DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-14, 16-27, 29-31, 39-41, 53, and 105-107 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the cited prior art references Shi, Latheef and R4-2000393 do not disclose “wherein the configuration message includes the frequency band in accordance with the frequency band overlapping with a second frequency band,” as recited in claim 1. Specifically, that Latheef does not disclose receiving a configuration message, but merely discloses a UE indicating an ARFCN and an indication of overlapping collated cells. (see Remarks Pg. 11-12)
Examiner respectfully disagrees. At ¶0081-¶0083 of Latheef, the reference discloses “The target cell identifier is one of the physical cell identifier (PCI) and DL-ARFCN (i.e., DL frequency) of the target cell or the Global cell identifier and DL-Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number (ARFCN) of the target cell. This information regarding the target cell can be indicated in the measurement report along with measurement results or in any other new RRC message. at operation S310a, the SgNB (300) sends the HO Command/Reconfig [i.e. a new RRC message, configuration message] with sync message to the UE (100). Based on the HO Command/Reconfig with sync message, at operation S312a, the UE (100) detaches from the source cell ad tune to target cell.” This citation discloses a UE receiving a handover configuration message (RRC message), which includes frequency information regarding the target cell. ¶0102 states “the source gNB may perform blind preparation of the target cell and provide the handover command to the UE” which discloses that the configuration message is for a blind handover.” And further states “Event A2 based blind handovers may be useful only in cases where there are two collocated cells, one belonging to low frequency and other belonging to high frequency, and the coverage of these cells are overlapping and overlaying”. Since the coverage of the cells overlapping implies at least some shared resources (frequencies), and is explained as useful for blind handovers, these citations read on the broad claim language as currently presented “a configuration message including a frequency band in accordance with the frequency band overlapping with a second frequency band.” Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, 14, 16-17, 20, 27, 29, 40, and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TSG-RAN WG4 Meeting #94-e, R4-2000393, 24 Feb – 6 Mar, 2020, Agenda Item: 8.1.4.2, Intel Corporation, Further discussion on HO requirements of NR-U, hereinafter referred to as R4-2000393, in view of Shi et al. (US 2021/0068016 A1), hereinafter “Shi”, and further in view of Latheef et al. (US 2023/0083424 A1), hereinafter “Latheef”.
Re. Claim 1, R4-2000393 teaches:
A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), (Pg. 9 Fig. 3 Blind Handover – shows UE)
comprising: receiving a configuration message, associated with a blind handover, (Pg. 9 Fig. 3 Blind Handover - Step 4: RRC reconfiguration (measConfig: measObject @Freq_unlic, ReportCGI/PLMN))
and a frequency band for a target cell, (Pg. 9 Fig. 3 - Step 4: RRC reconfiguration (measConfig: measObject @Freq_unlic, ReportCGI/PLMN) & Scenario (upper right Fig. 3): Neighbor cell1’s frequency is in the measured object list of UE, but not for cell2 [i.e. reconfiguration message contains frequency information of Neighbor cell1 (target cell)])
and measuring a synchronization signal, from the target cell, based at least in part on the configuration message. (Pg. 8 Step 2) & 3) The target gNB performs admission control and provides the new RRC configuration as part of the HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE… Step 4) The source gNB will forward HO command including RRCReconfiguration message received in the HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE to UE… Step 5) UE will synchronize and measure the target cell in the expected carrier. & Pg. 9 Fig. 3 Step 5: Cell search – UE will measure the cell in the measObj list (frequency))
Although R4-2000393 teaches a configuration message associated with a blind handover, the reference fails to teach: wherein the configuration message further indicates an absolute radio-frequency channel number (ARFCN) for the target cell.
However, in the analogous art, Shi teaches such a limitation:
receiving a configuration message, associated with a blind handover, that indicates an absolute radio-frequency channel number (ARFCN) for a target cell. (¶0079 The source base station sends the conditional handover command to the UE. The conditional handover command is included in RRCReconfiguration generated by the source base station. & ¶0080 One RRCReconfiguration may include conditional handover commands of multiple target cells. That is, the RRCReconfiguration includes a list of target cells for a conditional handover. The list of the target cells for the conditional handover includes frequency information of each target cell and a PCI of each target cell, a conditional handover command of the target cell generated by the target cell, and at least one piece of identifier information indicating a measurement configuration of a “conditional handover execution condition” of the target cell. The frequency information of the target cell is identified by an absolute radio frequency channel number (ARFCN).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine R4-2000393’s invention of HO requirements of NR-U to include Shi’s teaching of the configuration message including an ARFCN for the target cell, because it allows the system to configure a list of target cells that fit a criteria of an advance handover preparation condition. (see Shi ¶0073)
Yet, the combined references do not teach: wherein the configuration message includes the frequency band in accordance with the frequency band overlapping with a second frequency band;
However, in the analogous art, Latheef teaches such a limitation:
wherein the configuration message includes the frequency band in accordance with the frequency band overlapping with a second frequency band; (¶0081 The target cell identifier is one of the physical cell identifier (PCI) and DL-ARFCN (i.e., DL frequency) of the target cell or the Global cell identifier and DL-Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number (ARFCN) of the target cell. This information regarding the target cell can be indicated in the measurement report along with measurement results or in any other new RRC message. [i.e. the frequency can be indicated in any new RRC message, such as a RRCReconfiguration] & ¶0083 at operation S310a, the SgNB (300) sends the HO Command/Reconfig [i.e. a new RRC message, configuration message] with sync message to the UE (100). Based on the HO Command/Reconfig with sync message, at operation S312a, the UE (100) detaches from the source cell and tune to target cell. & ¶0102 the source gNB may perform blind preparation of the target cell and provide the handover command to the UE [i.e. HO command/Reconfig (configuration message)] Event A2 based blind handovers may be useful only in cases where there are two collocated cells, one belonging to low frequency and other belonging to high frequency, and the coverage of these cells are overlapping and overlaying. [i.e. describes the cells (target and source) overlapping, implying shared radio resources (frequency))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine R4-2000393 and Shi’s invention of HO requirements of NR-U to include Latheef’s teaching of the configuration message including a frequency band of a target cell that overlaps with a second frequency band, because it would enable the use of a blind handover event such as in a scenario where knowledge of signal conditions regarding the target cell may be unknown. (see Latheef ¶0102)
Re. Claim 3, R4-2000393 combined with Shi and Latheef teaches claim 1.
