DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on October 03, 2025 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 38, 43-49, 51-60 have been amended. Claims 42 and 50 have been canceled.
Applicant’s amendments to the claim 55 to address informalities overcome the claim objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed July 03, 2025.
Claims 38, 43-49, 51-60 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on October 03, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claim 38, Applicant added features from canceled claim 50. Applicant argues the claimed invention provides a configuration involving a single (relay-configured) "relay UE" positioned between and separately connected by respective PC5 links to two (standard-configured, i.e., non-relay configured) UEs to enable the two standard UEs to communicating with each other via a relay sidelink bridged by the relay UE. Lou in Figs. 1, 5 the third terminal is another relay device, not a standard (non-relay) UE. (pg. 10-11)
Examiner response to the above arguments: Luo ¶0072, Fig. 1 discloses the relay system including remote devices and relay devices interconnected via PC5 interfaces (covering 1st and 2nd PC5). ¶¶0086,0087 Figs. 4, 5 illustrates the relayed connection where the third terminal connects to the radio network. ¶0074 discloses relay device in FIG. 1 may be relay user equipment (relay UE) and may be any handheld device, mobile station (MS)). This indicates the terminals are relay or standard UE depending on the position role in the multi-hop scenario. Wang Fig. 6 ¶0068 further shows UE1 communicating with UE2 through relay 1 using the relayed sidelink connections as the claim recited. Accordingly, the combination of Luo and Wang teaches a relay UE having separate PC5 RRC connections to two (standard) UEs, as recited in the claim.
Regarding independent claim 38, Applicant argues Wang teaches in response to the relay detecting that RLF occurs at RLF at the PC5, relay sends instruction information to the base station through an RRC message and fails to suggest “determine whether the UE is in coverage of a base station (BS).” (pg. 12)
Examiner response to the above arguments: Wang teaches relay can detect the RLF at PC5 and inform base station (Fig. 4, ¶0065) or report the RLF to UE1 (Fig. 6, ¶0071). Luo in Fig. 5, ¶¶0181, 0108 discloses the third terminal (the UE) in coverage of base station that can send RRC message to the BS. Accordingly, the combination of Luo and Wang teaches relay UE detecting the RLF and notifying the UE which in turn reports the failure to the base station when in coverage.
Regarding dependent claim 43, Applicant argues Park does not provide any teaching of suggestion of the logical ID of a device that is a global network-level identify of the device used by the core network in the RRC connection to identify the UE (e.g., C-RNTI or a UE context ID). (pg. 12)
Examiner response to the above arguments: Claim 43 broadly recites “an identifier (ID) of the second UE” without restricting the identifier to a specific network-level identifier. Park [0138] discloses identification information associated with the sidelink connections sufficient to identify the involved UE.
Regarding dependent claim 46, Applicant argues Wang does not disclose first UE declares a sidelink RLF. (pg. 12)
Examiner response to the above arguments: Wang teaches the detection of sidelink RLF conditions and subsequent reporting of the failure (Figs. 4, 6 ¶0065, 0071). Declaring RLF is an internal state determination that necessarily occurs when a failure is detected or received via notification. The claim does not specify any specific signaling or protocol exchange for “declaring” and thus claimed limitation is taught by Wang.
Regarding dependent claim 47, Applicant argues paragraph [0121] of Park describes releasing a DRB and an SRB between the apparatus and the relay UE. In contrast, the claim elements recite that the UE "release DRBs and SRBs of the link between the UE and the second UE; and discard ... information of the link between the UE and the second UE." (pg. 13)
Examiner response to the above arguments: Park discloses [0121] When SL RLF for the specific destination is detected, the RRC layer of the UE may release a DRB and an SRB for the specific destination and may discard an NR sidelink communication related configuration for the specific destination. This indicates releasing the complete relayed connection between the UEs.
Regarding dependent claim 52, applicant argues the RRC reconfiguration message received by the relay from the BS, and applicant amended the claim “receive a RRC reconfiguration message directly from a BS. (pg. 13)
Examiner response to the above arguments: The mapping is updated for the amendment teaching directly sending the message though Uu interface (Wang ¶0066).
Regarding dependent claims 54, 60, Applicant argues the claim is directed to a discovery resource pool that is used to find one or more relay UEs. The term discovery resource pool is used in the art to refer to messages/signals advertising available sidelink resources by UEs indicating the UE is available to be configured as relay UEs, where the advertised resources are discoverable by other devices to allow for selecting of a corresponding UE to operate as a relay UE. Luo [0146] and Wang [0048] do not suggest this feature of Applicants' claims. (pgs.12-13)
Examiner response to the above arguments: Wang ¶0048 teaches monitoring the PC5 resource pools to determine availability and suitability of links. Luo ¶0146 teaches relay selection and establishment of PC5 connections based on available sidelink resources.
Regarding dependent claim 59, Applicant argues base station communicating with the relay UE, not the UE. (pg. 14)
Examiner response to the above arguments: Luo ¶¶0086,0087 Figs. 1, 4, 5 illustrates the relayed connection where the third terminal connects to the radio network, which can be any UE (¶0074).
