DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 and 10-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because a single claim which claims both an apparatus and a method, is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim is directed into both such as apparatus "a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to: receive configuration information indicating a reference power; estimate a first timing advance (TA) between the UE and a first base station (BS) based on the reference power; receive an extended random access response (RAR) for adjusting the estimated first TA; and compensate a TA based on the adjusted first TA when initiating a random access procedure to the first BS” and a method “determining a second TA based on the estimated first TA and an offset that is larger than or equal to zero; determining a total TA based on the second TA and at least one of a current TA parameter and a current TA offset; and compensating the TA based on the total TA” are overlaps two different statutory classes.
Claims 42-45 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because a single claim which claims both an apparatus and a method, is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim is directed into both such as apparatus "a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to: receive configuration information indicating a reference power; estimate a first timing advance (TA) between the UE and a first base station (BS) based on the reference power; and compensate a TA based on the adjusted first TA when initiating a random access procedure to the first BS” and a method “determining a second TA based on the estimated first TA and an offset that is larger than or equal to zero; determining a total TA based on the second TA and at least one of a current TA parameter and a current TA offset; and compensating the TA based on the total TA” are overlaps two different statutory classes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 10-14 and 39-45 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As claims 1, 39 and 42, the claims recites an outer step such as “compensation a TA based on the estimated first TA when initiating a random assess procedure to the first BS” and inner step such as “ compensating the TA based on the total TA”. Therefore, it is vague and indefinite because it is unclear which inner step or outer step are perform compensation or both steps perform compensation.
Claim 42 recites the limitation "the adjusted first TA" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 42 recites the limitation "the adjusted first TA" in line 8 is vague and indefinite because it is unclear how it’s adjusted.
Please clarify, so metes and bound can be determined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 10-11, 13-14 and 39-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozturk [US 2020/0252967] in view of Qiu [US 2022/0217790] and Chen [US 2021/0105761].
As claims 1 and 39, Ozturk discloses an user equipment (UE) for wireless communication [Fig 1, Ref 115 includes non-transitory for storing the instructions and communicates with the base stations, Ref 105], at least one memory [Fig 7, Ref 730]; and a processor [Fig 1, Ref 115 includes a processor] coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to receive configuration information indicating a reference power [Fig 3, Ref 305 which is configuration message includes RSRP, Par. 0142], estimating a first timing advance (TA) between the UE and a first base station (BS) based on the reference power [Par. 0135 discloses UE determines TA based on RSRP, Par. 0144]. However, Ozturk fails to disclose receive an extended random access response (RAR) for adjusting the estimated first TA and compensating a TA based on the adjusted TA when initiating a random assess procedure to the first BS, by: determining a second TA based on the estimated first TA and an offset that is larger than or equal to zero; determining a total TA based on the second TA and at least one of a current TA parameter and a current TA offset; and compensating the TA based on the total TA. In the same field of endeavor, Qui discloses extended RAR for adjusting the estimating TA [Par. 0055] and compensating a TA based on the adjusted TA when initiating a random assess procedure to the first BS [Par. 0091]. However, Ozturk and Qui fail to disclose receive an random access response (RAR) for adjusting the estimated first TA and compensating a TA based on the adjusted TA when initiating a random assess procedure to the first BS, by: determining a second TA based on the estimated first TA and an offset that is larger than or equal to zero; determining a total TA based on the second TA and at least one of a current TA parameter and a current TA offset; and compensating the TA based on the total TA. In the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses receive an random access response (RAR) for adjusting the estimated first TA and compensating a TA based on the adjusted TA when initiating a random assess procedure to the first BS, by: determining a second TA based on the estimated first TA and an offset that is larger than or equal to zero [Par. 0298 discloses adjusted TA = previous TA with TA of RAR, new TA = adjusted TA with UE TA, total TA = previous TA, network TA and UE TA]; determining a total TA based on the second TA and at least one of a current TA parameter and a current TA offset [Par. 0298 discloses adjusted TA = previous TA with TA of RAR, new TA = adjusted TA with UE TA, total TA = previous TA, network TA and UE TA]; and compensating the TA based on the total TA [Par. 0298 discloses adjusted TA = previous TA with TA of RAR, new TA = adjusted TA with UE TA, total TA = previous TA, network TA and UE TA].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for compensating the msg3 with total TA from TA indicator from RAR, estimated TA UE and UE TA correct as disclosed by Chen into Li such as extended RAR into the teaching of Ozturk. The motivation would have been to prevent data loss.
