DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 objected to because of the following informalities: "performing repeatedly learning" is grammatically improper; replace with "performing repeated learning", for example. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kahn ("Self-Training for End-to-End Speech Recognition").
Claim 1: Kahn discloses a speech recognition method of automatically correcting a data label, the method comprising:
performing confidence-based filtering in order to find a location at which an incorrect label has occurred in time-series speech data in which an answer label and the incorrect label have been temporally mixed by using a transformer-based speech recognition model; (Section 3.1: Confidence filtering of data; Section 2.1: Label inference)
improving performance of the transformer-based speech recognition model by replacing a label in a decoder time step that has been determined as the incorrect label due to the location at which the incorrect label has occurred after the filtering, (Section 3.1: Exclude low-confidence samples)
wherein in performing the confidence-based filtering in order to find the location at which the incorrect label has occurred in the time-series speech data, the incorrect label is found and corrected by using confidence using a transition probability between labels every decoder time step. (Section 3.1: using likelihood ratio to find incorrect labels)
Claim 2: Elements of parent claim 1 are disclosed as discussed above. Kahn further teaches method wherein performing the confidence- based filtering in order to find the location at which the incorrect label has occurred in the time-series speech data comprises:
calculating confidence by using a transition probability between labels that transition between decoder time steps; (Section 3.1: likelihood ratio for each label)
calculating confidence by using a self-attention probability that represents correlation between labels; and (Section 2: attention mechanism)
calculating confidence by using a source-attention probability in which a speech and correlation between labels have been considered. (Section 2, 2.1: attention ceiling)
Claim 3: Elements of parent claim 2 are disclosed as discussed above. Kahn further teaches method wherein performing the confidence- based filtering in order to find the location at which the incorrect label has occurred in the time-series speech data further comprises:
generating merged confidence by combining the confidence using a transition probability, the confidence using a self-attention probability, and the confidence using a source-attention probability; and (Section 3.2: ensemble model combination)
finding the location of the incorrect label based on the merged confidence. (Section 3.2: get a new ensemble sample set from the model combination)
Claim 4: Elements of parent claim 1 are disclosed as discussed above. Kahn further teaches method wherein improving the performance of the transformer-based speech recognition model by replacing the label in the decoder time step that has been determined as the incorrect label comprises excluding a decoder time step corresponding to the incorrect label from learning with respect to the time- series speech data. (Section 3.1: exclude low confidence samples)
Claim 5: Elements of parent claim 1 are disclosed as discussed above. Kahn further teaches method wherein improving the performance of the transformer-based speech recognition model by replacing the label in the decoder time step that has been determined as the incorrect label comprises
defining a (K+1)-th new type as a help label by adding the (K+1)-th new type to the number K of all of classification label types, and (Section 2.1: Hypothesis inference)
replacing the incorrect label with the help label. (Section 2.1)
Claim 6: Elements of parent claim 1 are disclosed as discussed above. Kahn further teaches method wherein improving the performance of the transformer-based speech recognition model by replacing the label in the decoder time step that has been determined as the incorrect label comprises replacing the incorrect label with a new label sampled from the transition probability. (Section 3.1: ensemble sampling)
Claim 7: Elements of parent claim 1 are disclosed as discussed above. Kahn further teaches method wherein the transformer-based speech recognition model is a model that maps two time series having different lengths by using an attention mechanism, and comprises an encoder that changes the time-series speech data into memory and a decoder that predicts a current label by using the memory and past labels. (Section 2: Sequence to sequence model)
Claim 8: Elements of parent claim 2 are disclosed as discussed above. Kahn further teaches method wherein improving the performance of the transformer-based speech recognition model by replacing the label in the decoder time step that has been determined as the incorrect label comprises performing repeatedly learning by using a Q-shot learning method in order to obtain the transition probability, the source-attention probability, the self-attention probability, and a transition probability that is used in sampling upon replacement. (Section 2: Recurrent encoding and decoding)
Regarding claims 9 and 10, they are analogous to elements found in claims 1-8 and are thus rejected in a similar fashion.
Conclusion
/ALVIN ISKENDER/Examiner, Art Unit 2654
/HAI PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2654