DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 and 15-16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 16, line 5, “patent” should read patient”
Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is advised that should claim 13 be found allowable, claim 14 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“vacuum source” in claims 1 and 33, equivalent structure found on page 4, lines 29-33. Therefore, the interpretation of “vacuum source” is best understood as a vacuum with a container configured to hold and filter air, a vacuum line, and equivalents thereof.
“treatment source” in claims 1 and 33, equivalent structure found on page 5, lines 6-19 and page 6, lines 3-17. Therefore, the interpretation of “treatment source” is best understood as an ultraviolet light, an oxidant generator such as ozone generators and ion generators, an infrared heater, microwave generator, and equivalents thereof. Claims 11 and 13 are noted as reciting structure for performing the claimed function, and is therefore not subject to this interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16, 25-26 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Breegi (WO 2018144809).
Regarding claim 1, Breegi teaches a system for treating an environment (para. 004, “a system for controlling the microenvironment of a contained space”), the system comprising:
an enclosure configured to fit over at least a head of a patient (Abstract, infant incubator apparatus 10; Figs 4A and 5; para. 0020), the enclosure including:
a framework sized and shaped to fit over at least the head of the patient (Fig. 2A, collapsible frame 12 including articulated arms (23, 25) and support arms 24; paragraphs 0053 and 0057); and
a fluid impermeable barrier disposed on the framework (para. 0058, disposable housing/canopy 14; paragraphs. 0018 and 0025), the fluid impermeable barrier including an outer surface and an inner surface defining an interior region facing the patient (paragraphs 0022, 0059, and 0074; para. 0061, “contained space 16”);
a vacuum source fluidly connected to the interior region via the fluid impermeable barrier (para. 00104, “vacuum device”); and
a treatment source (paragraphs 0019, 0026 0076) fluidly connected to one or more of the vacuum source or the fluid impermeable barrier (para. 0026, “UV light source”), the treatment source being configured to treat air from the interior region (para. 0014, “UV light source, e.g., for use in…sterilization of the air”).
Regarding claim 2, Breegi teaches the system according to claim 1 as stated above wherein the enclosure has a domed shape (Figs. 3, 4A and 5; para. 0075).
Regarding claim 3, Breegi teaches the system according to claim 1 as stated above wherein the framework includes a metal frame (para. 0057).
Regarding claim 4, Breegi teaches the system according to claim 1 as stated above wherein the framework includes one or more inflatable members (paragraphs 0066-0067 where the housing/canopy, which is disposed on the collapsible frame, includes inflatable elements).
Regarding claim 5, Breegi teaches the system according to claim 1 as stated above wherein the framework is foldable (Abstract, “collapsible frame 12”; Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 6, Breegi teaches the system according to claim 1 as stated above wherein the fluid impermeable barrier includes a transparent polymer (para. 0025).
Regarding claim 7, Breegi teaches the system according to claim 1 as stated above further comprising one or more access ports disposed in the fluid impermeable barrier (para. 0077, “hand ports/sleeves 29”).
Regarding claim 8, Breegi teaches the system according to claim 1 as stated above wherein the enclosure is sized and shaped to fit around at least a portion of an operation table or chair (para. 0068, where the housing base 50 can be configured to insert and enclose a mattress 68; Fig. 9, the disposal enclosure 14 is on a mattress coupled to a table/bed).
Regarding claim 9, Breegi teaches the system according to claim 1 as stated above wherein the enclosure includes an upper portion (Fig. 3, hub A 21 and hub B 22), a lower portion (Fig. 3, base 50), and a reusable connection between the upper portion and the lower portion (Fig. 3, patient access door 36 comprising an air-lock closing system; para. 0065).
Regarding claim 10, Breegi teaches the system according to claim 9 as stated above wherein the reusable connection includes a zipper (para. 0065; Fig. 6, patient access door 36).
Regarding claim 11, Breegi teaches the system according to claim 1 as stated above wherein the treatment source includes one or more of an oxidant source or a UV-light source (paragraphs 0019-0020).
Regarding claim 12, Breegi teaches the system according to claim 1 as stated above wherein the vacuum source is fluidly coupled to the interior region via a collection conduit and the treatment source is fluidly coupled to the collection conduit and configured to treat air passing therethrough (paragraphs 0012, 0019, and 0078, where via the control system module, the ultraviolet emitting and vacuum devices are in communication with each other through various inlet and outlet ports).
Regarding claim 13, Breegi teaches the system according to claim 1 as stated above wherein the treatment source is fluidly coupled to the interior region via an input conduit and the treatment source includes an oxidant generator configured to input oxidants into the interior region (paragraphs 0019-0020, “ozonizer”; paragraphs 0090-0091).
