DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to an application filed with the US on 02/03/2023 and having an Effective Filing Date of 08/07/2020, in which claims 1,3,5,7,16,19,23-25,27,29,32,34-37,39,41,51 and 53 are pending and ready for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 12 MAY 2023 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and has/have been considered. An initialed copy of Form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1,3,5,7,16,19,23-25,27,29,32,34-37,39,41,51 and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 16 and 51 recite the limitations “a polymer membrane film of coating”, “cylindrical polymer fibers”, “hexagonal packed cylinders” and “an H1 mesophase”, all of which conflict with the same terms as found in their respective independent claims (i.e. claims 1 and 37). Thus it is not clear if these refer to the same items as in claims 1 and 37. Further the limitations overall of claim 16 are already recited in claim 1 and the limitations overall of claim 51 are already recited in claim 37.
Claims 1, 16, 24, 37 and 51 recite the limitations of “the film” and/or “the film surface”, which lack clear antecedent basis, because claim 1 and 37 initially recite “to form a polymer membrane, film or coating” thus, forming of a film being in the alternative, thus it is not clear if the limitations to the film are also to the membrane or coating.
Claims 1, 3 and 16 recite the limitations “the polymerizable mesophase precursor” (singular), which are inconsistent with initial recitation of “at least one polymerizable mesophase precursor” (singular or plural) in the claim 1.
Claim 29 recites the limitations of “a film thickness”. This lacks antecedent basis, since independent claim 24 recites presence of a film only in the alternative
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 16, 19 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0071198 A1 (hereinafter “Brozell”) in view of Kaleem Abbas Asghar, et al., 2D hexagonal mesoporous platinum films exhibiting biaxial, in-plane pore alignment, J. Mater. Chem., 2012, 22, 13311-13317 (hereinafter “Asghar”), US 2012/0208004 Al (hereinafter “Wolcott”) and Gin, D.L., Bara, J.E., Noble, R.D. and Elliott, B.J. (2008), Polymerized Lyotropic Liquid Crystal Assemblies for Membrane Applications. Macromol. Rapid Commun., 29: 367-389. (hereinafter “Gin”).
Regarding Claim 1 and 23 Brozell discloses a method of producing a thin film composite membrane, and the thin film composite membrane thus produced, said method comprising the steps of:
providing a porous support layer [0011];
depositing a solution comprising at least one surfactant liquid crystal mesophase precursor on the porous support layer, wherein the solution has a water and/or solvent content [0011];
forming a mesophase on the porous support layer [0011];
stabilizing the mesophase precursor to form a stabilized surfactant membrane (i.e. also and film or coating) comprising cylindrical surfactant fibers at least partially ordered as hexagonal packed cylinders within the film, and present as an H1 mesophase ([0010]-[0011] and shown in Fig. 2A-D, wherein a hexagonal mesophase is known as an “H1 mesophase” and an inverse hexagonal phase in an “H2 mesophase”); and
wherein the cylinders are spatially arranged to provide channels between the cylinders for fluid flow through the thin film composite membrane; (Figs. 1B, 2A, 4, Abstract, [0010]-[0011], [0020], [0076], [0105], [0115], [0121]-[0122].
With regard to crosslinking, Brozell discloses "[s]urfactants can also be stabilized by polymerizing groups attached to the surfactants . For example, surfactants comprising epoxy groups can be crosslinked to stabilize the mesostructure" [0121].
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Brozell by attaching polymerizing groups to the surfactants and polymerizing them by crosslinking, in order to stabilize the mesostructure and thus forming a polymer membrane with polymer fibers.
Thus this involves using a polymerizable mesophase precursor and polymerizing and crosslinking the mesophase precursor as claimed, wherein the crosslinking would be expected to occur between all touching surfactants, which one would reasonably expect to inherently result in wherein the cylinders are crosslinked internally within the cylinders, as claimed, because the cylinders are formed by the polymerizable surfactants. See MPEP 2112.01.
Brozell does not disclose (1) an adjacent layer which is removed, or (2) that the cylinders are aligned parallel to the film surface.
However, with regard to (1) an adjacent layer which is removed after forming the polymer membrane, Wolcott discloses a means of forming a composite membrane, wherein a sacrificial blocking layer is applied to a porous substrate, and then a permeable membrane layer (which may be a polymeric film) is applied on said sacrificial blocking layer, and then the sacrificial blocking layer is removed when the membrane layer has cured, wherein the sacrificial layer prevents the polymeric film of the permeable membrane layer from otherwise seeping into the pores of the substrate before the membrane layer has cured; [0020]-[0021], [0036]-[0043]; Figs. 1(a)-(d).
