DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, filed 06/20/2026, has been entered and carefully considered. Claims 1-3, 6-7, 10, 28 and 30-42 are currently pending.
Claims 1, 3, 28 and 35 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/20/2026 with regards to rejection of claims 1-3, 6-7, 10, 28 and 30-42 have been considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argued that combination of prior art do not disclose "receiving, at a first user equipment (UE) from a second UE, resource indication information indicating one or more sidelink resources that are available to be used by the first UE and are selected by a sensing procedure and a resource selection procedure performed by the second UE." In the OA, the Examiner then relies on Yasukawa and in particular [0122] and [0124]-[0127] of Yasukawa to support the rejection of these features of the claims. However, a careful read of these paragraphs of Yasukawa and of Yasukawa as a whole provides a clear description of specific resource selection processes being performed by the UE for use by the same UE, not for a different UE. This aligns with the prior art approach that is the problem Applicants' invention addresses and resolves by splitting out the resource selection process to a second UE.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Hoang discloses the WTRU may determine channel availability based on a sensing result. Channel availability may include the availability of one or more time and/or frequency resources. The WTRU may interpret results of a sensing event to determine whether a channel is available or unavailable; see Hoang par. 0102; The WTRU may report availability of resources over the sensing report window to a network. The WTRU may use the same or a similar report window as the resource selection window used by autonomous-scheduled WTRUs. The WTRU may determine the availability of resources within a window.; see Hoang par. 0121, 0128-0129.
Yasukawa discloses in various paragraphs about transmitting sidelink resources information to another UE or transmitting sidelink transmission on the selected sidelink resources so its not just for the same or self UE. For example, paragraph 0045-0048, a resource pool for sidelink control information (SCI)/data transmission is periodically secured. A transmission-side user equipment UE notifies a reception side of a resource for data transmission and the like by using an SCI with a resource that is selected in a control resource pool (physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) resource pool), and transmits data with a resource for data transmission.
Paragraphs 0062-0063 discloses
“sensing” is performed by a method of using a measurement result of reception power (may be referred to as reception energy or reception intensity), a method of using a decoding result of D2D control information (that i, a method in which the D2D control information transmitted from another user equipment UE is received and is decoded to sense a resource position that is reserved by the other user equipment UE), a combination of these methods, and the like. In addition, the “resource” includes a time resource (for example, a subframe), or a time and frequency resource unless otherwise stated. In addition, description will be given on the assumption that the “D2D signal” may be a signal of the D2D communication (which may be D2D control information, data, or a combination of the D2D control information and the data), but the “D2D” signal may be a message (discovery signal) of the D2D discovery without limitation thereto.
[0063] The user equipment UE according to this embodiment selects a resource, with which the D2D signal is transmitted, by using the following sensing-based resource selection mode, and transmits the D2D signal with the resource that is selected at a transmission interval that is desired by the user equipment UE. Note that, the user equipment UE may include reservation information indicating that a resource for transmission of a D2D signal after the subsequent transmission interval is reserved in D2D control information transmitted with the resource that is selected so as to allow another user equipment UE to grasp the resource which is reserved by the user equipment UE.
Examiner noted that applicant described claimed invention on page 1 of remarks as:
Applicants' claimed invention provides a bi-furcated resource selection procedure where a second UE performs the power-intensive sensing and resource selection procedure and transmits the results to a first UE via resource indication information, allowing the first UE to skip initial resource selection entirely. The first UE then performs only a lightweight re-evaluation procedure to confirm availability before transmitting on the selected sidelink resource. The re-evaluation procedure occurs within a defined time window after receipt of the indication and before the earliest indicated resource. (see [0056] of the original specification). This bifurcated procedure solves the problem of power wastage with conventional processing where the first UE performs both operations itself (see 1 [0031]-[0032] of the specification). Applicants' independent claims clearly present these features of the invention.
Examiner noted that applicant’s claim languages does not disclose any power related sending process and does not define the reevaluation procedure. Further claims do not disclose any association of “determining and performing” with the last step. For example, determining a resource reevaluation time domain then performing a reevaluation procedure for the sidelink resources, then the step “in response to a sidelink resource within the one or more sidelink resources being available, transmitting a sidelink transmission on the sidelink resource” does not disclose any association with the previous two steps which are determining a resource reevaluation time domain and performing a reevaluation procedure.
