DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner has thoroughly reviewed applicant’s arguments but firmly believes the cited reference to reasonably and properly meet the claimed limitations i.e. that upon the receipt of a notification that the UE has moved out of the serving area of the NWDAF1, determining, by the aggregator NWDAF, a 5th-Generation (5G) core network (5GC) network function currently serving the UE and determining a second NWDAF (728, fig. 7) which is capable of serving the 5GC network function, or determining the location of the UE and querying the NWDAF2 which is capable of serving the UE in accordance with the location of the UE. Examiner respectfully direct the Application to paragraphs 0080-0081, Hong where discloses that FIG. 7, when the UE (i.e., UE) moves from an old data source service area (726, fig. 7) to new data source service area (728, fig. 7). The old data source(s) are serviced by an old low level NWDAF and the new data source(s) are serviced by new NWDAF. The top NWDAF receives notification of a change of the NF serving a UE via a subscription event in UDM. When the NWDAF receives a notification of a “UE associated NF event” including the new data source(s) information, the NWDAF determines that the new data source(s) is not in the old low level NWDAF service area and determines which NWDAF services the new data source(s) (such as a new low level NWDAF. The NWDAF then sends the analytics information request to the new low level NWDAF.
Additionally, the examiner has given the claim language its broadest reasonable interpretation. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Anticipatory reference need not duplicate, word for word, what is in claims; anticipation can occur when claimed limitation is “inherent” or otherwise implicit in relevant reference (Standard Havens products Incorporated v. Gencor Industries Incorporated, 21 USPQ2d 1321).
Applicant always has the opportunity to amend the claims during prosecution, and broad interpreted by the examiner reduces the possibility that the claim, once issued, will be interpreted more broadly than is justified. In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-51 (CCPA 1969).
Therefore, the previous rejection is maintained.
Examiner’s Note: The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. "The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain." In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275,277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments (see MPEP 2123). Therefore, Applicant, in preparing the response, must fully consider the entire disclosure of the cited references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, including the context of the cited passages as taught by the prior art disclosed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 11-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hong (20230071081).
Regarding claim 1, Hong discloses, a subscription method (abstract, fig. 7 and 9), comprising:
sending, by an aggregator Network Data Analytic Function (722, fig. 7), a subscription request (704, fig. 7) to a first NWDAF (726, fig. 7), the NWDAF1 being an NWDAF whose serving area covers a current location of a User Equipment (see UE location, fig. 5) (¶ 0081, 0096, the NWDAF 722 sends a request to the old lower level NWDAF 726 for analytics information or data collection including old data source(s) information received at 702);
upon the receipt of a notification that the UE has moved out of the serving area of the NWDAF1, determining, by the aggregator NWDAF, a 5th-Generation (5G) core network (5GC) network function currently serving the UE and determining a second NWDAF (728, fig. 7) which is capable of serving the 5GC network function, or determining the location of the UE and querying the NWDAF2 which is capable of serving the UE in accordance with the location of the UE (¶ 0080-0081, when the NWDAF receives a notification of a “UE associated NF event” including the new data source(s) information, the NWDAF 722 determines that the new data source(s) is not in the old low level NWDAF 726 service area and determines which NWDAF services the new data source(s) such as a new low level NWDAF 728. The NWDAF 722 then sends the analytics information request to the new low level NWDAF 728 and ¶ 0089, 0092, the NWDAF 722 derives requested analytics or aggregates received data according to the request in 701a/b and the NWDAF 722 determines which NWDAF services the new data source(s) 732 i.e. querying the NRF and/or UDM including the new data source(s) information, see fig. 7 and 9); and
sending, by the aggregator NWDAF, a subscription request to the NWDAF2 (¶ 0093, the NWDAF 722 may send a request to the new lower level NWDAF 728 for analytics information or data collection including data source(s) information received at 707).
Regarding claims 2, 12, Hong discloses, wherein subsequent to sending, by the aggregator NWDAF, the subscription request to the NWDAF2, the subscription method further comprises sending a suspending or deregistration indication to the NWDAF 1 (¶ 0081, 0113, 0131, the top NWDAF has information indicating that the data source(s) has changed and the new data source(s) is not associated with the old low level NWDAF service area according to a message from the old low level NWDAF).
