Detailed Action
1. This office action is in response to communication filed April 8, 2026. Claims 1, 3-8, 10, 12, 14-21, 23 and 25-26 are currently pending and claims 1, 12, and 23 are the independent claims.
Response to Amendment
3. This Non-Final Office Action is in response to the applicant’s remarks and arguments filed April 8, 2026.
Claims 1, 12, and 23 are amended. Claims 2, 9, 11, 13, 22, and 24 are cancelled. No claims are new. Claims 1, 3-8, 10, 12, 14-21, 23 and 25-26 remain pending in the application. Claims 3-8, 10, 14-21, and 25-26 filed on October 17, 2025 are being considered on the merits along with amended claims 1, 12, and 23.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed April 8, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 3-8, 10, 12, 14-21, 23 and 25-26 under 35 U.S.C. 112, 35 U.S.C. 101, and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. 103 in section 6 below. Additionally, the Examiner has included a claim objection for independent claim 1 that can be seen in section 5 below.
In the Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 112 Section on pages 10-15, the Attorney remarks that the Examiner is incorrect in submitting independent claims 1, 12, and 23, as well as all dependent claims that depend thereupon, not being in compliance with 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
The Examiner respectfully agrees with the Attorney on the claim limitations being in compliance with 35 U.S.C. 112(b) following further amendment to the independent claims. The Examiner appreciates the thorough explanation set forth by the Attorney and has withdrawn the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 in this Office Action.
In the Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 101 Section on pages 15-21, the Attorney traverses the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 under reasonings that the claims recite specific technology that cannot be performed mentally, the claims recite automatic operation, not mental steps, and the claims integrate any alleged abstract idea into a practical application.
The Examiner respectfully agrees with the Attorney and appreciates the thorough explanation set forth by the Attorney. As such, the Examiner has withdrawn the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 in this Office Action.
In the Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103 Section on pages 21-28, the Attorney remarks that the Examiner fails to render obvious the pending claims because the combinations of the prior art references fail to clearly disclose automatically starting a target app based on a relative location relationship.
The Examiner respectfully agrees with the Attorney that the previous combinations of the prior art references fail to clearly disclose starting a target app based on a relative location relationship. As such, the Examiner has performed a further search ahead of submitting this Office Action and has provided an updated rejection to the independent claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dearman (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0234925) in view of Yim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0110012) and Stekkelpak et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0188989). The amendments to claim 1 focus the invention on automatically starting a target application on a user device based on a relative location relationship. The Examiner has updated the rejection to include Yim and Stekkelpak to disclose the concepts of Ultra Wideband (UWB) positioning sensors, relative location relationships based on different location areas, and an app other than a file transfer app for when the devices are very close in proximity. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Attorney following amendment to the independent claims and updating of the rejections with new prior art. As such, the Examiner will not withdraw the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Claim Objections
5. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The first limitation of the independent method claim recites “detecting, by one or more sensors comprising Ultra Wideband (UWB) positioning sensors configured to wirelessly communicate with a second device of the first device …” which does not clearly disclose the relationship between the first device and the sensors. The Examiner suggests amending the claim to state “detecting, by one or more sensors of the first device comprising Ultra Wideband (UWB) positioning sensors configured to wirelessly communicate with a second device …” as this more clearly links the relationship between the sensors and the first device.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1, 3-4, 8, 10, 12, 14-15, 19-21, 23, 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dearman (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0234925) in view of Yim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0110012) – hereinafter “Yim” and Stekkelpak et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0188989) – hereinafter “Stekkelpak”.
