DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-5, 7-19, and 23-24 are pending. Claim 22 is canceled. Claims 23-24 are new.
In view of the amendment, filed 01/08/2026, claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn from the previous Office Action mailed 07/09/2025.
Prior art rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 are updated where appropriate. New grounds of rejections are made in response to claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-11, 15-16, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taricco, US 4208174 A, in view of Higgins, US 20010015341 A1 (references of record).
Regarding claim 1, Taricco discloses a molding apparatus (molding apparatus, Fig. 1, Title, col. 1, lines 1-16) for forming a concave object (suitable for forming an article with concave features, see Fig. 5) with a moldable material (moldable material, col. 1, lines 4-6), the molding apparatus having a forming region (cavity 30, Figs. 3-4) delimited by a lateral surface (delimited laterally by inner surfaces of die segments 28 defining the cavity 30, Figs. 3-4) extending around a central zone (central zone of cavity 30, Figs. 3-4), the molding apparatus comprising:
A first mold part comprising a plurality of sectors (die segments 28, Figs. 1 and 3-4) defining the lateral surface (defining lateral surface of forming region, Figs. 3-4), each sector having a body (body of respective die segment 28, Figs. 3-4) delimited by a forming surface (inner surface of respective die segment configured to contact and form molding material M, Figs. 3-4),
At least a first pushing device (first drive assembly associated with a “first sector,” including hydraulic jack 4, piston rod 6, drive lever 8, Figs. 1 and 5) for applying, on a first sector of said plurality (taking, e.g., bottom left sector as “first sector”), a first force directed towards the central zone in a first direction (for applying upwardly directed force on first sector, Figs. 1 and 3-4),
At least a second pushing device (second drive assembly associated with a “second sector,” including hydraulic jack 4, piston rod 6, drive lever 8, Figs. 1 and 5) for applying on a second sector of said plurality (taking, e.g., bottom right sector as “second sector”), a second force, directed towards the central zone in a second direction (for applying second force in the left direction, Figs. 1 and 3-5), the second direction being arranged transversely to the first direction (Fig. 1 and 3-4),
A second mold part (removable upper plate 20, Fig. 5, col. 3, lines 13-15);
Wherein the second sector is in contact with the first sector for transmitting the second force to the first sector (Figs. 3-4), so that the forming surface of the first sector is moved towards the central zone under a combined action of the first force applied to the first sector by the first pushing device and the second force applied to the first sector by the second sector (Figs. 3-4; the second force is at least to some extent applied to the first sector by the second sector due to their continuous contact along respective sliding surfaces before/during/after the closing motion), in order to reduce volume of the forming region (volume of cavity 30 reduced in Fig. 4 compared to Fig. 3) after the moldable material has been received in the forming region (the volume is reduced with material M in the cavity, Figs. 3-4, such that the apparatus was capable of performing the operation).
Taricco discloses the apparatus can mold articles having different cross sections (col. 1, lines 45-50) but does not disclose the second mold part comprises a punch. Taricco therefore does not disclose at least one part selected between the first mold part and the second mold part being movable along a molding direction towards another part selected between the second mold part and the first mold part so that the punch penetrates into the forming region and compresses the moldable material to form the object, the molding direction extending transversely to the first direction and to the second direction.
The examiner notes that the claim is to an apparatus and therefore requires the structural capability of performing the recited operations (e.g., “the punch penetrates into the forming region and compresses the moldable material”), but a manner of operating a device and a material worked on by the device do not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114(II), 2115).
In the analogous art, Higgins discloses a mold assembly utilizing a plurality of sliding die sectors for radial compression and forming of lateral surfaces of a molded product ([0025], Figs. 10a-10d). Higgins teaches the mold assembly includes a second mold part comprising a punch (central core 51, Fig. 10a) which provides the capability of forming a hollow, i.e., concave, component and for further defining the mold cavity to provide internal features to the molded product (Figs. 10a-10d, [0054]). The second mold part comprising the punch is movable with respect to the radially sliding die sectors along a molding direction (movable vertically, see Figs. 10a-d) so that the punch penetrates into the forming region (shown in Fig. 10a) and compresses the moldable material to form the object (Figs. 10a-b), the molding direction extending transversely to the first direction and to the second direction (the molding direction being vertical, Figs. 10a-d, and thus extending transversely to the radial/horizontal directions). Higgins further teaches that the punch in conjunction with its associated mold half can facilitate release of the molded product (Figs. 10b-10d, [0056]-[0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the upper mold half of Taricco as shown by Higgins comprising a punch arranged for penetrating into the forming region in order to compress the moldable material, so as to provide the capability of molding hollow shapes having internal geometry and to facilitate removal of the molded product, as taught by Higgins. Implementing the second mold part as taught by Higgins would further result in at least the second mold part being movable along a molding direction towards the first part so that the punch penetrates into the forming region and compresses the moldable material to form the object, the molding direction extending transversely to the first direction and to the second direction.