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Brozell by forming an adjacent sacrificial blocking layer on the porous support layer, and then forming the mesophase layer on the adjacent layer, then removing the adjacent layer once the mesophase layer is cured/stabilized as disclosed by Wolcott because this prevents the mesophase layer from seeping into the pores of the porous support layer before it is cured.
With regard to (2) the cylinders being aligned parallel to the film surface and present as an H1 mesophase, Asghar discloses a similar invention for hexagonally packed cylinder structures formed by liquid crystal surfactants on a substrate (Abstract), wherein the cylinders are aligned parallel to the film surface and are present as an H1 phase.(Fig 3 with caption "method of shear alignment of a hexagonal (H1) templating phase"; see Figs. 3 and 7 that shows that the cylinders are aligned parallel to the substrate). See Abstract, Introduction, pg. 13314, Conclusions.
Further, Gin discloses polymerized (i.e. crosslinked) lyotropic liquid crystal (i.e. surfactant) assemblies for membrane applications (Title, LLCs and LLC Phases: An Overview), wherein “[c]ross-linking of LLC assemblies using polymerizable analogs of LLC mesogens provides a convenient method for stabilizing LLC phases for materials applications” and discloses that it is known to use membranes with hexagonal mesophases arranged parallel to the fluid flow, where the parallel direction provided different filtration effects by impeding gas diffusion (Fig. 7, The Use of a Cross-Linked LLC Network as a Gas Separation Membrane).
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method and membrane of Brozell in view of Wolcott by aligning the cylinders parallel to the film surface and present as an H1 mesophase (i.e. via shear force) as disclosed by Asghar and Gin using shear force alignment as disclosed by Asghar because this is a known alternative arrangement of surfactant formed cylinders used to create pores in similar membranes and “[f]ilms with such aligned mesoporosity will advance the field of nanotechnology where the control of pore structure is paramount” (Asghar Abstract) and in order to test effects on filtration fluid flow and separation.
Regarding Claim 3 Brozell in view of Wolcott, Asghar and Gin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the polymerizable mesophase precursor may be cetrimonium bromide (CTAB), Brozell [0117], which has the structure
, and as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1, it may be modified to include a polymerizable epoxy group, which would be obvious to include on, or substitute for, one of its alky side chains, and thus said CTAB with an attached epoxy group comprises a polymerizable surfactant of the formula [Z-N+(R1)(R2)(R3)]X-, wherein Z comprises a polymerizable group; X is a salt counter anion; R1, R2, and R3 are alkyl groups which are bound to N and independently may be the same or different; and at least one ofR1, R2, and R3 is an alkyl group comprising at least IO carbon atoms, as claimed, where Z is epoxy, X is Br, R1, R2 and R3 are alkyl groups, one of which has 16 carbons.
Regarding Claim 5 Brozell in view of Wolcott, Asghar and Gin discloses the method of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the solution further comprises a photoinitiator.
However Gin discloses polymerized (i.e. crosslinked) lyotropic liquid crystal (i.e. surfactant) assemblies for membrane applications (Title, LLCs and LLC Phases: An Overview), wherein “[c]ross-linking of LLC assemblies using polymerizable analogs of LLC mesogens provides a convenient method for stabilizing LLC phases for materials applications” and that “photoinitiated radical polymerization is currently the preferred method[22,23] because photopolymerization allows for rapid initiation at specific temperatures that can be used to favor formation of certain LLC phases” (pg. 373, Polymerization of LLC Phases with Retention of Phase Microstructure), and where specifically a photoinitiator is used in the surfactant LLC mesophase solution (pg. 379, left column, pg. 380 right column, Tables 3-4).
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Brozell in view of Wolcott and Asghar by including a photoinitiator in the mesophase precursor solution as disclosed by Gin in order to crosslink and polymer the polymerizable mesophase precursor to stabilize the membrane because photopolymerization allows for rapid initiation at specific temperatures that can be used to favor formation of certain LLC phases.
Regarding Claim 7 Brozell in view of Wolcott, Asghar and Gin discloses the method of claim l, wherein Gin discloses using 1.5% photoinitiator (pg. 379, Table 3), 0.9% (Table 4), and 0.6 (pg. 385), and so these would have been obvious amounts of photoinitiator to use.