Regarding independent claim 1, Dearman discloses:
A method implemented by a first device, wherein the method comprises:
detecting … location relationship information that identifies a relative location relationship between the first device and a second device, (Fig. 2 block 32, Fig. 5 block 52, Fig. 8 block 60, and [0049] “By way of example of an operation that may be performed in accordance with an example embodiment to the present invention, reference is now made to FIG. 8. As shown in block 60, the apparatus 10 may include means, such as the processor 12, the sensor(s) 22 or the like, for determining the non-overlapping position of the second device relative to the first device, such as described above in conjunction with block 32 of FIG. 2 and block 52 of FIG. 5.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the non-overlapping position of the second device relative to the first device is determined by a multitude of sensors.
wherein a plane on which a screen of the second device is located in an XOY plane … (Fig. 3 and [0037] “In some embodiments, the apparatus 10, such as the processor 12, the sensor(s) 22 or the like, may be configured to determine the distance to the other devices during the determination of the non-overlapping position of the second device relative to the first device.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the distance between devices is determined in the XOY plane.
automatically starting, in response to detecting the location relationship information, a target application (app) on the first device based on the relative location relationship, ([0040] “As shown in block 34 of FIG. 2, the apparatus 10 may also include means, such as the processor 12 or the like, for performing an operation based at least partially upon the position of the second device relative to the first device. Thus, the apparatus, such as the processor, may be configured to perform a first operation in response to the first and second devices having a first relative position, a second operation in response to the first and second devices having a second relative position, etc. The apparatus, such as the processor, may be configured to perform various types of operations including execution of an application, presentation of a predefined display, performance a particular function, such as the answering of a voice call or the forwarding of a voice call to voicemail or to another party, the opening of a file, the playing of a media file or the like.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the execution of an application can be performed based on the relative position of the first and second devices.
wherein the target app is:
the file transfer app when the relative location relationship is a second relative location relationship, wherein the second relative location relationship comprises that the Z-axis distance is greater than the distance threshold, such that the first device and the second device are not on the same plane. ([0040] “As shown in block 34 of FIG. 2, the apparatus 10 may also include means, such as the processor 12 or the like, for performing an operation based at least partially upon the position of the second device relative to the first device. Thus, the apparatus, such as the processor, may be configured to perform a first operation in response to the first and second devices having a first relative position, a second operation in response to the first and second devices having a second relative position, etc. The apparatus, such as the processor, may be configured to perform various types of operations including execution of an application, presentation of a predefined display, performance a particular function, such as the answering of a voice call or the forwarding of a voice call to voicemail or to another party, the opening of a file, the playing of a media file or the like.” and [0041] “In one embodiment, for example, the performance of the operation may include the transfer of a file to the second device for execution thereon, such as the transfer of a media file from the first device to the second device such that the media file may be played by the second device.” and [0044] “As shown in FIG. 6, the movement that is detected may be movement of a second device that causes the second device to overlie a portion of the first device during the movement event. For example, the movement that is detected in one embodiment may be movement of a second device that causes the second device to overlie the display of the first device during the movement event, while the movement that is detected in another embodiment may be movement of the second device that causes the second device to overlie the user interface of the first device, e.g., the display and the keypad in the embodiment of FIG. 6.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the mobile device that moves over top the laptop has the ability to transfer media files from one device to another and can do this while moving over top of the laptop at a predetermined distance while not being on the same plane as the laptop.
Dearman does not explicitly disclose:
detecting, by one or more sensors comprising Ultra Wideband (UWB) positioning sensors configured to wirelessly communicate with a second device of the first device … … and wherein the relative location relationship comprises different location areas divided based on a distance between the first device and the second device in a spatial coordinate system and an included angle between the first device and the second device in the spatial coordinate system; and a first app other than a file transfer app when the relative location relationship is a first relative location relationship, wherein the first relative location relationship comprises that a Z-axis distance between the first device and the second device is less than or equal to a distance threshold, such that the first device and the second device are on the same plane;
However, Yim discloses:
detecting, by one or more sensors comprising Ultra Wideband (UWB) positioning sensors configured to wirelessly communicate with a second device of the first device … ([0057] “The short-range communication module 114 may support short-range communication by using at least one of Bluetooth™, Radio Frequency Identification (RFID), Infrared Data Association (IrDA), Ultra Wideband (UWB), ZigBee, Near Field Communication (NFC), Wireless-Fidelity (Wi-Fi), Wi-Fi Direct, and Wireless Universal Serial Bus (USB) technologies. The short-range communication module 114 may support wireless communication between the watch type device 100 and a wireless communication system, between the watch type device 100 and another watch type device 100 or between networks including the watch type device 100 and another watch type device 100 (or an external server) through wireless area networks.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the sensors within devices including watches provide short-range wireless communication.