And last step does not disclose which sidelink resources (available resource or resources from the reevaluation procedure).
Examiner recommend to clarify the independent claims as discussed above.
Thus rejection of claims 1-3, 6-7, 10, 28 and 30-42 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 28, 32, 35, 38, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Hoang et al. (US PG Pub. 2019/0306835 A1 from IDS, hereinafter “Hoang”) in view of Yasukawa et al. (US 2021/0345298, hereinafter “Yasukawa”).
Regarding claim 1, Hoang teaches a method, comprising: receiving , at a first user equipment (UE) from a second UE (both UEs are WTRUs), resource indication information indicating one or more sidelink resources (¶ [0100-0103] wireless transmit/receive unit receives sidelink control information from another WTRU with sidelink resources to avoid or use); determining, by the first UE, a resource re-evaluation window in time domain ((The WTRU may determine a sensing evaluation window [T1, T2] when it evaluates the sensing result; see Hoang par. 0106, 0109, 0113, 0121, 0124)); performing, during the resource re-evaluation window, a re-evaluation procedure for the one or more sidelink resources indicated within the resource indication informaiton (the WTRU may determine channel availability based on a sensing result. Channel availability may include the availability of one or more time and/or frequency resources. The WTRU may interpret results of a sensing event to determine whether a channel is available or unavailable; see Hoang par. 0102; The WTRU may report availability of resources over the sensing report window to a network. The WTRU may use the same or a similar report window as the resource selection window used by autonomous-scheduled WTRUs. The WTRU may determine the availability of resources within a window.; see Hoang par. 0121, 0128-0129); and in response to a sidelink resource within the one or more sidelink resources being available, transmitting a sidelink transmission on the sidelink resource (¶ [0101] WTRU determines resource is available, and if so transmits packets on the sidelink resource).
Hoang does not explicitly disclose one or more sidelink resources that are available to be used by the first UE and are selected by a sensing procedure and a resource selection procedure performed by the second UE.
In an analogous art, Yasukawa discloses one or more sidelink resources that are available to be used by the first UE and are selected by a sensing procedure and a resource selection procedure performed by the second UE (The selection unit 104 includes a function of selecting a resource candidate with which the D2D signal can be transmitted on the basis of the reservation situation, which is grasped by the sensing unit 103, of the future resource. In addition, the selection unit 104 includes a function of selecting one more resource candidates, with which a signal can be transmitted, in a selection window subsequent to the sensing window on the basis of a sensing result and a transmission interval of the D2D signal that is transmitted by the user equipment UE…; see Yasukawa par. 0124-0127),. The signal reception unit 102 includes a function of wirelessly receiving various signals from another user equipment UE. The sensing unit 103 performs sensing in the sensing window to grasp a reservation situation of future resources; see Yasukawa par. 0122).
It would have been obvious to the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use Yasukawa's arrangement in Hoang invention to provide a technology capable of suppressing signal collision in a mode of selecting a resource for signal transmission on the basis of a sensing result (see Yasukawa par. 0016).
In regards to claim 6, Hoang teaches receiving sidelink control information (SCI), wherein the SCI includes a field including one or more bits, and the field represents whether the one or more sidelink resources are used for transmitting a sidelink transmission or receiving a sidelink transmission (¶ [0105], [0162] WTRU receives SCI that determines if a resource is reserved for another WTRU’s transmission. The SCI includes a field with bits that determine the transmission mode).
In regards to claim 28, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1 including A user equipment (UE) comprising: a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon computer-executable instructions; a receiving circuitry; a transmitting circuitry; and a processor coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable medium, the receiving circuitry and the transmitting circuitry, wherein the computer-executable instructions cause the processor to (¶ [0040-0041] WRTU may include a processor, memory, and a transceiver that cause the processor to execute instructions). In regard to claim 32, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6 including wherein the computer-executable instructions cause the processor to (¶ [0040-0041] WRTU may include a processor, memory, and a transceiver that cause the processor to execute instructions).
