a User Equipment (UE), the first information ([0300] first TCI state…second TCI state. i.e., TCI state of each of the two candidate control channels) being configured to indicate a respective Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state of each of the at least two candidate control channels ([0300] The base station 2510 may send (e.g., transmit) first DCI/PDCCH (e.g., PDCCH #1 2521) via the first TRP or a first coreset pool…The base station 2510 may send (e.g., transmit) second DCI/PDCCH (e.g., PDCCH #2) via the second TRP or a second coreset pool … A wireless device 2511 may monitor the first DCI/PDCCH 2521 and the third DCI/PDCCH based on a first TCI state … The wireless device 2511 may monitor the second DCI/PDCCH and the fourth DCI/PDCCH 2522 based on a second TCI state).
Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, and Yi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for search space design for multi-carrier operation and control channel repetition.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, and Yi to create the method further comprising sending a first information to a User Equipment (UE), the first information being configured to indicate a respective Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state of each of the at least two candidate control channels.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need for the UE to be able to uniquely identify the various PDCCHs.
Claims 42-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Khoshnevisan and Chen, as applied to claims 1, 19, or 39 above, and further in view of Sun et al (US20200045700A1) (hereinafter "Sun").
Regarding claim 42, Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, fails to disclose a User Equipment (UE), comprising: a second processor; and a second memory configured to store a computer program executable on the processor, wherein the second processor is configured to implement the method of claim 19 when running the computer program.
However, Sun discloses a User Equipment (UE), comprising:
a second processor; and ([0166] the UE (e.g., using receive processor 258, controller/processor 280, memory 282, and/or the like) may receive configuration information associated with causing the UE to operate in a transmission/reception point (TRP) mode)
a second memory configured to store a computer program executable on the processor ([0166] the UE (e.g., using receive processor 258, controller/processor 280, memory 282, and/or the like) may receive configuration information associated with causing the UE to operate in a transmission/reception point (TRP) mode),
wherein the second processor is configured to implement the method of claim 19 when running the computer program ([0166] the UE (e.g., using receive processor 258, controller/processor 280, memory 282, and/or the like) may receive configuration information associated with causing the UE to operate in a transmission/reception point (TRP) mode).
Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, and Sun are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of searching for control channels in a shared control channel structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, with Sun to create a User Equipment (UE), comprising: a second processor; and a second memory configured to store a computer program executable on the processor, wherein the second processor is configured to implement the method of claim 19 when running the computer program.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to utilize hardware to implement a method.
Regarding claim 43, Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, fails to disclose a non-transitory storage medium, having stored thereon a computer program that when executed by a processor, implements the method of claim 1.
However, Sun discloses a non-transitory storage medium, having stored thereon a computer program that when executed by a processor, implements the method of claim 1 ([0014] Aspects generally include a method, apparatus, system, computer program product, non-transitory computer-readable medium, user equipment, base station, wireless communication device, and/or processing system as substantially described herein with reference to and as illustrated by the accompanying drawings and specification. [0046] Memories 242 and 282 may store data and program codes for base station 110 and UE 120, respectively.).
Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, and Sun are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of searching for control channels in a shared control channel structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, with Sun to create a non-transitory storage medium, having stored thereon a computer program that when executed by a processor, implements the method of claim 1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to utilize hardware to implement a method.
Claims 44-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Khoshnevisan and Chen, as applied to claims 1, 19, or 39 above, and further in view of Zhang et al (US20220007400A1) (hereinafter "Zhang") and Luo et al (US20110228731A1) (hereinafter "Luo").
Regarding claim 44, Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, fails to disclose the method, wherein CCE indexes of the at least two candidate control channels are determined by following equation:
wherein L represents the AL; i = 0,...,L - 1 ; for a common Search Space set,
is 0; for a specific Search Space set for the UE,
, wherein if pmod 3 = 0, Ap, is 39827; if pmod 3 = 1, Ap, is 39829; if pmod 3 = 2, Ap, is 39839, and D is 65537; NCCE,p represents a number of CCEs in a CORESET p; nci, represents a value of a Carrier Indicator Field (CIF) or is fixed to 0;
represents a number of candidate control channels at the AL L of a Search Space set s on a serving cell ncI
represents a maximum value of all
and C represents a fourth parameter.
However, Zhang discloses the method, wherein CCE indexes of the at least two candidate control channels are determined by following equation ([0121] As shown in FIG. 8, one SSS/SS (that is, a third control channel element) is associated with multiple CORESETs (that is, fourth control channel elements). According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, different CORESETs correspond to different TRPs. In FIG. 8, SSS1/SS1 includes the same number of candidate channels in CORESET1 and CORESET2. A simple method is to specify that SSS1/SS1 has the same aggregation level in CORESET1 and CORESET2 and two candidate control channels with the same candidate control channel index include the same control information under the same aggregation level. In a search space with one aggregation level, an index of a candidate control channel is m.sub.s,n.sub.CI in Equation (1).
