Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 09/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant presented arguments that Hoang does not specifically teach the step of “receiving, at a first user equipment (UE) from a second UE, resource indication information indicating one or more sidelink resources; determining, by the first UE, a resource re-evaluation window in time domain.” The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s arguments for the following reasons: Applicant argues on page 8 and 9 that Hoang does not teach the step of transmitting sidelink resources from one UE to another, with the UE that receives the sidelink resource and determines a resource re-evaluation window of the claims 1, 28, and 35. Contrary to applicant’s arguments, Hoang teaches that one WTRU, which in this case is a UE, will send sidelink control information to another WTRU, also a UE. This sidelink control information includes sidelink resources for the WTRU to use or avoid (¶ [100-103], which is under the scope of the claims’ recited indication of sidelink resources.
Therefore, Hoang clearly teaches the above limitations for claims 1, 28, and 35 respectively and the rejection is sustained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 6, 28, 32, 35, 38, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Hoang et al. (US PG Pub. 2019/0306835 A1 from IDS, hereinafter “Hoang”). In regards to claim 1, Hoang teaches A method, comprising: receiving , at a first user equipment (UE) from a second UE (both UEs are WTRUs), resource indication information indicating one or more sidelink resources (¶ [0100-0103] wireless transmit/receive unit receives sidelink control information from another WTRU with sidelink resources to avoid or use); determining, by the first UE, a resource re-evaluation window in time domain (¶ [0121] WTRU determines a sensing window at a certain time); performing, during the resource re-evaluation window, a re-evaluation procedure for the one or more sidelink resources (¶ [0121], [0127] WTRU determines availability of resources within the window, and does so by comparing RSRP of each resources to a threshold); and in response to a sidelink resource within the one or more sidelink resources being available, transmitting a sidelink transmission on the sidelink resource (¶ [0101] WTRU determines resource is available, and if so transmits packets on the sidelink resource). In regards to claim 6, Hoang teaches receiving sidelink control information (SCI), wherein the SCI includes a field including one or more bits, and the field represents whether the one or more sidelink resources are used for transmitting a sidelink transmission or receiving a sidelink transmission (¶ [0105], [0162] WTRU receives SCI that determines if a resource is reserved for another WTRU’s transmission. The SCI includes a field with bits that determine the transmission mode). In regards to claim 28, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1 including A user equipment (UE) comprising: a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon computer-executable instructions; a receiving circuitry; a transmitting circuitry; and a processor coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable medium, the receiving circuitry and the transmitting circuitry, wherein the computer-executable instructions cause the processor to (¶ [0040-0041] WRTU may include a processor, memory, and a transceiver that cause the processor to execute instructions). In regards to claim 32, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6 including wherein the computer-executable instructions cause the processor to (¶ [0040-0041] WRTU may include a processor, memory, and a transceiver that cause the processor to execute instructions). In regards to claim 35, Hoang teaches A user equipment (UE) comprising: a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon computer-executable instructions; a receiving circuitry; a transmitting circuitry; and a processor coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable medium, the receiving circuitry and the transmitting circuitry, wherein the computer-executable instructions cause the processor to: (¶ [0040-0041] WTRU may include a processor, memory, and a transceiver that cause the processor to execute instructions) perform a sensing procedure and a resource selection procedure, to select one or more sidelink resources: (¶ [0101] WTRU performs sensing sidelink resources, then selects an available resource) generate resource indication information (sensing report) that indicates the one or more sidelink resources (¶ [0118] WTRU creates sensing report indicating sidelink resources); and transmit, to a next UE, the resource indication information (¶ [0100] WTRU transmits sensing report to another WTRU to use for its own sensing procedure). In regards to claim 38 Hoang teaches wherein the resource request is received on a resource in a resource pool, and the resource pool is pre-configured or configured by a network or a base station (BS) (¶ [0165], [0082] resource reservation message sent to WTRUs in resource pool, resource pool is configured to the WTRU via SIB21). In regards to claim 39, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6, including wherein the computer-executable instructions cause the processor to transmit to another UE (¶ [0040-0041] WRTU may include a processor, memory, and a transceiver that cause the processor to execute instructions and transmit to another WTRU).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 10, 30, 31, 34, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang et al. (US PG Pub. 2019/0306835 A1 from IDS, hereinafter “Hoang”) in view of Zhao et al. (US PG Pub. 2022/0116917 A1).