Therefore, Examiner maintains the 35 U.S.C.§103 rejection with the same combination of the references mailed July 03, 2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 46, 52, 58 and 60 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 46 should be amended to read. “declare a sidelink RLF of the link between the
Similar issue is noted in claim 52, line 4; and in claim 60, line 5.
Claim 58 amended apparatus to relay UE of Claim 57 at the beginning, but later kept apparatus in “reaching a maximum number of retransmissions of a radio link control (RLC) entity of the apparatus;”
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 38, 46, 49, and 52-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (US 20210195666 A1), hereinafter Luo, in view of Wang et al. (US 20230074899 A1), hereinafter Wang.
Regarding Claim 38, Luo discloses A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, the UE (Luo Fig. 5, [0178] third terminal), comprising:
at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon computer-executable instructions; (Fig. 3, [0078] terminal device includes memory 304)
at least one receiving circuitry; (Fig. 3, [0078] communications interface 303, [0081] configured to communicate with another device or communications network)
at least one transmitting circuitry; (Fig. 3, [0078] communications interface 303, [0081] configured to communicate with another device or communications network) and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium, the at least one receiving circuitry and the at least one transmitting circuitry, (Fig. 3, [0078] processor 301, communications interface 303, [0082] memory 304 that can be used to store expected program code in a form of an instruction or a data structure)
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: (Fig. 3, [0083] processor 301 can invoke and execute the instruction or the program code stored in the memory 304) :
establish a first PC5 radio resource control (RRC) connection of a link between the UE and a relay user equipment (UE) ([0072] Fig. 1 shows a relay system that may include a remote device, relay devices, and a radio access network device. [0178], Fig. 5 third terminal (first UE) establishes a wireless communications interface with the second terminal ([0086] relay UE) indicates a first PC5 link between third terminal and the second terminal as the link between two devices being a PC5 link (see [0087] Fig. 4 discloses first terminal and second terminal may establish PC5 interface/sidelink between them),
the UE being a first UE ([0178], Fig. 5 discloses third terminal (first UE). [0074] The relay device in FIG. 1 may be relay user equipment (relay UE) and may be any handheld device, mobile station (MS))
wherein a second PC5 RRC connection of a link between the relay UE and a second UE has been established; (Luo [0086, 0087] Figs. 1, 4-5 discloses a PC5 interface link (second PC5) established between relay device/second terminal (relay UE) and remote device/first terminal (second UE))
determine whether the UE is in coverage of a base station (BS); (Luo in [0181], Fig. 5 discloses a radio interface channel between the third terminal (the UE) and radio access network device (BS), indicates in the coverage of the BS. [0108], Fig. 5, discloses the second terminal (relay) may send the RRC message to the radio access network device through the another relay device (for example, the third terminal (¶0074 the UE)) and
Luo in Fig. 1 discloses a remote UE, two relay devices and the Radio NW for various relayed communication as in Fig. 5, and Luo also discloses the relay UE in Fig. 1 may be any UE device for the role (¶0074) illustrating similar diagram by the applicant in their Fig. 1. Though Luo discloses the first and second PC5/slidelink, Luo does not explicitly disclose:
establish a RRC relayed connection of a link between the first UE and the second UE, wherein the first UE is configured for sidelink communication via an end-to-end link with the second UE,
receive a failure notification from the relay UE
wherein the failure notification indicates an occurrence of a failure on the link between the relay UE and the second UE.
in response to determining that the UE is in the coverage of the BS, report failure information associated with the failure notification to the BS.
Wang, however, discloses:
establish a RRC relayed connection of a link between the first UE and the second UE, (Wang [0068] Fig. 6 discloses initial end-to-end PC5-S/PC5-RRC connection between UE1 and the UE2 through relay 1. Because of the poor quality of a PC5 link between the UE1 and the relay 1, the UE1 or the UE2 reselects the second relay (relay UE2) for data forwarding, indicates establishing a relayed connection between the fist UE and the second UE. (Application [0053] refers the RRC relayed connection of the link is a logical link and may also be named as “an end-to-end link” between the UEs) between the first UE (UE1) and second UE (UE2))
wherein the first UE is configured for sidelink communication via an end-to-end link with the second UE, (Wang [0068] Fig. 6 discloses initial end-to-end PC5-S/PC5-RRC connection between UE1 and the UE2 through relay 1. ¶¶0024, 0026 further discloses Device-to-Device (D2D) communication directly or through single/multi-hop relays).