In regards to claim 35, Hoang teaches A user equipment (UE) comprising: a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon computer-executable instructions; a receiving circuitry; a transmitting circuitry; and a processor coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable medium, the receiving circuitry and the transmitting circuitry, wherein the computer-executable instructions cause the processor to: (¶ [0040-0041] WTRU may include a processor, memory, and a transceiver that cause the processor to execute instructions) perform a sensing procedure and a resource selection procedure, to select one or more sidelink resources for use by a second UE: (¶ [0101] WTRU performs sensing sidelink resources, then selects an available resource) generate resource indication information (sensing report) that indicates the one or more sidelink resources (¶ [0118] WTRU creates sensing report indicating sidelink resources); and transmit, the resource indication information to the second UE for use by the second UE in scheduling transmission of a sidelink transmission without the second UE having to perform sensing and resource selection procedures (¶ [0100] WTRU transmits sensing report to another WTRU to use for its own sensing procedure. WTRU may determine channel availability based on a sensing result. Channel availability may include the availability of one or more time and/or frequency resources. The WTRU may interpret results of a sensing event to determine whether a channel is available or unavailable; see Hoang par. 0102; The WTRU may report availability of resources over the sensing report window to a network. The WTRU may use the same or a similar report window as the resource selection window used by autonomous-scheduled WTRUs. The WTRU may determine the availability of resources within a window.; see Hoang par. 0121, 0128-0129).
Hoang does not explicitly disclose one or more sidelink resources that are available to be used by the first UE and are selected by a sensing procedure and a resource selection procedure performed by the second UE.
In an analogous art, Yasukawa discloses one or more sidelink resources that are available to be used by the first UE and are selected by a sensing procedure and a resource selection procedure performed by the second UE (The selection unit 104 includes a function of selecting a resource candidate with which the D2D signal can be transmitted on the basis of the reservation situation, which is grasped by the sensing unit 103, of the future resource. In addition, the selection unit 104 includes a function of selecting one more resource candidates, with which a signal can be transmitted, in a selection window subsequent to the sensing window on the basis of a sensing result and a transmission interval of the D2D signal that is transmitted by the user equipment UE…; see Yasukawa par. 0124-0127),. The signal reception unit 102 includes a function of wirelessly receiving various signals from another user equipment UE. The sensing unit 103 performs sensing in the sensing window to grasp a reservation situation of future resources; see Yasukawa par. 0122).
It would have been obvious to the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use Yasukawa's arrangement in Hoang invention to provide a technology capable of suppressing signal collision in a mode of selecting a resource for signal transmission on the basis of a sensing result (see Yasukawa par. 0016).
In regards to claim 38 Hoang teaches wherein the resource request is received on a resource in a resource pool, that is pre-configured or configured by a network or a base station (BS) (¶ [0165], [0082] resource reservation message sent to WTRUs in resource pool, resource pool is configured to the WTRU via SIB21).
In regards to claim 39, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6, transmit, to the next UE, sidelink control information (SCI), wherein the SCI includes a field including one or more bits, and the field represents whether the one or more sidelink resources are to be used by the next UE for transmitting a sidelink transmission or receiving a sidelink transmission (¶ [0040-0041] WRTU may include a processor, memory, and a transceiver that cause the processor to execute instructions and transmit to another WTRU).
Claims 2, 3, 10, 30, 31, 34, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang et al. (US PG Pub. 2019/0306835 A1 from IDS, hereinafter “Hoang”) in view of in view of Yasukawa et al. (US 2021/0345298, hereinafter “Yasukawa”) and further in view of Zhao et al. (US PG Pub. 2022/0116917 A1).
