Detailed Action
Applicants have amended claims 21-22, 27, 30, 39-40, 43, 46 and 54. Claims 21-22, 27, 30, 33, 39-40, 43, 46 and 54 are pending and are now evaluated on its merits.
Priority
This application claims foreign benefit to application CN2020107047, dated 08/05/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) dated 7/13/2026 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, it has been placed in the application file, and the information therein has been considered as to the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments, see Pages 1-2, filed 07/13/2026, with respect to the 102 rejections of claims 21-22, 27, 30, 33, 39-40, 43, 46 and 54 under Miller et al. (WO 2018106518 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Miller et al. (WO 2018106518 A1).
The teachings of Miller from the previous office action are obvious to the amended claims of claimed invention. Of particular interest the limitations of T1 as TB-C5-50 alkylene-TA is obvious to the teachings of Miller.
Applicants have additionally overcome the 112b rejection of claims 21-22, 27, 30, 39-40, 43 and 46 by an amendment to the claims nevertheless the double patenting rejection of record is maintained as applicant request the rejections be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-22, 27, 30, 33, 39-40, 43, 46 and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al. (WO 2018106518 A1).
Regarding claims 21-22, 27, 30, 33, 39-40, 43, 46 and 54, Miller teaches Novel compounds of structural Formula I
and the pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof, as agonists of G-protein coupled receptor 40 (GPR40) and useful in the treatment, prevention and suppression of diseases mediated by the G-protein-coupled receptor 40. Of the diseases Miller teaches Type 2 diabetes mellitus, and of conditions that are often associated with this disease, including obesity and lipid disorders, such as mixed or diabetic dyslipidemia, hyperlipidemia, hypercholesterolemia, and hypertriglyceridemia (abstract). Of particular embodiments Miller teaches
(example 9),
(example 13),
(example 16),
(example 43) (relevant to claims 21-22, 27 and 40). The above compounds read to the limitations of claimed invention of J1 as
(relevant to claim 30), J2 as CH(CH3) (relevant to claim 33), J3 as
substituted with CF3 (relevant to claim 39).
In terms of claims 43, 46 and 54, Miller teaches compound B as an Aryl from the above structures which is unsubstituted or substituted by one or more Rb, wherein Rb is selected from a list which includes CF3, O-CF3, O(CH2)PNRcRd, O(CH2)PC2-5cycloheteroalkyl, wherein NRcRd is selected from a group consisting of H and p is 1-5. Thus, the teaching of Miller encompasses applicants’ limitation of TB-C5-50 alkylene-TA and Tc-TB-C5-50 alkylene-TA-TD wherein TD and TC is a bond, TB is O, and TA is an amine or substituted heteroaryl.
Miller fails to teach the limitations of T1 in the above examples.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have developed the above compounds taught by Miller wherein compound B of a substituted aryl is substituted with the claimed T1 of TB-C5-50 alkylene-TA and Tc-TB-C5-50 alkylene-TA-TD wherein TD and TC is a bond, TB is O and TA is an amine or substituted heteroaryl. One would have been motivated to do so because Miller teaches compound B of a substituted aryl wherein one or more substitutions are selected from CF3, O-CF3, O(CH2)PNRcRd, O(CH2)PC2-5cycloheteroalkyl, wherein NRcRd is selected from a group consisting of H and p is 1-5. Thus, from the teaching of Miller the Fluoride atom on the phenyl ring of compound
is replaced with O(CH2)5C2-5cycloheteroalkyl or O(CH2)5NH2.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-22, 27, 30, 33, 39-40, 43, 46 and 54 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 133 and 149 of copending Application No. 18/728,541 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 133 and 149 of copending ‘541 anticipates and is obvious to claims 21-22, 27, 30, 33, 39-40, 43, 46 and 54 of claimed invention. In particular the compounds of claim 149 of
,
reads to claimed invention limitations.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MIKHAIL O'DONNEL. ROBINSON
Examiner
Art Unit 1627
/MIKHAIL O'DONNEL ROBINSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/SARAH PIHONAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627