Regarding claim 14, Breegi teaches the system according to claim 1 as stated above wherein the treatment source is fluidly coupled to the interior region via an input conduit and the treatment source includes an oxidant generator configured to input oxidants into the interior region (paragraphs 0019-0020, “ozonizer”; paragraphs 0090-0091).
Regarding claim 15, Breegi teaches the system according to claim 1 as stated above further comprising a controller operably coupled to the vacuum source and the treatment source, the controller being configured to control application of vacuum in the interior region and application of treatment from the treatment source (paragraphs 0080-0091, “control system module”; para. 00104, “the control system module can comprise a vacuum device”).
Regarding claim 16, Breegi teaches a method of treating expired air (Abstract; paragraphs 00103-00106), the method comprising:
covering at least the face of a patient with an enclosure configured to retain air expired from the patient in an interior region thereof (para. 0072; Figs. 7 and 9);
placing the interior region under negative pressure (para. 00104);
receiving expired air from the patient within the interior region (para 00104, “air circulation systems”); and
treating the expired air to neutralize one or more contaminants therein (para. 0091 where air is introduced from an ozone generator into the contained space).
Regarding claim 25, Breegi teaches the method according to claim 16 as stated above wherein treating the expired air to neutralize one or more contaminants therein includes inputting ozone into the interior region (para. 0020; para. 0090, “sterilizer for example, an ozonizer”).
Regarding claim 26, Breegi teaches the method according to claim 16 as stated above wherein treating the expire air to neutralize one or more contaminants therein includes irradiating the interior region with ultraviolet radiation at a wavelength selected to neutralize one or more of bacteria, viruses, or fungi (paragraphs 0020, 0076, 0090, “UV germicidal irradiation”).
Regarding claim 33, Breegi teaches a system for treating an environment (para. 004, “a system for controlling the microenvironment of a contained space”), the system comprising:
an enclosure configured to fit over at least a head of a patient (Abstract, infant incubator apparatus 10; Figs 4A and 5; para. 0020) and at least a portion of an operation table or chair (para. 0068, where the housing base 50 can be configured to insert and enclose a mattress 68; Fig. 9, the disposal enclosure 14 is on a mattress coupled to a table/bed), the enclosure including:
a framework sized and shaped to fit over at least the head of the patient (Fig. 2A, collapsible frame 12 including articulated arms (23, 25) and support arms 24; paragraphs 0053 and 0057); and
a fluid impermeable barrier disposed on the framework (para. 0058, disposable housing/canopy 14; paragraphs. 0018 and 0025), the fluid impermeable barrier including an outer surface and an inner surface defining an interior region facing the patient (paragraphs 0022, 0059, and 0074; para. 0061, “contained space 16”); and
one or more access ports disposed on the fluid impermeable barrier (Fig. 6, hand ports/sleeves 29), the one or more access ports being configured to resealably allow access to the interior region from outside of the fluid impermeable barrier (para. 0077);
a vacuum source fluidly connected to the interior region via the fluid impermeable barrier (para. 00104, “vacuum device”); and
a treatment source (paragraphs 0019, 0026 0076) fluidly connected to one or more of the vacuum source or the fluid impermeable barrier (para. 0026, “UV light source”), the treatment source being configured to treat air from the interior region (para. 0014, “UV light source, e.g., for use in…sterilization of the air”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breegi, further in view of Glazman (US 2007/0113842).
Regarding to claim 27, Breegi teaches the method according to claim 26 as stated above. Breegi fails to teach wherein the wavelength is between 100 nm and 320 nm.
Glazman teaches an analogous enclosure with circulating treated air to protect against pathogens wherein the wavelength (of ultraviolet radiation) is between 100 nm and 320 nm (para. 0030).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the method of Breegi with the specified ultraviolet radiation wavelength of Glazman. Regulating the wavelength of the ultraviolet radiation provides the enclosure with a steady flux of radiation, as such, the radiation is evenly and safety applied to the circulated air within the interior space (Glazman, paragraphs 0023-0039).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Maloney (US 8,298,130) teaches a contamination detainment unit with at least one access port but fails to disclose a vacuum source. Conn (US 6,367,476) discloses a medical canopy, disposed a on support stand, that provides a sterile environment for an occupant. Gauger et al. (US 6,321,764) teaches a collapsible isolation apparatus comprising suction lines, a transparent cover, and a flexible base. Cooper et al. (US 11,752,050) teaches a portable and inflatable patient isolation chamber and stretcher system that contains a plurality of access ports. Bui (US 10,905,839) teaches a domed enclosure designed to support bimanual airway intervention coupled to a vacuum device and ultraviolet lights. Petersen et al. (WO 2018/232371) teaches a lower body negative pressure device intended to create a sealed environment. Cubillos et al. (2020) teaches a portable negative air flow isolation chamber that provides a physical barrier during aerosol-generating procedures.
/B.R.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JENNIFER ROBERTSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791