DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 21-30 in the reply filed on 21 August 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no lack of unity because the instant claims do not lack an inventive step in view of the prior art cited in the restriction requirement mailed on 23 June 2026. The examiner finds this persuasive. Nevertheless, the restriction requirement has not been withdrawn. The examiner presents the following rationale in support of this position.
As set forth in Rule 13.1 of the Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT), "the international application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept.” Moreover, as stated in PCT Rule 13.2, "where a group of inventions is claimed in one and the same international application, the requirement of unity of invention referred to in Rule 13.1 shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features." Furthermore, Rule 13.2 defines "special technical features" as "those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art."
The inventions listed as Groups I-II do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
The special technical feature of Group I is a method for producing artificial organs. The method of claim 21 lacks an inventive step in view of the combination of Orlando et al. (US 2015/0238656 A1) in view of Hoffmann et al. (Journal of Biomedical Materials Research Part A, Vol. 84A, 2008, pages 614-621), which is explained in greater detail in the obviousness rejection below. As such, Group I does not share a special technical feature with the instant claims of Group II. Therefore, the claims are not so linked within the meaning of PCT Rule 13.2 so as to form a single inventive concept, and unity between Groups I-II is broken.
The requirement is still deemed proper but is not made final because the rationale behind the examiner’s finding of lack of unity has changed in this office action as compared with the rationale presented in the office action mailed on 23 June 2026.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 21 recites the term “aptamer.” As best understood by the examiner, the scope of this term includes both DNA aptamers as well as RNA aptamers.
Claim 21 recites “wherein the aptamer is used for coating blood vessels of a decellularized organ.” The examiner understands this limitation to require that the step of treating with aptamers would have resulted in the aptamer coating the blood vessel of a decellularized organ.
Claim 22 is understood to require all of steps (a), (b), and (c).
In regard to claim 23, the examiner understands this claim to require either d-1, d-2, or d-3.
In regard to claim 26, the phrase “don’t eat me” signal appears to be a term of art and is therefore not indefinite. See e.g. Wu et al. (US 2019/0338028 A1), paragraph 0006.
In regard to claim 28, the examiner understands that a prior art reference teaching the recited sequence of Seq. ID 1 plus additional nucleotides would read on the claimed invention. This determination is made in view of the transitional phrase “comprising” which is recited by claim 28. The transitional term "comprising", which is synonymous with "including," "containing," or "characterized by," is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See MPEP 2111.03(I). Additionally, the phrase “base sequence” in claim 28 would appear to indicate that the recited sequence is the base from which the full sequence is obtained, and is therefore less than the full sequence. As such, the examiner understands that the recited sequence requires all of the nucleotides of claim 28 but does not exclude additional nucleotides.
Claim Interpretation – Issues Under 35 U.S.C. 112(f)
For the purposes of examination under prior art, the examiner has invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) in the interpretation of claims 21-23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – Obviousness
Claim(s) 21-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orlando et al. (US 2015/0238656 A1) in view of Hoffmann et al. (Journal of Biomedical Materials Research Part A, Vol. 84A, 2008, pages 614-621).
Orlando et al. (hereafter referred to as Orlando) is drawn to organ decellularization and recellularization, as of Orlando, title and abstract, wherein the product of this method is described as a bio-artificial organ, as of Orlando, paragraph 0260. Orlando teaches treating the decellularized organ with anti-CD31 antibody, as of Orlando, at least paragraphs 0216, 0218, 0292, and 0299 wherein parts of paragraph 0299 are reproduced below.
Orlando appears to teach that reendothelialization occurs on cell vasculature in paragraph 0202, which would have motivated the skilled artisan to have applied anti-CD31 antibodies to blood vessels. The examiner notes that paragraph 0216 appears to teach failures of re-reendothelialization; however, these failures appear to have been solved by the teachings of Orlando and are not understood to be teaching away.
Orlando differs from the claimed invention because Orlando teaches anti-CD31 antibodies rather than the required anti-CD31 aptamers.
Hoffmann et al. (hereafter referred to as Hoffmann) is drawn to the use of DNA aptamers as attractors for endothelial precursor cells, as of Hoffmann, page 614, title and abstract. Hoffmann teaches that endothelial precursor cells have cell-specific markers such as CD31, as of Hoffmann, page 614, right column, bottom paragraph. Hoffmann thereby uses DNA aptamers against CD31, as of Hoffmann, page 616, right column, bottom paragraph. Hoffmann teaches the following as of page 620, left column, first paragraph in “Conclusion” section, relevant text reproduced below.
The examiner notes that anti-CD31 aptamer is an aptamer against endothelial precursor cells (abbreviated as “EPCs” above).
Hoffmann differs from the claimed invention because Hoffmann teaches coating a device with the anti-CD31 aptamer rather than coating blood vessels of a decellularized organ with the anti-CD31 aptamer.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the anti-CD31 aptamer of Hoffmann in place of the anti-CD31 antibody of Orlando in the method of Orlando. The method of Orlando entails treatment of the cell vasculature of a decellularized organ to promote reendothelialization. Hoffmann teaches that attachment of anti-CD31 aptamers promotes attachment of endothelial cells or precursors thereof. As such, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have substituted the anti-CD31 aptamer of Hoffmann in place of the anti-CD31 antibody to have predictably promoted the attachment of endothelial cells or precursors thereof with a reasonable expectation of success. The simple substitution of one known element (e.g. anti-CD31 aptamers of Hoffmann) in place of another (e.g. anti-CD31 antibodies of Orlando) in order to achieve predictable results (attachment of endothelial cells or precursors thereof, as taught by both Orlando and Hoffmann) is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationale B.