R4-2000393 further teaches:
wherein the configuration message includes a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message. (Pg. 9 Fig. 3 - Step 4: RRC reconfiguration)
Re. Claim 6, R4-2000393 combined with Shi and Latheef teaches claim 1.
R4-2000393 further teaches:
wherein the configuration message is received from a master node. (Pg. 9 Fig. 3 Serving cell: PLMN1, PCID1 [i.e. a base station/master node])
Re. Claim 14, R4-2000393 teaches:
A method of wireless communication performed by a network node, comprising: (R4-2000393 Pg. 9 Fig. 3 Blind Handover Handover – shows Serving cell [i.e. network node])
and a frequency band for the target cell. (R4-2000393 Pg. 9 Fig. 3 - Step 4: RRC reconfiguration (messConfig: messObject @Freq_unlic, ReportCGI/PLMN) & Scenario (upper right Fig. 3): Neighbor cell1’s frequency is in the measured object list of UE, but not for cell2 [i.e. reconfiguration message contains frequency information of Neighbor cell1 (target cell)] & Pg. 8 “Step 2) & 3) The target gNB performs admission control and provides the new RRC configuration as part of the HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE… and at Step 4) The source gNB will forward HO command including RRCReconfiguration message received in the HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE to UE. Step 5) UE will synchronize and measure the target cell in the expected carrier.”)
Although R4-2000393 teaches a configuration message associated with a blind handover, it fails to teach: that indicates an absolute radio-frequency channel number (ARFCN) for the target cell
However, in the analogous art, Shi teaches such a limitation:
a configuration message, associated with a blind handover, that indicates an absolute radio-frequency channel number (ARFCN) for the target cell (¶0079 The source base station sends the conditional handover command to the UE. The conditional handover command is included in RRCReconfiguration generated by the source base station. & ¶0080 One RRCReconfiguration may include conditional handover commands of multiple target cells. That is, the RRCReconfiguration includes a list of target cells for a conditional handover. The list of the target cells for the conditional handover includes frequency information of each target cell and a PCI of each target cell, a conditional handover command of the target cell generated by the target cell, and at least one piece of identifier information indicating a measurement configuration of a “conditional handover execution condition” of the target cell. The frequency information of the target cell is identified by an absolute radio frequency channel number (ARFCN).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine R4-2000393’s invention of HO requirements of NR-U to include Shi’s teaching of the configuration message including an ARFCN for the target cell, because it allows the system to configure a list of target cells that fit a criteria of an advance handover preparation condition. (see Shi ¶0073)
Yet, the references fail to teach: determine that a frequency band for a target cell overlaps with at least one other frequency band; and transmit, based at least in part on the determination, a configuration message associated with a blind handover, wherein the configuration message indicates the frequency band based at least in part on the determination that the frequency band for the target cell overlaps with the at least one other frequency band.
However, in the analogous art, Latheef does teach such limitations:
determining that a frequency band for a target cell overlaps with at least one other frequency band; (¶0102 the source gNB may perform blind preparation of the target cell and provide the handover command to the UE [i.e. configuration message] …Event A2 based blind handovers may be useful only in cases where there are two collocated cells, one belonging to low frequency and other belonging to high frequency, and the coverage of these cells are overlapping and overlaying. [i.e. describes the cells (target and source) overlapping, implying shared radio resources (frequency))
and transmitting, based at least in part on the determination, a configuration message, associated with a blind handover, (¶0081 The target cell identifier is one of the physical cell identifier (PCI) and DL-ARFCN (i.e., DL frequency) of the target cell or the Global cell identifier and DL-Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number (ARFCN) of the target cell. This information regarding the target cell can be indicated in the measurement report along with measurement results or in any other new RRC message. [i.e. the frequency can be indicated in any new RRC message, such as a RRCReconfiguration] & ¶0083 at operation S310a, the SgNB (300) sends the HO Command/Reconfig [i.e. a new RRC message, configuration message] with sync message to the UE (100). Based on the HO Command/Reconfig with sync message, at operation S312a, the UE (100) detaches from the source cell and tune to target cell. & ¶0102 the source gNB may perform blind preparation of the target cell and provide the handover command to the UE [i.e. configuration message] …Event A2 based blind handovers may be useful only in cases where there are two collocated cells, one belonging to low frequency and other belonging to high frequency, and the coverage of these cells are overlapping and overlaying. [i.e. configuration message for blind handover would be transmitted based in part on the determination that there are overlapping cells and resources (frequencies)]),
wherein the configuration message indicates the frequency band based at least in part on the determination that the frequency band for the target cell overlaps with the at least one other frequency band (¶0081 The target cell identifier is one of the physical cell identifier (PCI) and DL-ARFCN (i.e., DL frequency) of the target cell or the Global cell identifier and DL-Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number (ARFCN) of the target cell. This information regarding the target cell can be indicated in the measurement report along with measurement results or in any other new RRC message. [i.e. the frequency can be indicated in any new RRC message, such as a RRCReconfiguration] & ¶0083 at operation S310a, the SgNB (300) sends the HO Command/Reconfig [i.e. a new RRC message, configuration message] with sync message to the UE (100)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine R4-2000393 and Shi’s invention of HO requirements of NR-U to include Latheef’s teaching of the configuration message including a frequency band of a target cell that overlaps with a second frequency band, because it would enable the use of a blind handover event such as in a scenario where knowledge of signal conditions regarding the target cell may be unknown. (see Latheef ¶0102)
Re. Claim 16, R4-2000393 combined with Shi and Latheef teaches claim 14.
R4-2000393 further teaches:
wherein the configuration message includes a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message. (Pg. 9 Fig. 3 - Step 4: RRC reconfiguration)
Re. Claim 17, R4-2000393 combined with Shi and Latheef teaches claim 14.
R4-2000393 further teaches:
wherein the configuration message triggers a user equipment UE to measure a synchronization signal. (Pg. 8 Ln. 14-18: Section 2.2 Blind Handover in NR -- As in NR, the network does not require measurement reports from target cells for performing a blind handover. This is particularly useful in case of multiple frequency layers, which can only be monitored using the same gap pattern. In figure 3, the physical layer procedures of blind handover (unknown case) can be illustrated. & Pg. 8 Step 2) & 3) The target gNB performs admission control and provides the new RRC configuration as part of the HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE… Step 4) The source gNB will forward HO command including RRCReconfiguration message received in the HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE to UE… Step 5) UE will synchronize and measure the target cell in the expected carrier. & Pg. 9 Fig. 3 Step 5: Cell search – UE will measure the cell in the messObj list (frequency) [i.e. receiving the frequency within configuration message triggers cell search of cells in the list])
Re. Claim 20, R4-2000393 combined with Shi and Latheef teaches claim 14.