Regarding claim 7, modified Taricco discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and Taricco further discloses a forming appendage (curved end of forming surface of die segments 28, Figs. 3-4) delimited by said forming surface is projected from the body of each sector (Figs. 3-4), said forming surface being curved (Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 8, modified Taricco discloses the apparatus of claim 7, and Taricco further discloses each sector is delimited by a sliding surface (contacting sliding surface of each sector 28, Figs. 3-4) along which said sector and an adjacent sector are slidable with respect to each other (Figs. 3-4), the sliding surface being a flat surface tangent to the forming surface of the same said sector (Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 9, modified Taricco discloses the apparatus of claim 8, and Taricco further discloses the forming appendage of a sector of said plurality of sectors is facing towards the forming appendage of an adjacent sector (Figs. 3-4), the sliding surface of each sector being further tangent to the forming surface of the adjacent sector (Figs. 3-4), at least in an enlarged configuration of the forming region (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, modified Taricco discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and Taricco further discloses the first pushing device and the second pushing device are included in a plurality of pushing devices (four pushing devices, Fig. 1), each sector of said plurality of sectors being associated with a pushing device of said plurality of pushing devices (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, modified Taricco discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and Taricco further discloses a transverse element (bottom assembly including lower plate 10 fixed to support member 2, Fig. 5) for delimiting a transverse surface of the forming region (Fig. 5), each sector of said plurality of sectors being slidable in contact with the transverse element (Fig. 5), all the sectors of said plurality of sectors and the transverse element defining the first mold part (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 15, modified Taricco discloses the apparatus of claim 10, and Taricco further discloses all the sectors of said plurality of sectors are distributed around an axis (around axis 32, Figs. 3-4), and wherein each pushing device of said plurality of pushing devices comprises a leverage (series of hinged components between actuator 4/piston 6 and die segments 34, Fig. 5) interposed between a sector and a support member (between a die segment 28 and a vertical wall of support member 2, Figs. 1 and 5), the support member being arranged at a constant distance from the axis (Figs. 1 and 5), each pushing device further having an abutment element (piston rod 6, Fig. 5) suitable for interacting with the leverage to stretch the leverage (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 16, modified Taricco discloses the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the leverage comprises a lever (lever 8, Fig. 5) hinged to a support supporting the corresponding sector (connecting rod 36, Fig. 5), the leverage further comprising a further lever (lever portion between 8a and piston 6, Figs. 1 and 5) hinged to the support member (indirectly coupled to the vertical wall of the support member 2 via a hinged connection, Fig. 5), the abutment element being configured to interact with an intermediate portion of the leverage (interacts with pivot axis 8a via piston pushing further lever portion, Figs. 1 and 5), wherein the lever is hinged to the further lever (hinged connection between the levers at 8a, Fig. 5) so as to apply a force which increases an angle between the lever and the further lever (the hinged connection between the levers via 8a resulting in the application of a force increasing an angle between the levers, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 24, Taricco discloses a molding apparatus (molding apparatus, Fig. 1, Title, col. 1, lines 1-16) for forming an object (suitable for forming an article with concave features, see Fig. 5) with a moldable material (moldable material, col. 1, lines 4-6) by compression molding (Abstract), the molding apparatus having a forming region (cavity 30, Figs. 3-4) delimited by a lateral surface (delimited laterally by inner surfaces of die segments 28 defining the cavity 30, Figs. 3-4) extending around a central zone (central zone of cavity 30, Figs. 3-4), the molding apparatus comprising:
A female part comprising a plurality of sectors (die segments 28, Figs. 1 and 3-4) defining the lateral surface (defining lateral surface of forming region, Figs. 3-4), each sector having a body (body of respective die segment 28, Figs. 3-4) delimited by a forming surface (inner surface of respective die segment configured to contact and form molding material M, Figs. 3-4),
