DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant's response filed under 37 C.F.R. §1.111, dated December 23, 2025 in response to a non-final office action. Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 11, 15, 17, and 18 have been amended. Claims 1-3, 5-15, and 17-22 are subject to examination and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang (US Patent Application Publication, 20230045916, hereinafter, “Wang”).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches:
A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising (Wang: [0057] FIG. 1 is a flowchart of a method for determining a path-loss reference signal according to an implementation of the present disclosure, which can be applied to a User Equipment (UE) ...):
at least one memory; and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to (Wang: [0160] In an exemplary implementation, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium is provided, such as the memory 1332 storing computer program instructions. The computer program instructions can be carried out by the processing component 1322 of the device 1300 to perform the above methods. Fig. 3):
select one Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state from two or more TCI states of Control Resource Sets (CORESETs) with a lowest identification (ID) number in an active bandwidth part (BWP) in a scheduled serving cell (Wang: [0073] In some implementations, in response to the associated BWP being not configured with the PUCCH resource, a CORESET with a lowest ID in CORESETs associated with a search space monitored in a latest slot (e.g., the CORESET associated with a monitored search space with the lowest CORESET-ID in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs [encompasses two or more] within the active BWP of the serving cell (s) are monitored by the UE) is selected as the first CORESET, and a QCL-TypeD reference signal contained in a TCI state corresponding to this first CORESET is taken as the first reference signal ... [0075] For example, in an example, three CORESETs can be configured on the associated BWP with IDs of these three CORESETs being 3, 4, and 5, respectively, where a CORESET with an ID of 4 is associated with the search space monitored in the latest time slot, then the CORESET with the lowest ID, that is, a CORESET with an ID of 3, can be taken as the first CORESET according to the above disclosed implementation, and the CORESET with the ID of 4 can also be taken as the first CORESET. When the CORESET with the ID of 3 is taken as the first CORESET, the first reference signal is a QCL-TypeD reference signal contained in a TCI state corresponding to the CORESET with the ID of 3, and when the CORESET with the ID of 4 is taken as the first CORESET, the first reference signal is a QCL-TypeD reference signal contained in a TCI state corresponding to the CORESET with the ID of 4 [i.e., CORESETs have corresponding TCI states].); and
determine a default spatial relation and a default pathloss reference signal (RS) for transmitting an uplink signal by an RS with Quasi Co-Location TypeD corresponding to the selected TCI state (Wang: [0093] In response to the associated BWP being configured with the CORESET, the path-loss reference signal of the data channel can be determined according to the third reference signal or the fourth reference signal. The third reference signal can be determined as follows. A CORESET with the lowest ID or a CORESET with the lowest ID associated with the search space monitored in the latest time slot is selected from the CORESETs configured on the associated BWP, a QCL-TypeD reference signal contained in a TCI state corresponding to this second CORESET is taken as the third reference signal. The fourth reference signal can be determined as follows. An active TCI state with the lowest ID is selected from active TCI states associated with the data channel, and a QCL-TypeD reference signal included in this selected active TCI state is taken as the fourth reference signal ... [0018] … with development of communication technologies, the QCL-TypeD reference signal contained in the TCI state may be either the downlink reference signal or an uplink reference signal or an uplink channel … ).