As claims 2 and 40, Ozturk discloses the configuration information is included in a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or broadcasted in a system information block (SIB) [Par. 0133 discloses RRC or SIB].
As claims 3 and 41, Ozturk discloses configuration information is received from a second BS different from the first BS [Fig 1, Ref 115 communicates with first base station and second base station for receiving the configuration message].
As claim 10, Qui discloses the TA is compensated when transmitting a random access preamble in a 4-step random access procedure [Par. 0038 discloses TA used for 4-step RACH].
As claim 11, Qui discloses the TA is compensated when transmitting a random access preamble and an uplink transmission in a 2-step random access procedure [Par. 0038 discloses TA used for 2-step RACH].
As claim 13, Ozturk discloses enabling a reference power based TA compensation after receiving the reference power [Par.0135 discloses configuration message does not include TA, then enabling reference power].
As claim 14, Ozturk discloses receiving an indication indicating a presence of the reference power or an enablement of a reference power based TA compensation; enabling the reference power based TA compensation after receiving the indication [Par. 0135 discloses configuration message does not include TA, then enabling reference power].
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozturk, Chen and Qiu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Koskela [US 2019/0387441].
As claim 4, Ozturk, Chen and Qiu fail to disclose the reference power is determined based on a maximum receiving power associated with the first BS and an offset, wherein the offset is larger than or equal to zero. In the same field of endeavor, Koskela [US 2019/0387441] discloses the reference power is determined based on a maximum receiving power associated with the first BS and an offset, wherein the offset is larger than or equal to zero [Par. 0136 discloses RSRP threshold is determined quality “received power” such as RSRP and predetermined amount “offset”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for determining the reference power based on a maximum receiving power associated with the first BS and an offset, wherein the offset is larger than or equal to zero as disclosed by Koskela into the teaching of Ozturk, Chen and Qiu. The motivation would have been to support beamforming and carrier aggregation.
As claim 5, Ozturk, Chen and Qiu fail to disclose the reference power is determined based on a receiving power at a reference point associated with the first BS and an offset, wherein the offset is larger than or equal to zero. In the same field of endeavor, Koskela [US 2019/0387441] discloses the reference power is determined based on a receiving power at a reference point associated with the first BS and an offset, wherein the offset is larger than or equal to zero [Par. 0136 discloses RSRP threshold is determined quality “received power” such as RSRP at reference point “maximized” and predetermined amount “offset”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for determining the reference power based on a receiving power at a reference point associated with the first BS and an offset, wherein the offset is larger than or equal to zero as disclosed by Koskela into the teaching of Ozturk, Chen and Qiu. The motivation would have been to support beamforming and carrier aggregation.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozturk, Qui and Chen as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Jeon [2020/0107369].
As claim 6, Ozturk, Chen and Qiu fail to disclose the reference power is determined based on a transmitting power associated with the first BS and an offset, wherein the offset is larger than or equal to than zero. In the same field of endeavor, Jeon [2020/0107369] discloses the reference power is determined based on a transmitting power associated with the first BS and an offset, wherein the offset is larger than or equal to than zero [Par. 0316 discloses reference power is based on pathloss = transmission power – received power and margin].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for determining the reference power based on a transmitting power associated with the first BS and an offset, wherein the offset is larger than or equal to than zero as disclosed by Jeo the teaching of Ozturk, Chen and Qiu. The motivation would have been to support beamforming and carrier aggregation.
As claim 7, Ozturk, Chen and Qiu fail to disclose the reference power is determined based on a transmitting power at an antenna unit associated with the first BS, a pathloss from the first BS to the antenna unit, and an offset, wherein the offset is larger than or equal to zero. In the same field of endeavor, Jeon [2020/0107369] discloses the reference power is determined based on a transmitting power at an antenna unit associated with the first BS, a pathloss from the first BS to the antenna unit, and an offset, wherein the offset is larger than or equal to zero [Par. 0316 discloses reference power is based on pathloss = transmission power – received power between one point to another point and margin].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for determining the reference power based on a transmitting power at an antenna unit associated with the first BS, a pathloss from the first BS to the antenna unit, and an offset, wherein the offset is larger than or equal to zero as disclosed by Jeon into the teaching of Ozturk, Qui and Chen. The motivation would have been to support beamforming and carrier aggregation.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozturk, Chen and Qiu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamazaki [US 2019/0274131].