At least a first pushing device (first drive assembly associated with a “first sector,” including hydraulic jack 4, piston rod 6, drive lever 8, Figs. 1 and 5) for applying, on a first sector of said plurality (taking, e.g., bottom left sector as “first sector”), a first force directed towards the central zone in a first direction (for applying upwardly directed force on first sector, Figs. 1 and 3-4),
At least a second pushing device (second drive assembly associated with a “second sector,” including hydraulic jack 4, piston rod 6, drive lever 8, Figs. 1 and 5) for applying on a second sector of said plurality (taking, e.g., bottom right sector as “second sector”), a second force, directed towards the central zone in a second direction (for applying second force in the left direction, Figs. 1 and 3-5), the second direction being arranged transversely to the first direction (Fig. 1 and 3-4),
A second mold part (removable upper plate 20, Fig. 5, col. 3, lines 13-15);
Wherein the second sector is in contact with the first sector for transmitting the second force to the first sector (Figs. 3-4), so that the forming surface of the first sector is moved towards the central zone under a combined action of the first force and the second force (Figs. 3-4; the second force is at least to some extent applied to the first sector by the second sector due to their continuous contact along respective sliding surfaces before/during/after the closing motion), in order to reduce volume of the forming region (volume of cavity 30 reduced in Fig. 4 compared to Fig. 3),
The first pushing device comprises a first pushing element connected to the first sector (connecting rod 36, drive lever 8, Fig. 5), a control device being provided for moving the first pushing element towards the central zone (hydraulic jack 4 moves drive lever 8, connecting rod 36, Fig. 5), so that the first pushing element applies the first force to the first sector (Fig. 5; applies first force via connecting rod 36, Fig. 5),
The apparatus further comprising a driving device (piston rod 6, Fig. 5) for moving the female part (moving female part toward molding region, Fig. 5) in order to form the object and cause the first pushing element to interact with the control device (piston rod 6 moves drive lever 8 via hydraulic jack 4, Fig. 5).
Taricco discloses the apparatus can mold articles having different cross sections (col. 1, lines 45-50) but does not disclose the second part is a male part comprising a punch. Taricco therefore does not disclose the punch is arranged for penetrating into the forming region to compress the moldable material. Taricco therefore does not disclose the movement of the female part is towards the male part.
In the analogous art, Higgins discloses a mold assembly utilizing a plurality of sliding die sectors for radial compression and forming of lateral surfaces of a molded product ([0025], Figs. 10a-10d). Higgins teaches the mold assembly includes a male mold part comprising a punch (central core 51, Fig. 10a) which provides the capability of forming a hollow, i.e., concave, component and for further defining the mold cavity to provide internal features to the molded product (Figs. 10a-10d, [0054]). The male mold part comprising the punch is movable with respect to the radially sliding die sectors along a molding direction (movable vertically, see Figs. 10a-d) so that the punch penetrates into the forming region (shown in Fig. 10a) and compresses the moldable material to form the object (Figs. 10a-b). Higgins further teaches that the punch in conjunction with its associated mold half can facilitate release of the molded product (Figs. 10b-10d, [0056]-[0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the upper mold half of Taricco as shown by Higgins comprising a punch arranged for penetrating into the forming region in order to compress the moldable material, so as to provide the capability of molding hollow shapes having internal geometry and to facilitate removal of the molded product, as taught by Higgins. With the modification to include the male part/punch, then the movement of the female part toward the molding region would also involve the movement towards the male part/punch.
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taricco, US 4208174 A, in view of Higgins, US 20010015341 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Taricco, GB 1588678 A (“Taricco 2,” of record).
Regarding claim 2, modified Taricco discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and Taricco discloses the first sector is in contact with the second sector along a contact surface of the first sector (Figs. 3-4), the contact surface of the first sector being slidable along a sliding surface of the second sector (see touching/sliding surfaces of first and second sectors, Figs. 3-4 above) due to the first force (under the action of the driving forces including the first force, Figs. 3-4). Taricco does not disclose the contact surface of the first sector extends parallelly to the first direction.