a first app other than a file transfer app when the relative location relationship is a first relative location relationship, wherein the first relative location relationship comprises that a Z-axis distance between the first device and the second device is less than or equal to a distance threshold, such that the first device and the second device are on the same plane; (Figs. 6-8 and [0108] “That is, a device that detects vibration together with a swing movement (for example, an acceleration signal) can be set as a main device and a device that detects only vibration can be set as a sub device. For example, for the user gesture shown in FIG. 6, the second terminal 300 detects a swing movement and a vibration when it contacts a hand, and the first terminal 100 detects only a vibration due to the swinging second terminal 300 contacting the hand.” and [0114] “For example, as shown in FIG. 7, a music application is being executed on the second terminal 300 and a music main UI 301 relating to music application playback and setting is displayed on the screen. Then, the screen of the first terminal 100 can be in an off or lock state. In such a case, when vibration is applied to the second terminal 300 by swinging and contacting a hand wearing the first terminal 100, all or part of operations of a music application being executed on the second terminal 300 can be transferred to the first terminal 100.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the user gesture brings the two devices next to each other on the same plane and causes the music application to open on the user’s device.
Yim and Dearman are in the same field of endeavor as they both relate to the wireless communication between handheld devices art and, therefore, are combinable/modifiable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add detecting, by one or more sensors comprising Ultra Wideband (UWB) positioning sensors configured to wirelessly communicate with a second device of the first device and a first app other than a file transfer app when the relative location relationship is a first relative location relationship, wherein the first relative location relationship comprises that a Z-axis distance between the first device and the second device is less than or equal to a distance threshold, such that the first device and the second device are on the same plane as seen in Yim’s invention into Dearman’s invention because these modifications allow simple substitution of both wireless communication handling and application options for additional use cases of sensor detection and for processes/applications to obtain predictable results besides just file transferring between devices.
In addition, Stekkelpak discloses:
… and wherein the relative location relationship comprises different location areas divided based on a distance between the first device and the second device in a spatial coordinate system and an included angle between the first device and the second device in the spatial coordinate system; ([0012] “At step 110, the presence and location of a plurality of target devices in proximity to a user device may be detected. The plurality of target devices may be devices with which a user wants to share content. Presence may be detected using Bluetooth, NFC, IEEE 802.11a, b, g, n and the like, such as Wi-Fi, or any suitable communication medium or protocol, such as X-10, Zigbee, Z-wave or the like. For example, using Bluetooth or NFC, a source device or controller may establish a connection with each of the plurality of target devices and by analyzing the signal strength from the Bluetooth or NFC signal may determine the proximity or a location of each of the target devices with respect to the user device. Location may be an absolute location, a relative location or a combination of both. An absolute location may be determined using global positioning satellite (GPS) systems or another similar system (e.g., cellular or Wi-Fi triangulation technology).”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the absolute location relationship between two devices is determined based upon GPS systems or Wi-Fi triangulation technology to determine the exact location relationship in comparison to the user device.
Stekkelpak, Yim, and Dearman are all in the same field of endeavor as they all relate to the wireless communication between handheld devices art and, therefore, are combinable/modifiable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the relative location relationship comprises different location areas divided based on a distance between the first device and the second device in a spatial coordinate system and an included angle between the first device and the second device in the spatial coordinate system as seen in Stekkelpak's invention into Yim's and Dearman’s invention because these modifications allow the use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way such that the location relationship of multiple devices is useful to perform tasks on a user device such as opening certain applications depending on the user device’s location.