R4-2000393 further teaches:
wherein the configuration message is received from a master node. (Pg. 9 Fig. 3 Serving cell: PLMN1, PCID1 [i.e. a base station/master node])
Re. Claim 27, R4-2000393 teaches:
An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; and one or more processors coupled to the memory, the one or more processors configured to: (Pg. 9 Fig. 3 Blind Handover – shows UE [i.e. a UE would inherently include a memory with at least one processor to carry out the procedure])
receive a configuration message, associated with a blind handover, that indicates an absolute radio-frequency channel number (ARFCN) for a target cell and a frequency band for a target cell; (Pg. 9 Fig. 3 - Step 4: RRC reconfiguration (messConfig: messObject @Freq_unlic, ReportCGI/PLMN) & Scenario (upper right Fig. 3): Neighbor cell1’s frequency is in the measured object list of UE, but not for cell2 [i.e. reconfiguration message contains frequency information of Neighbor cell1 (target cell)])
and measure a synchronization signal, from the target cell, based at least in part on the configuration message. (Pg. 8 Step 2) & 3) The target gNB performs admission control and provides the new RRC configuration as part of the HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE… Step 4) The source gNB will forward HO command including RRCReconfiguration message received in the HANDOVER REQUEST ACKNOWLEDGE to UE… Step 5) UE will synchronize and measure the target cell in the expected carrier. & Pg. 9 Fig. 3 Step 5: Cell search – UE will measure the cell in the measObj list (frequency))
Although R4-2000393 teaches a configuration message associated with a blind handover the reference fails to teach: wherein the configuration message further indicates an absolute radio-frequency channel number (ARFCN) for the target cell.
However, in the analogous art, Shi teaches such a limitation:
receive a configuration message, associated with a blind handover, that indicates an absolute radio-frequency channel number (ARFCN) for a target cell and a frequency band for the target cell (¶0079 The source base station sends the conditional handover command to the UE. The conditional handover command is included in RRCReconfiguration generated by the source base station. & ¶0080 One RRCReconfiguration may include conditional handover commands of multiple target cells. That is, the RRCReconfiguration includes a list of target cells for a conditional handover. The list of the target cells for the conditional handover includes frequency information of each target cell and a PCI of each target cell, a conditional handover command of the target cell generated by the target cell, and at least one piece of identifier information indicating a measurement configuration of a “conditional handover execution condition” of the target cell. The frequency information of the target cell is identified by an absolute radio frequency channel number (ARFCN).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine R4-2000393’s invention of HO requirements of NR-U to include Shi’s teaching of the configuration message including an ARFCN for the target cell, because it allows the system to configure a list of target cells that fit a criteria of an advance handover preparation condition. (see Shi ¶0073)
Yet, the combined references do not teach: wherein the configuration message includes the frequency band in accordance with the frequency band overlapping with a second frequency band;
However, in the analogous art, Latheef et al. (US 2023/0083424 A1) teaches such a limitation:
wherein the configuration message includes the frequency band in accordance with the frequency band overlapping with a second frequency band; (¶0081 The target cell identifier is one of the physical cell identifier (PCI) and DL-ARFCN (i.e., DL frequency) of the target cell or the Global cell identifier and DL-Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number (ARFCN) of the target cell. This information regarding the target cell can be indicated in the measurement report along with measurement results or in any other new RRC message. [i.e. the frequency can be indicated in any new RRC message, such as a RRCReconfiguration] & ¶0083 at operation S310a, the SgNB (300) sends the HO Command/Reconfig [i.e. a new RRC message, configuration message] with sync message to the UE (100). Based on the HO Command/Reconfig with sync message, at operation S312a, the UE (100) detaches from the source cell and tune to target cell. & ¶0102 the source gNB may perform blind preparation of the target cell and provide the handover command to the UE [i.e. HO command/Reconfig (configuration message)] …Event A2 based blind handovers may be useful only in cases where there are two collocated cells, one belonging to low frequency and other belonging to high frequency, and the coverage of these cells are overlapping and overlaying. [i.e. describes the cells (target and source) overlapping, implying shared radio resources (frequency))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine R4-2000393 and Shi’s invention of HO requirements of NR-U to include Latheef’s teaching of the configuration message including a frequency band of a target cell that overlaps with a second frequency band, because it would enable the use of a blind handover event such as in a scenario where knowledge of signal conditions regarding the target cell may be unknown. (see Latheef ¶0102)
Re. Claim 29, R4-2000393 combined with Shi and Latheef teaches claim 27.
R4-2000393 further teaches:
wherein the configuration message includes a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message. (Pg. 9 Fig. 3 - Step 4: RRC reconfiguration)
Re. Claim 40, R4-2000393 teaches:
An apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors coupled to the memory, the one or more processors configured to: (R4-2000393 Pg. 9 Fig. 3 Blind Handover Handover – shows Serving cell [i.e. network node; the network node device would implicitly contain a memory and at least one processor to carry out the procedure])
transmit, based at least in part on the determination, a configuration message, associated with a blind handover that indicates an absolute radio-frequency channel number (ARFCN) for the target cell, and a frequency band for the target cell. (R4-2000393 Pg. 9 Fig. 3 - Step 4: RRC reconfiguration (messConfig: messObject @Freq_unlic, ReportCGI/PLMN) & Scenario (upper right Fig. 3): Neighbor cell1’s frequency is in the measured object list of UE, but not for cell2 [i.e. reconfiguration message contains frequency information of Neighbor cell1 (target cell)])
Although R4-2000393 teaches a configuration message associated with a blind handover, it fails to teach: that indicates an absolute radio-frequency channel number (ARFCN) for the target cell
However, in the analogous art, Shi teaches such a limitation:
transmit, based at least in part on the determination, a configuration message, associated with a blind handover, that indicates an absolute radio-frequency channel number (ARFCN) for the target cell (¶0079 The source base station sends the conditional handover command to the UE. The conditional handover command is included in RRCReconfiguration generated by the source base station. & ¶0080 One RRCReconfiguration may include conditional handover commands of multiple target cells. That is, the RRCReconfiguration includes a list of target cells for a conditional handover. The list of the target cells for the conditional handover includes frequency information of each target cell and a PCI of each target cell, a conditional handover command of the target cell generated by the target cell, and at least one piece of identifier information indicating a measurement configuration of a “conditional handover execution condition” of the target cell. The frequency information of the target cell is identified by an absolute radio frequency channel number (ARFCN).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine R4-2000393’s invention of HO requirements of NR-U to include Shi’s teaching of the configuration message including an ARFCN for the target cell, because it allows the system to configure a list of target cells that fit a criteria of an advance handover preparation condition. (see Shi ¶0073)
Yet, the references fail to teach: determine that a frequency band for a target cell overlaps with at least one other frequency band; and transmit, based at least in part on the determination, a configuration message associated with a blind handover, wherein the configuration message indicates the frequency band based at least in part on the determination that the frequency band for the target cell overlaps with the at least one other frequency band.