Regarding Claim 16 Brozell in view of Wolcott, Asghar and Gin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the step of polymerizing and crosslinking the polymerizable mesophase precursor forms a polymer membrane, film or coating comprising cylindrical polymer fibers at least partially ordered as hexagonal packed cylinders within the film, at least a portion of which are aligned parallel to the film surface, and present as an H1 mesophase; wherein the cylinders are crosslinked internally within the cylinders; as discussed supra in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 19 Brozell in view of Wolcott, Asghar and Gin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the adjacent layer is a sacrificial layer (supra), and may be polyvinyl alcohol, Wolcott [0018] which is dissolve away using warm deionized water [0041].
Claims 24-25, 27, 29, 32, 34-37, 39, 41, 51 and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brozell in view of Asghar and Gin.
Regarding Claim 24 and 34 Brozell discloses a thin film composite membrane comprising: (i) the polymer membrane (i.e. which can be considered a film or coating); and (ii) a porous support layer in contact with the polymer membrane;
said polymer membrane comprising
a layer having a first surface, a second surface and a film thickness therebetween, and comprising cylindrical polymer fibers at least partially ordered as hexagonal packed cylinders within the film, aligned perpendicular to the film surface, and present as an H1 mesophase (shown in Fig. 2A-D, wherein a hexagonal mesophase is known as an H1 mesophase and an inverse hexagonal phase in an H2 mesophase);
wherein the cylinders are spatially arranged to provide channels between the cylinders for fluid flow through the membrane (film or coating);
See Figs. 1B, 2A, 4, Abstract, [0010]-[0011], [0020], [0076], [0105], [0115], [0121]-[0122].
With regard to crosslinking, Brozell discloses "[s]urfactants can also be stabilized by polymerizing groups attached to the surfactants . For example, surfactants comprising epoxy groups can be crosslinked to stabilize the mesostructure" [0121].
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the membrane of Brozell by forming it by attaching polymerizing groups to the surfactants and polymerizing them by crosslinking, in order to stabilize the mesostructured.
Thus this involves using a polymerizable mesophase precursor and polymerizing and crosslinking the mesophase precursor as claimed, wherein the crosslinking would be expected to occur between all touching surfactants, which one would reasonably expect to inherently result in wherein the cylinders are crosslinked internally within the cylinders, as claimed, because the cylinders are formed by the polymerizable surfactants. See MPEP 2112.01.
Brozell does not disclose that the cylinders are aligned parallel to the film surface.
With regard to the cylinders being aligned parallel to the film surface and present as an H1 mesophase, Asghar discloses a similar invention for hexagonally packed cylinder structures formed by liquid crystal surfactants on a substrate (Abstract), wherein the cylinders are aligned parallel to the film surface and are present as an H1 phase.(Fig 3 with caption "method of shear alignment of a hexagonal (H1) templating phase"; see Figs. 3 and 7 that shows that the cylinders are aligned parallel to the substrate). See Abstract, Introduction, pg. 13314, Conclusions.
Further, Gin discloses polymerized (i.e. crosslinked) lyotropic liquid crystal (i.e. surfactant) assemblies for membrane applications (Title, LLCs and LLC Phases: An Overview), wherein “[c]ross-linking of LLC assemblies using polymerizable analogs of LLC mesogens provides a convenient method for stabilizing LLC phases for materials applications” and discloses that it is known to use membranes with hexagonal mesophases arranged parallel to the fluid flow, where the parallel direction provided different filtration effects by impeding gas diffusion (Fig. 7, The Use of a Cross-Linked LLC Network as a Gas Separation Membrane).
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the membrane of Brozell by aligning the cylinders parallel to the film surface and present as an H1 mesophase (i.e. via shear force) as disclosed by Asghar and Gin using shear force alignment as disclosed by Asghar because this is a known alternative arrangement of surfactant formed cylinders used to create pores in similar membranes and “[f]ilms with such aligned mesoporosity will advance the field of nanotechnology where the control of pore structure is paramount” (Asghar Abstract) and in order to test effects on filtration fluid flow and separation.
Regarding Claim 25 Brozell in view of Asghar and Gin discloses the polymer membrane, film or coating of claim 24 wherein the stabilized surfactant mesostructure has a pore size (i.e. considered to be a critical separation dimension, channels between the cylinders) of 0.3 Angstrom to 4 nm, Brozell [0010], i.e. for fluids or fluid/solute mixtures passing through the polymer membrane, film or coating, and wherein Brozell shows the fluid path of the molecules is between the surfactants (Figs. 2A-D, [0115]), and therefore this pore size would apply to separation distance of the between channels between the cylinders in the membrane of Brozell in view of Asghar.