Regarding claims 4, 14, Hong discloses, wherein the notification received by the aggregator NWDAF and that the UE has moved out of the serving area of the NWDAF1 is sent by the NWDAF1 when the NWDAF1 determines that the UE has moved out of the serving area in accordance with an event reported by a Network Function (NF) serving the UE (¶ 0081, When the NWDAF receives a notification of a “UE associated NF event” including the new data source(s) information, the NWDAF 722 determines that the new data source(s) is not in the old low level NWDAF 726 service area and determines which NWDAF services the new data source(s) such as a new low level NWDAF 728. The NWDAF 722 then sends the analytics information request to the new low level NWDAF 728 and ¶ 0089, 0092, the NWDAF 722 derives requested analytics or aggregates received data according to the request in 701a/b and the NWDAF 722 determines which NWDAF services the new data source(s) 732 i.e. querying the NRF and/or UDM including the new data source(s) information. For detail see fig. 5, 7 and 9).
Regarding claims 5, 15, Hong discloses, wherein the determining the location of the UE comprises obtaining the location of the UE from the NWDAF1 or subscribing location information about the UE to an Access and Mobility Management Function (¶ 0028, 0075, to support network data analytics services in a core network, a network data analytics function (NWDAF) collects data from network functions (NFs) such as access and mobility management functions (AMFs), session management functions (SMFs), and so on. However, for each type of NF, there may be multiple NF instances deployed in different service areas. When the UE moves to a different service area, the NFs serving the UE may also change. For data collection from the NFs serving the UE, the NWDAF needs to know which NFs are serving the UE. Disclosed are techniques for obtaining the information of which NFs are serving the UE and for collecting data from the NFs.).
Regarding claim 11, Hong discloses, an NWDAF, which is an aggregator NWDAF comprising a processor, a memory and a transceiver (abstract, fig. 5, 7, 9 and 17, ¶ 0191-0192, network entity, can include processor electronics 1710 such as a microprocessor, a memory device, a composition of matter effecting a machine-readable propagated signal, or a combination of one or more them. The term “data processing apparatus” encompasses all apparatus, devices, and machines for processing data, including by way of example a programmable processor, a computer, or multiple processors or computers. The apparatus can include, in addition to hardware, code that creates an execution environment for the computer program in question, e.g., code that constitutes processor firmware, a protocol stack, a database management system, an operating system, or a combination of one or more of them.), wherein the processor is configured to read a program stored in the memory so as to:
send a subscription request to a first NWDAF (NWDAF1), the NWDAF1 being an NWDAF whose serving area covers a current location of a UE (¶ 0081, 0096, the NWDAF 722 sends a request to the old lower level NWDAF 726 for analytics information or data collection including old data source(s) information received at 702, fig. 5, 7 and 9, see detail in claim 1);
upon the receipt of a notification that the UE has moved out of the serving area of the NWDAF1, determine a 5GC network function currently serving the UE and determine a second NWDAF (NWDAF2) which is capable of serving the 5GC network function, or determine a location of the UE and query the NWDAF2 which is capable of serving the UE in accordance with the location of the UE; and send a subscription request to the NWDAF2,wherein the transceiver is configured to receive (¶ 0081, When the NWDAF receives a notification of a “UE associated NF event” including the new data source(s) information, the NWDAF 722 determines that the new data source(s) is not in the old low level NWDAF 726 service area and determines which NWDAF services the new data source(s) such as a new low level NWDAF 728. The NWDAF 722 then sends the analytics information request to the new low level NWDAF 728 and ¶ 0089, 0092, the NWDAF 722 derives requested analytics or aggregates received data according to the request in 701a/b and the NWDAF 722 determines which NWDAF services the new data source(s) 732 i.e. querying the NRF and/or UDM including the new data source(s) information., see fig. 5, 7 and 9, see detail in claim 1) and
transmit data under the control of the processor (¶ 0093, the NWDAF 722 may send a request to the new lower level NWDAF 728 for analytics information or data collection including data source(s) information received at 707).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (20230071081) in view of LAIR (20220263724).
Hong does not specifically disclose wherein the processor is further configured to receive a data analytics result from a third NWDAF, and the data analytics result is historical data analytics about the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, LAIR discloses, wherein the processor is further configured to receive a data analytics result from a third NWDAF, and the data analytics result is historical data analytics about the UE (¶ 0062-0063, 0067, NWDAFs to exchange information related to UE analytics so that one NWDAF may benefit from analytics provided by another NWDAF and mechanisms for NWDAFs to exchange collected data). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Hong by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to Efficient handling of collected data or analytics data can measures for efficient sharing of collected data or analytics data in network data analytics function scenarios, which allows efficient storage and distribution of access to the collected data or analytics data as taught by LAIR.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHAWAR IQBAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643