In regards to claim 2, Hoang and Yasukawa does not teach transmitting a resource request for a sidelink transmission, wherein the resource indication information is generated based on the resource request. In an analogous art, Zhao teaches transmitting a resource request (sidelink transmission resources to use) for a sidelink transmission, wherein the resource indication information is generated based on the resource request (¶ [0070], [0071] network device transmits configuration with sidelink resources to use, and terminal device creates and transmits indication information)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Zhao the modified system of Hoang and Yasukawa to avoid interference and improve communication, enhancing the user experience (¶ [0015]). In regards to claim 3, the combination Hoang and Yasukawa and Zhao, specifically Hoang teaches wherein the resource indication information (resource reservation message) is generated by the second UE performing a sensing procedure and a resource selection procedure (¶ [0088], [0106], [0165] WTRU performs sensing on resource pool, then evaluates sensing result to select sidelink resource. Once resource has been selected, WTRU must generate to send a resource reservation message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Zhao the modified system of Hoang and Yasukawa to avoid interference and improve communication, enhancing the user experience (¶ [0015]). In regards to claim 10, the combination Hoang, Yasukawa
and Zhao, specifically Zhao teaches wherein a starting boundary in the time domain of the resource re-evaluation window is later than a time instance of receiving the resource indication information, and an ending boundary in the time domain of the resource re-evaluation window is earlier than a time instance of an earliest sidelink resource within the one or more sidelink resources (¶ [0147] first terminal device receives configured grant of resources available. The terminal device then senses for available resources at time n. The terminal device then reserves a resource at time n+15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Zhao the modified system of Hoang and Yasukawa to avoid interference and improve communication, enhancing the user experience (¶ [0015]). In regards to claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2, wherein the computer-executable instructions cause the processor to transmit to a second UE (¶ [Hoang 0040-0041] WRTU may include a processor, memory, and a transceiver that cause the processor to execute instructions to transmit to another WTRU). In regards to claim 31, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3. In regards to claim 34, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 10. In regards to claim 37, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2, wherein the computer-executable instructions cause the processor to transmit to another UE (¶ [Hoang 0040-0041] WRTU may include a processor, memory, and a transceiver that cause the processor to execute instructions to another WTRU).
Claims 7, 33, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang et al. (US PG Pub. 2019/0306835 A1 from IDS, hereinafter “Hoang”) in view of Yasukawa et al. and further in view of Khoryaev et al. (US Patent No. 11,871, 388 B2, hereinafter “Khoryaev”). In regards to claim 7, Hoang and Yasukawa does not teach wherein the resource indication information is included in one of a first stage or a second stage of a sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH). In an analogous art, Khoryaev teaches wherein the resource indication information is included in one of a first stage (PSCCH) or a second stage (PSSCH) of a sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) (¶ [Col. 18, Lines 40-47] information on resources available are sent in SCI via PSCCH). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Khoryaev into Hoang and Yasukawa to effectively reduce latency in finding available resources, enhancing the user experience (¶ [Col. 1, Lines 52-56]). In regards to claim 33, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7. In regards to claim 40, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 7.
Claims 36, 41 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang et al. (US PG Pub. 2019/0306835 A1 from IDS, hereinafter “Hoang”) in view of Yasukawa and further in view of Wang et al. (US PG Pub. 2021/0410178 A1, hereinafter “Wang”).
In regards to claim 36, Hoang and Yasukawa teaches wherein the computer-executable instructions cause the processor to: (¶ [0040-0041] WRTU may include a processor, memory, and a transceiver that cause the processor to execute instructions). However, Hoang does not teach in response to a sidelink resource within the one or more sidelink resources being available, receiving a sidelink transmission on the sidelink resource
In an analogous art, Wang teaches in response to a sidelink resource within the one or more sidelink resources being available, receiving a sidelink transmission on the sidelink resource (¶ [0047] first UE receives indication of available sidelink grant to use to receive sidelink transmission from second UE). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang into Hoang and Yasukawa to effectively reduce resources used by the UE, enhancing the user experience (¶ [0089]). In regards to claim 41, the combination Hoang, Yasukawa and Wang, specifically Wang teaches wherein a time gap between a time instance of transmitting the resource indication information and a time instance of an earliest sidelink resource within the one or more sidelink resources is associated with resource pool configuration information (¶ [0069], [0104-0105] User equipment receives downlink control information with sidelink grant that specifies a time gap between the sidelink grant and first slot in a sidelink resource pool). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang into Hoang and Yasukawa to effectively reduce resources used by the UE, enhancing the user experience (¶ [0089]). In regards to claim 42, the combination Hoang, Yasukawa and Wang, specifically Wang, teaches wherein the resource pool configuration information includes a field, that indicates a minimum value of the time gap between the time instance of transmitting the resource indication information and the time instance of the earliest sidelink resource within the one or more sidelink resources (¶ [0095] downlink control information includes field of time gap, or the amount of time between sending a PUCCH resource indicator and the first slot of a sidelink resource to use). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang into Hoang and Yasukawa to effectively reduce resources used by the UE, enhancing the user experience (¶ [0089]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of the record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
Xing et al. (US PG Pub. 2021/0235421 A1) teaches a method of a configuring scheduled based sidelink resources for transmitting sidelink signals where two resources are received, both for transmitting UCI.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROMANI OHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413