DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Species I, fig.1A, 1B, claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-10 in the reply filed on 11/19/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Auyang (2019/0343232).
Regarding claim 1, Auyang discloses a lacing device (fig.14) for securing a shoe to a foot, comprising a shoe main body (fig.14) for receiving the foot, at least one lacing element (122, 124) for holding the foot in the shoe main body, and at least one adaptor (500, par [0085]) for adjusting the degree of lacing of the lacing element, wherein the adaptor is coupled to the lacing element. But Auyang does not disclose a functional limitation such as the adaptor being configured to release or lock the lacing element with respect to the shoe main body depending on the speed of a relative movement of the lacing element. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to recognize that the footwear article of Auyang is configured to perform as the claimed invention, since the functional implications and statements of intended use does not positively recite a structural limitation, but instead requires an ability to so perform and/or function for that they are not deemed to impose any structural limitations distinguishable over the cited prior art.
Regarding claims 2, 4, Auyang discloses wherein the lacing element and/or the adaptor comprise at least one section arranged proximal, anterior to the shoe main body to interact with the back of the foot (fig.14); wherein the at least one adaptor is coupled to the lacing element such that the adaptor forms an intermediate section of the lacing element, wherein two ends of the adaptor are coupled to a lacing element section, or the adaptor forms an extension of the lacing element, wherein one end of the adaptor is attached to the shoe main body (fig.14).
Regarding claims 5-6, 10, Auyang discloses the lacing device of claim 1, wherein the at least one adaptor is arranged in the line of force of the lacing element (par [0085]); wherein the adaptor comprises a restoring element (interior section of element 500, par [0085]), and the restoring element is configured to bring the lacing element into and retain it in a laced up position; wherein the adaptor runs substantially in the longitudinal direction or transverse to the longitudinal direction of the shoe main body .
Regarding claim 9, Auyang does not disclose the adaptor being configured such that when the speed of relative movement of the lacing element with respect to the shoe main body is below a threshold value, the adaptor allows the relative movement of the lacing element, and configured such that when the speed of relative movement of the lacing element with respect to the shoe main body exceeds the threshold value, the adaptor stops the relative movement of the lacing element in order to lace up a wearer's foot located in the shoe main body. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to recognize that the footwear article of Auyang is configured to perform as the claimed invention, since the functional implications and statements of intended use does not positively recite a structural limitation, but instead requires an ability to so perform and/or function for that they are not deemed to impose any structural limitations distinguishable over the cited prior art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 9-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicants argue that Auyang does not disclose a functional limitation such as the adaptor being configured to release or lock the lacing element with respect to the shoe main body depending on the speed of a relative movement of the lacing element. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to recognize that the footwear article of Auyang is configured to perform as the claimed invention, since the functional implications and statements of intended use does not positively recite a structural limitation, but instead requires an ability to so perform and/or function for that they are not deemed to impose any structural limitations distinguishable over the cited prior art. Such argument has not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Timothy K Trieu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732