Regarding claim 3, Dearman discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first relative location relationship further comprises that the first device approaches the second device from a short side of the second device, and wherein the target app comprises:
a screen extension app; or
a mouse app. (Fig. 3 and Fig. 4 and [0040] “As shown in block 34 of FIG. 2, the apparatus 10 may also include means, such as the processor 12 or the like, for performing an operation based at least partially upon the position of the second device relative to the first device. Thus, the apparatus, such as the processor, may be configured to perform a first operation in response to the first and second devices having a first relative position, a second operation in response to the first and second devices having a second relative position, etc. The apparatus, such as the processor, may be configured to perform various types of operations including execution of an application, presentation of a predefined display, performance a particular function, such as the answering of a voice call or the forwarding of a voice call to voicemail or to another party, the opening of a file, the playing of a media file or the like.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the presentation of a predefined display and execution of an application can occur based on the position of the second device relative to the first device so a screen extension or projection app can be shown on the mobile device. Additionally, Figs. 3 and 4 show the mobile device on either side of the laptop’s “short” sides.
Regarding claim 4, Dearman discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first relative location relationship further comprises that the first device approaches the second device from a long side of the second device (Fig. 6 and Fig. 7 and [0040] “As shown in block 34 of FIG. 2, the apparatus 10 may also include means, such as the processor 12 or the like, for performing an operation based at least partially upon the position of the second device relative to the first device. Thus, the apparatus, such as the processor, may be configured to perform a first operation in response to the first and second devices having a first relative position, a second operation in response to the first and second devices having a second relative position, etc. The apparatus, such as the processor, may be configured to perform various types of operations including execution of an application, presentation of a predefined display, performance a particular function, such as the answering of a voice call or the forwarding of a voice call to voicemail or to another party, the opening of a file, the playing of a media file or the like.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the execution of an application can occur based on the position of the second device relative to the first device. Additionally, Figs. 6 and 7 show the mobile device moving across the laptop so an app could be launched when closer to the “long” sides of the laptop.)
Dearman does not explicitly disclose:
and wherein the target app comprises a keyboard app.
However, Yim discloses:
and wherein the target app comprises a keyboard app. ([0171-0172] “FIGS. 33 and 34 are views illustrating operations of a first terminal and a second terminal according to another embodiment of the present disclosure. The embodiment shown in FIGS. 33 and 34 is a case that the above-mentioned third user gesture is input. When a notification is received through the first terminal 100 worn on a user's wrist and a corresponding notification is a message reception through a messenger application, all or part of corresponding message content can be displayed on the screen of the first terminal 100. Then, when a user wants to reply to the received message, as applying or shaking the second terminal 300 in a state of gripping the second terminal 300, all or part of operations of an application being executed on the first terminal 100 can be transferred to the second terminal 300. Through such an application operation transfer, an operation of a messenger application performed by the first terminal 100 is transferred to the second terminal 300, and together with a corresponding messenger application executed on the second terminal 300, a virtual keyboard 631 for message reply can be displayed on the second terminal 300.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the virtual keyboard is opened on the second terminal 300 when shaking the second terminal 300 in a state of gripping the second terminal 300 and transfers the operation of a messenger application from first terminal 100.
Yim and Dearman are in the same field of endeavor as they both relate to the wireless communication between handheld devices art and, therefore, are combinable/modifiable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the target app comprises a keyboard app as seen in Yim’s invention into Dearman's invention allow simple substitution of application options for additional use cases for processes/applications to obtain predictable results like a virtual keyboard app for inputting information on top of the physical keypad that is shown in the mobile device of Dearman’s invention.
Regarding claim 8, Dearman discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
obtaining indication information from a user, wherein the indication information indicates a correspondence between the relative location relationship and the target app; and ([0005] “A method, apparatus and computer program product are therefore provided in accordance with an example embodiment of the present invention in order to facilitate the provision of user input intended to cause an operation to be performed. In this regard, the method, apparatus and computer program product of an example embodiment may cause an operation to be performed by a first device based upon the relative positions of the first device and a second device. As such, a user may provide input with respect to the performance of an operation in accordance with an example embodiment to the present invention by positioning the first and second devices and without having to enter keystrokes or touch input. In some embodiments, the method, apparatus and computer program product may cause the performance of an operation based upon the relative positions of two or more devices in a manner that is intuitive and, therefore, potentially more memorable for the user.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the user can provide input of an operation to perform in accordance with positioning of two devices.