In the analogous art, Taricco 2 discloses a compression molding apparatus (lines 9-11) utilizing a similarly arranged plurality of movable die segments/rams each having a planar side surface in contact with a compacting surface of an adjacent segment/ram (p. 1, lines 43-49, Figs. 1 and 3). The sliding ram/die configuration achieves substantially the same effect as that of Taricco of reducing the size of the molding cavity and radially compressing the internal material (see Fig. 3 compared to Fig. 1; p. 1, lines 68-76, 83-96). In the arrangement disclosed by Taricco 2, the contact surface of an analogous “first sector” extends parallelly to its movement direction (see annotated Fig. 1 below), in line with the present invention (instant Figs. 4 and 6). Taricco 2 discloses the die arrangement allow for the molding of products with complex geometry, with relatively long dimensions, and the production of undercuts throughout the article (p. 1, line 96-p. 2, line 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the sliding die configuration of Taricco 2 for the sliding die configuration of Taricco, such that the contact surface of the first sector extends parallelly to the first direction, as a substitution of one known element for another yielding predictable results of reducing the volume of the molding cavity and radially compressing the internal material. Each die arrangement was used for an equivalent function, operated in a substantially similar way, and ultimately achieved radial compression around a cylindrical cavity. MPEP 2143(I)(B). Furthermore, Taricco 2 discloses the die arrangement is suitable for forming products having complex geometry, long dimensions, and undercuts.
Regarding claim 3, modified Taricco discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and Taricco further discloses the plurality of sectors comprises a further sector adjacent to the first sector (Fig. 3, see sector 28 above the annotated “first sector” 28) and wherein the first sector is in contact with the further sector along a sliding surface of the first sector (Figs. 3-4), a contact surface of the further sector being slidable along the sliding surface of the first sector (Figs. 3-4).
Taricco does not disclose the sliding surface of the first sector extends perpendicularly to the first direction.
In the analogous art, Taricco 2 discloses the molding apparatus and sliding die configuration introduced above for claim 2. Taricco 2 discloses the sliding die configuration is such that a “further sector” is adjacent to and in sliding contact with the “first sector,” such that a sliding surface of the first sector extends perpendicularly to the analogous first direction (see annotated Fig. 1 and Fig. 3 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the sliding die configuration of Taricco 2 for the sliding die configuration of Taricco, such that the sliding surface of the first sector extends perpendicularly to the first direction, as a substitution of one known element for another yielding predictable results of reducing the volume of the molding cavity and radially compressing the internal material. Each die arrangement was used for an equivalent function, operated in a substantially similar way, and ultimately achieved radial compression around a cylindrical cavity. MPEP 2143(I)(B). Furthermore, Taricco 2 discloses the die arrangement is suitable for forming products having complex geometry, long dimensions, and undercuts.
Regarding claim 4, modified Taricco discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and Taricco discloses the forming surface of the first sector is movable towards the central zone along a linear trajectory (the forming surface moves upwardly/inwardly, toward the longitudinal axis 32, Figs. 3-4). Taricco does not explicitly disclose the trajectory is directed obliquely with respect to the first direction and the second direction.
In the analogous art, Taricco 2 discloses the molding apparatus and sliding die configuration introduced above for claim 2. Taricco 2 discloses the sliding die configuration is such that the trajectory of the forming surfaces for the sectors is towards the central zone and directed obliquely with respect to the analogous first and second directions (see Figs. 1 and 3, in line with the present invention in Figs. 4 and 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the sliding die configuration of Taricco 2 for the sliding die configuration of Taricco, such that the trajectory is directed obliquely with respect to the first direction and the second direction, as a substitution of one known element for another yielding predictable results of reducing the volume of the molding cavity and radially compressing the internal material. Each die arrangement was used for an equivalent function, operated in a substantially similar way, and ultimately achieved radial compression around a cylindrical cavity. MPEP 2143(I)(B). Furthermore, Taricco 2 discloses the die arrangement is suitable for forming products having complex geometry, long dimensions, and undercuts.
Regarding claim 5, modified Taricco discloses the apparatus of claim 4, and the combination discloses said plurality of sectors comprises four sectors (Taricco/Taricco 2 each having four die sectors). The combination as set forth above for claim 4 further discloses the trajectory being inclined by 45° with respect to the first and second directions (see Taricco 2 Figs. 1 and 3, in line with the present invention in Figs. 4 and 6).
Claim(s) 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taricco, US 4208174 A, in view of Higgins, US 20010015341 A1, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Faulkner, US 20200269481 A1 (of record).
Regarding claim 12, modified Taricco discloses the apparatus of claim 11, and Taricco discloses the first pushing device and the second pushing device are included in a plurality of pushing devices (four pushing devices, Fig. 1), each sector of said plurality of sectors being associated with a pushing device of said plurality of pushing devices (Fig. 1). Taricco discloses each pushing device comprising elements (e.g., connecting rods 36, Fig. 5) engaging with a control element (wall 14a, Fig. 5) supported by the second mold part (supported by upper mold part, Fig. 5).
