DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 13, 16, 17, 20, 21, 75, and 76 have been examined and are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
3. In response to the amendments received in the Office on 12/26/2025, the Office acknowledges the current status of the claims: claims 1, 5, 12, 16, and 20 have been amended, claims 3, 4, 7-12, 14, 15, 18, 19, 22-74, 77, and 78 have been canceled, and no new matter appears to be included. Examiner respectfully notes the amendments received in the Office on 12/26/2025 have been further amended from the claim set received in the Office on 11/26/2025.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments filed 12/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner addresses Applicant’s concerns in the following response. Examiner respectfully notes the amendments received in the Office on 12/26/2025 have been further amended from the claim set received in the Office on 11/26/2025.
Applicant argues Ai does not expressly disclose the features of “the control information of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service having been changed or whether the control information of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service has been changed” (Feature X, as assigned by Applicant) and “resource information of the changed control information of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service that needs to be acquired” (Feature A, as assigned by Applicant; see Remarks, pages 14-18). In support of this Argument, Applicant alleges that the DCI must include indications that both control information and resource information has changed.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ai explicitly discloses that the resource information is changed (Ai: [0170-0176] – corresponds to the change notification mechanism including scheduling information, which necessarily corresponds to a resource for carrying the MBS. See also [0095], [0325-0339], [0348], and [0436].), and indications that the control information has changed (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information.).
Applicant argues Ai does not disclose Features B-D and 4B-4E (Remarks, pages 18-19). Examiner notes the se features are recited in the alternative form and are not required to be disclosed by the prior art of record (see below rejection).
Examiner articulates the above in the below rejection, and in further consideration of the amendments received in the Office on 12/26/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 13, 16, 17, 20, 21, 75, and 76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
a) Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 13, 16, 17, 20, 21, 75, and 76 recite the limitation a/the “Multicast service and/or broadcast service”. The inclusion of “and/or” renders the claim indefinite since one of ordinary skill in the art is not clearly aware whether or not a broadcast service is required with the multicast service. For purposes of examination, Examiner interprets each iteration of “and/or” to require only alternate forms of language that follow the term “or”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1, 5, 6, 12, 16, 17, 20, 21, 75, and 76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication 2020/0137528 A1 to Ai et al. (hereinafter “Ai”).
Regarding Claim 1, Ai discloses an information communication method, applied to a network side device, comprising:
sending a first downlink control information (DCI) scrambled by a first radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) to a terminal, the first DCI being used to indicate whether control information of a Multicast service and/or broadcast service is changed or related information is changed (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information.); or
sending a second DCI scrambled by a second RNTI to the terminal, the second DCI being used to indicate whether the control information of a Multicast service and/or broadcast service set is changed or related information is changed (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information. Examiner notes use of alternative language within the claim. Examiner notes there is no contextual distinction between a first DCI and second DCI, nor is there any contextual distinction between a first RNTI and a second RNTI. However, Ai does disclose that multiple DCIs may be repeatedly sent in at least [0392]. And in [0408-0411], different RNTI may be scrambled with the DCI to designate different types of multicast information.);
wherein the control information includes configuration information of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service (Ai: [0004-0005] with [0171-0173] – describes as what is known in the art as an update to a multicast service and associated scheduling information, or a configuration. See also [0078-0079].);
wherein the first DCI is used to indicate the control information of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service having been changed (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information. See also [0210-0211].) or whether the control information of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service has been changed (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information.), and at least one of the following:
resource information of the changed control information of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service that needs to be required (Ai: [0170-0176] – corresponds to the change notification mechanism including scheduling information, which necessarily corresponds to a resource for carrying the MBS. See also [0095], [0325-0339], [0348], and [0436].);
