DETAILED ACTION
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments filed on 9/8/2025 have been considered but they are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Vrabete (US 20170076168) in view of MESSER et al. (US 2020/0105111).
With respect to claim 1, Vrabete teaches capturing, at an edge device, an image, the image including at least object, the image captured at a first resolution (para.[0042]: edge computing device 104 may capture one or more still and/or video images of the object using the camera(s) 150);
storing the image at the first resolution in the edge device (implicit para. [0042], [0045], [0017]: data storage device 146);
converting the image to a second resolution, the second resolution being lower than the first resolution (para. [0044]: creates a thumbnail image of the unrecognized object. As described above, the thumbnail image may be cropped, reduced in resolution, reduced in framerate, or otherwise modified to reduce the storage space, bandwidth, and/or energy required to transmit the thumbnail image from the edge computing device 104 to the server computing device 102);
sending the converted image to a backend object recognition system (para [0204], the video stream uploaded for cloud storage is at a lower quality (e.g., lower resolution));
receiving a set of candidate object recognition matches; and performing, at the edge device, facial recognition based on the stored image captured at the first resolution and the set of candidate facial recognition matches (para.[0045]: the edge computing device 104 receives an updated reduced object recognition database 212 from the server computing device 102); and
performing, at the edge device, object recognition based on the stored image captured at the first resolution and the set of candidate object recognition matches (par.[0045]: after receiving the updated reduced object recognition database 212, the edge computing device 104 may be capable of recognizing the previously unrecognized object).
Vrabete does not teach facial recognition
MESSER et al. teach object recognition and one of the example is facial recognition (para [0218]).
At the time of effective filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to recognize face in the method of Vrabete
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that to regard it as one of normal design option to include facial recognition feature.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine MESSER et al. with Vrabete et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
With respect to claim 2, Vrabete teaches detecting an amount of bandwidth available on an uplink between the edge device and the backend facial recognition system; and selecting the second resolution based on the available uplink bandwidth (para [0037]).
With respect to claim 3, MESSER et al. teach detecting an amount of bandwidth available on a downlink between the backend facial recognition system and the edge device; and selecting the second resolution based on the available downlink bandwidth (para. [0236] –[0237]).
With respect to claim 4, MESSER et al. teach detecting an amount of bandwidth available on an uplink between the edge device and the backend facial recognition system; detecting the amount of bandwidth on a downlink between the backend facial recognition system and the edge device; and selecting the second resolution based on the available uplink and downlink bandwidth (para. [0236] –[0237]).
With respect to claim 5, Vrabete teaches that the image is at least one frame of a video (para [0042]).
With respect to claim 6, Vrabete teaches that the set of candidate facial recognition matches is a set of facial templates (para [0042]).
With respect to claim 7, Vrabete teaches that the edge device is a body worn camera that is wirelessly coupled to the backend facial recognition system(para. [0013] and [0017]).
Claim 8 is rejected as same reason as claim 1 above.
Claim 9 is rejected same reason as claim 2 above.
Claim 10 is rejected same reason as claim 3 above.
Claim 11 is rejected same reason as claim 4 above.
Claim 12 is rejected as same reason as claim 5 above.
Claim 13 is rejected as same reason as claim 6 above.
Claim 14 is rejected as same reason as claim 7 above.
Claim 15 is rejected as same reason as claim 1 above.
Claim 16 is rejected same reason as claim 2 above.
Claim 17 is rejected same reason as claim 3 above.
Claim 18 is rejected same reason as claim 4 above.
Claim 19 is rejected as same reason as claim 5 above.
Claim 20 is rejected as same reason as claim 6 above.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/RANDOLPH I CHU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667