Taricco does not disclose each pushing device comprises at least one roller engaging with the control element supported by the second mold part.
In the analogous art, Faulkner discloses a mold assembly utilizing relatively sliding parts (Abstract) and teaches the incorporation of rollers to the sliding parts (rollers 28, [0019]) in order to reduce the friction of movement from sliding during actuation ([0020]), improve alignment of the sliding parts, and reduce surface wear ([0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pushing devices of Taricco such that each pushing device comprises at least one roller engaging with the control element supported by the second mold part in order to provide the benefit of minimized friction, improved alignment, and reduced surface wear during sliding movement, as taught by Faulkner.
Regarding claim 14, modified Taricco discloses the apparatus of claim 12. The combination did not explicitly address multiple rollers. However, Faulkner further discloses the use of multiple rollers arranged at different levels in the rolling configuration (rollers 28, Figs. 4-6) to achieve the benefits described above in terms of friction and alignment. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further specify each pushing device further comprises a second roller arranged at a different level from said at least one roller in order to realize the benefits of minimized friction, improved alignment, and reduced surface wear during relative movement, as taught by Faulkner.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taricco, US 4208174 A, in view of Higgins, US 20010015341 A1, and Faulkner, US 20200269481 A1, as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Friedrich Krall, US 2844845 A (of record).
Regarding claim 13, modified Taricco discloses the apparatus of claim 12, and the combination further discloses the control element has a displacement section (Taricco - inner surface/tracks of holes 26, Fig. 5) along which said at least one roller is movable for moving the corresponding sector towards the central zone (per claim 12).
The combination does not disclose the control element further having a holding section for holding the corresponding sector in a position corresponding to a final configuration of the forming region.
In the analogous art of compression molding using radially closing die segments (Title, Fig. 2), Friedrich Krall discloses a control element (restraining ring 14, Figs. 1-2) whose inner surface holds the plurality of die segments 11 in their assembled position corresponding to a final configuration of the forming region defining the molding cavity while also permitting outward expansion of the segments under opening forces (Fig. 2, lines 25-34). Friedrich Krall discloses the restraining ring configuration avoids the formation of gaps or openings along facing surfaces of adjacent die segments during compression and returns the die segments to their inward configuration if they are inadvertently pushed away during molding (Fig. 3, lines 19-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control element of Taricco to include a holding section for holding the corresponding sector in a position corresponding to a final configuration of the forming region in order to avoid the formation of gaps or openings along the die faces by keeping the die segments pushed inward during molding, as taught by Friedrich Krall.
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taricco, US 4208174 A, in view of Higgins, US 20010015341 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakamura et al., US 4889480 A (of record).
Regarding claim 17, modified Taricco discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and Taricco further discloses the first pushing device comprises a first pushing element (connecting rod 36, Fig. 5, col. 5, lines 22-25) slidably connected to the first sector (connected to the sector and slidably mounted within holes of a guide/support structure, Fig. 5, col. 5, lines 22-25).
Taricco is silent as to the first sector being slidable with respect to the first pushing element transversely to the first direction.
In the analogous art, Nakamura discloses a slide core mold configuration (Abstract, Figs. 1-2) for the molding of synthetic resins (col. 1, lines 6-12). An analogous first sector (core 4, col. 2, lines 47-57) is mounted slidably with respect to a corresponding pushing element (slider block 42) which is acted on by another element of a pushing/driving device (pressing inclined surface 45 of block body 36, Fig. 1) so as to push the first sector inward toward the center of the mold (Figs. 1-2). Nakamura’s slider block 42 is provided with an engaging groove 43 into which the core 4 fits and which enables sliding motion in a direction transverse to the inward pushing direction (Figs. 1-3). Nakamura teaches the configuration is simple in construction and can be applied to core configurations having a large width (col. 1, lines 51-56). Furthermore, the sliding mounting configuration enables the removable insertion of a core segment into the associated pushing element (col. 2, lines 52-57) and therefore allows for interchangeability of the molding structures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the connection between the first sector and the first pushing element was such that the first sector was slidable with respect to the first pushing element transversely to the first direction in order to provide a simple configuration enabling the interchanging, removal, and reinsertion as necessary of the die sectors from/to the molding apparatus, as taught by Nakamura.