further starting the target app based on the indication information. ([0040] “As shown in block 34 of FIG. 2, the apparatus 10 may also include means, such as the processor 12 or the like, for performing an operation based at least partially upon the position of the second device relative to the first device. Thus, the apparatus, such as the processor, may be configured to perform a first operation in response to the first and second devices having a first relative position, a second operation in response to the first and second devices having a second relative position, etc. The apparatus, such as the processor, may be configured to perform various types of operations including execution of an application, presentation of a predefined display, performance a particular function, such as the answering of a voice call or the forwarding of a voice call to voicemail or to another party, the opening of a file, the playing of a media file or the like.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the user’s provided input can cause the execution of an application performed based on the relative position of the first and second devices.
Regarding claim 10, Dearman discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising further starting the target app based on a second relative location relationship between the first device and a third device. (Fig. 3 showing mobile device 42 closer to laptop 40 than mobile device 421 and [0040] “As shown in block 34 of FIG. 2, the apparatus 10 may also include means, such as the processor 12 or the like, for performing an operation based at least partially upon the position of the second device relative to the first device. Thus, the apparatus, such as the processor, may be configured to perform a first operation in response to the first and second devices having a first relative position, a second operation in response to the first and second devices having a second relative position, etc. The apparatus, such as the processor, may be configured to perform various types of operations including execution of an application, presentation of a predefined display, performance a particular function, such as the answering of a voice call or the forwarding of a voice call to voicemail or to another party, the opening of a file, the playing of a media file or the like.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the execution of an application can be performed based on the relative position of the first and third devices (laptop 40, mobile device 42, and mobile device 421 representing three devices).
Regarding claims 12 and 16-19 and 21, they are first device claims having the same limitations as cited in method claims 1, 5-8, and 10, respectively. Thus, claims 12 and 16-19 and 21 are also rejected under the same rationale as addressed in the rejections of claims 1, 5-8, and 10 above, respectively.
Regarding claim 14, Dearman discloses the first device of claim 12, wherein the second device comprises a long side and a short side, wherein the first relative location relationship further comprises that the first device approaches the second device from the short side, and wherein the target app comprises a projection app. (Fig. 3 and Fig. 4 and [0040] “As shown in block 34 of FIG. 2, the apparatus 10 may also include means, such as the processor 12 or the like, for performing an operation based at least partially upon the position of the second device relative to the first device. Thus, the apparatus, such as the processor, may be configured to perform a first operation in response to the first and second devices having a first relative position, a second operation in response to the first and second devices having a second relative position, etc. The apparatus, such as the processor, may be configured to perform various types of operations including execution of an application, presentation of a predefined display, performance a particular function, such as the answering of a voice call or the forwarding of a voice call to voicemail or to another party, the opening of a file, the playing of a media file or the like.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the presentation of a predefined display and execution of an application can occur based on the position of the second device relative to the first device so a projection app can be shown on the mobile device. Additionally, Figs. 3 and 4 show the mobile device on either side of the laptop’s “short” sides.
Regarding claim 15, Dearman discloses the first device of claim 12, wherein the second device comprises a long side and a short side, wherein the first relative location relationship further comprises that the first device approaches the second device from the long side … (Fig. 6 and Fig. 7 and [0040] “As shown in block 34 of FIG. 2, the apparatus 10 may also include means, such as the processor 12 or the like, for performing an operation based at least partially upon the position of the second device relative to the first device. Thus, the apparatus, such as the processor, may be configured to perform a first operation in response to the first and second devices having a first relative position, a second operation in response to the first and second devices having a second relative position, etc. The apparatus, such as the processor, may be configured to perform various types of operations including execution of an application, presentation of a predefined display, performance a particular function, such as the answering of a voice call or the forwarding of a voice call to voicemail or to another party, the opening of a file, the playing of a media file or the like.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the execution of an application can occur based on the position of the second device relative to the first device. Additionally, Figs. 6 and 7 show the mobile device moving across the laptop so an app could be launched when closer to the “long” sides of the laptop.)
Dearman does not explicitly disclose:
and wherein the target app comprises a touchpad app.