Regarding claim 18, Wang teaches:
A method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising (Wang: [0057] FIG. 1 is a flowchart of a method for determining a path-loss reference signal according to an implementation of the present disclosure, which can be applied to a User Equipment (UE) …):
selecting one Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) state from two or more TCI states of Control Resource Sets (CORESETs) with a lowest identification (ID) number in an active bandwidth part (BWP) in a scheduled serving cell (Wang: [0073] In some implementations, in response to the associated BWP being not configured with the PUCCH resource, a CORESET with a lowest ID in CORESETs associated with a search space monitored in a latest slot (e.g., the CORESET associated with a monitored search space with the lowest CORESET-ID in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs [encompasses two or more] within the active BWP of the serving cell (s) are monitored by the UE) is selected as the first CORESET, and a QCL-TypeD reference signal contained in a TCI state corresponding to this first CORESET is taken as the first reference signal ... [0075] For example, in an example, three CORESETs can be configured on the associated BWP with IDs of these three CORESETs being 3, 4, and 5, respectively, where a CORESET with an ID of 4 is associated with the search space monitored in the latest time slot, then the CORESET with the lowest ID, that is, a CORESET with an ID of 3, can be taken as the first CORESET according to the above disclosed implementation, and the CORESET with the ID of 4 can also be taken as the first CORESET. When the CORESET with the ID of 3 is taken as the first CORESET, the first reference signal is a QCL-TypeD reference signal contained in a TCI state corresponding to the CORESET with the ID of 3, and when the CORESET with the ID of 4 is taken as the first CORESET, the first reference signal is a QCL-TypeD reference signal contained in a TCI state corresponding to the CORESET with the ID of 4 [i.e., CORESETs have corresponding TCI states].); and
determining a default spatial relation and a default pathloss reference signal (RS) for transmitting an uplink signal by an RS with Quasi Co-Location TypeD corresponding to the selected TCI state (Wang: [0093] In response to the associated BWP being configured with the CORESET, the path-loss reference signal of the data channel can be determined according to the third reference signal or the fourth reference signal. The third reference signal can be determined as follows. A CORESET with the lowest ID or a CORESET with the lowest ID associated with the search space monitored in the latest time slot is selected from the CORESETs configured on the associated BWP, a QCL-TypeD reference signal contained in a TCI state corresponding to this second CORESET is taken as the third reference signal. The fourth reference signal can be determined as follows. An active TCI state with the lowest ID is selected from active TCI states associated with the data channel, and a QCL-TypeD reference signal included in this selected active TCI state is taken as the fourth reference signal ... [0018] … with development of communication technologies, the QCL-TypeD reference signal contained in the TCI state may be either the downlink reference signal or an uplink reference signal or an uplink channel … ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Matsumura et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20240121851, hereinafter, “Matsumura ‘851”).
Regarding claims 2 and 19, Wang discloses on the features with respect to claims 1 and 18, respectively, as outlined above.
Wang does not explicitly teach:
transmit the uplink signal according to the default spatial relation with a transmission power calculated based on the default pathloss RS.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Matsumura ‘851 teaches:
transmit the uplink signal according to the default spatial relation with a transmission power calculated based on the default pathloss RS (Matsumura ‘851: [0240] The UE may use a pathloss obtained from the same RS as the default spatial relation for transmission power control. The UE may use, for transmission power control for the certain UL signal, a pathloss obtained from the same RS as the default spatial relation for the certain UL signal. The UE may calculate a pathloss for each TCI state to determine a pathloss used for transmission power control for the certain UL signal, corresponding to a TCI state for the default spatial relation for the certain UL signal …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wang to include the features as taught by Matsumura ‘851 above in order to determine a reference signal for at least one of QCL and pathloss calculation. (Matsumura ‘851, ¶ [0009]).
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Matsumura et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20230032909, hereinafter, “Matsumura ‘909”).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Wang does not explicitly teach:
wherein the RS with Quasi Co-Location TypeD for determining the default pathloss RS is a periodic reference signal.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Matsumura ‘909 teaches:
wherein the RS with Quasi Co-Location TypeD for determining the default pathloss RS is a periodic reference signal (Matsumura ‘909: [0148] In a case where a CORESET is configured on a CC, for example, the default spatial relation may be a TCI state or QCL assumption of a CORESET having the lowest ID. An RS used for pathloss calculation may be an RS of the same QCL type D as a TCI state or QCL assumption of the CORESET having the lowest ID. The RS used for the pathloss calculation may be a periodic RS.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wang to include the features as taught by Matsumura ‘909 above in order to appropriately determine a reference signal for at least one of QCL and pathloss calculation. (Matsumura ‘909, ¶ [0007]).