As claim 8, Ozturk, Chen and Qiu fail to disclose estimating the first TA between the UE and the first BS comprises estimating the first TA based on the reference power, a receiving power at the UE, and a pathloss function. In the same field of endeavor, Yamazaki [US 2019/0274131] discloses estimating the first TA between the UE and the first BS comprises estimating the first TA based on the reference power, a receiving power at the UE, and a pathloss function [Par. 0100-0103 discloses transmission power “reference power” and RSRP is received power and path loss is transmission - receiving].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for estimating the first TA between the UE and the first BS comprises estimating the first TA based on the reference power, a receiving power at the UE, and a pathloss function as disclosed by Yamazaki to the teaching of Ozturk, Chen and Qiu. The motivation would have been to support beamforming and carrier aggregation.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozturk, Qui and Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li [US 2023/0143073].
As claim 12, Ozturk, Chen and Qiu fail to disclose the configuration information is received at the UE when a propagation delay associated with the first BS is larger than a threshold. In the same field of endeavor, Li discloses the configuration information is received at the UE when a propagation delay associated with the first BS is larger than a threshold [Par. 0105-0106, 0111-0124 discloses based on propagation delays, the UE receives a prach configuration based on associating between prach configuration and propagation delay].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for sending the configuration information to the UE when a propagation delay associated with the first BS is larger than a threshold as disclosed by Li to the teaching of Ozturk, Chen and Qiu. The motivation would have been to support beamforming and carrier aggregation.
Claim(s) 42-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozturk [US 2020/0252967] in view of Chen [US 2021/0105761].
As claim 42, Ozturk discloses an user equipment (UE) for wireless
communication [Fig 1, Ref 115 includes non-transitory for storing the instructions
and communicates with the base stations, Ref 105], at least one memory [Fig 7, Ref
730]; and a processor [Fig 1, Ref 115 includes a processor] coupled with the at least
one memory and configured to cause the UE to receive configuration information indicating a reference power [Fig 3, Ref 305 which is configuration message
includes RSRP, Par. 0142], estimating a first timing advance (TA) between the UE and
a first base station (BS) based on the reference power [Par. 0135 discloses UE
determines TA based on RSRP, Par. 0144]. However, Ozturk fails to disclose compensate a TA based on the adjusted first TA when initiating a random access procedure to the first BS, by: determining a second TA based on the estimated first TA and an offset that is larger than or equal to zero; determining a total TA based on the second TA and at least one of a current TA parameter and a current TA offset; and compensating the TA based on the total TA. In the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses compensating a TA based on the adjusted TA when initiating a random assess procedure to the first BS, by: determining a second TA based on the estimated first TA and an offset that is larger than or equal to zero [Par. 0298 discloses adjusted TA = previous TA with TA of RAR, new TA = adjusted TA with UE TA, total TA = previous TA, network TA and UE TA]; determining a total TA based on the second TA and at least one of a current TA parameter and a current TA offset [Par. 0298 discloses adjusted TA = previous TA with TA of RAR, new TA = adjusted TA with UE TA, total TA = previous TA, network TA and UE TA]; and compensating the TA based on the total TA [Par. 0298 discloses adjusted TA = previous TA with TA of RAR, new TA = adjusted TA with UE TA, total TA = previous TA, network TA and UE TA].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for compensating the msg3 with total TA from TA indicator from RAR, estimated TA UE and UE TA correct as disclosed by Chen into the teaching of Ozturk. The motivation would have been to prevent data loss.
As claims 43, Ozturk discloses the configuration information is included
in a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or broadcasted in a system information
block (SIB) [Par. 0133 discloses RRC or SIB].
As claim 44, Ozturk discloses configuration information is received from a second
BS different from the first BS [Fig 1, Ref 115 communicates with first base station
and second base station for receiving the configuration message].
Claim(s) 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Ozturk and Chen as applied to claim 42 above, and further in view of Yamazaki [US
2019/0274131].
As claim 45, Ozturk and Murray fail to disclose estimating the first TA between the UE and the first BS comprises estimating the first TA based on the reference power, a receiving power at the UE, and a pathloss function. In the same field of endeavor, Yamazaki [US 2019/0274131] discloses estimating the first TA between the UE and the first BS comprises estimating the first TA based on the reference power, a receiving power at the UE, and a pathloss function [Par. 0100-0103 discloses transmission power “reference power” and RSRP is received power and path loss is transmission - receiving].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for estimating the first TA between the UE and the first BS comprises estimating the first TA based on the reference power, a receiving power at the UE, and a pathloss function as disclosed by Yamazaki to the teaching of Ozturk and Chen. The motivation would have been to support beamforming and carrier aggregation.
Conclusion
/STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414