However, Yim discloses:
and wherein the target app comprises a touchpad app. ([0128-0130] Next, FIGS. 15 and 16 are views illustrating operations of a first terminal and a second terminal according to another embodiment of the present disclosure. When the first terminal 100 and the second terminal 300 shown in FIGS. 15 and 16 are worn by a user as shown in FIG. 6, a first user gesture is performed. In this instance, the first terminal 100 detects only vibration by impact and the second terminal 300 detects vibration together with a swing movement (for example, a movement by a predetermined distance). The second terminal 300 becomes a main device and the first terminal 100 becomes a sub device. Accordingly, a control for transferring all or part of operations of an application executed on the main device to the sub device is performed. For example, as shown in FIG. 15, as a call application is executed on the second terminal 300 and a user inputs a phone number to a dial UI 306, if the first user gesture is received, a call menu UI 606 for allowing a user to select whether to attempt a call for the phone number input to the second terminal 300 can be displayed on the screen of the first terminal 100. The call menu UI 606 may include a menu for making a call and a menu for canceling a call.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the call application touchpad shown in Fig. 16 is opened on the second terminal 300 when shaking the second terminal 300 in a state of gripping the second terminal 300 and transfers the operation of a call application from first terminal 100.
Both Yim and Dearman are in the same field of endeavor as they both relate to the wireless communication between handheld devices art and, therefore, are combinable/modifiable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the target app comprises a touchpad app as seen in Yim’s invention into Dearman's invention allow simple substitution of application options for additional use cases for processes/applications to obtain predictable results like a virtual touchpad app for inputting information on top of the physical keypad that is shown in the mobile device of Dearman’s invention.
Regarding claim 20, Dearman discloses the first device of claim 19, but does not explicitly disclose:
… wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the first device to learn the correspondence based on the indication information.
However, Yim discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the first device to learn the correspondence based on the indication information. ([0166-0167] “When a user shakes the first terminal 100 and the second terminal 300, all or part of operations of an application being executed in the second terminal 300 can be transferred to the first terminal 100. For example, a UI relating to a menu for manipulating operations of an application being executed on the second terminal 300 can be transferred to the first terminal 100 or all or part of images displayed on the second terminal 300 can be displayed on the first terminal 100. In addition, if the screen of the first terminal 100 is turned off, the screen of the first terminal 100 is turned on according to a user's function transfer gesture and the screen of the second terminal 300 becomes turned off according to user setting or the screen can be maintained in a turn on state in order for continuous operations of an application.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the user can provide input of a setting to learn the proper way to handle turning on/off the screen of the first and second terminal.
Both Yim and Dearman are in the same field of endeavor as they both relate to the wireless communication between handheld devices art and, therefore, are combinable/modifiable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the first device to learn the correspondence based on the indication information as seen in Yim’s invention into Dearman's invention because these modifications allow combining prior art elements to yield predictable results such that users have additional customization of system/application settings and implementations to run exactly as the user desires.
Regarding claim 21, it is a first device claim having the same limitations as cited in method claim 10. Thus, claim 21 is also rejected under the same rationale as addressed in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Regarding claims 23 and 25-26, they are computer program product claims having the same limitations as cited in method claims 1 and 8 and first device claim 20, respectively. Thus, claims 23 and 25-26 are also rejected under the same rationale as addressed in the rejections of claims 1, 8, and 20 above, respectively.
7. Claims 5-6 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dearman (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0234925) in view of Yim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0110012) – hereinafter “Yim” and Stekkelpak et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0188989) – hereinafter “Stekkelpak” further in view of Nakano (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0127224).
Regarding claim 5, Dearman discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the first relative location relationship further comprises that there is an overlapping area between a projection of the first device on the XOY plane and the second device, and wherein the target app comprises a wireless charging app.
