DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 10-17, 19, 24, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byerly et al. (WO 2019/040313 A1) in view of Radmer et al. (US 2016/0263327 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Byerly et al. teach a medication delivery device comprising: a housing (Fig. 16 member 12); a mechanical switch mounted to a printed circuit board, wherein the mechanical switch comprises an arm (Fig. 16 arm 492, PCB 525); a rotatable element that is rotatable relative to the printed circuit board, the rotatable element having a series of protrusions that are spaced from one another, the rotatable element being positioned to permit the protrusions to slide against the arm of the switch (Fig. 17 member 438 with protrusions 502); a conversion control module in electrical communication with the switch configured to generate an undulating unit signal based on signals from the switch as the arm slides against the protrusions ([0103] the sensor 486 (Fig. 16) sends signals based on the state of the switch, the state being a set or reset state depending on if the switch is opened or closed); and a controller configured to receive the undulating unit signal from the conversion control module to determine the number of units of rotation of the rotatable element ([0103], signals are sent to a controller, [0004], [0048], [0054], [0102] rotational movement is sensed indicative of dosage). Byerly et al. does not explicitly disclose the switch is a SPDT switch. However, Radmer et al. teach equivalently using a SPDT or an SPST switch, the benefit of the SPDT switch being that it can prevent drainage on the battery ([0083]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a SPDT switch in Byerly et al. as this would provide equivalent signaling to yield the same predictable result and as taught by Radmer et al. is beneficial for prevent drainage on the battery. An SPDT switch has two terminals, as the switch toggles between terminals different states are generated, as the switch toggles between states this is undulating.
With regard to claim 3, the dose is determined based on the sensing ([0102], [0103]).
With regard to claims 4 and 5, see [0055] the controller includes a processor, which would necessarily comprise the logic, [0056] a battery is used.
With regard to claims 10, 12, and 14, see exemplary Fig. 2 outlet 24, Fig. 16 dose button 456 fixed to circuit 525 ([0044]-[0046], [0103]).
With regard to claims 11 and 13, see [0103].
With regard to claim 15, see housing of 490 (Fig. 16).
With regard to claim 16, see exemplary Fig. 2 member 20 ([0034]).
With regard to claim 17, Byerly et al. teach a dose detection system for a medication delivery device, comprising: a mechanical switch mounted to a printed circuit board, wherein the mechanical switch comprises an arm (Fig. 16 arm 492, PCB 525); a rotatable element that is rotatable relative to the printed circuit board, the rotatable element having a series of protrusions that are spaced from one another, the rotatable element being positioned to permit the protrusions to slide against the arm of the switch (Fig. 17 member 438 with protrusions 502); a conversion control module in electrical communication with the switch configured to generate an undulating unit signal based on signals from the switch as the arm slides against the protrusions ([0103] the sensor 486 (Fig. 16) sends signals based on the state of the switch, the state being a set or reset state depending on if the switch is opened or closed which necessarily includes logic); and a controller configured to receive the undulating unit signal from the conversion control module ([0103], signals are sent to a controller). Byerly et al. does not explicitly disclose the switch is a SPDT switch. However, Radmer et al. teach equivalently using a SPDT or an SPST switch, the benefit of the SPDT switch being that it can prevent drainage on the battery ([0083]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a SPDT switch in Byerly et al. as this would provide equivalent signaling to yield the same predictable result and as taught by Radmer et al. is beneficial for prevent drainage on the battery. An SPDT switch has two terminals, as the switch toggles between terminals different states are generated, as the switch toggles between states this is undulating.
With regard to claim 19, the dose is determined based on the sensing ([0102], [0103]).
With regard to claim 24, Byerly et al. teach a method comprising: rotating a rotatable element relative to a printed circuit board, the rotatable element having a series of protrusions that are spaced from one another (Fig. 17 member 438 with protrusions 502, PCB 525, [0103]), the rotatable element being positioned to permit the protrusions to slide against an arm of a mechanical switch mounted to the printed circuit board (Fig. 16 arm 492); and generating an undulating signal via a conversion control module that is in electrical communication with the switch based on signals from the switch as the arm slides against the protrusions ([0103] the sensor 486 (Fig. 16) sends signals based on the state of the switch, the state being a set or reset state depending on if the switch is opened or closed which necessarily includes logic). Byerly et al. does not explicitly disclose the switch is a SPDT switch. However, Radmer et al. teach equivalently using a SPDT or an SPST switch, the benefit of the SPDT switch being that it can prevent drainage on the battery ([0083]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a SPDT switch in Byerly et al. as this would provide equivalent signaling to yield the same predictable result and as taught by Radmer et al. is beneficial for prevent drainage on the battery. An SPDT switch has two terminals, as the switch toggles between terminals different states are generated, as the switch toggles between states this is undulating.
With regard to claim 26, the dose is determined based on the sensing ([0102], [0103]).
Claim(s) 6-9, 20-23, 27, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byerly et al. (WO 2019/040313 A1) and Radmer et al. (US 2016/0263327 A1) as applied to claims 4, 19, and 26 above, and further in view of Sur (US 2021/0127455 A1).
With regard to claims 6-9, 20-23, 27, and 28, Byerly et al. disclose the controller includes a processor, which would necessarily comprise the logic ([0055]), a battery ([0056]), and using a wake-up feature to allow power transmission from the power source with a wake-up switch to minimize power loss ([0099], [0118]) but do not specifically disclose using a MOSFET. However, Sur teaches using a SPDT switch in conjunction with a second switch connected to a MOSFET to control current and regulate the load ([0143]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a MOSFET in conjunction with the wake-up switch of Byerly as in Sur to aid in regulating the load and controlling current. Further, MOSFETs are well known to be integral with microprocessors.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 8, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the references do not disclose an undulating signal. Radmer teaches an SPDT switch which is the same as claimed by Applicant and functions in the same manner. The switch has two output terminals, as the switch moves between states this is considered to generate an undulating signal as the state alternates. Applicant makes reference to a latch circuit disclosed in the specification. This is not claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EMILY L SCHMIDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783