Since the range disclosed overlaps the range claimed, the range recited in the claim is considered prima facie obvious. Overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the portion of the disclosed range that corresponds to the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding Claim 27 Brozell in view of Asghar and Gin discloses the polymer membrane, film or coating of claim 24, wherein the cylindrical polymer fibers comprise a polymerizable surfactant which may be cetrimonium bromide (CTAB), Brozell [0117], which has the structure
, and as discussed above in the rejection of claim 24, it may be modified to include a polymerizable epoxy group, which would be obvious to include on, or substitute for, one of its alky side chains, and thus said CTAB with an attached epoxy group comprises a polymerizable surfactant of the formula [Z-N+(R1)(R2)(R3)]X-, wherein Z comprises a polymerizable group; X is a salt counter anion; R1, R2, and R3 are alkyl groups which are bound to N and independently may be the same or different; and at least one ofR1, R2, and R3 is an alkyl group comprising at least IO carbon atoms, as claimed, where Z is epoxy, X is Br, R1, R2 and R3 are alkyl groups, one of which has 16 carbons.
Regarding Claim 29 Brozell in view of Asghar and Gin discloses the polymer membrane, film or coating of claim 24, having a film thickness less than or equal to 10 microns, Brozell [0079].
Since the range disclosed overlaps the range claimed, the range recited in the claim is considered prima facie obvious. Overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the portion of the disclosed range that corresponds to the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding Claim 32 Brozell in view of Asghar and Gin discloses the polymer membrane, film or coating of claim 24, wherein polymerizable groups are provided attached the surfactant then crosslinked (as discussed supra in the rejection of claim 1), therefore the crosslinking would be expected to occur between all touching surfactants, which one would reasonably expect to inherently result in wherein the cylinders are crosslinked internally within the cylinders and wherein intercylinder crosslinking also exists to connect neighboring cylindrical polymer fibers as claimed. See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding Claim 35 Brozell in view of Asghar and Gin discloses the thin film composite membrane of claim 34, wherein the porous support layer is polyacrylonitrile, polyvinylidene fluoride, or polysulfone; Brozell [0015], Claim 14.
Regarding Claim 36 Brozell in view of Asghar and Gin discloses the thin film composite membrane of claim 34, which may be used in separation devices (Abstract, [0013], [0115]), has a pores size of 0.3 Angstrom to 4 nm, Brozell [0010], and may comprise a nanofiltration membrane [0015]. Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the thin film composite membrane of Brozell in view of Asghar and Gin (i.e. claim 34), in a nanofiltration device in order to use the thin film composite membrane for nanofiltration separations.
Regarding Claim 37 and 53 Brozell discloses a method of producing a thin film composite membrane, and the thin film composite membrane thus formed, said method comprising the steps of:
providing a porous support layer [0011];
depositing a mesophase gel on the porous support layer wherein the mesophase gel comprises a mesophase precursor, [0011], (wherein the surfactant mesophase solution may be a gel) [0097]; and
stabilizing the mesophase precursor to form a stabilized surfactant membrane (i.e. a film or coating) comprising cylindrical surfactant fibers at least partially ordered as hexagonal packed cylinders within the film, and present as an H1 mesophase (shown in Fig. 2A-D, wherein a hexagonal mesophase is known as an “H1 mesophase” and an inverse hexagonal phase in an “H2 mesophase”);
and wherein the cylinders are spatially arranged to provide channels between the cylinders for fluid flow through the thin film composite membrane;
See Figs. 1B, 2A-D, 4, Abstract, [0010]-[0011], [0020], [0076], [0105], [0115], [0121]-[0122].
With regard to crosslinking, Brozell discloses "[s]urfactants can also be stabilized by polymerizing groups attached to the surfactants . For example, surfactants comprising epoxy groups can be crosslinked to stabilize the mesostructure" [0121].
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Brozell by attaching polymerizing groups to the surfactants and polymerizing them by crosslinking, in order to stabilize the mesostructure and thus forming a polymer membrane with polymer fibers.
Thus this involves using a polymerizable mesophase precursor and polymerizing and crosslinking the mesophase precursor as claimed, wherein the crosslinking would be expected to occur between all touching surfactants, which one would reasonably expect to inherently result in wherein the cylinders are crosslinked internally within the cylinders, as claimed, because the cylinders are formed by the polymerizable surfactants. See MPEP 2112.01.