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses on the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Wang does not explicitly teach:
selecting a TCI state of a CORESET with a lowest ID number among one or more CORESETs configured with one TCI state among the one or more CORESETs as the TCI state.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Matsumura ‘909 teaches:
selecting a TCI state of a CORESET with a lowest ID number among one or more CORESETs configured with one TCI state among the one or more CORESETs as the TCI state (Matsumura ‘909: [0148] In a case where a CORESET is configured on a CC, for example, the default spatial relation may be a TCI state or QCL assumption of a CORESET having the lowest ID. An RS used for pathloss calculation may be an RS of the same QCL type D as a TCI state or QCL assumption of the CORESET having the lowest ID. The RS used for the pathloss calculation may be a periodic RS.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wang to include the features as taught by Matsumura ‘909 above in order to appropriately determine a reference signal for at least one of QCL and pathloss calculation. (Matsumura ‘909, ¶ [0007]).
Claims 6-7, 9-10, 12, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Matsumura et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20220295304, hereinafter, “Matsumura ‘304”).
Regarding claims 6 and 20, Wang discloses on the features with respect to claims 1 and 18, respectively, as outlined above.
Wang does not explicitly teach:
wherein the uplink signal is a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) signal.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Matsumura ‘304 teaches:
wherein the uplink signal is a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) signal (Matsumura ‘304: [0122] The reference UL transmission may be UL transmission satisfying a certain condition, may be the latest PUSCH transmission, may be the latest PUCCH transmission, may be the latest PRACH transmission, may be the latest SRS transmission, may be the latest UL transmission, or may be the latest transmission of at least one of the PUSCH, PUCCH, PRACH, and SRS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wang to include the features as taught by Matsumura ‘304 above in order to appropriately perform UL transmission control. (Matsumura ‘304, ¶ [0009]).
Regarding claim 7, Wang-Matsumura ‘304 discloses on the features with respect to claim 6 as outlined above.
Matsumura ‘304 further teaches:
wherein the UE is not provided or activated with a configuration for a spatial relation for the SRS signal, and the UE is configured to enable a default spatial relation for the SRS signal (Matsumura ‘304: [0173] The condition may be a case where SRS resources for which an RS for spatial relation information is configured are not indicated by DCI to schedule a PUSCH. The default spatial relation may be a default spatial relation in a slot for transmission of the PUSCH).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Matsumura ‘304 is the same as the rationale and motivation for claim 6.
Regarding claims 9 and 21, Wang discloses on the features with respect to claims 1 and 18, respectively, as outlined above.
Wang does not explicitly teach:
wherein the uplink signal is a dedicated Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) signal.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Matsumura ‘304 teaches:
wherein the uplink signal is a dedicated Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) signal (Matsumura ‘304: [0145] The default spatial relation may be a spatial relation corresponding to a dedicated PUCCH resource with the lowest ID in an active UL BWP for a cell for the specific UL transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wang to include the features as taught by Matsumura ‘304 above in order to appropriately perform UL transmission control. (Matsumura ‘304, ¶ [0009]).
Regarding claim 10, Wang-Matsumura ‘304 discloses on the features with respect to claim 9 as outlined above.
Matsumura ‘304 further teaches:
wherein the UE is not provided or activated with a configuration for a spatial relation and/or a pathloss RS for the PUCCH signal, and the UE is configured to enable a default spatial relation and/or a default pathloss reference RS for the PUCCH signal (Matsumura ‘304: [0139] ... When the DL RS for path loss measurement is not configured by the higher layer signaling, the UE may determine an ID (RS resource index qd) of the DL RS for path loss measurement for PUSCH transmission, and may use the determined DL RS for path loss measurement as the default spatial relation … [0145] The default spatial relation may be a spatial relation corresponding to a dedicated PUCCH resource with the lowest ID in an active UL BWP for a cell for the specific UL transmission.).
The rationale and motivation for adding this teaching of Matsumura ‘304 is the same as the rationale and motivation for claim 9.
Regarding claims 12 and 22, Wang discloses on the features with respect to claims 1 and 18, respectively, as outlined above.