receive a failure notification from the relay UE, (Wang [0071], Fig. 6 discloses UE1 (first UE) receives link instruction information (sent by relay 1) between the relay 1 and the target UE2 (second UE) (such as an RLF failure indication)
wherein the failure notification indicates an occurrence of a failure on the link between the relay UE and the second UE. (Wang [0071], Fig. 6 discloses link instruction information (failure notification) is between the relay 1 and the target UE2 (second UE) (such as an RLF failure indication)
in response to determining that the UE is in the coverage of the BS, report failure information associated with the failure notification to the BS. (Wang [0065] In response to the relay detecting that RLF occurs at the PC5 interface, the relay sends instruction information to the base station through an RRC message (such as FailureInformation). Luo discloses the relay can send the RRC message through the UE, if the UE is in the BS coverage. Thus in combination, the failure notification can be sent to the BS when in coverage)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UE of Luo with the support of sidelink RLF detection and notification as taught by Wang to enable high data rate services and proximity services, realizing data transmission with the target node through a sidelink-based relay including a path switching method (Wang [0004]), thus supporting a wider range of applications and services, expanding coverage and reducing power consumption, improving the robustness of network infrastructure, and meeting the requirements of high data rate services and proximity services. (Wang, [0024])
Regarding Claim 46, Luo and Wang disclose the claim 38. Wang further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to perform one of: declare a sidelink RLF of the link between the first UE and the relay UE; or declare a sidelink RLF of the link between the first UE and the second UE. (Wang in [0065], Fig. 4 discloses detecting that RLF occurs at the PC5 interface between Relay 1 and the UE1 (first UE) and the relay sends instruction information, indicates declaring RLF on the link.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UE of Luo with the support of sidelink RLF detection and notification as taught by Wang to enable high data rate services and proximity services, realizing data transmission with the target node through a sidelink-based relay including a path switching method (Wang [0004]), thus supporting a wider range of applications and services, expanding coverage and reducing power consumption, improving the robustness of network infrastructure, and meeting the requirements of high data rate services and proximity services. (Wang, [0024])
Regarding Claim 49, Luo and Wang disclose the claim 38. Wang further discloses:
wherein the failure notification is included in one of: a RRC signaling; a control packet data unit (PDU) in a sidelink adaptation protocol (SLAP) layer; and a MAC control element (CE). (Wang [0060] discloses the instruction information of the PC5 RRC message sent by the relay to the UE1 includes at least one of: an RLF indication)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UE of Luo with the support of sidelink RLF detection and notification as taught by Wang to enable high data rate services and proximity services, realizing data transmission with the target node through a sidelink-based relay including a path switching method (Wang [0004]), thus supporting a wider range of applications and services, expanding coverage and reducing power consumption, improving the robustness of network infrastructure, and meeting the requirements of high data rate services and proximity services. (Wang, [0024])
Regarding Claim 52, Luo and Wang disclose the claim 38. Wang further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: receive a RRC reconfiguration message directly from a BS, ([0066] Fig. 4-5 The base station sends the path switching criteria through an RRC reconfiguration message (forwarded by the relay). Path switching configuration information (including switching instruction information) is sent to the UE1 through an RRC reconfiguration message (forwarded through the relay or directly sent through the Uu interface))
wherein the RRC reconfiguration message instructs the first UE to perform a relay reselection procedure; (Wang [0068] Fig. 4-6 discloses initial end-to-end PC5-S/PC5-RRC connection between UE1 and the UE2 through relay 1. Because of the poor quality of a PC5 link between the UE1 and the relay 1, the UE1 (first UE) or the UE2 reselects the second relay (relay UE2) for data forwarding, indicates establishing a relayed connection) and
performing the relay reselection procedure. (Wang [0068] Fig. 4-6 discloses UE1 (first UE) reselects the second relay (relay UE2) for data forwarding, indicates performing the procedure)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UE of Luo with the support of sidelink RLF detection and notification as taught by Wang to enable high data rate services and proximity services, realizing data transmission with the target node through a sidelink-based relay including a path switching method (Wang [0004]), thus supporting a wider range of applications and services, expanding coverage and reducing power consumption, improving the robustness of network infrastructure, and meeting the requirements of high data rate services and proximity services. (Wang, [0024])
Regarding Claim 53, Luo and Wang disclose the claim 38. Wang further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: perform a relay reselection procedure in response to receiving the failure notification. (Wang [0068] Fig. 4-6 discloses initial end-to-end PC5-S/PC5-RRC connection between UE1 and the UE2 through relay 1. Because of the poor quality of a PC5 link between the UE1 and the relay 1, the UE1 (first UE) or the UE2 reselects the second relay (relay UE2) for data forwarding, indicates the reselection is in response to the failure)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UE of Luo with the support of sidelink RLF detection and notification as taught by Wang to enable high data rate services and proximity services, realizing data transmission with the target node through a sidelink-based relay including a path switching method (Wang [0004]), thus supporting a wider range of applications and services, expanding coverage and reducing power consumption, improving the robustness of network infrastructure, and meeting the requirements of high data rate services and proximity services. (Wang, [0024])
Regarding Claim 54, Luo and Wang disclose the claim 53. Luo and Wang further disclose: wherein performing the relay reselection procedure further comprises (Wang [0068] Fig. 4-6 discloses the reselection of the second relay (relay UE2)):
monitor a discovery resource pool to find one or more relay UEs; (Luo discloses [0146] terminal receives a discovery message (for example, a discovery request or a discovery response) sent by one or more terminals, and determines, based on the discovery message, that the RRC message is to be sent by the second terminal, indicates the monitoring for suitable relay. Wang discloses in [0048] the path switching criteria are met when a channel busy ratio (CBR) of any resource pool of a PC5 interface of the first link being higher than the first CBR threshold, indicates monitoring a resource pool of one or more relays)
