DETAILED ACTION
This office action response the amendment application on 11/25/2025.
Claims 1, 7-9, 47, 49,51-52 and 54-65 are presented for examination.
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Amendment
This is in response to the amendments filed on 25 November, 2025. Claims 1, 47, 62 have been amended. Claims 64-65 have been newly added. Claims 2-6, 10-46, 48, 50, and 53 have been withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1, 7-9, 47, 49,51-52 and 54-65 are pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 47, and 62 have been carefully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 47, 49, 62 and 64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0039038), (“D1”, hereinafter), in view of YOU et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0251011), (“D2”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 1, D1 discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, from a second node at a third node, information related to a timing advance (TA) value for uplink transmissions ([see, [0007, 0014, and 0150] wherein second node sends timing control information for controlling data transmission to a third node, and the timing control information (corresponding to information related to a timing advance (TA) value), is used to control timing alignment of reception timing of uplink data (corresponding to uplink transmissions), and father node (corresponding to second node) by adjusting the value of TA of the child node (corresponding to third node)]),
wherein the second node is a parent node of the third node ([see, [0007], wherein the second node (corresponding to parent node), sends timing control information for controlling data transmission to a third node]); and
determining a first TA value for uplink transmissions based on the information ([see, [0121], and Fig. 16, the IAB base station (corresponding to the second node), adjusts the occasion of the child node (corresponding to the third node), sending the uplink data (corresponding to uplink transmissions), according to the timing control information (corresponding to information)]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: the third node is one of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node in a multi-hop relay of an IAB architecture or a user equipment (UE).
However, D2 discloses the third node is one of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node in a multi-hop relay of an IAB architecture or a user equipment (UE) ([see, [0006, 0014], the third node is IAB node is a relay node or a terminal]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide introduce an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) results improve performance of access link that capable of providing a service to a UE via the access link may be connected with a macro base station via a radio backhaul link (D2, [0003]]).
As per Claim 47, D1 discloses an apparatus, comprising:
at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon computer- executable instructions ([see, [0240-0244], and Fig. 21, item 212]); at least one receiving circuitry;
at least one transmitting circuitry ([see, [0240-0244], and Fig. 21, item 213]); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium ([see, [0240-0244], and Fig. 21, items 211, and item 212]),
the at least one receiving circuitry and the at least one transmitting circuitry, wherein the computer-executable instructions cause the at least one processor to:
receive, from a second node at a third node, information related to a timing advance (TA) value for uplink transmissions ([see, [0007, 0014, and 0150] wherein second node sends timing control information for controlling data transmission to a third node, and the timing control information (corresponding to information related to a timing advance (TA) value), is used to control timing alignment of reception timing of uplink data (corresponding to uplink transmissions), and father node (corresponding to second node) by adjusting the value of TA of the child node (corresponding to third node)]),
wherein the second node is a parent node of the third node ([see, [0007], wherein the second node (corresponding to parent node), sends timing control information for controlling data transmission to a third node]); and
determine a first TA value for uplink transmissions based on the information ([see, [0121], and Fig. 16, the IAB base station (corresponding to the second node), adjusts the occasion of the child node (corresponding to the third node), sending the uplink data (corresponding to uplink transmissions), according to the timing control information (corresponding to information)]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: the third node is one of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node in a multi-hop relay of an IAB architecture or a user equipment (UE).
However, D2 discloses the third node is one of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node in a multi-hop relay of an IAB architecture or a user equipment (UE) ([see, [0006, 0014], the third node is IAB node is a relay node or a terminal]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide introduce an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) results improve performance of access link that capable of providing a service to a UE via the access link may be connected with a macro base station via a radio backhaul link (D2, [0003]]).
As per Claim 49, D1 and D2 disclose the apparatus according to claim 47, and D1 further discloses wherein the information indicates a propagation delay associated with a link between a first node and the second node ([see, [0067], and Fig. 9, wherein the timing control information indicates, the first transmission delay between the father node and the IAB node is T1, and the second transmission delay (transmission on an air interface may also be referred to as a propagation delay) between the IAB node and the child node is T2]).
D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses wherein the first node is an upstream parent node (the parent node) of the second node in the multi-hop relay of the IAB architecture and a grandparent node of the third node when the third node is an IAB node ([see, [0014], and Fig. 13, a resource allocated to a backhaul link of the parent node, the IAB node is a relay node is a grandparent node of the third node when the third node is an IAB node]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide introduce an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) results improve performance of access link that capable of providing a service to a UE via the access link may be connected with a macro base station via a radio backhaul link (D2, [0003]]).