However, in the analogous art, Latheef does teach such limitations:
determine that a frequency band for a target cell overlaps with at least one other frequency band (¶0102 the source gNB may perform blind preparation of the target cell and provide the handover command to the UE [i.e. configuration message] …Event A2 based blind handovers may be useful only in cases where there are two collocated cells, one belonging to low frequency and other belonging to high frequency, and the coverage of these cells are overlapping and overlaying. [i.e. describes the cells (target and source) overlapping, implying shared radio resources (frequency))
and transmit, based at least in part on the determination, a configuration message, associated with a blind handover that indicates an absolute radio-frequency channel number (ARFCN) for the target cell (¶0081 The target cell identifier is one of the physical cell identifier (PCI) and DL-ARFCN (i.e., DL frequency) of the target cell or the Global cell identifier and DL-Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number (ARFCN) of the target cell. This information regarding the target cell can be indicated in the measurement report along with measurement results or in any other new RRC message. [i.e. the frequency can be indicated in any new RRC message, such as a RRCReconfiguration] & ¶0083 at operation S310a, the SgNB (300) sends the HO Command/Reconfig [i.e. a new RRC message, configuration message] with sync message to the UE (100). Based on the HO Command/Reconfig with sync message, at operation S312a, the UE (100) detaches from the source cell and tune to target cell. & ¶0102 the source gNB may perform blind preparation of the target cell and provide the handover command to the UE [i.e. configuration message] …Event A2 based blind handovers may be useful only in cases where there are two collocated cells, one belonging to low frequency and other belonging to high frequency, and the coverage of these cells are overlapping and overlaying. [i.e. configuration message for blind handover would be transmitted based in part on the determination that there are overlapping cells and resources (frequencies)]),
wherein the configuration message indicates the frequency band based at least in part on the determination that the frequency band for the target cell overlaps with the at least one other frequency band (¶0081 The target cell identifier is one of the physical cell identifier (PCI) and DL-ARFCN (i.e., DL frequency) of the target cell or the Global cell identifier and DL-Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number (ARFCN) of the target cell. This information regarding the target cell can be indicated in the measurement report along with measurement results or in any other new RRC message. [i.e. the frequency can be indicated in any new RRC message, such as a RRCReconfiguration] & ¶0083 at operation S310a, the SgNB (300) sends the HO Command/Reconfig [i.e. a new RRC message, configuration message] with sync message to the UE (100))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine R4-2000393 and Shi’s invention of HO requirements of NR-U to include Latheef’s teaching of the configuration message including a frequency band of a target cell that overlaps with a second frequency band, because it would enable the use of a blind handover event such as in a scenario where knowledge of signal conditions regarding the target cell may be unknown. (see Latheef ¶0102)
Claim 53 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium and recites similar limitations to method claim 1, therefore the rejection for claim 53 is similar to the rejection of Claim 1.
Claims 4, 18, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R4-2000393 combined with Shi, Latheef, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0030531 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kim.
Re. Claim 4, R4-2000393 combined with Shi and Latheef teaches claim 1.
Yet, the references fail to teach: wherein the synchronization signal includes a synchronization signal block (SSB).
However, in the analogous art, Kim teaches such a limitation:
wherein the synchronization signal includes a synchronization signal block (SSB). (¶0149 the synchronization signal may include an SSB (SS/PBCH block).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine R4-2000393, Shi, and Latheef’s invention of HO requirements of NR-U to include Kim’s teaching of including an SSB in the synchronization signal, because it would enable the device to measure the strength of the signal through the PSS, SSS, and PBCH by receiving the SSB. (see Kim ¶0119)
Re. Claim 18, R4-2000393 combined with Shi, and Latheef teaches claim 17.
Yet, the references fail to teach: wherein the synchronization signal includes a synchronization signal block (SSB).
However, in the analogous art, Kim teaches such a limitation:
wherein the synchronization signal includes a synchronization signal block (SSB). (¶0149 the synchronization signal may include an SSB (SS/PBCH block).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine R4-2000393, Shi, and Latheef’s invention of HO requirements of NR-U to include Kim’s teaching of including an SSB in the synchronization signal, because it would enable the device to measure the strength of the signal through the PSS, SSS, and PBCH by receiving the synchronization signal. (see Kim ¶0119)
Re. Claim 30, R4-2000393 combined with Shi and Latheef teaches claim 27.
Yet, the references fail to teach: wherein the synchronization signal includes a synchronization signal block (SSB).
However, in the analogous art, Kim teaches such a limitation:
wherein the synchronization signal includes a synchronization signal block (SSB). (¶0149 the synchronization signal may include an SSB (SS/PBCH block).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine R4-2000393, Shi, and Latheef’s invention of HO requirements of NR-U to include Kim’s teaching of including an SSB in the synchronization signal, because it would enable the device to measure the strength of the signal through the PSS, SSS, and PBCH by receiving the SSB. (see Kim ¶0119)
Claims 5, 19, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R4-2000393, Shi, Latheef, and further in view of 3GPP TSG RAN WG2 Meeting #103; Gothenburg, Sweden, 20th August-24th August 2018; R2-1811080, hereinafter referred to as R2-1811080.
Re. Claim 5, R4-2000393 combined with Shi and Latheef teaches claim 1.
Yet, the references fail to teach: wherein the configuration message further indicates at least one of a subcarrier spacing (SCS) for the synchronization signal or a measurement timing configuration for the synchronization signal.