select one relay UE within the one or more relay UEs; (Luo discloses [0146] based on the discovery message, that the RRC message is to be sent by the second terminal, indicates selecting one relay) and
establish a PC5 RRC connection of a link between the UE and the selected one relay UE. (Wang [0068] Fig. 4-6 discloses the UE1 (first UE) or the UE2 reselects the second relay (relay UE2) for data forwarding, indicates selecting a new relay from the available pool of relays)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UE of Luo with the support of sidelink RLF detection and notification as taught by Wang to enable high data rate services and proximity services, realizing data transmission with the target node through a sidelink-based relay including a path switching method (Wang [0004]), thus supporting a wider range of applications and services, expanding coverage and reducing power consumption, improving the robustness of network infrastructure, and meeting the requirements of high data rate services and proximity services. (Wang, [0024])
Regarding Claim 55, Luo discloses A relay user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Luo Figs. 1, 5, [0178] second terminal ([0086] relay UE)), the UE comprising:
at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon computer-executable instructions; (Fig. 3, [0078] terminal device includes memory 304)
at least one receiving circuitry; (Fig. 3, [0078] communications interface 303, [0081] configured to communicate with another device or communications network)
at least one transmitting circuitry; (Fig. 3, [0078] communications interface 303, [0081] configured to communicate with another device or communications network) and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium, the at least one receiving circuitry and the at least one transmitting circuitry, (Fig. 3, [0078] processor 301, communications interface 303, [0082] memory 304 that can be used to store expected program code in a form of an instruction or a data structure)
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the relay UE to: (Fig. 3, [0083] processor 301 can invoke and execute the instruction or the program code stored in the memory 304):
wherein a first PC5 radio resource control (RRC) connection of a link between a first UE and the relay UE has been established, (Luo [0072] Fig. 1 shows a relay system that may include a remote device, relay devices, and a radio access network device. [0178], Fig. 5 third terminal (first UE) establishes a wireless communications interface with the second terminal ([0086] relay UE) indicates a first PC5 link between third terminal and the second terminal as the link between two devices being a PC5 link (see [0087] Fig. 4 discloses first terminal and second terminal may establish PC5 interface/sidelink between them), and
wherein a second PC5 RRC connection of the link between the relay UE and the second UE has been established; (Luo [0086, 0087] Figs. 1, 4-5 discloses a PC5 interface link (second PC5) established between relay device/second terminal (relay UE) and remote device/first terminal (second UE)) and
Luo does not explicitly disclose:
detect whether a failure occurs on a link between the relay UE and a second user equipment (UE)
in response to detecting that the failure occurs on the link between the relay UE and the second UE, transmit a failure notification to the first UE,
wherein the failure notification indicates an occurrence of the failure on the link between the relay UE and the second UE.
Wang, however, discloses:
detect whether a failure occurs on a link between the relay UE and a second user equipment (UE), ([0070] Fig. 6 discloses path switching for UE 1 Relay 1 and UE2 that includes link status indication between the first relay and the second UE; where the link status indication includes a radio link failure (RLF) indication)
in response to detecting that the failure occurs on the link between the relay UE and the second UE, transmit a failure notification to the first UE, (Wang [0071], Fig. 6 discloses UE1 (first UE) receives link instruction information (sent by relay 1) between the relay 1 and the target UE2 (second UE) (such as an RLF failure indication)
wherein the failure notification indicates an occurrence of the failure on the link between the relay UE and the second UE. (Wang [0071], Fig. 6 discloses link instruction information (failure notification) is between the relay 1 (relay UE) and the target UE2 (second UE) (such as an RLF failure indication).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UE of Luo with the support of sidelink RLF detection and notification as taught by Wang to enable high data rate services and proximity services, realizing data transmission with the target node through a sidelink-based relay including a path switching method (Wang [0004]), thus supporting a wider range of applications and services, expanding coverage and reducing power consumption, improving the robustness of network infrastructure, and meeting the requirements of high data rate services and proximity services. (Wang, [0024])
Claims 43, 47, 48, 51, 56, 59 and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (US 20210195666 A1), hereinafter Luo, in view of Wang et al. (US 20230074899 A1), hereinafter Wang and further in view of Park et al. (US 20220386403 A1), hereinafter Park.
Regarding Claim 43, Luo and Wang disclose the claim 38. Luo and Wang do not disclose:
wherein the failure notification includes:
an identifier (ID) of the second UE associated with a RRC relayed connection of a link between the UE and the second UE, in response to the RRC relayed connection of the link between the apparatus and the second UE being established;
Park, however, discloses:
wherein the failure notification includes:
an identifier (ID) of the second UE associated with a RRC relayed connection of a link between the UE and the second UE, in response to the RRC relayed connection of the link between the UE and the second UE being established; (Park discloses Fig. 9, [0138] transmitting UE may report the SL RLF with respect to connection #1, may also report destination identifier 1, indicates the failure notification can include the UU identifier associated with the link (refer to application spec [0055])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UE of Luo and Wang with UE identifier for the sidelink and radio bearer management as taught by Park in order to provide a method for managing connections for smooth sidelink communication when RLF has occurred in some of a plurality of connections established between sidelink UEs for supporting services which will transform industries with ultra-reliable/available, low latency links. (Park, [0006, 0028])
Regarding Claim 47, Luo and Wang disclose the claim 38. Wang further discloses:
in response to a RRC relayed connection of a link between the UE and the second UE being established (Wang [0068] Fig. 6 discloses initial end-to-end PC5-S/PC5-RRC connection between UE1 (UE) and the UE2 (second UE) through relay 1. Because of the poor quality of a PC5 link between the UE1 and the relay 1, the UE1 or the UE2 reselects the second relay (relay UE2) for data forwarding, indicates establishing a relayed connection between the UE and second UE) :
release DRBs and SRBs of the link between the UE and the second UE; and discard sidelink communication configuration information of the link between the UE and the second UE.