As per Claim 62, D1 discloses an apparatus, comprising:
at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon computer- executable instructions ([see, [0240-0244], and Fig. 21, item 212]);
at least one receiving circuitry; at least one transmitting circuitry ([see, [0240-0244], and Fig. 21, item 213]); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium, the at least one receiving circuitry and the at least one transmitting circuitry ([see, [0240-0244], and Fig. 21, item 213]),
wherein the computer-executable instructions cause the at least one processor to:
transmit, from a second node to a third node, information related to a timing advance (TA) value for uplink transmissions at the third node ([see, [0007, 0014, and 0150] wherein second node sends timing control information for controlling data transmission to a third node, and the timing control information (corresponding to information related to a timing advance (TA) value), is used to control timing alignment of reception timing of uplink data (corresponding to uplink transmissions), and father node (corresponding to second node) by adjusting the value of TA of the child node (corresponding to third node)]),
wherein the second node is a parent node of the third node ([see, [0007], wherein the second node (corresponding to parent node), sends timing control information for controlling data transmission to a third node]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: the third node is one of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node in a multi-hop relay of an IAB architecture or a user equipment (UE); and the third node is configured to determine a first TA value for uplink transmissions based on the information.
However, D2 discloses the third node is one of an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node in a multi-hop relay of an IAB architecture or a user equipment (UE) ([see, [0006, 0014], the third node is IAB node is a relay node or a terminal]); and the third node is configured to determine a first TA value for uplink transmissions based on the information ([see,[0318-0320], and Fig. 14, wherein a backhaul link with RNs is configured in the IAB environment of FIG. 14, a backhaul link timing between a DgNB(a), an RN(b), determine timing offset value is required between an Rx timing and a Tx timing by considering a time required when a node switches from Rx to Tx or from Tx to Rx]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide introduce an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) results improve performance of access link that capable of providing a service to a UE via the access link may be connected with a macro base station via a radio backhaul link (D2, [0003]]).
As per Claim 64, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses wherein:
the information indicates a value of a propagation delay from among a plurality of propagation delay values predefined at the third node ([see, [0160-0162], a propagation delay between an RN and a parent node of the RN, delayed by a propagation delay value in between an access link of the parent node]);
the propagation delay associated with a link between a grandparent node of the third node ([see, [0160-0162], a propagation delay value is delayed between an access link of the parent node]); and
the method comprises determining the TA value for uplink transmission based on the information and the plurality of propagation delay values ([see,[0318-0320], and Fig. 14, wherein a backhaul link with RNs is configured in the IAB environment of FIG. 14, a backhaul link timing between a DgNB(a), an RN(b), determine timing offset value is required between an Rx timing and a Tx timing by considering a time required when a node switches from Rx to Tx or from Tx to Rx]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide introduce an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) results improve performance of access link that capable of providing a service to a UE via the access link may be connected with a macro base station via a radio backhaul link (D2, [0003]]).
Claims 7-9, 52-54, 58, and 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of JUNG et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0192387), (“D3”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 7, D1 and D2 disclose the method according to claim 1, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the first TA value is one of a plurality of TA values, and the method further comprises: receiving configuration information for selecting a TA value from a plurality of TA values; and selecting the TA value to be applied to uplink transmissions from the plurality of TA values based on the configuration information.
However, D3 discloses wherein the first TA value is one of a plurality of TA values, and the method further comprises: receiving configuration information for selecting a TA value from a plurality of TA values ([see, [0019], a signal received from a base station (corresponding to receiving configuration information), selecting a coverage class from among a plurality of coverage classes in the selected cell, selecting a TA value from among a plurality of previously determined TA values based on the selected coverage class]); and
selecting the TA value to be applied to uplink transmissions from the plurality of TA values based on the configuration information ([see, [0020], select a TA value from among a plurality of previously determined TA values based on the selected coverage class, to determine an uplink transmission timing based on the selected TA value]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide optimizes a transmission power results improve performance of communication with terminals classified into one or more coverage classes (D3, [0044]]).