However, in the analogous art, R2-1811080 teaches such a limitation:
wherein the configuration message further indicates at least one of a subcarrier spacing (SCS) for the synchronization signal or a measurement timing configuration for the synchronization signal. (Pg. 1 Reason for change: 1) For RRC Release with redirection to an inter-frequency NR cell (i.e. Intra-NR redirection) -It is suggested to provide additional optional information for SCS of SSB and SMTC periodicity/offset/duration in RedirectedCarrierInfo to provide the needed information for UE to search for the SSB of target cell. & 2) For NR SCell addition and (intra-NR) handover procedure -It is suggested to provide additional optional information for timing offset of SSB for the target cell based on the timing reference of current serving cell in ServingCellConfigCommon of to avoid UE blindly search for the SSB of target cell the whole SSB period. & For 1) ), it is reasonable to add SCS of SSB and SMTC of redirected NR cell in RedirectedCarrierInfo, to avoid UE blind search of target cell.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine R4-2000393, Shi, and Latheef’s invention of HO requirements of NR-U to include R2-1811080’s teaching of the configuration message indicating a SCS for the synchronization signal, because it allows the system to avoid blind search of target cell. (see R2-1811080 Pg. 1 Reason for change)
Re. Claim 19, R4-2000393 combined with Shi, and Latheef teaches claim 17.
Yet, the references fail to teach: wherein the configuration message further indicates at least one of a subcarrier spacing (SCS) for the synchronization signal or a measurement timing configuration for the synchronization signal.
However, in the analogous art, R2-1811080 teaches such limitations:
wherein the configuration message further indicates at least one of a subcarrier spacing (SCS) for the synchronization signal or a measurement timing configuration for the synchronization signal. (Pg. 1 Reason for change: 1) For RRC Release with redirection to an inter-frequency NR cell (i.e. Intra-NR redirection) -It is suggested to provide additional optional information for SCS of SSB and SMTC periodicity/offset/duration in RedirectedCarrierInfo to provide the needed information for UE to search for the SSB of target cell. & 2) For NR SCell addition and (intra-NR) handover procedure -It is suggested to provide additional optional information for timing offset of SSB for the target cell based on the timing reference of current serving cell in ServingCellConfigCommon of to avoid UE blindly search for the SSB of target cell the whole SSB period. & For 1)), it is reasonable to add SCS of SSB and SMTC of redirected NR cell in RedirectedCarrierInfo, to avoid UE blind search of target cell.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine R4-2000393, Shi, and Latheef’s invention of HO requirements of NR-U to include R2-1811080’s teaching of the configuration message indicating a SCS for the synchronization signal, because it allows the system to avoid blind search of target cell. (see R2-1811080 Pg. 1 Reason for change)
Re. Claim 31, R4-2000393 combined with Shi and Latheef teaches claim 27.
Yet, the references fail to teach: wherein the configuration message further indicates at least one of a subcarrier spacing (SCS) for the synchronization signal or a measurement timing configuration for the synchronization signal.
However, in the analogous art, R2-1811080 teaches such a limitation:
wherein the configuration message further indicates at least one of a subcarrier spacing (SCS) for the synchronization signal or a measurement timing configuration for the synchronization signal. (Pg. 1 Reason for change: 1) For RRC Release with redirection to an inter-frequency NR cell (i.e. Intra-NR redirection) -It is suggested to provide additional optional information for SCS of SSB and SMTC periodicity/offset/duration in RedirectedCarrierInfo to provide the needed information for UE to search for the SSB of target cell. & 2) For NR SCell addition and (intra-NR) handover procedure -It is suggested to provide additional optional information for timing offset of SSB for the target cell based on the timing reference of current serving cell in ServingCellConfigCommon of to avoid UE blindly search for the SSB of target cell the whole SSB period. & For 1) ), it is reasonable to add SCS of SSB and SMTC of redirected NR cell in RedirectedCarrierInfo, to avoid UE blind search of target cell.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine R4-2000393, Shi, and Latheef’s invention of HO requirements of NR-U to include R2-1811080’s teaching of the configuration message indicating a SCS for the synchronization signal, because it allows the system to avoid blind search of target cell. (see R2-1811080 Pg. 1 Reason for change)
Claims 7 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R4-2000393, Shi, Latheef, and further in view of Lateef et al. (US 2022/0038968 A1), hereinafter “Lateef-1”.
Re. Claim 7, R4-2000393 combined with Shi and Latheef teaches claim 6.
R4-2000393 further teaches:
wherein the synchronization signal is measured from the target cell within a New Radio (NR) network, (Pg. 8 Section 2.2 Blind Handover in NR: Ln. 26-27 Step 5) UE will synchronize and measure the target cell in the expected carrier. The cells which belong to other carriers can be excluded by the bar list. & Pg. 9 Fig. 3 Step 5: Cell search – UE will measure the cell in the messObj list (frequency) [i.e. target cell synchronization signal measurement; Figure 3 pertains to NR handover])
Yet, the references fail to teach: and the configuration message is received from the master node within a legacy network.
However, in the analogous art, Latheef-1 teaches such a limitation:
and the configuration message is received from the master node within a legacy network. (Fig. 4B & ¶0454 at 402b, the UE (100) acquires the measurement configuration [i.e. configuration message] from the source gNB (i.e., LTE). [i.e. master node within legacy LTE network])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine R4-2000393, Shi, and Latheef’s invention of HO requirements of NR-U to include Latheef-1’s teaching of receiving the configuration message from a master node within a legacy network, because it allows the serving gNB to configure the device through specific measurement criteria in order to handover the device to a neighbor cell or the target gNB. (see Latheef-1 ¶0042)
Re. Claim 21, R4-2000393 combined with Shi and Latheef teaches claim 20.
R4-2000393 further teaches:
wherein the configuration message indicates the frequency band for the target cell within a New Radio (NR) network, (Pg. 8 Section 2.2 Blind Handover in NR [i.e. for system operating within NR network] & ln. 17-18 In figure 3, the physical layer procedures of blind handover (unknown case) can be illustrated. & Pg. 9 Fig. 3 - Step 4: RRC reconfiguration (messConfig: messObject @Freq_unlic, ReportCGI/PLMN) & Scenario (upper right Fig. 3): Neighbor cell1’s frequency is in the measured object list of UE, but not for cell2 [i.e. reconfiguration message contains frequency information of Neighbor cell1 (target cell)])
Yet, the references fail to teach: and the master node is within a legacy network.