Luo and Wang do not specifically disclose:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
release data radio bearers (DRBs) and signaling radio bearers (SRBs) of the link between the UE and the relay UE;
discard sidelink communication configuration information of the link between the UE and the relay UE; and
in response to a RRC relayed connection of a link between the UE and the second UE being established:
release DRBs and SRBs of the link between the UE and the second UE; and
discard sidelink communication configuration information of the link between the UE and the second UE.
Park, however, discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
release data radio bearers (DRBs) and signaling radio bearers (SRBs) of the link between the UE and the relay UE; (Park [0121] the RRC layer of the UE may release a DRB and an SRB for the specific destination (between UE and relay UE))
discard sidelink communication configuration information of the link between the UE and the relay UE; (Park [0121] the RRC layer of the UE may discard an NR sidelink communication related configuration for the specific destination (between UE and relay UE) and
in response to a RRC relayed connection of a link between the UE and the second UE being established:
release DRBs and SRBs of the link between the UE and the second UE; (Park [0121] When SL RLF for the specific destination is detected (UE-relay 1-second UE), the RRC layer of the UE may release a DRB and an SRB for the specific destination (between UE and second UE)) and
discard sidelink communication configuration information of the link between the UE and the second UE. (Park [0121] When SL RLF for the specific destination is detected (UE-relay 1-second UE), the RRC layer of the UE may discard an NR sidelink communication related configuration for the specific destination (between UE and second UE))
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UE of Luo and Wang with UE identifier for the sidelink and radio bearer management as taught by Park in order to provide a method for managing connections for smooth sidelink communication when RLF has occurred in some of a plurality of connections established between sidelink UEs for supporting services which will transform industries with ultra-reliable/available, low latency links. (Park, [0006, 0028])
Regarding Claim 48, Luo and Wang disclose the claim 38. Wang further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: set a connection status of the link between the UE and the relay UE to a release status; (Wang [0069, 0070] In the process of switching from the link of the relay 1 to the link of the relay 2, as shown in FIG. 6, the link status indication includes a link release indication)
in response to a RRC relayed connection of a link between the UE and the second UE being established (Wang [0068] Fig. 6 discloses initial end-to-end PC5-S/PC5-RRC connection between UE1 (UE) and the UE2 (second UE) through relay 1. Because of the poor quality of a PC5 link between the UE1 and the relay 1, the UE1 or the UE2 reselects the second relay (relay UE2) for data forwarding, indicates establishing a relayed connection between the UE and second UE):
reset sidelink specific MAC configuration information of the link between the UE and the second UE;
set a connection status of the link between the UE and the second UE to a release status; ([0069, 0070] In the process of switching from the link of the relay 1 to the link of the relay 2, as shown in FIG. 6, the link status indication includes a link release indication) and
indicate the release status of the link between the UE and the second UE to the upper layer of the second UE.
Luo and Wang do not specifically disclose:
reset sidelink specific medium access control (MAC) configuration information of the link between the UE and the relay UE;
indicate the release status of the link between the UE and the relay UE to an upper layer of the second UE; and
in response to a RRC relayed connection of a link between the UE and the second UE being established:
reset sidelink specific MAC configuration information of the link between the UE and the second UE;
indicate the release status of the link between the UE and the second UE to the upper layer of the second UE.
Park, however, discloses:
reset sidelink specific medium access control (MAC) configuration information of the link between the UE and the relay UE; ([0121] the UE may reset sidelink MAC of the specific destination and may consider that PC5-RRC connection for the specific destination is released)
indicate the release status of the link between the UE and the relay UE to an upper layer of the second UE; ([0121] the RRC layer of the UE may instruct the higher layer to release the PC5-RRC connection for the specific destination) and
in response to a RRC relayed connection of a link between the UE and the second UE being established:
reset sidelink specific MAC configuration information of the link between the UE and the second UE; ([0121] the UE may reset sidelink MAC of the specific destination and may consider that PC5-RRC connection for the specific destination is released)
indicate the release status of the link between the UE and the second UE to the upper layer of the second UE. ([0121] the RRC layer of the UE may instruct the higher layer to release the PC5-RRC connection for the specific destination)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UE of Luo and Wang with UE identifier for the sidelink and radio bearer management as taught by Park in order to provide a method for managing connections for smooth sidelink communication when RLF has occurred in some of a plurality of connections established between sidelink UEs for supporting services which will transform industries with ultra-reliable/available, low latency links. (Park, [0006, 0028])
Regarding Claim 51, Luo and Wang disclose the claim 38. Luo and Wang further disclose:
wherein the failure information includes: a status of the link between the UE and the relay UE; (Luo Figs. 1, 5 [0086, 0087, 0178] discloses a first PC5 (between third terminal/the UE and second terminal/relay) and second PC5 (between second terminal/relay and first terminal/second UE. Wang Fig. 4, ¶0065 discloses in response to the relay detecting that RLF occurs at the PC5 interface with the UE1, the relay sends instruction information to the base station (such as FailureInformation) and
a status of the link between the relay UE and the second UE; (Luo Figs. 1, 5 [0086, 0087, 0178] discloses a first PC5 (between third terminal/the UE and second terminal/relay) and second PC5 (between second terminal/relay and first terminal/second UE. Wang Fig. 6, ¶0071 discloses the UE1 receives link instruction information between the relay 1 and the target UE2 (such as an RLF failure indication, an indication of the link quality or a link congestion indication, etc.) sent by the relay 1, Thus, Luo and Wang indicates upon detecting a RLF or link quality status on a particular link, relay can send the failure notification to the next hop (the UE) including the link status.)
