DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 12, 13, 16, 17, 20, 21, 75, 76, and 79-82 have been examined and are pending.
Response to Amendment
2. In response to the amendments received in the Office on 4/30/2026, the Office acknowledges the current status of the claims: claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 12, 13, 16, 17, 20, 21, and 76 have been amended, claims 3, 4, 7-11, 14, 15, 18, 19, 22-74, 77, and 78 have been canceled, claims 79-82 have been added new, and no new matter appears to be included.
3. In response to the amendments received in the Office on 4/30/2026, the rejections of claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 12, 13, 16, 17, 20, 21, 75, and 76 under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection includes further citations in view of the newly-amended features and therefore does not rely on previously-applied citations in the prior rejection of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1, 5, 6, 12, 16, 17, 20, 21, 75, and 76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication 2020/0137528 A1 to Ai et al. (hereinafter “Ai”).
Regarding Claim 1, Ai discloses an information communication method, applied to a network side device, comprising:
sending a first downlink control information (DCI) scrambled by a first radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) to a terminal, the first DCI being used to indicate whether control information of at least one of multicast service(s) or broadcast service(s) is changed or related information is changed (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information.); or
sending a second DCI scrambled by a second RNTI to the terminal, the second DCI being used to indicate whether the control information of at least one of multicast service set or broadcast service set is changed or related information is changed (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information. Examiner notes use of alternative language within the claim. Examiner notes there is no contextual distinction between a first DCI and second DCI, nor is there any contextual distinction between a first RNTI and a second RNTI. However, Ai does disclose that multiple DCIs may be repeatedly sent in at least [0392]. And in [0408-0411], different RNTI may be scrambled with the DCI to designate different types of multicast information.);
wherein the control information includes configuration information of the at least one of multicast service(s) or broadcast service(s) (Ai: [0004-0005] with [0171-0173] – describes as what is known in the art as an update to a multicast service and associated scheduling information, or a configuration. See also [0078-0079].);
wherein the first DCI is used to indicate by one DCI message:
resource information of the changed control information of at least one of the multicast service(s) or broadcast service(s) that needs to acquired (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information. See also [0210-0211] [0095], [0325-0339], [0348], and [0436].), and at least one of the following:
(i) the control information of the at least one multicast service(s) or broadcast service(s) having been changed (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information. See also [0210-0211].) or whether the control information of the at least one of multicast service(s) or broadcast service(s) has been changed (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information.);
(ii) adding a new set of at least one multicast service(s) or broadcast service(s) (alternative or dispositive limitation);
(iii) modification of an existing set of at least one multicast service(s) or broadcast service(s) (Ai: [0172-0174] – corresponds to a modification of the period of the MBS service.);
(iv) removing an existing set of at least one of multicast service(s) or broadcast services(s) (alternative or dispositive limitation);
wherein the second DCI is used to indicate by one DCI message (Examiner notes use of alternative language within the claim. Examiner notes there is no contextual distinction between a first DCI and second DCI, nor is there any contextual distinction between a first RNTI and a second RNTI. However, Ai does disclose that multiple DCIs may be repeatedly sent in at least [0392]. And in [0408-0411], different RNTI may be scrambled with the DCI to designate different types of multicast information.):
resource information of the changed control information of at least one of the multicast service(s) or broadcast service(s) that needs to acquired (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information. See also [0210-0211] [0095], [0325-0339], [0348], and [0436].), and at least one of the following:
(i) the control information of the at least one multicast service set or broadcast service set having been changed (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information. See also [0210-0211].) or whether the control information of the at least one of multicast service set or broadcast service set has been changed (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information.);
(ii) adding a new set of at least one multicast service(s) or broadcast service(s) (alternative or dispositive limitation);
(iii) modification of an existing set of at least one multicast service(s) or broadcast service(s) (Ai: [0172-0174] – corresponds to a modification of the period of the MBS service.);
(iv) removing an existing set of at least one of multicast service(s) or broadcast services(s) (alternative or dispositive limitation).
Regarding Claim 5, Ai discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first DCI is further used to indicate at least one of the following:
multicast or broadcast service(s) whose control information have been changed (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information. Interpreted to correspond to the type of MBMS service that is provided, which may be a push type or an abrupt type, as disclosed by Ai in at least [0142-0145]. Ai also discloses the control information may be related to a service parameter including, but not limited to one or more of start time, SAI, and frequency in at least [0123].);
turning Off or On HARQ feedback of the at least one of multicast service(s) or broadcast service(s) (alternative or dispositive limitation);
turning On or Off CSI feedback of the at least one of multicast service(s) or broadcast service(s) (alternative or dispositive limitation).