As per Claims 8, D1 and D2 disclose the method according to claim 1, and D3 further discloses wherein the configuration information indicates at least one of a periodicity, offset, and duration for each TA value of the plurality of TA values ([see, [0019], determining an uplink transmission timing (corresponding to duration), based on the selected TA value from among a plurality of previously determined TA values]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide optimizes a transmission power results improve performance of communication with terminals classified into one or more coverage classes (D3, [0044]]).
As per Claims 9, 54, D1 further discloses wherein the configuration information is received via radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([see, [0072, 0074], configuration mode such as configuring RRC signaling]).
As per Claim 52, D1 and D2 disclose the apparatus according to claim 47, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the first TA value is one of a plurality of TA values, and the computer-executable instructions further cause the at least one processor to: receive configuration information for selecting a TA value from a plurality of TA values, wherein the configuration information indicates at least one of a periodicity, offset, and duration for each TA value of the plurality of TA values; and select the TA value to be applied to uplink transmissions from the plurality of TA values based on the configuration information.
However, D3 discloses wherein the first TA value is one of a plurality of TA values, and the computer-executable instructions further cause the at least one processor to: receive configuration information for selecting a TA value from a plurality of TA values ([see, [0019], a signal received from a base station (corresponding to receiving configuration information), selecting a coverage class from among a plurality of coverage classes in the selected cell, selecting a TA value from among a plurality of previously determined TA values based on the selected coverage class]); and
wherein the configuration information indicates at least one of a periodicity, offset, and duration for each TA value of the plurality of TA values ([see, [0019], determining an uplink transmission timing (corresponding to duration), based on the selected TA value from among a plurality of previously determined TA values]); and
select the TA value to be applied to uplink transmissions from the plurality of TA values based on the configuration information ([see, [0020], select a TA value from among a plurality of previously determined TA values based on the selected coverage class, to determine an uplink transmission timing based on the selected TA value]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide optimizes a transmission power results improve performance of communication with terminals classified into one or more coverage classes (D3, [0044]]).
As per Claim 58, D1 and D2 disclose the apparatus of claim 52, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses wherein: the configuration information is received via user equipment (UE)-specific downlink control information (DCI) ([see, [0204], a backhaul link of a parent node and child node, configuration information reported by the parent node to the child node]); and
the configuration information (configuration information) is one of:
included in a dedicated field in the UE-specific DCI,
indicated by a time domain resource allocation field in the UE-specific DCI ([see, [0079], The DCI includes resource allocation information for a UE or UE group or different control information]);
indicated by a bandwidth part (BWP) indicator field in the UE-specific DCI; or
indicated by an antenna port field in the UE-specific DCI.
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide introduce an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) results improve performance of access link that capable of providing a service to a UE via the access link may be connected with a macro base station via a radio backhaul link (D2, [0003]]).
As per Claim 61, D1 and D2 disclose the apparatus according to claim 47, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the computer-executable instructions further cause the at least one processor to: when no periodic TA value is indicated for a time domain resource for uplink transmission, apply a latest TA value at the time domain resource for the uplink transmission.
However, D3 discloses when no periodic TA value is indicated for a time domain resource for uplink transmission, apply a latest TA value at the time domain resource for the uplink transmission ([see, [0020], select a TA value from among a plurality of previously determined TA values based on the selected coverage class, to determine an uplink transmission timing based on the selected TA value]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide optimizes a transmission power results improve performance of communication with terminals classified into one or more coverage classes (D3, [0044]]).
Claim 51 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of SON (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0215861), (“D4”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 51, D1 discloses the apparatus according to claim 49, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the computer-executable instructions cause the at least one processor to:
receive an indication of a sub-carrier space (SCS) associated with the link between the first node and the second node; wherein the indication of the SCS is received via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling; wherein the first TA value for uplink transmissions is determined further based on the indication of the SCS.
However, D4 discloses receive an indication of a sub-carrier space (SCS) associated with the link between the first node and the second node ([see, [0007], receives system information from a base station to acquire sub-carrier spacing for preamble transmission]);
wherein the indication of the SCS is received via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling ([see, [0007], receives RRC message from the base station to acquire sub-carrier spacing]);
wherein the first TA value for uplink transmissions is determined further based on the indication of the SCS ([see, [0007, 0176], determines N_TA based on subcarrier spacing and TA value, determines TAG for uplink timing adjustment and adjust uplink transmission timing of the TAG according to N_TA based on the determines N_TA based on subcarrier spacing]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide multiple subcarrier spacings results improve performance of uplink timing adjustment for the mobile communication system with multiple subcarrier spacings (D4, [0002]]).