Wang does not explicitly teach:
wherein the uplink signal is a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) signal scheduled by DCI format 0_0.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Matsumura ‘304 teaches:
wherein the uplink signal is a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) signal scheduled by DCI format 0_0 (Matsumura ‘304: [0201] The condition may be the case that the specific UL transmission is a PUSCH, a PUSCH in a certain cell is scheduled by DCI format 0_0, and PUCCH resources are not configured for the cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wang to include the features as taught by Matsumura ‘304 above in order to appropriately perform UL transmission control. (Matsumura ‘304, ¶ [0009]).
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang-Matsumura ‘304 in view of Matsumura et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20240121851, hereinafter, “Matsumura ‘851”).
Regarding claim 8, Wang-Matsumura ‘304 discloses on the features with respect to claim 6 as outlined above.
Wang-Matsumura ‘304 does not explicitly teach:
transmit an SRS signal according to the default spatial relation with a transmission power calculated based on the default pathloss RS.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Matsumura ‘851 teaches:
transmit an SRS signal according to the default spatial relation with a transmission power calculated based on the default pathloss RS (Matsumura ‘851: [0240] The UE may use a pathloss obtained from the same RS as the default spatial relation for transmission power control. The UE may use, for transmission power control for the certain UL signal, a pathloss obtained from the same RS as the default spatial relation for the certain UL signal. The UE may calculate a pathloss for each TCI state to determine a pathloss used for transmission power control for the certain UL signal, corresponding to a TCI state for the default spatial relation for the certain UL signal … [0242] With respect to a UL signal of a certain type (e.g., a PUSCH, a PUCCH, or an SRS), the UE may not expect that pathloss calculations exceeding a maximum number of pathloss reference RSs …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wang-Matsumura ‘304 to include the features as taught by Matsumura ‘851 above in order to determine a reference signal for at least one of QCL and pathloss calculation. (Matsumura ‘851, ¶ [0009]).
Regarding claim 11, Wang-Matsumura ‘304 discloses on the features with respect to claim 9 as outlined above.
Wang-Matsumura ‘304 does not explicitly teach:
transmit a PUCCH signal according to the default spatial relation with a transmission power calculated based on the default pathloss RS.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Matsumura ‘851 teaches:
transmit a PUCCH signal according to the default spatial relation with a transmission power calculated based on the default pathloss RS (Matsumura ‘851: [0240] The UE may use a pathloss obtained from the same RS as the default spatial relation for transmission power control. The UE may use, for transmission power control for the certain UL signal, a pathloss obtained from the same RS as the default spatial relation for the certain UL signal. The UE may calculate a pathloss for each TCI state to determine a pathloss used for transmission power control for the certain UL signal, corresponding to a TCI state for the default spatial relation for the certain UL signal … [0242] With respect to a UL signal of a certain type (e.g., a PUSCH, a PUCCH, or an SRS), the UE may not expect that pathloss calculations exceeding a maximum number of pathloss reference RSs …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wang-Matsumura ‘304 to include the features as taught by Matsumura ‘851 above in order to determine a reference signal for at least one of QCL and pathloss calculation. (Matsumura ‘851, ¶ [0009]).
Claims 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang-Matsumura ‘304 in view of Matsumura et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20230032909, hereinafter, “Matsumura ‘909”).
Regarding claim 13, Wang-Matsumura ‘304 discloses on the features with respect to claim 12 as outlined above.