In regards to claim 2, Hoang does not teach transmitting a resource request for a sidelink transmission, wherein the resource indication information is generated based on the resource request. In an analogous art, Zhao teaches transmitting a resource request (sidelink transmission resources to use) for a sidelink transmission, wherein the resource indication information is generated based on the resource request (¶ [0070], [0071] network device transmits configuration with sidelink resources to use, and terminal device creates and transmits indication information) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhao into Hoang to avoid interference and improve communication, enhancing the user experience (¶ [0015]). In regards to claim 3, the combination Hoang and Zhao, specifically Hoang teaches wherein the resource indication information (resource reservation message) is generated after performing a sensing procedure and a resource selection procedure (¶ [0088], [0106], [0165] WTRU performs sensing on resource pool, then evaluates sensing result to select sidelink resource. Once resource has been selected, WTRU must generate to send a resource reservation message). In regards to claim 10, the combination Hoang and Zhao, specifically Zhao teaches wherein a starting boundary in the time domain of the resource re-evaluation window is later than a time instance of receiving the resource indication information, and an ending boundary in the time domain of the resource re-evaluation window is earlier than a time instance of an earliest sidelink resource within the one or more sidelink resources (¶ [0147] first terminal device receives configured grant of resources available. The terminal device then senses for available resources at time n. The terminal device then reserves a resource at time n+15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhao into Hoang to avoid interference and improve communication, enhancing the user experience (¶ [0015]). In regards to claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2, wherein the computer-executable instructions cause the processor to transmit to a second UE (¶ [Hoang 0040-0041] WRTU may include a processor, memory, and a transceiver that cause the processor to execute instructions to transmit to another WTRU). In regards to claim 31, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3. In regards to claim 34, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 10. In regards to claim 37, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2, wherein the computer-executable instructions cause the processor to transmit to another UE (¶ [Hoang 0040-0041] WRTU may include a processor, memory, and a transceiver that cause the processor to execute instructions to another WTRU).
Claims 7, 33, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang et al. (US PG Pub. 2019/0306835 A1 from IDS, hereinafter “Hoang”) in view of Khoryaev et al. (US Patent No. 11,871, 388 B2, hereinafter “Khoryaev”). In regards to claim 7, Hoang does not teach wherein the resource indication information is included in one of a first stage or a second stage of a sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH). In an analogous art, Khoryaev teaches wherein the resource indication information is included in one of a first stage (PSCCH) or a second stage (PSSCH) of a sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) (¶ [Col. 18, Lines 40-47] information on resources available are sent in SCI via PSCCH). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoryaev into Hoang to effectively reduce latency in finding available resources, enhancing the user experience (¶ [Col. 1, Lines 52-56]). In regards to claim 33, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7. In regards to claim 40, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7.
Claims 36, 41 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang et al. (US PG Pub. 2019/0306835 A1 from IDS, hereinafter “Hoang”) in view of Wang et al. (US PG Pub. 2021/0410178 A1, hereinafter “Wang”).
In regards to claim 36, Hoang teaches wherein the computer-executable instructions cause the processor to: (¶ [0040-0041] WRTU may include a processor, memory, and a transceiver that cause the processor to execute instructions). However, Hoang does not teach in response to a sidelink resource within the one or more sidelink resources being available, receiving a sidelink transmission on the sidelink resource
In an analogous art, Wang teaches in response to a sidelink resource within the one or more sidelink resources being available, receiving a sidelink transmission on the sidelink resource (¶ [0047] first UE receives indication of available sidelink grant to use to receive sidelink transmission from second UE). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang into Hoang to effectively reduce resources used by the UE, enhancing the user experience (¶ [0089]). In regards to claim 41, the combination Hoang and Wang, specifically Wang teaches wherein a time gap between a time instance of transmitting the resource indication information and a time instance of an earliest sidelink resource within the one or more sidelink resources is associated with resource pool configuration information (¶ [0069], [0104-0105] User equipment receives downlink control information with sidelink grant that specifies a time gap between the sidelink grant and first slot in a sidelink resource pool). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang into Hoang to effectively reduce resources used by the UE, enhancing the user experience (¶ [0089]). In regards to claim 42, the combination Hoang and Wang, specifically Wang, teaches wherein the resource pool configuration information includes a field, and the field indicates a minimum value of the time gap between the time instance of transmitting the resource indication information and the time instance of the earliest sidelink resource within the one or more sidelink resources (¶ [0095] downlink control information includes field of time gap, or the amount of time between sending a PUCCH resource indicator and the first slot of a sidelink resource to use). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang into Hoang to effectively reduce resources used by the UE, enhancing the user experience (¶ [0089]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of the record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
Xing et al. (US PG Pub. 2021/0235421 A1) teaches a method of a configuring scheduled based sidelink resources for transmitting sidelink signals where two resources are received, both for transmitting UCI.
Parron et al. (US PG Pub. 2019/0394786 A1) teaches a method of a gNB dedicating some physical resource blocks that a UE can request for vehicle to vehicle communications.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413