Brozell does not disclose that the cylinders are aligned parallel to the film surface.
With regard to the cylinders being aligned parallel to the film surface and present as an H1 mesophase, Asghar discloses a similar invention for hexagonally packed cylinder structures formed by liquid crystal surfactants on a substrate (Abstract), wherein the cylinders are aligned parallel to the film surface and are present as an H1 phase.(Fig 3 with caption "method of shear alignment of a hexagonal (H1) templating phase"; see Figs. 3 and 7 that shows that the cylinders are aligned parallel to the substrate). See Abstract, Introduction, pg. 13314, Conclusions.
Further, Gin discloses polymerized (i.e. crosslinked) lyotropic liquid crystal (i.e. surfactant) assemblies for membrane applications (Title, LLCs and LLC Phases: An Overview), wherein “[c]ross-linking of LLC assemblies using polymerizable analogs of LLC mesogens provides a convenient method for stabilizing LLC phases for materials applications” and discloses that it is known to use membranes with hexagonal mesophases arranged parallel to the fluid flow, where the parallel direction provided different filtration effects by impeding gas diffusion (Fig. 7, The Use of a Cross-Linked LLC Network as a Gas Separation Membrane).
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method and membrane of Brozell by aligning the cylinders parallel to the film surface and present as an H1 mesophase (i.e. via shear force) as disclosed by Asghar and Gin using shear force alignment as disclosed by Asghar because this is a known alternative arrangement of surfactant formed cylinders used to create pores in similar membranes and “[f]ilms with such aligned mesoporosity will advance the field of nanotechnology where the control of pore structure is paramount” (Asghar Abstract) and in order to test effects on filtration fluid flow and separation.
Regarding Claim 39 Brozell in view of Asghar and Gin discloses the method of claim 37, wherein the polymerizable mesophase precursor may be cetrimonium bromide (CTAB), Brozell [0117], which has the structure
, and as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1, it may be modified to include a polymerizable epoxy group, which would be obvious to include on, or substitute for, one of its alky side chains, and thus said CTAB with an attached epoxy group comprises a polymerizable surfactant of the formula [Z-N+(R1)(R2)(R3)]X-, wherein Z comprises a polymerizable group; X is a salt counter anion; R1, R2, and R3 are alkyl groups which are bound to N and independently may be the same or different; and at least one ofR1, R2, and R3 is an alkyl group comprising at least IO carbon atoms, as claimed, where Z is epoxy, X is Br, R1, R2 and R3 are alkyl groups, one of which has 16 carbons.
Regarding Claim 41 Brozell in view of Asghar and Gin discloses the method of claim 37, but does not disclose wherein the mesophase gel further comprises a photoinitiator.
However Gin discloses polymerized (i.e. crosslinked) lyotropic liquid crystal (i.e. surfactant) assemblies for membrane applications (Title, LLCs and LLC Phases: An Overview), wherein “[c]ross-linking of LLC assemblies using polymerizable analogs of LLC mesogens provides a convenient method for stabilizing LLC phases for materials applications” and that “photoinitiated radical polymerization is currently the preferred method[22,23] because photopolymerization allows for rapid initiation at specific temperatures that can be used to favor formation of certain LLC phases” (pg. 373, Polymerization of LLC Phases with Retention of Phase Microstructure), and where specifically a photoinitiator is used in the surfactant LLC mesophase solution (pg. 379, left column, pg. 380 right column, Tables 3-4).
Therefore, before the effective filing date, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Brozell in view of Asghar and Gin by including a photoinitiator in the mesophase gel as disclosed by Gin in order to crosslink and polymer the polymerizable mesophase precursor to stabilize the membrane because photopolymerization allows for rapid initiation at specific temperatures that can be used to favor formation of certain LLC phases.
Regarding Claim 51 Brozell in view of Asghar and Gin discloses the method of claim 37, wherein the step of polymerizing and crosslinking the polymerizable mesophase precursor forms a polymer membrane, film or coating comprising cylindrical polymer fibers at least partially ordered as hexagonal packed cylinders within the film, aligned parallel to the film surface, and present as an H1 mesophase; as discussed supra in the rejection of claim 37.
Conclusion
/ERIC J MCCULLOUGH/ Examiner, Art Unit 1773
/BENJAMIN L LEBRON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1773