wherein the status of the link between the UE and the relay UE or the status of the link between the relay UE and the second UE represents one of: an occurrence of a RLF; and a link being available. (Wang Figs. 4, 6 ¶¶0065, 0071 discloses the status represents the RLF of the link).
Though Luo and Wang discloses the UE, relay and a second UE with two PC5 links and the relay UE sending RLF/Link quality status to the next hop (the UE or BS), Luo and Wang do not explicitly disclose the status about link being available:
a link being available.
Park, however, discloses:
wherein the status of the link between the UE and the relay UE or the status of the link between the relay UE and the second UE represents one of:
a link being available. (Park [0138], Fig. 9 In step S903, the transmitting UE may report the SL RLF with respect to connection #1 to a base station. In this case, the transmitting UE may also report destination identifier 1, indicates the status as the occurrence of the RLF. [0139] In step S904, the transmitting UE may transmit information on the remaining connections #2, #3, and #4 in which SL RLF has not occurred to the base station, indicating links that are available.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UE of Luo and Wang with UE identifier for the sidelink and radio bearer management as taught by Park in order to provide a method for managing connections for smooth sidelink communication when RLF has occurred in some of a plurality of connections established between sidelink UEs for supporting services which will transform industries with ultra-reliable/available, low latency links. (Park, [0006, 0028])
Regarding Claim 56, Luo and Wang disclose claim 55. Luo and Wang do not specifically disclose:
wherein the failure on the link between the relay UE and the second UE is: a failure during a RRC reconfiguration procedure between the relay UE and the second UE,
wherein the failure notification is a RRC reconfiguration failure for relayed sidelink message.
Park, however, discloses:
wherein the failure on the link between the relay UE and the second UE is: a failure during a RRC reconfiguration procedure between the relay UE and the second UE, ([0119] A UE may consider that SL RLF for a specific destination has been detected when, a T400 timer expires. [0120] the T400 timer may start at the time of transmitting RRCReconfigurationSidelink, indicates failure during RRC reconfiguration procedure)
wherein the failure notification is a RRC reconfiguration failure for relayed sidelink message. ([0119-0120] discloses SL RLF due to the T400 timer expiry for RRCReconfigurationSidelink. [0138] In step S903, discloses the transmitting UE may report the SL RLF including the destination identifier 1 and results)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UE of Luo and Wang with UE identifier for the sidelink and radio bearer management as taught by Park in order to provide a method for managing connections for smooth sidelink communication when RLF has occurred in some of a plurality of connections established between sidelink UEs for supporting services which will transform industries with ultra-reliable/available, low latency links. (Park, [0006, 0028])
Regarding Claim 59, Luo discloses A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, the UE (Luo Fig. 5, [0178] third terminal), comprising:
at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon computer-executable instructions; (Fig. 3, [0078] terminal device includes memory 304)
at least one receiving circuitry; (Fig. 3, [0078] communications interface 303, [0081] configured to communicate with another device or communications network)
at least one transmitting circuitry; (Fig. 3, [0078] communications interface 303, [0081] configured to communicate with another device or communications network) and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium, the at least one receiving circuitry and the at least one transmitting circuitry, (Fig. 3, [0078] processor 301, communications interface 303, [0082] memory 304 that can be used to store expected program code in a form of an instruction or a data structure)
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: (Fig. 3, [0083] processor 301 can invoke and execute the instruction or the program code stored in the memory 304):
transmit a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration for relayed sidelink message to a relay UE, ([0190] Fig. 5, Step 507: The third terminal (first UE) sends an indication of the first terminal and the second RRC message to the second terminal (relay). [0140] RRC message may be a signaling message, for example, an RRC reconfiguration message)
the UE being a first UE; ([0178], Fig. 5 discloses third terminal (first UE). [0074] The relay device in FIG. 1 may be relay user equipment (relay UE) and may be any handheld device, mobile station (MS))
Luo in Fig. 1 discloses a remote UE, two relay devices and the Radio NW for various relayed communication as in Fig. 5, and Luo also discloses the relay UE in Fig. 1 may be any UE device for the role (¶0074) illustrating similar diagram by the applicant in their Fig. 1. Though Luo discloses the first and second PC5/slidelink, Luo does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a RRC relayed connection of a link between the UE and a second UE has been established,
wherein the failure information indicates a failure on the RRC relayed connection of the link between the first UE and the second UE
Wang, however, discloses:
wherein a RRC relayed connection of a link between the UE and a second UE has been established, the UE being a first UE; (Wang [0068] Fig. 6 discloses initial end-to-end PC5-S/PC5-RRC connection between UE1 and the UE2 through relay 1. Because of the poor quality of a PC5 link between the UE1 and the relay 1, the UE1 or the UE2 reselects the second relay (relay UE2) for data forwarding, indicates establishing a relayed connection between the UE and the second UE.)