adding a new set of Multicast service and or broadcast service(s) (alternative or dispositive limitation);
modification of an existing set of Multicast service and/or broadcast service(s) (Ai: [0172-0174] – corresponds to a modification of the period of the MBS service.);
a transmission mode of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service being changed from a single cell point-to-multipoint transmission mode to a multi cell point-to-multipoint transmission mode (alternative or dispositive limitation);
the transmission mode of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service being changed from the multi cell point-to-multipoint transmission mode to the single cell point-to-multipoint transmission mode (alternative or dispositive limitation);
the transmission mode of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service being changed from a point-to-multipoint transmission mode to a point-to-point transmission mode (alternative or dispositive limitation);
the transmission mode of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service being changed from the point-to-point transmission mode to the point-to-multipoint transmission mode (alternative or dispositive limitation);
removing an existing Multicast service and/or broadcast services (alternative or dispositive limitation);
wherein the second DCI (Examiner notes use of alternative language within the claim. Examiner notes there is no contextual distinction between a first DCI and second DCI, nor is there any contextual distinction between a first RNTI and a second RNTI. However, Ai does disclose that multiple DCIs may be repeatedly sent in at least [0392]. And in [0408-0411], different RNTI may be scrambled with the DCI to designate different types of multicast information.) is used to indicate that the control information of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service set has been changed (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information. See also [0210-0211].) or whether the control information of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service set has been changed (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information.), and at least one of the following:
resource information of the changed control information of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service that needs to be required (Ai: [0170-0176] – corresponds to the change notification mechanism including scheduling information, which necessarily corresponds to a resource for carrying the MBS. See also [0095], [0325-0339], [0348], and [0436].);
adding a new set of Multicast service and or broadcast service(s) (alternative or dispositive limitation);
modification of an existing set of Multicast service and/or broadcast service(s) (Ai: [0172-0174] – corresponds to a modification of the period of the MBS service.);
a transmission mode of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service being changed from a single cell point-to-multipoint transmission mode to a multi cell point-to-multipoint transmission mode (alternative or dispositive limitation);
the transmission mode of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service being changed from the multi cell point-to-multipoint transmission mode to the single cell point-to-multipoint transmission mode (alternative or dispositive limitation);
the transmission mode of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service being changed from a point-to-multipoint transmission mode to a point-to-point transmission mode (alternative or dispositive limitation);
the transmission mode of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service being changed from the point-to-point transmission mode to the point-to-multipoint transmission mode (alternative or dispositive limitation);
removing an existing Multicast service and/or broadcast services (alternative or dispositive limitation).
Regarding Claim 5, Ai discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first DCI is further used to indicate at least one of the following:
a Multicast or broadcast service whose control information have been changed (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information. Interpreted to correspond to the type of MBMS service that is provided, which may be a push type or an abrupt type, as disclosed by Ai in at least [0142-0145]. Ai also discloses the control information may be related to a service parameter including, but not limited to one or more of start time, SAI, and frequency in at least [0123].);
turning Off or On HARQ feedback of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service (alternative or dispositive limitation);
turning On or Off CSI feedback of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service (alternative or dispositive limitation).
Regarding Claim 6, Ai discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the Multicast service and/or broadcast service set is a set of some or all Multicast services and/or broadcast services in a cell (Ai: [0020-0027] – DCI for the SC-MCCH includes at least service area identification (SAI) information. See also [0132-0134] – the MBS includes a multicast service set and/or an update of the MBS service. See also [0032] – the multicast information includes single-cell multicast control channel (SC-MCCH) information.); and/or,
the Multicast service and/or broadcast service set is a set of some or all Multicast services and/or broadcast services in a Multicast area and/or broadcast area (Ai: [0020-0027] – DCI for the SC-MCCH includes at least service area identification (SAI) information. See also [0132-0134] – the MBS includes a multicast service set and/or an update of the MBS service.).