However, Nakano discloses:
wherein the first relative location relationship further comprises that there is an overlapping area between a projection of the first device on the XOY plane and the second device, and wherein the target app comprises a wireless charging app. (Fig. 1 with power supply apparatus 100 and electronic device 200 and [0019] “As illustrated in FIG. 1, a near field communication system according to the first embodiment includes a power supply apparatus 100 and an electronic device 200, which are wireless communication devices. In a communication system according to the first embodiment, when a distance between the power supply apparatus 100 and the electronic device 200 is within a predetermined range, the power supply apparatus 100 wirelessly supplies power to the electronic device 200.” And [0092] “When the power receiving antenna 201 has received the supplying power for wireless power supply within the predetermined period of time (S508, YES), the CPU 206 starts a wireless power receiving process in S509. In the wireless power receiving process, the power receiving antenna 201 receives the supplying power for wireless power supply from the power supply apparatus 100, the matching circuit 202 and the rectifying and smoothing circuit 203 convert the power into direct-current power, the power is supplied to the battery 212 via the regulator 205, and the battery 212 is charged.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the wireless power receiving process is started when the electronic device 200 is within a predetermined range of the power supply apparatus 100 (electronic device 200 shown to be placed on top of power supply apparatus 100 in Fig. 1).
Both Nakano and Dearman are in the same field of endeavor as they are both in the handheld device wireless communication art and, therefore, are combinable/modifiable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the first relative location relationship further comprises that there is an overlapping area between a projection of the first device on the XOY plane and the second device, and wherein the target app comprises a wireless charging app as seen in Nakano’s invention into Dearman’s invention because these modifications allow simple substitution of application options for additional use cases for processes/applications to obtain predictable results like a wireless charging application/process that is offered so a user can always have enough battery life across a multitude of devices.
Regarding claim 6, Dearman discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the second relative location relationship further comprises that there is an overlapping area between a projection of the first device on the XOY plane and the second device.
However, Nakano discloses:
wherein the second relative location relationship further comprises that there is an overlapping area between a projection of the first device on the XOY plane and the second device. (Fig. 1 with power supply apparatus 100 and electronic device 200 and [0019] “As illustrated in FIG. 1, a near field communication system according to the first embodiment includes a power supply apparatus 100 and an electronic device 200, which are wireless communication devices. In a communication system according to the first embodiment, when a distance between the power supply apparatus 100 and the electronic device 200 is within a predetermined range, the power supply apparatus 100 wirelessly supplies power to the electronic device 200.” And [0092] “When the power receiving antenna 201 has received the supplying power for wireless power supply within the predetermined period of time (S508, YES), the CPU 206 starts a wireless power receiving process in S509. In the wireless power receiving process, the power receiving antenna 201 receives the supplying power for wireless power supply from the power supply apparatus 100, the matching circuit 202 and the rectifying and smoothing circuit 203 convert the power into direct-current power, the power is supplied to the battery 212 via the regulator 205, and the battery 212 is charged.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the wireless power receiving process is started when the electronic device 200 is within a predetermined range of the power supply apparatus 100 (electronic device 200 shown to be placed on top of power supply apparatus 100 in Fig. 1).
Both Nakano and Dearman are in the same field of endeavor as they are both in the handheld device wireless communication art and, therefore, are combinable/modifiable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the second relative location relationship further comprises that there is an overlapping area between a projection of the first device on the XOY plane and the second device as seen in Nakano’s invention into Dearman’s invention because these modifications allow applying a known technique to a known method for improvement of certain application interactions based on holding a device over top of another device.
Regarding claims 16-17, they are first device claims having the same limitations as cited in method claims 5-6, respectively. Thus, claims 16-17 are also rejected under the same rationale as addressed in the rejections of claims 5-6 above, respectively.
8. Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dearman (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0234925) in view of Yim et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0110012) – hereinafter “Yim” and Stekkelpak et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0188989) – hereinafter “Stekkelpak” further in view of Dellinger et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,425,284) – hereinafter “Dellinger”.
Regarding claim 7, Dearman discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose:
verifying security of the second device; and
further starting the target app based on the relative location relationship when security verification on the second device is successful.