As to claim 21, the claim requires that the aptamer is used for coating blood vessels of a decellularized organ. Orlando appears to teach that reendothelialization occurs on cell vasculature in paragraph 0202, which would have motivated the skilled artisan to have applied anti-CD31 antibodies to blood vessels.
As to claim 22 steps (a) and (b), Orlando teaches decellularization of tissues and organs in multiple locations in the reference including but not limited to paragraphs 0045-0046. As to claim 22(c), Orlando teaches treating the decellularized organ with CD-31 antibodies, and the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have substituted anti-CD31 aptamers in place of the anti-CD31 antibodies, as explained above.
As to claim 23, Orlando teaches vascular endothelial cells as of paragraphs 0006, 0203, 0292, and claim 4 of Orlando. Orlando teaches a parenchymal cell source in paragraph 0309.
As to claim 24, Orlando teaches induced pluripotent stem cells that provide an autologous source for whole organ engineering, as of paragraph 0309. The examiner understands this to teach stem cells that differentiate into the type of cells used in the relevant organ.
As to claim 25, Orlando teaches induced pluripotent stem cells, as of paragraph 0309.
As to claim 26, Orlando appears to teach HLA genes removed in paragraph 0017.
As to claim 27, Hoffmann teaches an anti-CD31 aptamer, as of Hoffmann, page 616, right column, bottom paragraph.
Claim(s) 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orlando et al. (US 2015/0238656 A1) in view of Hoffmann et al. (Journal of Biomedical Materials Research Part A, Vol. 84A, 2008, pages 614-621), the combination further in view of Kim et al. (KR 20160133670 A).
As an initial matter, Kim et al. (KR 20160133670 A) is written in Korean. The examiner has provided an English language translation through Google Patents. This translation was obtained from https://patents.google.com/patent/KR20160133670A/en?oq=KR+20160133670A on 8 September 2026. All page and line citations are made to the translation unless otherwise noted, and the material cited therein is understood by the examiner to have been present in the original Korean document.
Orlando is drawn to treating decellularized organs with anti-CD31 antibodies to promote reendothelialization and formation of an artificial organ. Hoffmann is drawn to the use of CD31 aptamers for the attachment of endothelial cell precursors. See the rejection above over Orlando in view of Hoffmann.
None of the above references teach the sequence required by claim 28.
Kim et al. (hereafter referred to as Kim) is drawn to a CD31 aptamer, as of Kim, page 1, title and abstract, wherein said aptamer is specific for endothelial progenitor cells, as of Kim, title. Kim teaches the following, as of the last page of the original document, reproduced below with annotation by the examiner.
The portion of the above-reproduced sequence in the box drawn by the examiner would appear to read on the claimed sequence of Seq. ID #1, which is reproduced below.
Kim differs from the claimed invention because Kim does not teach producing an artificial organ.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have used the aptamer of Kim as the aptamer in the method of Hoffmann, whether by itself or in view of Orlando. Hoffmann is drawn to treatment of a material with an anti-CD31 aptamer for attachment of endothelial cells or progenitors thereof. Hoffmann appears to be silent regarding the genetic sequence of the aptamer. However, Kim teaches the genetic sequence of an aptamer used to attach to epithelial cells or progenitors thereof. As such, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to have used the aptamer of Kim as the anti-CD31 aptamer in the method of Hoffmann, by itself or in view of Orlando, for predictable attachment of endothelial cells or progenitors thereof with a reasonable expectation of success. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material (e.g. the aptamer of Kim) for incorporation into a composition (that used in the method of Orlando), based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (attachment to CD31 as well as being specific for endothelial progenitor cells). See MPEP 2144.07.
As to claim 28, the sequence of Kim is understood to read on the required sequence. See the explanation provided above.
As to claims 29-30, Kim and Hoffmann appear to be silent regarding the expression of integrin beta 3, phosphorylated Akt, and cleaved caspase-3. Nevertheless, the sequence of Kim appears to be the same as that required by the instant claims. As such, the skilled artisan would have expected that the sequence of Kim would have inherently increased the expression of integrin beta 3 and phosphorylated Akt, and decreased the expression of caspase-3 even though this feature was not taught by the prior art. Something which is old (e.g. the sequence of Kim) does not become patentable upon the discovery of a new property (that the sequence increases the expression of integrin beta 3 and phosphorylated Akt, and decreases the expression of caspase-3), and this feature need not have been recognized at the time of filing. See MPEP 2112(I & II), also see MPEP 2112.01(I & II).
Additionally as to claims 29-30, once a reference teaching a product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the examiner presents evidence or reasoning to show inherency, the burden of production shifts to the applicant. See MPEP 2112(V). In this case, the product of Seq. ID 3 of Kim appears to be substantially identical to the sequence recited by instant claim 28. These sequences are also being used in the same manner; namely, to promote attachment of endothelial cells or progenitors thereof. This would appear to be sufficient to shift the burden to applicant in accordance with the guidance in MPEP 2112(V).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
ISAAC . SHOMER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1612
/ISAAC SHOMER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612