Regarding Claim 6, Ai discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one of multicast service set or broadcast service set is a set of some or all multicast services and/or broadcast services in a cell (Ai: [0020-0027] – DCI for the SC-MCCH includes at least service area identification (SAI) information. See also [0132-0134] – the MBS includes a multicast service set and/or an update of the MBS service. See also [0032] – the multicast information includes single-cell multicast control channel (SC-MCCH) information.); or,
the at least of multicast service set or broadcast service set is a set of some or all multicast services or broadcast services in a multicast area or broadcast area (Ai: [0020-0027] – DCI for the SC-MCCH includes at least service area identification (SAI) information. See also [0132-0134] – the MBS includes a multicast service set and/or an update of the MBS service.).
Regarding Claim 12, Ai discloses an information communication method, applied to a terminal, comprising:
receiving a first DCI sent by a network side device and scrambled by a first RNTI, the first DCI being used to indicate whether the control information of at least one of multicast service(s) or broadcast service is changed or related information is changed (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to receiving a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information.); or
receiving a second DCI sent by the network side device and scrambled by a second RNTI, the second DCI is used to indicate whether the control information at least one of multicast service set or broadcast service set is changed or related information is changed (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to receiving a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information. Examiner notes use of alternative language within the claim. Examiner notes there is no contextual distinction between a first DCI and second DCI, nor is there any contextual distinction between a first RNTI and a second RNTI. However, Ai does disclose that multiple DCIs may be repeatedly sent in at least [0392]. And in [0408-0411], different RNTI may be scrambled with the DCI to designate different types of multicast information.);
wherein the control information includes configuration information of the at least one multicast service(s) or broadcast service(s) (Ai: [0004-0005] with [0171-0173] – describes as what is known in the art as an update to a multicast service and associated scheduling information, or a configuration. See also [0078-0079].);
wherein the first DCI is used to indicate by one DCI message:
resource information of the changed control information of at least one of the multicast service(s) or broadcast service(s) that needs to acquired (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information. See also [0210-0211] [0095], [0325-0339], [0348], and [0436].), and at least one of the following:
(i) the control information of the at least one multicast service(s) or broadcast service(s) having been changed (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information. See also [0210-0211].) or whether the control information of the at least one of multicast service(s) or broadcast service(s) has been changed (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information.);
(ii) adding a new set of at least one multicast service(s) or broadcast service(s) (alternative or dispositive limitation);
(iii) modification of an existing set of at least one multicast service(s) or broadcast service(s) (Ai: [0172-0174] – corresponds to a modification of the period of the MBS service.);
(iv) removing an existing set of at least one of multicast service(s) or broadcast services(s) (alternative or dispositive limitation);
wherein the second DCI is used to indicate by one DCI message (Examiner notes use of alternative language within the claim. Examiner notes there is no contextual distinction between a first DCI and second DCI, nor is there any contextual distinction between a first RNTI and a second RNTI. However, Ai does disclose that multiple DCIs may be repeatedly sent in at least [0392]. And in [0408-0411], different RNTI may be scrambled with the DCI to designate different types of multicast information.):
resource information of the changed control information of at least one of the multicast service(s) or broadcast service(s) that needs to acquired (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information. See also [0210-0211] [0095], [0325-0339], [0348], and [0436].), and at least one of the following:
(i) the control information of the at least one multicast service set or broadcast service set having been changed (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information. See also [0210-0211].) or whether the control information of the at least one of multicast service set or broadcast service set has been changed (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information.);
(ii) adding a new set of at least one multicast service(s) or broadcast service(s) (alternative or dispositive limitation);
(iii) modification of an existing set of at least one multicast service(s) or broadcast service(s) (Ai: [0172-0174] – corresponds to a modification of the period of the MBS service.);
(iv) removing an existing set of at least one of multicast service(s) or broadcast services(s) (alternative or dispositive limitation).
Claims 16 and 17, dependent upon claim 12, recite similar features as claims 5 and 6, respectively, and are therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claims 5 and 6. Please see above rejections of claims 5 and 6.
Regarding Claim 20, Ai discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein the second DCI (Examiner notes use of alternative language within the claim. Examiner notes there is no contextual distinction between a first DCI and second DCI, nor is there any contextual distinction between a first RNTI and a second RNTI. However, Ai does disclose that multiple DCIs may be repeatedly sent in at least [0392]. And in [0408-0411], different RNTI may be scrambled with the DCI to designate different types of multicast information.) is further used to indicate at least one of the following:
multicast or broadcast service(s) where the control information of the at least one multicast service set or broadcast service set has been changed (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information.);
turning Off or On HARQ feedback of the at least one multicast service set or broadcast service set (alternative or dispositive limitation);
turning On or Off CSI feedback of the at least one multicast service set or broadcast service set (alternative or dispositive limitation);
identification information of at least one of changed multicast service(s) or broadcast service(s) in the at least one multicast service set or broadcast service set (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information. Interpreted to correspond to the type of MBMS service that is provided, which may be a push type or an abrupt type, as disclosed by Ai in at least [0142-0145]. Ai also discloses the control information may be related to a service parameter including, but not limited to one or more of start time, SAI, and frequency in at least [0123].).