However, Dellinger discloses:
verifying security of the second device; and (Fig. 6G and Col. 38, Lines 28-46 “FIG. 6G depicts another user interface for wirelessly establishing a relationship between device 600 and peripheral display unit 610, namely Bluetooth credentials prompt 642. Bluetooth credentials prompt 642 is an interface that prompts the user to enter Bluetooth credentials, such as a numerical code. These credentials can optionally be provided, for example, on the display of the peripheral display unit 610. The credentials are displayed on the peripheral display unit 610 and entered on the device 600 with which a relationship is being established. This process is designed to enhance security by ensuring that the user has control over both the device 600 and the peripheral display unit 610. In some embodiments, Bluetooth credentials prompt 642 is displayed only as a part of the wireless setup process, and not as a part of the wired setup process, because the presence of a wired physical connection between the device 600 and the peripheral display unit 610 during wired setup adequately ensures that the user is legitimately in control of both device 600 and peripheral display unit 610.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the Bluetooth credentials prompt ensures that the user has control over both the device 600 and the peripheral display unit 610.
further starting the target app based on the relative location relationship when security verification on the second device is successful. (Col. 48, Lines 20-32 “At block 734, optionally, the device detects, via one or more of the first and second data connections, that the peripheral display unit is available for the establishment of a relationship. In some embodiments, the device uses one or more wireless data connections to search for peripheral devices in proximity that are available for connection. In some embodiments, the device exchanges data with detected peripherals to determine what kind of peripheral it is, whether it is capable of connecting with the device, the name of the peripheral, and information about the security of a connection formed with the device (such as whether connecting to the device would require a password or other authentication or credentials).” and Fig. 6G and Col. 38, Lines 28-46 “FIG. 6G depicts another user interface for wirelessly establishing a relationship between device 600 and peripheral display unit 610, namely Bluetooth credentials prompt 642. Bluetooth credentials prompt 642 is an interface that prompts the user to enter Bluetooth credentials, such as a numerical code. These credentials can optionally be provided, for example, on the display of the peripheral display unit 610. The credentials are displayed on the peripheral display unit 610 and entered on the device 600 with which a relationship is being established. This process is designed to enhance security by ensuring that the user has control over both the device 600 and the peripheral display unit 610. In some embodiments, Bluetooth credentials prompt 642 is displayed only as a part of the wireless setup process, and not as a part of the wired setup process, because the presence of a wired physical connection between the device 600 and the peripheral display unit 610 during wired setup adequately ensures that the user is legitimately in control of both device 600 and peripheral display unit 610.”) The citation is interpreted to read on the claimed invention because under broadest reasonable interpretation, the proximity of the device 600 and peripheral display unit 610 and the security verification via Bluetooth credentials prompt allow the CarPlay app to start.
Both Dellinger and Dearman are in the same field of endeavor as they are both in the handheld device wireless communication art and, therefore, are combinable/modifiable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add verifying security of the second device and further starting the target app based on the relative location relationship when security verification on the second device is successful as seen in Dellinger’s invention into Dearman's invention because these modifications allow combining prior art elements to yield predictable results such that security checks to ensure usage of device(s) are allowed as there is only the assumption that these devices are yours and freely usable in Dearman’s invention.
Regarding claim 18, it is a first device claim having the same limitations as cited in method claim 7. Thus, claim 18 is also rejected under the same rationale as addressed in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This prior art includes Li et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0091779), Han (U.S. Patent No. 10,037,183), Chandrasekaran (U.S. Patent No. 9,817,549) and Jiang (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0185823) found during PE2E Search which all have important concepts of the claimed invention such as devices being near each other, approaching each other, or being sat perpendicular to each other and performing operations or file transfers based on such positioning.
Additionally, prior art including Ledvina et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0106877), Chang-Ryong Heo et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0220963), CN 104516697A, CN 110248346A, CN 105487804A, CN 103138808A are available in the IDS and have similar limitations as the claimed invention.
Examiner has cited particular columns/paragraphs/sections and line numbers in the references applied and not relied upon to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
When responding to the Office action, applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the reference(s) cited or the objections made. A showing of how the amendments avoid such references or objections must also be present. See 37 C.F.R. 1.111(c).
When responding to this Office action, applicant is advised to provide the line and page numbers in the application and/or reference(s) cited to assist in locating the appropriate paragraphs.
/D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2198
/PIERRE VITAL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2198