wherein the failure information indicates a failure on the RRC relayed connection of the link between the first UE and the second UE. (Wang [0068] Fig. 6 discloses initial end-to-end PC5-S/PC5-RRC connection between UE1 and the UE2 through relay 1. [0071], Fig. 6 discloses link instruction information (failure notification) for the relayed connection through relay 1.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UE of Luo with the support of sidelink RLF detection and notification as taught by Wang to enable high data rate services and proximity services, realizing data transmission with the target node through a sidelink-based relay including a path switching method (Wang [0004]), thus supporting a wider range of applications and services, expanding coverage and reducing power consumption, improving the robustness of network infrastructure, and meeting the requirements of high data rate services and proximity services. (Wang, [0024])
Luo and Wang do not disclose:
start a timer for controlling a reconfiguration procedure; and
in response to an expiry of the timer or in response to receiving a RRC reconfiguration failure for relayed sidelink message from the relay UE, report failure information to a base station (BS),
Park, however, discloses:
start a timer for controlling a reconfiguration procedure; ([0120] the T400 timer may start at the time of transmitting RRCReconfigurationSidelink) and
in response to an expiry of the timer or in response to receiving a RRC reconfiguration failure for relayed sidelink message from the relay UE, report failure information to a base station (BS), ([0119] A UE may consider that SL RLF for a specific destination has been detected when, a T400 timer expires. [0138] In step S903, the transmitting UE may report the SL RLF with respect to connection #1 to a base station)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UE of Luo and Wang with UE identifier for the sidelink and radio bearer management as taught by Park in order to provide a method for managing connections for smooth sidelink communication when RLF has occurred in some of a plurality of connections established between sidelink UEs for supporting services which will transform industries with ultra-reliable/available, low latency links. (Park, [0006, 0028])
Regarding Claim 60, Luo, Wang and Park disclose claim 59. Luo and Wang further disclose:
wherein to perform the relay reselection procedure, (Wang [0068] Fig. 4-6 discloses the reselection of the second relay (relay UE2)) the processor (Luo Fig. 3, [0078] processor 301) :
monitors a discovery resource pool to find one or more relay UEs; (Luo discloses [0146] terminal receives a discovery message (for example, a discovery request or a discovery response) sent by one or more terminals, and determines, based on the discovery message, that the RRC message is to be sent by the second terminal, indicates the monitoring for suitable relay. Wang discloses in [0048] the path switching criteria are met when a channel busy ratio (CBR) of any resource pool of a PC5 interface of the first link being higher than the first CBR threshold, indicates monitoring a resource pool of one or more relays)
selects one relay UE within the one or more relay UEs; (Luo discloses [0146] based on the discovery message, that the RRC message is to be sent by the second terminal, indicates selecting one relay) and
establishes a PC5 RRC connection of a link between the first UE and the one selected relay UE. (Wang [0068] Fig. 4-6 discloses the UE1 (first UE) or the UE2 reselects the second relay (relay UE2) for data forwarding, indicates selecting a new relay from the available pool of relays)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UE of Luo and Park with the support of discovering relay link as taught by Wang to enable high data rate services and proximity services, realizing data transmission with the target node through a sidelink-based relay including a path switching method (Wang [0004]), thus supporting a wider range of applications and services, expanding coverage and reducing power consumption, improving the robustness of network infrastructure, and meeting the requirements of high data rate services and proximity services. (Wang, [0024])
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (US 20210195666 A1), hereinafter Luo, in view of Wang et al. (US 20230074899 A1), hereinafter Wang and further in view of DI GIROLAMO et al. (US 20220191962 A1), hereinafter Di Girolamo.
Regarding Claim 44, Luo and Wang disclose the claim 38. Luo and Wang do not disclose:
wherein the failure notification includes a failure cause, and
wherein the failure cause includes one of:
a sidelink radio link failure (RLF); and
a configuration failure.
Di Girolamo, however, discloses:
wherein the failure notification includes a failure cause, ([0456] Fig. 6, UE may also send an indication of the cause of the failure (PHY issue, MAC issue, etc.) in a message) and
wherein the failure cause includes one of:
a sidelink radio link failure (RLF); and a configuration failure. ([0456] Fig. 6 UE RRC layer sends a message to the Controlling entity ([0176, 0179] gNB or a UE) to indicate that the SL radio link has failed (sidelink RLF))
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UE of Luo and Wang with SL-radio link monitoring (SL-RLM), and determine, according to the signals, whether a SL-radio link failure (RLF) has occurred as taught by Di Girolamo. Doing so allows to support a variety of use cases, resulting in a wide variety of user experience requirements for data rate, latency, and mobility. (Di Girolamo, [0003, 0031])
Claims 45, 57 and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (US 20210195666 A1), hereinafter Luo, in view of Wang et al. (US 20230074899 A1), hereinafter Wang, in view of DI GIROLAMO et al. (US 20220191962 A1), hereinafter Di Girolamo and further in view of Park et al. (US 20220386403 A1), hereinafter Park.