Claims 55, and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of PARK et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0139751), (“D5”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 55, D1 and D2 disclose the apparatus of claim 52, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the configuration information is configured per cell or per TA group (TAG) and is received via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling.
However, D5 discloses wherein the configuration information is configured per cell or per TA group (TAG) and is received via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling ([see, 0163], wherein the configuration information, configuration information configure for each the plurality of subframe sets may be provided to the UL-DL configuration of the devices through higher layer (e.g., RRC) signaling]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D5, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D5. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide dynamically designate a DL-UL configuration results improved uplink power control that efficiently supports DL-UL interference management and traffic adaptation in dynamically establishing a DL-UL configuration (D5, [0011]]).
Claims 56, and 59-60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, in view of D3, and further in view of Nogami et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0053318), (“D6”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 56, D1 and D2 disclose the apparatus of claim 52, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein: the configuration information is received via group-common downlink control information (DCI); the configuration information is indicated by a reserved slot format index in the group- common DCI; and the computer-executable instructions further cause the at least one processor to: receive a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling indicating a position in the group-common DCI; wherein the position is a starting position of bits for the configuration information in the group-common DCI.
However, D6 discloses the configuration information is received via group-common downlink control information (DCI) ([see, [0143], wherein the UE group ID received with the downlink control information (DCI), one set of radio resources is associated with a UE group ID indicating a group of user equipment to which the user equipment is associated]);
the configuration information is indicated by a reserved slot format index in the group- common DCI ([see, [0139-0142], PDCCH may carry DCI format which schedule a PDSCH in the same slot]); and
the computer-executable instructions further cause the at least one processor to: receive a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling indicating a position in the group-common DCI ([see, [0139-0142, 0158], timing between DL data reception and corresponding acknowledgement may be indicated by a field in the DCI from a set of values. The sets of values may be configured by higher layer signaling]), and
wherein the position is a starting position of bits for the configuration information in the group-common DCI ([see, [0122, 0145], and Fig. 10, wherein starting position of a sub-slot may be indicated by a physical layer control channel (e.g., by DCI format), the DCI format of the UE-specific PDCCH may include one or more information field(s), a field for indicating the starting position (the index of first OFDM symbol which carries the PDSCH) of the PDSCH]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D6, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D6. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide dynamic manner of frequency domain supported results improves communication capacity, speed, flexibility and efficiency (D6, [0005]]).
As per Claim 59, D1, D2, D3, and D6 disclose the apparatus according to claim 56, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D3 further discloses apply the TA value after an application delay indicated by one of the RRC signaling or MAC CE signaling ([see, [0020], select a TA value from among a plurality of previously determined TA values based on the selected coverage class, to determine an uplink transmission timing based on the selected TA value]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide optimizes a transmission power results improve performance of communication with terminals classified into one or more coverage classes (D3, [0044]]).
The combination of D1 and D2 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: the computer-executable instructions further cause the at least one processor to: receive a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling; and apply the TA value at the same slot as the group common DCI.
However, D6 discloses the computer-executable instructions further cause the at least one processor to: receive a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling ([see, [0139-0142], higher layer signaling such as common RRC messages or UE dedicated RRC messages may configure the UE 102 with one or more PRB set(s) for PDCCH monitoring]); and apply the TA value at the same slot as the group common DCI ([see, [0139-0142], PDCCH may carry DCI format which schedule a PDSCH in the same slot]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D6, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D6. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide dynamic manner of frequency domain supported results improves communication capacity, speed, flexibility and efficiency (D6, [0005]]).
As per Claim 60, D1, D2, D3 and D6 disclose the apparatus according to claim 56, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the computer-executable instructions further cause the at least one processor to: apply the TA value at a time domain resource when no periodic TA value is indicated for the time domain resource.
However, D6 further discloses wherein the computer-executable instructions further cause the at least one processor to: apply the TA value at a time domain resource when no periodic TA value is indicated for the time domain resource ([see, [0139-0142], PDCCH may carry DCI format which schedule a PDSCH in the same slot]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D6, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D6. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide dynamic manner of frequency domain supported results improves communication capacity, speed, flexibility and efficiency (D6, [0005]]).