However, in the analogous art, Latheef-1 teaches such a limitation:
and the master node is within a legacy network. (Fig. 4B & ¶0454 at 402b, the UE (100) acquires the measurement configuration [i.e. configuration message] from the source gNB (i.e., LTE). [i.e. master node within legacy LTE network])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine R4-2000393, Shi, and Latheef’s invention of HO requirements of NR-U to include Latheef-1’s teaching of receiving the configuration message from a master node within a legacy network, because it allows the serving gNB to configure the device through specific measurement criteria in order to handover the device to a neighbor cell or the target gNB. (see Latheef-1 ¶0042)
Claims 8-9, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R4-2000393 combined with Shi, Latheef, and further in view of Awada et al. (US 2023/0308961 A1), hereinafter referred to as Awada.
Re. Claim 8, R4-2000393 combined with Shi and Latheef teaches claim 1.
Yet, the references fail to teach: wherein the configuration message is received from a secondary node.
However, in the analogous art, Awada teaches such a limitation:
wherein the configuration message is received from a secondary node. (Fig. 5 step 503 & ¶0065 One node 102 to which the UE 100 is operably coupled can be configured to act as a Master & ¶0066 Node (MN). The other node 104 to which the UE 100 is operably coupled can be configured to act as a Secondary Node (SN) & ¶0086 An SN-initiated RRC Reconfiguration message can be sent from a PSCell or from a SCell [i.e. configuration message transmitted by secondary node], or both in the case of carrier aggregation duplication. A MN-initiated RRC Reconfiguration message can be sent from a PCell or from a SCell, or both. & ¶0098 Operation 503 comprises the source PSCell sending to the UE 100 a RRC reconfiguration message (‘RRC (Connection) Reconfiguration’). [i.e. describes scenario of sending configuration message, can be SCell based off previous citation] This comprises sending to the UE 100 one or more CPC execution conditions, and sending to the UE 100 the configuration of the prepared candidate PSCell or PSCells.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine R4-2000393, Shi, and Latheef’s invention of HO requirements of NR-U to include Awada’s teaching of the configuration message being received from a secondary node, because it enables multi-connectivity connections to be reconfigured which increases compatibility of the system by including different types of networks. (see Awada ¶0085 & ¶0087)
Re. Claim 9, R4-2000393 combined with Shi, Latheef, and Awada teaches claim 8.
Awada further teaches:
wherein the configuration message is received from the secondary node within a New Radio (NR) network, (Awada: ¶0001 Examples of the present disclosure relate to reconfiguration messages during multi-connectivity in wireless communication. Some examples relate to radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration messages during Evolved Universal Terrestrial Radio Access (E-UTRA)—5th Generation (5G) New Radio (NR) multi-connectivity. Fig. 5 step 503 & ¶0065 One node 102 to which the UE 100 is operably coupled can be configured to act as a Master & ¶0066 Node (MN). The other node 104 to which the UE 100 is operably coupled can be configured to act as a Secondary Node (SN) & ¶0086 An SN-initiated RRC Reconfiguration message can be sent from a PSCell or from a SCell [i.e. configuration message transmitted by secondary node], or both in the case of carrier aggregation duplication. A MN-initiated RRC Reconfiguration message can be sent from a PCell or from a SCell, or both. & ¶0098 Operation 503 comprises the source PSCell sending to the UE 100 a RRC reconfiguration message (‘RRC (Connection) Reconfiguration’). [i.e. describes scenario of sending configuration message, can be SCell based off previous citation] This comprises sending to the UE 100 one or more CPC execution conditions, and sending to the UE 100 the configuration of the prepared candidate PSCell or PSCells.))
and the target cell is a secondary cell. (Awada: ¶0087 Examples of reconfiguration messages in multi-connectivity include, but are not limited to: & ¶0089 SN Change (MN/SN initiated) to transfer a UE context from a source SN 104 to a target SN 114 [i.e. target is secondary cell] and to change the SCG configuration in the UE 100 from the source SN 104 to that of the target SN 114.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine R4-2000393, Shi, and Latheef’s invention of HO requirements of NR-U to include Awada’s teaching of the configuration message being received from a secondary node within a NR network, because it enables multi-connectivity connections to be reconfigured, which increases compatibility of the system by including different types of networks. (see Awada ¶0085 & ¶0087)
Re. Claim 22, R4-2000393 combined with Shi and Latheef teaches claim 14.
Yet, the references fail to teach: wherein the network node is a secondary node.
However, in the analogous art, Awada teaches such a limitation:
wherein the network node is a secondary node. (Fig. 5 step 503 & ¶0065 One node 102 to which the UE 100 is operably coupled can be configured to act as a Master & ¶0066 Node (MN). The other node 104 to which the UE 100 is operably coupled can be configured to act as a Secondary Node (SN) & ¶0086 An SN-initiated RRC Reconfiguration message can be sent from a PSCell or from a SCell [i.e. configuration message transmitted by secondary node], or both in the case of carrier aggregation duplication. A MN-initiated RRC Reconfiguration message can be sent from a PCell or from a SCell, or both. & ¶0098 Operation 503 comprises the source PSCell sending to the UE 100 a RRC reconfiguration message (‘RRC (Connection) Reconfiguration’). [i.e. describes scenario of sending configuration message, can be SCell based off previous citation] This comprises sending to the UE 100 one or more CPC execution conditions, and sending to the UE 100 the configuration of the prepared candidate PSCell or PSCells.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine R4-2000393, Shi, and Latheef’s invention of HO requirements of NR-U to include Awada’s teaching of the configuration message being received from a secondary node, because it enables multi-connectivity connections to be reconfigured which increases compatibility of the system by including different types of networks. (see Awada ¶0085 & ¶0087)
Re. Claim 23, R4-2000393 combined with Shi, Latheef, and Awada teaches claim 22.
wherein the secondary node is within a New Radio (NR) network, (Awada: ¶0001 Examples of the present disclosure relate to reconfiguration messages during multi-connectivity in wireless communication. Some examples relate to radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration messages during Evolved Universal Terrestrial Radio Access (E-UTRA)—5th Generation (5G) New Radio (NR) multi-connectivity. Fig. 5 step 503 & ¶0065 One node 102 to which the UE 100 is operably coupled can be configured to act as a Master & ¶0066 Node (MN). The other node 104 to which the UE 100 is operably coupled can be configured to act as a Secondary Node (SN) & ¶0086 An SN-initiated RRC Reconfiguration message can be sent from a PSCell or from a SCell [i.e. configuration message transmitted by secondary node], or both in the case of carrier aggregation duplication. A MN-initiated RRC Reconfiguration message can be sent from a PCell or from a SCell, or both. & ¶0098 Operation 503 comprises the source PSCell sending to the UE 100 a RRC reconfiguration message (‘RRC (Connection) Reconfiguration’). [i.e. describes scenario of sending configuration message, can be SCell based off previous citation] This comprises sending to the UE 100 one or more CPC execution conditions, and sending to the UE 100 the configuration of the prepared candidate PSCell or PSCells.))