Wang-Matsumura ‘304 does not explicitly teach:
the UE is configured with PUCCH resources on the active UL BWP and each of the PUCCH resources is not provided or activated with a configuration for a spatial relation, the UE is configured to enable the default spatial relation and/or the default pathloss reference RS for the PUSCH signal; and
the UE is in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection mode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Matsumura ‘909 teaches:
the UE is configured with PUCCH resources on the active UL BWP and each of the PUCCH resources is not provided or activated with a configuration for a spatial relation, the UE is configured to enable the default spatial relation and/or the default pathloss reference RS for the PUSCH signal; and
the UE is in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection mode (Matsumura ‘909: [0161] In FR2 and in the RRC connected mode, scheduling of a PUSCH using DCI format 0_0 on a CC having configured PUCCH resources is supported. Here, regarding all the configured PUCCH resources, none of these configurations is accompanied by spatial relation. [0219] In the absence of a PUCCH resource configured in an active UL BWP of a CC in FR2 and in the RRC connected mode, default spatial relation of a PUSCH scheduled using DCI format 0_0 and a default pathloss reference RS are supported. This function may be applied to UE to support the function of default spatial relation for a dedicated PUCCH or a dedicated SRS according to Rel. 16, or may be applied to a case where the UE to support the function of default spatial relation for a dedicated PUCCH or a dedicated SRS according to Rel. 16 is configured by a base station.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wang-Matsumura ‘304 to include the features as taught by Matsumura ‘909 above in order to appropriately determine a reference signal for at least one of QCL and pathloss calculation. (Matsumura ‘909, ¶ [0007]).
Regarding claim 14, Wang-Matsumura ‘304 discloses on the features with respect to claim 12 as outlined above.
Wang-Matsumura ‘304 does not explicitly teach:
the UE is not configured with a PUCCH resource on the active BWP;
the UE is configured to enable the default spatial relation and/or the default pathloss reference RS for the PUSCH signal; and
the UE is in an RRC connection mode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Matsumura ‘909 teaches:
the UE is not configured with a PUCCH resource on the active BWP;
the UE is configured to enable the default spatial relation and/or the default pathloss reference RS for the PUSCH signal; and
the UE is in an RRC connection mode (Matsumura ‘909: [0161] In FR2 and in the RRC connected mode, scheduling of a PUSCH using DCI format 0_0 on a CC having configured PUCCH resources is supported. Here, regarding all the configured PUCCH resources, none of these configurations is accompanied by spatial relation. [0219] In the absence of a PUCCH resource configured in an active UL BWP of a CC in FR2 and in the RRC connected mode, default spatial relation of a PUSCH scheduled using DCI format 0_0 and a default pathloss reference RS are supported. This function may be applied to UE to support the function of default spatial relation for a dedicated PUCCH or a dedicated SRS according to Rel. 16, or may be applied to a case where the UE to support the function of default spatial relation for a dedicated PUCCH or a dedicated SRS according to Rel. 16 is configured by a base station.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wang-Matsumura ‘304 to include the features as taught by Matsumura ‘909 above in order to appropriately determine a reference signal for at least one of QCL and pathloss calculation. (Matsumura ‘909, ¶ [0007]).
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang-Matsumura ‘304 - Matsumura ‘909 in view of Matsumura et.al. (US Patent Application Publication, 20240121851, hereinafter, “Matsumura ‘851”).
Regarding claims 15 and 17, Wang-Matsumura ‘304 - Matsumura ‘909 discloses on the features with respect to claims 14 and 13, respectively, as outlined above.
Wang-Matsumura ‘304 - Matsumura ‘909 does not explicitly teach:
transmit a PUSCH signal according to the default spatial relation with a transmission power calculated based on the default pathloss RS.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Matsumura ‘851 teaches:
transmit a PUSCH signal according to the default spatial relation with a transmission power calculated based on the default pathloss RS (Matsumura ‘851: [0240] The UE may use a pathloss obtained from the same RS as the default spatial relation for transmission power control. The UE may use, for transmission power control for the certain UL signal, a pathloss obtained from the same RS as the default spatial relation for the certain UL signal. The UE may calculate a pathloss for each TCI state to determine a pathloss used for transmission power control for the certain UL signal, corresponding to a TCI state for the default spatial relation for the certain UL signal … [0242] With respect to a UL signal of a certain type (e.g., a PUSCH, a PUCCH, or an SRS), the UE may not expect that pathloss calculations exceeding a maximum number of pathloss reference RSs …).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wang-Matsumura ‘304 - Matsumura ‘909 to include the features as taught by Matsumura ‘851 above in order to determine a reference signal for at least one of QCL and pathloss calculation. (Matsumura ‘851, ¶ [0009]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIEM H. NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416