Claims 57, and 63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, in view of D3, and further in view of SUZUKI et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0367249), (“D7”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 57, D1 discloses the apparatus according to claim 47, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the first TA value is one of a plurality of TA values, and the computer-executable instructions further cause the at least one processor to: receive a user equipment (UE)-specific downlink control information (DCI) scrambled by a radio network temporary identity (RNTI); and select a TA value to be applied to uplink transmissions from the plurality of TA values based on the RNTI.
However, D3 discloses wherein the first TA value is one of a plurality of TA values ([see, [0020], select a TA value from among a plurality of previously determined TA values), and the computer-executable instructions further cause the at least one processor to:
select a TA value to be applied to uplink transmissions from the plurality of TA values based on the RNTI ([see, [0019], a signal received from a base station (corresponding to receiving configuration information), selecting a coverage class from among a plurality of coverage classes in the selected cell, selecting a TA value from among a plurality of previously determined TA values based on the selected coverage class]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide optimizes a transmission power results improve performance of communication with terminals classified into one or more coverage classes (D3, [0044]]).
The combination of D1 and D2 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: receive a user equipment (UE)-specific downlink control information (DCI) scrambled by a radio network temporary identity (RNTI).
However, D7 discloses receive a user equipment (UE)-specific downlink control information (DCI) scrambled by a radio network temporary identity (RNTI) ([see, [0102] The terminal apparatus monitor the PDCCH with the DCI format with the CRC parity bits scrambled with the RA-RNTI]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D7, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D7. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide parameter Control-scrambling-Identity results improve performance of communication with efficiently perform reception of the downlink (D7, [0016]]).
As per Claim 63, D1, D2, D3, and D7 disclose the apparatus according to claim 57, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D3 further discloses wherein the computer-executable instructions cause the at least one processor to:
configuration information for selecting a TA value to be applied to uplink transmissions at the third node from a plurality of TA values ([see, [0020], select a TA value from among a plurality of previously determined TA values), wherein the configuration information indicates at least one of a periodicity, offset, and duration for each TA value of the plurality of TA values ([see, [0020], select a TA value from among a plurality of previously determined TA values based on the selected coverage class, to determine an uplink transmission timing based on the selected TA value]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide optimizes a transmission power results improve performance of communication with terminals classified into one or more coverage classes (D3, [0044]]).
The combination of D1 and D2 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: transmit, via one of a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling to the third node.
However, D7 discloses transmit, via one of a radio resource control (RRC) signaling or a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling to the third node ([see, [0063, 0072-0074], the higher layer processing unit 34 performs processing of the radio resource control layer, such as acquires from a higher node downlink data (transport block) allocated on a physical downlink shared channel, system information, an RRC message, a MAC Control Element (CE), and the like, and performs output to the radio transmission and/or reception unit]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D7, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D7. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide parameter Control-scrambling-Identity results improve performance of communication with efficiently perform reception of the downlink (D7, [0016]]).
Claim 65 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of ISLAM et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200322976 A1), (“D8”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 65, D1, and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: further comprising: determining the TA value for uplink transmissions based, at least in part, on an indication of a sub-carrier space (SCS) associated with a link between a grandparent node and the parent node, wherein the SCS is acquired by one of:
receiving, by the third node from the parent node, the indication of the sub-carrier space (SCS); or determining, by the third node, the SCS based on a frequency band associated with the link between the grandparent node and the parent node.
However, D8 discloses further comprising: determining the TA value for uplink transmissions based, at least in part, on an indication of a sub-carrier space (SCS) associated with a link between a grandparent node and the parent node ([see, [0043, 0059-0060], determining the uplink transmission timing based at least in part on a timing advance (TA) value specified by a parent node of the child node, provide information identifying a downlink (DL) subcarrier spacing (SCS) (e.g., tone spacing, numerology, and/or the like) to parent node 505]),
wherein the SCS is acquired by one of:
receiving, by the third node from the parent node, the indication of the sub-carrier space (SCS); or determining, by the third node, the SCS based on a frequency band associated with the link between the grandparent node and the parent node ([see, [0067-0068], parent node 505 (or the CU) may determine the granularity parameter based at least in part on the information identifying the DL SCS or the frequency range]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D8, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D8. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide indication of the sub-carrier space results improving spectral efficiency, lowering costs, and enhanced the services (D8, [0005]]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JEONG, MOO R. can be reached on (571) 272-9617. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BERHANU D BELETE/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418