Regarding claim 18, modified Taricco discloses the apparatus of claim 17. Taricco further discloses a control device for moving the first pushing element towards the central zone (driving/guiding structure of Fig. 5), so that the first pushing element applies the first force to the first sector (Fig. 5).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taricco, US 4208174 A, in view of Higgins, US 20010015341 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kuplen et al., US 20080298996 A1 (of record).
Regarding claim 19, modified Taricco discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Taricco is silent as to a guide being provided between the first sector and the second sector, the guide being configured to allow the first sector and the second sector to slide with respect to each other in the second direction.
In the analogous art of compression molding parts having undercut features (Abstract), Kuplen discloses a molding configuration including a number of die sectors slidably arranged relative to one another such that when they are pushed a mold cavity defined by the die sectors is made smaller (Abstract, Figs. 2, 4A-4B). Kuplen teaches the mold assembly including a guide being provided between adjacent sectors (stop tab 45 within channel 43, Figs. 4A-4B), such that one sector and the adjacent sector are allowed to slide with respect to one other in the pushing direction. Kuplen teaches the sizing of the stop tab and channel can be used to set a limited travel distance corresponding to the intended maximum/minimum diameter of the molding cavity ([0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sectors of Taricco to include a guide provided between the first sector and the second sector, the guide being configured to allow the first sector and the second sector to slide with respect to each other in the second direction, in order to provide the capability of setting a travel distance for the sectors corresponding to an intended maximum/minimum diameter of the molding cavity, as taught by Kuplen.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 23 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 23, Taricco discloses a molding apparatus (molding apparatus, Fig. 1, Title, col. 1, lines 1-16) for forming an object (suitable for forming an article, see Fig. 5) with a moldable material (moldable material, col. 1, lines 4-6), the molding apparatus having a forming region (cavity 30, Figs. 3-4) delimited by a lateral surface (delimited laterally by inner surfaces of die segments 28 defining the cavity 30, Figs. 3-4) extending around a central zone (central zone of cavity 30, Figs. 3-4), the molding apparatus comprising:
A first mold part comprising a plurality of sectors (die segments 28, Figs. 1 and 3-4, see annotated Fig. 1 above) defining the lateral surface (defining lateral surface of forming region, Figs. 3-4), each sector having a body (body of respective die segment 28, Figs. 3-4) delimited by a forming surface (inner surface of respective die segment configured to contact and form molding material M, Figs. 3-4),
At least a first pushing device (first drive assembly associated with a “first sector,” including hydraulic jack 4, piston rod 6, drive lever 8, Figs. 1 and 5) for applying, on a first sector of said plurality (taking, e.g., bottom left sector as “first sector”), a first force directed towards the central zone in a first direction (for applying upwardly directed force on first sector, Figs. 1 and 3-4; see annotated Figs. 3-4 above),
At least a second pushing device (second drive assembly associated with a “second sector,” including hydraulic jack 4, piston rod 6, drive lever 8, Figs. 1 and 5) for applying on a second sector of said plurality (taking, e.g., bottom right sector as “second sector”), a second force, directed towards the central zone in a second direction (for applying second force in the left direction, Figs. 1 and 3-5), the second direction being arranged transversely to the first direction (Fig. 1 and 3-4),
A second mold part (removable upper plate 20, Fig. 5, col. 3, lines 13-15);
Wherein the second sector is in contact with the first sector for transmitting the second force to the first sector (Figs. 3-4), so that the forming surface of the first sector is moved towards the central zone under a combined action of the first force and the second force (Figs. 3-4; the second force is at least to some extent applied to the first sector by the second sector due to their continuous contact along respective sliding surfaces before/during/after the closing motion), in order to reduce volume of the forming region (volume of cavity 30 reduced in Fig. 4 compared to Fig. 3) after the moldable material has been received in the forming region (the volume is reduced with material M in the cavity, Figs. 3-4, such that the apparatus was capable of performing the operation).
Taricco discloses the apparatus can mold articles having different cross sections (col. 1, lines 45-50) but does not disclose the second mold part comprising a punch. Taricco therefore does not disclose one part selected between the first mold part and the second mold part being movable along a molding direction towards another part selected between the second mold part and the first mold part so that the punch penetrates into the forming region and compresses the moldable material to form the object, the molding direction extending transversely to the first direction and to the second direction.