and the configuration message indicates the frequency band for the target cell (R4-2000393: Pg. 9 Fig. 3 - Step 4: RRC reconfiguration (messConfig: messObject @Freq_unlic, ReportCGI/PLMN) & Scenario (upper right Fig. 3): Neighbor cell1’s frequency is in the measured object list of UE, but not for cell2 [i.e. reconfiguration message contains frequency information of target cell])
that is a secondary cell. (Awada: ¶0087 Examples of reconfiguration messages in multi-connectivity include, but are not limited to: & ¶0089 SN Change (MN/SN initiated) to transfer a UE context from a source SN 104 to a target SN 114 [i.e. target is secondary cell] and to change the SCG configuration in the UE 100 from the source SN 104 to that of the target SN 114.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine R4-2000393, Shi, and Latheef’s invention of HO requirements of NR-U to include Awada’s teaching of the configuration message being received from a secondary node within a NR network, because it enables multi-connectivity connections to be reconfigured, which increases compatibility of the system by including different types of networks. (see Awada ¶0085 & ¶0087)
Claims 10 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R4-2000393 combined with Shi, Latheef, and further in view of Pakniat et al. (US 2019/0357095 A1), hereinafter referred to as Pakniat.
Re. Claim 10, R4-2000393 combined with Shi and Latheef teaches claim 1.
Yet, the references fail to teach: wherein the configuration message is received from a cell within a standalone (SA) New Radio (NR) network.
However, in the analogous art, Pakniat teaches such a limitation:
wherein the configuration message is received from a cell within a standalone (SA) New Radio (NR) network. (Fig. 4 RRCConnectionReconfiguration from Source eNB/gNB & ¶0187 the serving network node is a SA network node, and method 1600 further comprises: based on a determination that the identified neighbor network node is an SA network node, the serving network node initiating a handover to the identified neighbor network node.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine R4-2000393, Shi, and Latheef’s invention of HO requirements of NR-U to include Pakniat’s teaching of the configuration message being received from a cell in a standalone NR network, because it would allow the system to decide, based on if neighboring cells supports SA NR, which type of handover can be performed, including intra-NR handover. This increases system compatibility with different network configurations. (see Pakniat ¶0090-0092)
Re. Claim 24, R4-2000393 combined with Shi and Latheef teaches claim 14.
Yet, the references fail to teach: wherein the network node is included in a cell within a standalone (SA) New Radio (NR) network.
However, in the analogous art, Pakniat teaches such a limitation:
wherein the network node is included in a cell within a standalone (SA) New Radio (NR) network. (Fig. 4 RRCConnectionReconfiguration from Source eNB/gNB & ¶0187 the serving network node is a SA network node, [i.e. network node in cell within SA NR network] and method 1600 further comprises: based on a determination that the identified neighbor network node is an SA network node, the serving network node initiating a handover to the identified neighbor network node.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine R4-2000393, Shi, and Latheef’s invention of HO requirements of NR-U to include Pakniat’s teaching of the network node being in a cell within a SA NR network, because it would allow the system to decide, based on if neighboring cells supports SA NR, which type of handover can be performed, including intra-NR handover. This increases system compatibility with different network configurations. (see Pakniat ¶0090-0092)
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R4-2000393 combined with Shi, Latheef, Pakniat, and further in view of Long et al. (US 2023/0121491 A1), hereinafter referred to as Long.
Re. Claim 11, R4-2000393 combined with Shi, Latheef, and Pakniat teaches claim 10.
Yet, the references fail to teach: wherein the target cell is within a different NR network.
However, in the analogous art, Long teaches such a limitation:
wherein the target cell is within a different NR network. (Fig. 8 T-NG-RAN [i.e. target cell within another NR network] & ¶0166 At step 819, the source NG-RAN decides to initiate an N2-based handover to the target NG-RAN. & ¶0003 A handover procedure may be used to hand over a terminal device such as user equipment (UE) from a source radio access network (RAN) (such as NG-RAN (next generation RAN)) node to a target RAN (such as NG-RAN) [i.e. handover to another NR network] …the source NG-RAN node being NR (new radio) may trigger handover to E-UTRA (evolved Universal Telecommunication Radio Access) connected to 5GC (fifth generation core network). [i.e. a different NR network])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine R4-2000393, Shi, Latheef, and Pakniat’s invention of HO requirements of NR-U to include Long’s teaching of the target cell being within a different NR network, because it would allow the system to handover to another network due to new radio conditions or load balancing issues. (see Long ¶0003 & ¶0166)
Claims 12 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R4-2000393 combined with Shi, Latheef, Pakniat, and further in view of Awada.
Re. Claim 12, R4-2000393 combined with Shi, Latheef, and Pakniat teach claim 10.
Yet, the references fail to teach: wherein the target cell is a secondary cell.
However, in the analogous art, Awada teaches such a limitation:
wherein the target cell is a secondary cell. (Fig. 9 SN2 & ¶0115 Example 2: The RRC reconfiguration message #2 comprises a MN-initiated SN change without a MN change, to execute an inter-SN change from source SN1 104 to target SN2 114.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine R4-2000393, Shi, Latheef, and Pakniat’s invention of HO requirements of NR-U to include Awada’s teaching of the target cell being a secondary cell, because it enables the system to avoid interruption in service due to RRC re-establishment by allowing an alternative measure to an RRC reconfiguration error. (see Awada ¶0112-¶0113 & ¶0115)
Re. Claim 26, R4-2000393 combined with Shi, Latheef, and Pakniat teach claim 24.
Yet, the references fail to teach: wherein the target cell is a secondary cell.
However, in the analogous art, Awada teaches such a limitation:
wherein the target cell is a secondary cell. (Fig. 9 SN2 & ¶0115 Example 2: The RRC reconfiguration message #2 comprises a MN-initiated SN change without a MN change, to execute an inter-SN change from source SN1 104 to target SN2 114.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine R4-2000393, Shi, Latheef, and Pakniat’s invention of HO requirements of NR-U to include Awada’s teaching of the target cell being a secondary cell, because it enables the system to avoid interruption in service due to RRC re-establishment by allowing an alternative measure to an RRC reconfiguration error. (see Awada ¶0112-¶0113 & ¶0115)
Claims 13 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R4-2000393 combined with Shi, Latheef, and further in view of Cheng (US 2022/0116809 A1), hereinafter referred to as Cheng.