).
Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, and Zhang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for transmitting multiple control channels by different TRPs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, and Zhang to create the method, wherein CCE indexes of the at least two candidate control channels are determined by following equation:
wherein L represents the AL; i = 0,...,L - 1 ; for a common Search Space set,
is 0; for a specific Search Space set for the UE,
, wherein if pmod 3 = 0, Ap, is 39827; if pmod 3 = 1, Ap, is 39829; if pmod 3 = 2, Ap, is 39839, and D is 65537; NCCE,p represents a number of CCEs in a CORESET p; nci, represents a value of a Carrier Indicator Field (CIF) or is fixed to 0;
represents a number of candidate control channels at the AL L of a Search Space set s on a serving cell ncI
represents a maximum value of all
and C represents a fourth parameter.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to define which CCEs are used in the candidate control channels for the different TRPs.
Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, fails to disclose the method, wherein the fourth parameter represents the offset between the CCE indexes of the other candidate control channels and the CCE index of the first candidate control channel.
However, Luo discloses the method, wherein the fourth parameter represents the offset between the CCE indexes of the other candidate control channels and the CCE index of the first candidate control channel ([0135] In another approach, a SORTD scheduling scheme illustrated by FIG. 12A is applied in which a predetermined algorithm is used by which the eNB scheduler guarantees a second resource 1223 linked with a CCE having an index of n_cce+X will not be scheduled for use by others to feedback ACK/NACK. Here, n_cce is the index of a first CCE for the corresponding DCI, the first CCE being linked with a first resource 1221, and X is a higher layer configurable parameter (e.g., a nonzero integer which can be either positive or negative). In the illustrated example of FIG. 12A, the second resource is offset from the first resource by 3 (X=3). In this manner, the UE can use the same predetermined algorithm to select a second resource for use on the UL control channel.).
Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, and Luo are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for transmitting multiple control channels by different TRPs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, with Luo to create the method, wherein the fourth parameter represents the offset between the CCE indexes of the other candidate control channels and the CCE index of the first candidate control channel.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to define which CCEs are used in the candidate control channels for the different TRPs.
Regarding claim 45, Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, fails to disclose the method, wherein CCE indexes of the at least two candidate control channels are determined by following equation:
wherein L represents the AL; i = 0,...,L - 1 ; for a common Search Space set,
is 0; for a specific Search Space set for the UE,
, wherein if pmod 3 = 0, Ap, is 39827; if pmod 3 = 1, Ap, is 39829; if pmod 3 = 2, Ap, is 39839, and D is 65537; NCCE,p represents a number of CCEs in a CORESET p; nci, represents a value of a Carrier Indicator Field (CIF) or is fixed to 0;
represents a number of candidate control channels at the AL L of a Search Space set s on a serving cell ncI
represents a maximum value of all
and C represents a fourth parameter.
However, Zhang discloses the method, wherein CCE indexes of the at least two candidate control channels are determined by following equation ([0121] As shown in FIG. 8, one SSS/SS (that is, a third control channel element) is associated with multiple CORESETs (that is, fourth control channel elements). According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, different CORESETs correspond to different TRPs. In FIG. 8, SSS1/SS1 includes the same number of candidate channels in CORESET1 and CORESET2. A simple method is to specify that SSS1/SS1 has the same aggregation level in CORESET1 and CORESET2 and two candidate control channels with the same candidate control channel index include the same control information under the same aggregation level. In a search space with one aggregation level, an index of a candidate control channel is m.sub.s,n.sub.CI in Equation (1).
).
Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, and Zhang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for transmitting multiple control channels by different TRPs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, and Zhang to create the method, wherein CCE indexes of the at least two candidate control channels are determined by following equation:
wherein L represents the AL; i = 0,...,L - 1 ; for a common Search Space set,
is 0; for a specific Search Space set for the UE,
, wherein if pmod 3 = 0, Ap, is 39827; if pmod 3 = 1, Ap, is 39829; if pmod 3 = 2, Ap, is 39839, and D is 65537; NCCE,p represents a number of CCEs in a CORESET p; nci, represents a value of a Carrier Indicator Field (CIF) or is fixed to 0;
represents a number of candidate control channels at the AL L of a Search Space set s on a serving cell ncI
represents a maximum value of all
and C represents a fourth parameter.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to define which CCEs are used in the candidate control channels for the different TRPs.
Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, fails to disclose the method, wherein the fourth parameter represents the offset between the CCE indexes of the other candidate control channels and the CCE index of the first candidate control channel.