In the analogous art, Higgins discloses a mold assembly utilizing a plurality of sliding die sectors for radial compression and forming of lateral surfaces of a molded product ([0025], Figs. 10a-10d). Higgins teaches the mold assembly includes a second mold part comprising a punch (central core 51, Fig. 10a) which provides the capability of forming a hollow, i.e., concave, component and for further defining the mold cavity to provide internal features to the molded product (Figs. 10a-10d, [0054]). The second mold part comprising the punch is movable with respect to the radially sliding die sectors along a molding direction (movable vertically, see Figs. 10a-d) so that the punch penetrates into the forming region (shown in Fig. 10a) and compresses the moldable material to form the object (Figs. 10a-b), the molding direction extending transversely to the first direction and to the second direction (the molding direction being vertical, Figs. 10a-d, and thus extending transversely to the radial/horizontal directions). Higgins further teaches that the punch in conjunction with its associated mold half can facilitate release of the molded product (Figs. 10b-10d, [0056]-[0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the upper mold half of Taricco as shown by Higgins comprising a punch arranged for penetrating into the forming region in order to compress the moldable material, so as to provide the capability of molding hollow shapes having internal geometry and to facilitate removal of the molded product, as taught by Higgins. Implementing the second mold part as taught by Higgins would further result in at least the second mold part being movable along a molding direction towards the first part so that the punch penetrates into the forming region and compresses the moldable material to form the object, the molding direction extending transversely to the first direction and to the second direction.
Taricco does not disclose a support is provided for supporting the first sector, the first sector being slidably coupled to the support so that the first force moves the support and the first sector in the first direction and so that the second force moves the first sector relative to the support in the second direction.
In contrast to the claimed configuration, the first sector in Taricco is not configured to be moved by the second force in the second direction. Taricco could not conceivably be modified to reach the claimed configuration at least because there is no range of movement of the first sector in the second direction due to the presence of the wall members 14 and the requirement to reach the intended closed configuration of Fig. 4.
Other close prior art regarding this limitation is Sakaguchi (EP 2179828 A1). Sakaguchi discloses a molding apparatus (Fig. 2) comprising four die sectors (31-34, Figs. 6a-6b) and two pushing devices (slide blocks 41, corresponding cam-type driving elements, Figs. 2, 6a-6b) for moving the forming surfaces of the die sectors inward toward a molding region (Fig. 2, Figs. 6a-6b). While Sakaguchi discloses a pushing arrangement that results in a die segment being moved both by a pushing device/element, with which it is slidably coupled, and an adjacent die sector (see movement between Figs. 6a-6b), the structural arrangement is fundamentally different from that of both Taricco and the present claim. Sakaguchi utilizes only two pushing devices, pushing in two directions, for the four die segments, as opposed to individual pushing devices, pushing in the same number of directions, for each die segment. As a result, with respect to both Taricco and the present claim, the first and second forces applied by Sakaguchi’s pushing devices are not applied in directions transverse to each other, but are applied in directions opposite to each other (Figs. 6a-6b, see movement direction of pushed slide blocks 41). Due to the relative arrangement of the pushing devices that apply forces in two mutually opposed directions instead of the four transverse directions, the first force moves a support (slide block 41, Figs. 2, 6a-6b) in one direction (inwardly left or right, Figs. 6a-6b) but the arrangement does not result in movement of an analogous first sector (31-34, Figs. 6a-6b) in the same direction while the second force also moves the first sector relative to the support in the second direction. Accordingly, while Sakaguchi discloses a support (slide block 41, Figs. 2, 6a-6b) for supporting a first sector (e.g., die 31, Figs. 6a-6b), the first sector being slidably coupled to the support (Figs. 6a-6b), Sakaguchi does not disclose or render obvious a configuration such that the first force moves the support and the first sector in the first direction and the second force moves the first sector relative to the support in the second direction.
