DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 3-11, and 13-23 are pending.
The previous rejections have been updated as necessitated by amendments to the claims. The updated rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 3-11, and 13-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rispoli (US 2015/0353841) in view of Brandvold (US 2009/0253947) and Dougherty (US 2012/0004477).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 21, and 23, Rispoli teaches passing a feedstock originating from renewable source [0024] through a hydroprocessing step comprising hydrodeoxygenation catalyst[0024-0025] to produce a hydrotreated stream comprising hydrogen, NH3, CO, CO2, and water [0029], passing the hydro deoxygenated product to a separation step to remove the impurities [0029]. The separation unit includes recovering overhead 29 and separating into overhead gas 31, sour water (sw), and reflux overhead liquid stream 32 (see figure, [0147]). The separation unit also withdraws bottom stream 15, which is sent to hydro isomerization in reactor A2 (see figure, [0148]-[0152]). Examiner considers the Rispoli isomerization unit to read on the claimed dewaxing step, since Applicant’s instant specification defines dewaxing to be the same as isomerization (see instant spec page 10, lines 20-24). The hydroisomerized product is sent to product separation [0152-0157]. The entirety of the overhead liquid is recycled as reflux (see figure, stream 32 [0147]).
Rispoli does not explicitly disclose (1) sending the overhead from the first separation step to the second separation step.
Regarding (1), Brandvold teaches a similar process. Brandvold sends HDO effluent to separator 8, and gaseous overhead from the separator in mixture with dewaxed effluent from 30 to separator 34 to recover gas overhead and liquid, followed by further fractionation of products (see figure). Brandvold sends bottoms liquid 46a from the overhead gas recovery 42 to hydrogen stripper 23 as reflux. Brandvold separates water 40 from the hydrocarbon product 46 which are sent to stripping and gases sent to recovery hydrogen for recycle [0056-0057]. Brandvold sends OH gas 36 to zone 56 to remove impurities to create recycle hydrogen which is cooled and recirculated to deoxygenation zone 4 [0057], [0053].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have performed the Brandvold separation steps, reflux, purification and recycle of the combined overhead in the process of Rispoli, for the benefit of providing additional hydrogen to the HDO zone and reflux to the hydrogen stripper.
Regarding (2), Rispoli teaches nitrogen removal prior to HDO [0136]. Examiner notes that the person having ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize this nitrogen removal to be hydro denitrificaiton.
Further, Dougherty teaches that hydrodenitrogenation is commonly performed in hydrotreatment stages with or in addition to hydrodeoxygenation [0033].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have performed hydrodenitrogenation and hydrodeoxygenation in the hydrotreatment step as disclosed by Dougherty, in order to remove oxygenates and nitrogen compounds.
Regarding claim 3, Rispoli does not add hydrogen stream 10 to dewaxing (hydroisomerization unit) (see figure). Rispoli teaches feeding makeup hydrogen gas through line 28 to hydroisomerization (dewaxing) unit A2 (see figure, [152]) and combining with hydrogen recycle stream 27 (see figure).
Regarding claim 5, Rispoli teaches the products obtained are fuel components including LPG, kerosene, diesel, and naphtha [0049].
Regarding claim 6, Rispoli teaches using a steam stripper (see figure, C1).
Rispoli does not disclose hydrogen stripping or the claimed conditions.
However, Brandvold teaches a similar process. Brandvold teaches that the stripper can use makeup hydrogen as the stripping gas and use high pressure conditions including 100-200 psia and temperatures of 40-350°C [0033], see figure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art that the Rispoli stripper could be operated using hydrogen and the claimed conditions, since Brandvold teaches that such conditions are suitable for separating the effluent into the desire fractions.
Regarding claim 7, Rispoli teaches a high pressure separator H1 followed by low pressure separator L1 to recover sour water (sw)[0142], see figure. Rispoli also teaches sour water removal form M to separate sour water stream (sw) from overheads 29 [0147]. Examiner considers the Rispoli unit M to read on the claimed hot separator since it removes water vapor (see Applicant’s instant spec page 9, lines 2-21).
Regarding claim 8, Rispoli teaches R1 recycle oil divided from bottoms stream 15 and recycled to HDO zone A21 [0148], see figure.
Regarding claims 9 and 19-20, Rispoli teaches fatty triglyceride feeds, vegetable oils or fats, seaweeds, recycle, etc [0024].
Regarding claims 10-11, Rispoli teaches HDO of renewable feeds [0024].
Rispoli does not teach the renewable feed mixed with fossil based feeds.
However, Brandvold teaches that renewable feeds can be mixed with fossil feeds and fed to HDO as a mixture [0027].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have used the renewable feed alone, or in mixture with fossil feeds, since Brandvold teaches that such mixtures are also suitable as HDO feeds. Examiner additionally notes that it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the amounts and boiling range of such fossil fractions, based off of availability of feeds, economic factors, and desired products. It is not seen where such a selection would result in any new or unexpected results.
Regarding claim 13, Rispoli teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Rispoli does not explicitly disclose cracking catalyst.
However, Brandvold teaches a similar process for HDO and HDI of renewable feedstocks to produce fuel range products [0004]. Brandvold teaches that hydrocracking catalyst can be combined with the isomerization catalyst for the benefit of producing products in the aviation boiling range [0038].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have used the Brandvold catalyst mixture in the Rispoli isomerization zone, for the benefit of obtaining desirable aviation fuel ranging products.
Regarding claim 14, Rispoli teaches high pressure separator H2 and low pressure separator L2 [0152], [0153]. Examiner considers the Rispoli separators to read on the claimed cold separator since it removes water as liquid (see Applicant’s instant spec page 9, lines 2-21).
Regarding claim 15, Rispoli teaches makeup hydrogen provided from sources external of the HDO and HDI steps [0152]. Examiner further notes that it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have appropriately sourced the reactants based on availability, cost, and environmental factors. It is not seen where such a selection would result in any new or unexpected results.
Regarding claim 17, it is expected that the same products would result, since the prior art teaches the same process steps applied to the same feedstocks at the same conditions as claimed. It is not seen where Applicant has distinguished the process steps in this regard.
Regarding claim 18, Rispoli teaches separating gas and liquid (two phases) from the HDO effluent [0026-0029]. Examiner further notes that it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to appropriately selected conditions including temperature, in order to achieve the desired separation.
Regarding claim 22, Brandvold teaches hydrogen recycled to the hdo/hdt step and not the dewax/hdi step (see figure).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 25 March 2026 have been fully considered and are addressed by the updated rejections.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cole (US 2010/0176026) – teaches coprocessing diesel biofeed with heavy oil (abstract).
Singh (US 2018/0370871) – teaches total reflux in the stripping vessel [0046] in a process for hydrotreatment and hydroisomerization (abstract).
Ahmed (US 2020/0385643) – teaches stripper 90 can be operated with total reflux [0067].
McCall (US 2009/0158637) – teaches hydrodeoxygenation and isomerization of renewable feeds (abstract).
/MICHELLE STEIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771