Regarding Claim 21, Ai discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein, after receiving a first DCI scrambled by a first RNTI sent by a network side device, the method further comprises:
the first DCI including information for indicating that the control information of the at least one of multicast service(s) or the broadcast service(s) has been changed (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information. Interpreted to correspond to the type of MBMS service that is provided, which may be a push type or an abrupt type, as disclosed by Ai in at least [0142-0145]. Ai also discloses the control information may be related to a service parameter including, but not limited to one or more of start time, SAI, and frequency in at least [0123].) or,
in a case that the control information resource for indicating the at least one of multicast service(s) or broadcast service(s) carries change information, receiving the change information of the control information of the at least one of multicast service(s) or broadcast service(s) (alternative or dispositive limitation).
Claim 75, directed to an apparatus embodiment of claim 1, recites similar features as claim 1 (in hybrid form) and is therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claim 1. Please see above rejection of claim 1. Ai discloses a network side device comprising at least a memory, processor, and program in at least Figure 11 and claim 23.
Claim 76, directed to an apparatus embodiment of claim 12, recites similar features as claim 12 (in hybrid form) and is therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claim 12. Please see above rejection of claim 12. Ai discloses a terminal comprising at least a memory, processor, and program in at least Figure 12 and claim 29.
8. Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ai in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2023/0124420 A1 to Kim et al. (hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding Claim 2, Ai discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the configuration information of the at least one multicast service or broadcast service(s) includes at least a TMGI (Ai: [0170], [0185]), but does not expressly disclose one of the following:
a Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI) list;
session ID corresponding to TMGI in the TMGI list;
group RNTI corresponding to the TMGI in the TMGI list;
bandwidth Part (BWP) corresponding to the TMGI in the TMGI list;
subcarrier spacing corresponding to the TMGI in the TMGI list;
at least of a logical channel or logical channel group corresponding to the TMGI in the TMGI list;
discontinuous Reception (DRX) configuration corresponding to the TMGI in the TMGI list;
uplink resource configuration fed back by Hybrid Automatic Repeat request (HARQ) corresponding to the TMGI in the TMGI list;
uplink resource configuration reported by channel state information (CSI) corresponding to the TMGI in the TMGI list.
However, the feature of including a TMGI list cannot be considered new or novel in the presence of Kim. Kim is similarly concerned with communication of multicast/broadcast services (Kim: [0007]). Kim discloses configuration information of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service includes at least one of the following:
a Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI) list (Kim: [0008], [0097] – information about MBS includes a TMGI list.);
session ID corresponding to TMGI in the TMGI list (alternative or dispositive limitation);
group RNTI corresponding to the TMGI in the TMGI list (Kim: [0009] – information linked to MBS includes “…a group-radio network temporary identity (G-RNTI) corresponding to a TMGI included in the TMGI list.”);
bandwidth Part (BWP) corresponding to the TMGI in the TMGI list (Kim: [0137] – a BWP corresponds to a G-RNTI.);
subcarrier spacing corresponding to the TMGI in the TMGI list (alternative or dispositive limitation);
at least of a logical channel or logical channel group corresponding to the TMGI in the TMGI list (Kim: [0094] – “…the UE 1e-05 may determine an MBS RLC-bearer to deliver a MAC service data unit (SDU), in consideration of a logical channel ID (LCID) of the MAC SDU included in a MAC PDU and the G-RNTI of the MAC PDU.” This information is in consideration of a TMGI of interest.);
discontinuous Reception (DRX) configuration corresponding to the TMGI in the TMGI list (alternative or dispositive limitation);
uplink resource configuration fed back by Hybrid Automatic Repeat request (HARQ) corresponding to the TMGI in the TMGI list (alternative or dispositive limitation);
uplink resource configuration reported by channel state information (CSI) corresponding to the TMGI in the TMGI list (alternative or dispositive limitation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the multicast service and/or broadcast service including a TMGI of Ai in view of the multicast service and/or broadcast service including a TMGI of Kim to include a TMGI list for the reasons of seamlessly transferring an active service during a handover (Kim: [0006-0007]).
Claim 13, dependent upon claim 12, recites similar features as claim 2 and is therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claim 2. Please see above rejection of claim 2.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 79-82 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Examiner notes the following reference teaches an indication from a base station regarding the transmission mode the UE is to use, based on capabilities, but the reference does not teach or disclose an indication to change the transmission mode, in a DCI:
US PGPub 2023/0319909 A1 to Dai et al. at [0035-0037], [0056-0079].
Conclusion
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BENJAMIN H. ELLIOTT IV
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/BENJAMIN H ELLIOTT IV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474 June 16, 2026