Other close prior art, Taricco (GB 1588678 A, “Taricco 2”), as applied to claims 2-5 above, discloses a relevant configuration of slidable rams (Figs. 1 and 3). However, Taricco 2 is silent as to any particular pushing devices, support, and corresponding coupling mechanism and therefore also fails to disclose or render obvious the noted limitation.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, and 14 of copending Application No. 18875388 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding instant claim 1, reference claim 14 reads on a molding apparatus for forming a concave object with a moldable material, the molding apparatus having a forming region delimited by a lateral surface extending around a central zone (reference claim 1 preamble), the molding apparatus comprising:
A first mold part (a first half mold, ref. claim 1) comprising a plurality of sectors defining the lateral surface (plurality of sectors which define the lateral surface, ref. claim 14), each sector having a body delimited by a forming surface (each sector having a body delimited by a forming surface, ref. claim 14),
At least a first pushing device for applying, on a first sector of said plurality, a first force directed towards the central zone in a first direction (next limitation, ref. claim 14),
At least a second pushing device for applying, on a second sector of said plurality, a second force directed towards the central zone in a second direction, the second direction being arranged transversely to the first direction (next limitation, ref. claim 14),
A second mold part comprising a punch (a second half mold that is inserted into the forming cavity defined by the first mold, ref. claim 1; see also ref. claim 6 – the second half mold is a punch),
At least one part selected between the first and second mold part being movable along a molding direction towards another part selected between the second and first mold part so that the punch penetrates into the forming region and compresses the moldable material to form the object, the molding direction extending transversely to the first direction and the second direction (the first and second half molds being mutually movable along a molding axis so that the second half mold is inserted into the forming cavity defined by the first mold, ref. claim 1),
Wherein the second sector is in contact with the first sector for transmitting the second force to the first sector so that the forming surface of the first sector is moved towards the central zone under a combined action of the first force applied to the first sector by the first pushing device and the second force applied to the first sector by the second sector in order to reduce volume of the forming region after the moldable material has been received in the forming region (ref. claim 14, last clause).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 24 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, and 14 of copending Application No. 18875388 (reference application) in view of Taricco, US 4208174 A. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding instant claim 24, reference claim 14 reads on a molding apparatus for forming an object with a moldable material, the molding apparatus having a forming region delimited by a lateral surface extending around a central zone (reference claim 1 preamble), the molding apparatus comprising:
A female mold part (a first half mold, ref. claim 1) comprising a plurality of sectors defining the lateral surface (plurality of sectors which define the lateral surface, ref. claim 14), each sector having a body delimited by a forming surface (each sector having a body delimited by a forming surface, ref. claim 14),
At least a first pushing device for applying, on a first sector of said plurality, a first force directed towards the central zone in a first direction (next limitation, ref. claim 14),
At least a second pushing device for applying, on a second sector of said plurality, a second force directed towards the central zone in a second direction, the second direction being arranged transversely to the first direction (next limitation, ref. claim 14),
A male mold part comprising a punch (a second half mold that is inserted into the forming cavity defined by the first mold, ref. claim 1; see also ref. claim 6 – the second half mold is a punch),
Wherein the second sector is in contact with the first sector for transmitting the second force to the first sector so that the forming surface of the first sector is moved towards the central zone under a combined action of the first force and the second force in order to reduce volume of the forming region after the moldable material has been received in the forming region (ref. claim 14, last clause).
The reference claims do not recite a first pushing element, control device, and driving device as presently claimed. However, the claim elements are known for effecting motion of a given die sector by a corresponding pushing device as taught by Taricco as set forth above for claim 24. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify reference claim 14 to further recite a first pushing element, control device, and driving device as presently claimed as known elements for predictably achieving motion of the respective die sector by the corresponding pushing device as taught by Taricco.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented. The remaining claims are considered patentably distinct from the claims of the reference application and thus are not rejected under double patenting.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 9-13, filed 01/08/2026, with respect to claim(s) 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that in Taricco only the force applied by the jack acts on each sector, in contrast to the second sector transmitting the second force to the first sector so that the forming surface of the first sector is moved towards the central zone under the combined action of the first force applied to the first sector by the first pushing device and the second force applied to the first sector by the second sector.
This argument is not found persuasive. The die segments of Taricco are arranged such that the second sector is always in contact with the first sector along their sliding surfaces such that the second force applied to the second sector is at least to some extent also applied to the first sector (Figs. 3-4), and the first sector is moved towards the central zone under a combined action of the forces applied to the sectors that reduce the volume of the forming region. While the second force can be applied to the first sector, the angles of the contacting surfaces and the corresponding movement of the first sector results in the first sector still being moved in the first direction. Claim 1 does not require the same type of movement as argued by applicant or recited explicitly in claim 23, i.e., does not require that the second sector/force moves the first sector in the second direction.
Applicant argues (pp. 13-14) that Nakamura does not teach providing a sliding coupling between the sector and its support so that the sector can move in the second direction relative to the support during operation. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., sliding movement during a particular operation) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP 2016187885 A, Iwasaki discloses a relevant molding apparatus with slidable die segments (Fig. 1).
US 5364253 A, Kojima discloses a relevant multi-part molding apparatus (Fig. 2).
/J.L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754