However, Luo discloses the method, wherein the fourth parameter represents the offset between the CCE indexes of the other candidate control channels and the CCE index of the first candidate control channel ([0135] In another approach, a SORTD scheduling scheme illustrated by FIG. 12A is applied in which a predetermined algorithm is used by which the eNB scheduler guarantees a second resource 1223 linked with a CCE having an index of n_cce+X will not be scheduled for use by others to feedback ACK/NACK. Here, n_cce is the index of a first CCE for the corresponding DCI, the first CCE being linked with a first resource 1221, and X is a higher layer configurable parameter (e.g., a nonzero integer which can be either positive or negative). In the illustrated example of FIG. 12A, the second resource is offset from the first resource by 3 (X=3). In this manner, the UE can use the same predetermined algorithm to select a second resource for use on the UL control channel.).
Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, and Luo are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for transmitting multiple control channels by different TRPs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, with Luo to create the method, wherein the fourth parameter represents the offset between the CCE indexes of the other candidate control channels and the CCE index of the first candidate control channel.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to define which CCEs are used in the candidate control channels for the different TRPs.
Regarding claim 46, Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, fails to disclose the network device, wherein CCE indexes of the at least two candidate control channels are determined by following equation:
wherein L represents the AL; i = 0,...,L - 1 ; for a common Search Space set,
is 0; for a specific Search Space set for the UE,
, wherein if pmod 3 = 0, Ap, is 39827; if pmod 3 = 1, Ap, is 39829; if pmod 3 = 2, Ap, is 39839, and D is 65537; NCCE,p represents a number of CCEs in a CORESET p; nci, represents a value of a Carrier Indicator Field (CIF) or is fixed to 0;
represents a number of candidate control channels at the AL L of a Search Space set s on a serving cell ncI
represents a maximum value of all
and C represents a fourth parameter.
However, Zhang discloses the network device, wherein CCE indexes of the at least two candidate control channels are determined by following equation ([0121] As shown in FIG. 8, one SSS/SS (that is, a third control channel element) is associated with multiple CORESETs (that is, fourth control channel elements). According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, different CORESETs correspond to different TRPs. In FIG. 8, SSS1/SS1 includes the same number of candidate channels in CORESET1 and CORESET2. A simple method is to specify that SSS1/SS1 has the same aggregation level in CORESET1 and CORESET2 and two candidate control channels with the same candidate control channel index include the same control information under the same aggregation level. In a search space with one aggregation level, an index of a candidate control channel is m.sub.s,n.sub.CI in Equation (1).
).
Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, and Zhang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for transmitting multiple control channels by different TRPs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, and Zhang to create the network device, wherein CCE indexes of the at least two candidate control channels are determined by following equation:
wherein L represents the AL; i = 0,...,L - 1 ; for a common Search Space set,
is 0; for a specific Search Space set for the UE,
, wherein if pmod 3 = 0, Ap, is 39827; if pmod 3 = 1, Ap, is 39829; if pmod 3 = 2, Ap, is 39839, and D is 65537; NCCE,p represents a number of CCEs in a CORESET p; nci, represents a value of a Carrier Indicator Field (CIF) or is fixed to 0;
represents a number of candidate control channels at the AL L of a Search Space set s on a serving cell ncI
represents a maximum value of all
and C represents a fourth parameter.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to define which CCEs are used in the candidate control channels for the different TRPs.
Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, fails to disclose the network device, wherein the fourth parameter represents the offset between the CCE indexes of the other candidate control channels and the CCE index of the first candidate control channel.
However, Luo discloses the network device, wherein the fourth parameter represents the offset between the CCE indexes of the other candidate control channels and the CCE index of the first candidate control channel ([0135] In another approach, a SORTD scheduling scheme illustrated by FIG. 12A is applied in which a predetermined algorithm is used by which the eNB scheduler guarantees a second resource 1223 linked with a CCE having an index of n_cce+X will not be scheduled for use by others to feedback ACK/NACK. Here, n_cce is the index of a first CCE for the corresponding DCI, the first CCE being linked with a first resource 1221, and X is a higher layer configurable parameter (e.g., a nonzero integer which can be either positive or negative). In the illustrated example of FIG. 12A, the second resource is offset from the first resource by 3 (X=3). In this manner, the UE can use the same predetermined algorithm to select a second resource for use on the UL control channel.).
Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, and Luo are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for transmitting multiple control channels by different TRPs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Gao, as modified by Khoshnevisan and Chen, with Luo to create the network device, wherein the fourth parameter represents the offset between the CCE indexes of the other candidate control channels and the CCE index of the first candidate control channel.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to define which CCEs are used in the candidate control channels for the different TRPs.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 19, or 39, and associated dependent claims have been considered, but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D LITTLE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419