Re. Claim 13, R4-2000393 combined with Shi and Latheef teaches claim 1.
R4-2000393 further teaches:
wherein measuring the synchronization signal comprises i.e. measuring cells that exist on measObj list])
Yet, the references fail to teach: applying a receive filter, based at least in part on the frequency band, to measure the synchronization signal.
However, in the analogous art, Cheng teaches such a limitation:
applying a receive filter, based at least in part on the frequency band, to measure the synchronization signal. (¶0094 In some implementations, the NR frequency band number is used by the UE to choose the correct band filter for SSB measurement [i.e. band filter used for SSB measurement] in a given ARFCN)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine R4-2000393, Shi, Latheef’s teaching of applying a receive filter to measure a synchronization signal, because it allows the UE to measure SSB for a specific ARFCN which can be configured before the synchronization signal transmission. (see Cheng ¶0093-¶0094)
Re. Claim 39, R4-2000393 combined with Shi and Latheef teaches claim 27.
R4-2000393 further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors, to measure the synchronization signal, are configured to i.e. measuring cells that exist on measObj list; a UE would implicitly contain at least one processor in order to carry out this procedure]))
Yet, the references fail to teach: applying a receive filter.
However, in the analogous art, Cheng et al. (US 2022/0116809 A1) teaches such a limitation:
applying a receive filter, based at least in part on the frequency band, to measure the synchronization signal. (¶0094 In some implementations, the NR frequency band number is used by the UE to choose the correct band filter for SSB measurement [i.e. band filter used for SSB measurement] in a given ARFCN)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine R4-2000393, Shi, and Latheef’s teaching of applying a receive filter to measure a synchronization signal, because it allows the UE to measure SSB for a specific ARFCN which can be configured before the synchronization signal transmission. (see Cheng ¶0093-¶0094)
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R4-2000393 combined with Shi, Latheef, and Pakniat, and further in view of Long.
Re. Claim 25, R4-2000393 combined with Shi, Latheef, and Pakniat teach claim 24.
Yet, the combined references fail to teach: wherein the target cell is within a different NR network.
However, in the analogous art, Long teaches such a limitation:
wherein the target cell is within a different NR network. (Fig. 8 T-NG-RAN [i.e. target cell within another NR network] & ¶0166 At step 819, the source NG-RAN decides to initiate an N2-based handover to the target NG-RAN. & ¶0003 A handover procedure may be used to hand over a terminal device such as user equipment (UE) from a source radio access network (RAN) (such as NG-RAN (next generation RAN)) node to a target RAN (such as NG-RAN) [i.e. handover to another NR network] …the source NG-RAN node being NR (new radio) may trigger handover to E-UTRA (evolved Universal Telecommunication Radio Access) connected to 5GC (fifth generation core network). [i.e. a different NR network])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine R4-2000393, Shi, Latheef, and Pakniat’s invention of HO requirements of NR-U to include Long’s teaching of the target cell being within a different NR network, because it would allow the system to handover to another network due to new radio conditions or load balancing issues. (see Long ¶0003 & ¶0166)
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R4-2000393 combined with Shi, Latheef, and further in view of Kumar et al. (US 2023/0156536 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kumar.
Re. Claim 41, R4-2000393 combined with Shi and Latheef teaches claim 40.
Yet, the references fail to teach: wherein the configuration message further indicates at least one of a subcarrier spacing (SCS) for a synchronization signal, or a measurement timing configuration for the synchronization signal.
However, in the analogous art, Kumar teaches such a limitation:
wherein the configuration message further indicates at least one of a subcarrier spacing (SCS) for a synchronization signal, or a measurement timing configuration for the synchronization signal. (¶0046-¶0047 the UE receives, from a network entity, cell information for neighbor cells. As discussed in further detail herein, the cell information for neighbor cells generally includes information that the UE can use to accelerate the process of searching for and synchronizing with neighbor cells. For example, the cell information may include cell identifier information, timing synchronization information, and other information that the UE can use in identifying neighbor cells to which the UE can hand over… At block 404, the UE searches for synchronization signals from the neighbor cells based on the cell information. The UE can search for synchronization signals using the cell identifier and timing information (and other cell information) provided by the network to the UE at block 402.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine R4-2000393, Shi, and Latheef’s invention of HO requirements of NR-U to include Kumar’s teaching of the configuration message indicating measurement timing configuration for the synchronization signal, because it would enable the UE to adjust to the synchronization signal associated with the target cell without needing to attempt to blindly search for the synchronization signal. (see Kumar ¶0047)
Claims 105-107 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R4-2000393 combined with Shi, Latheef, and further in view of Koskela et al. (US 2015/0271722 A1), hereinafter referred to as Koskela.
Re. Claim 105, R4-2000393 combined with Shi and Latheef teaches the method of claim 1.
Yet, the combined references fail to teach: The method of claim 1, wherein the frequency band for the target cell is different from the ARFCN for the target cell.
However, in the analogous art, Koskela teaches such a limitation:
wherein the frequency band for the target cell is different from the ARFCN for the target cell. (¶0033 E-UTRA absolute radio frequency channel numbers (EARFCNs) & ¶0042 apparatus 10 may be controlled by memory 14 and processor 22 to indicate its supported bands to a serving eNB, for example, in a capability information message. According to an embodiment, apparatus 10 may be further controlled by memory 14 and processor 22 to indicate to the serving eNB that it can be handed over to any band overlapping with the indicated supported bands. Apparatus 10 may also be further controlled by memory 14 and processor 22 to receive the EARFCN of the target eNB [i.e. the E-UTRA absolute radio frequency channel number (ARFCN of target cell)] from the serving eNB and connect to the target eNB regardless of whether the EARFCN corresponds to any band indicated by the target eNB as being supported (in FBI in SIB1).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine R4-2000393, Shi, and Latheef’s invention of HO requirements of NR-U to include Koskela’s teaching of the frequency band for the target cell being different for the ARFCN of the target cell, because it would enable the UE to be handed over to any band overlapping with the indicated supported bands regardless of whether the ARFCN and frequency band correspond to each other. (see Koskela ¶0031-¶0032 & ¶0042)
Claims 106 and 107 are directed to apparatus and method claims that recite similar limitations to those of method claim 105. Therefore, the rejection for claims 106 and 107 are similar to those put forth for claim 105.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417