Regarding Claim 45, Luo, Wang and Di Girolamo disclose claim 44. Di Girolamo further disclose:
wherein the failure notification further includes at least one failure cause ([0456] Fig. 6, UE may also send an indication of the cause of the failure (PHY issue, MAC issue, etc.) in a message) from among:
Though Di Girolamo discloses indicating the cause of failures, Luo, Wang and Di Girolamo do not explicitly disclose the causes in the limitation:
wherein the failure notification further includes at least one failure cause from among:
reaching a maximum number of retransmissions of a RLC entity of the relay UE;
an expiry of a timer for transmission of RRC reconfiguration for sidelink;
reaching a maximum number of consecutive hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) discontinuous transmission (DTX); and
an integrity check failure.
Park, however, discloses:
wherein the failure notification further includes at least one failure cause from among:
reaching a maximum number of retransmissions of a RLC entity of the relay UE; an expiry of a timer for transmission of RRC reconfiguration for sidelink; reaching a maximum number of consecutive hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) discontinuous transmission (DTX); and an integrity check failure. ([0119] A UE may consider that SL RLF for a specific destination has been detected when a sidelink RLC entity indicates that the maximum number of retransmissions for the specific destination has been reached, a T400 timer expires, a sidelink MAC entity indicates that the maximum number of consecutive HARQ DTX for the specific destination has been reached, or a sidelink PDCP entity indicates integrity check failure regarding SL-SRB2 or SL-SRB3.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UE of Luo, Wang, and Di Girolamo with UE identifier for the sidelink and radio bearer management as taught by Park in order to provide a method for managing connections for smooth sidelink communication when RLF has occurred in some of a plurality of connections established between sidelink UEs for supporting services which will transform industries with ultra-reliable/available, low latency links. (Park, [0006, 0028])
Regarding Claim 57, Luo, and Wang disclose the claim 55. Luo and Wang do not disclose:
wherein the failure notification includes a failure cause, and
wherein the failure cause includes:
a configuration failure.
Di Girolamo, however, discloses:
wherein the failure notification includes a failure cause, ([0456] Fig. 6, UE may also send an indication of the cause of the failure (PHY issue, MAC issue, etc.) in a message) and
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UE of Luo and Wang with SL-radio link monitoring (SL-RLM), and determine, according to the signals, whether a SL-radio link failure (RLF) has occurred as taught by Di Girolamo. Doing so allows to support a variety of use cases, resulting in a wide variety of user experience requirements for data rate, latency, and mobility. (Di Girolamo, [0003, 0031])
Though Di Girolamo teaches UE RRC layer sends a message to the Controlling entity ([0176, 0179] gNB or a UE) to indicate that the SL radio link has failed (sidelink RLF) (Fig. 6, 0456), Luo, Wang, and Di Girolamo do not explicitly disclose configuration failure cause:
wherein the failure cause includes: a configuration failure.
Park, however, discloses:
wherein the failure cause includes: a configuration failure. (Park ([0119-0120] discloses SL RLF due to the T400 timer expiry for RRCReconfigurationSidelink. [0138] In step S903, discloses the transmitting UE may report the SL RLF including the destination identifier 1 and results. Thus the result can indicate the configuration failure when the RLF is for RRC reconfiguration failure.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UE of Luo, Wang, and Di Girolamo with UE identifier for the sidelink and slidelink failure management as taught by Park in order to provide a method for managing connections for smooth sidelink communication when RLF has occurred in some of a plurality of connections established between sidelink UEs for supporting services which will transform industries with ultra-reliable/available, low latency links. (Park, [0006, 0028])
Regarding Claim 58, Luo, Wang, Di Girolamo, and Park disclose claim 57. Di Girolamo and Park further disclose:
wherein the failure notification further includes at least one failure cause of (Di Girolamo [0456] Fig. 6, UE may also send an indication of the cause of the failure (PHY issue, MAC issue, etc.) in a message):
reaching a maximum number of retransmissions of a radio link control (RLC) entity of the apparatus; an expiry of a timer for transmission of RRC reconfiguration for sidelink; reaching a maximum number of consecutive hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) discontinuous transmission (DTX); and an integrity check failure. (Park [0119] A UE may consider that SL RLF for a specific destination has been detected when a sidelink RLC entity indicates that the maximum number of retransmissions for the specific destination has been reached, a T400 timer expires, a sidelink MAC entity indicates that the maximum number of consecutive HARQ DTX for the specific destination has been reached, or a sidelink PDCP entity indicates integrity check failure regarding SL-SRB2 or SL-SRB3.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UE of Luo, Wang, and Di Girolamo with UE identifier for the sidelink and radio bearer management as taught by Park in order to provide a method for managing connections for smooth sidelink communication when RLF has occurred in some of a plurality of connections established between sidelink UEs for supporting services which will transform industries with ultra-reliable/available, low latency links. (Park, [0006, 0028])
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.N.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417