Regarding Claim 12, Ai discloses an information communication method, applied to a terminal, comprising:
receiving a first DCI sent by a network side device and scrambled by a first RNTI, the first DCI being used to indicate whether the control information of one Multicast service and/or broadcast service is changed or related information is changed (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to receiving a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information.); or
receiving a second DCI sent by the network side device and scrambled by a second RNTI, the second DCI is used to indicate whether the control information of a Multicast service and/or broadcast service set is changed or related information is changed (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to receiving a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information. Examiner notes use of alternative language within the claim. Examiner notes there is no contextual distinction between a first DCI and second DCI, nor is there any contextual distinction between a first RNTI and a second RNTI. However, Ai does disclose that multiple DCIs may be repeatedly sent in at least [0392]. And in [0408-0411], different RNTI may be scrambled with the DCI to designate different types of multicast information.);
wherein the control information includes configuration information of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service (Ai: [0004-0005] with [0171-0173] – describes as what is known in the art as an update to a multicast service and associated scheduling information, or a configuration. See also [0078-0079].);
wherein the first DCI is used to indicate the control information of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service having been changed (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information. See also [0210-0211].) or whether the control information of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service has been changed (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information.), and at least one of the following:
resource information of the changed control information of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service that needs to be acquired (Ai: [0170-0176] – corresponds to the change notification mechanism including scheduling information, which necessarily corresponds to a resource for carrying the MBS. See also [0095], [0325-0339], [0348], and [0436].);
adding a new set of Multicast service and or broadcast service(s) (alternative or dispositive limitation);
modification of an existing set of Multicast service and/or broadcast service(s) (Ai: [0172-0174] – corresponds to a modification of the period of the MBS service.);
a transmission mode of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service being changed from a single cell point-to-multipoint transmission mode to a multi cell point-to-multipoint transmission mode (alternative or dispositive limitation);
the transmission mode of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service being changed from the multi cell point-to-multipoint transmission mode to the single cell point-to-multipoint transmission mode (alternative or dispositive limitation);
the transmission mode of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service being changed from a point-to-multipoint transmission mode to a point-to-point transmission mode (alternative or dispositive limitation);
the transmission mode of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service being changed from the point-to-point transmission mode to the point-to-multipoint transmission mode (alternative or dispositive limitation);
removing an existing Multicast service and/or broadcast services (alternative or dispositive limitation);
wherein the second DCI (Examiner notes use of alternative language within the claim. Examiner notes there is no contextual distinction between a first DCI and second DCI, nor is there any contextual distinction between a first RNTI and a second RNTI. However, Ai does disclose that multiple DCIs may be repeatedly sent in at least [0392]. And in [0408-0411], different RNTI may be scrambled with the DCI to designate different types of multicast information.) is used to indicate that the control information of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service set has been changed (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information. See also [0210-0211].) or whether the control information of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service set has been changed (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information.), and at least one of the following:
resource information of the changed control information of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service that needs to be required (Ai: [0170-0176] – corresponds to the change notification mechanism including scheduling information, which necessarily corresponds to a resource for carrying the MBS. See also [0095], [0325-0339], [0348], and [0436].);
adding a new set of Multicast service and or broadcast service(s) (alternative or dispositive limitation);
modification of an existing set of Multicast service and/or broadcast service(s) (Ai: [0172-0174] – corresponds to a modification of the period of the MBS service.);
a transmission mode of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service being changed from a single cell point-to-multipoint transmission mode to a multi cell point-to-multipoint transmission mode (alternative or dispositive limitation);
the transmission mode of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service being changed from the multi cell point-to-multipoint transmission mode to the single cell point-to-multipoint transmission mode (alternative or dispositive limitation);
the transmission mode of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service being changed from a point-to-multipoint transmission mode to a point-to-point transmission mode (alternative or dispositive limitation);
the transmission mode of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service being changed from the point-to-point transmission mode to the point-to-multipoint transmission mode (alternative or dispositive limitation);
removing an existing Multicast service and/or broadcast services (alternative or dispositive limitation).
Claims 16 and 17, dependent upon claim 12, recite similar features as claims 5 and 6, respectively, and are therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claims 5 and 6. Please see above rejections of claims 5 and 6.
Regarding Claim 20, Ai discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein the second DCI (Examiner notes use of alternative language within the claim. Examiner notes there is no contextual distinction between a first DCI and second DCI, nor is there any contextual distinction between a first RNTI and a second RNTI. However, Ai does disclose that multiple DCIs may be repeatedly sent in at least [0392]. And in [0408-0411], different RNTI may be scrambled with the DCI to designate different types of multicast information.) is further used to indicate at least one of the following:
Multicast or broadcast services where the control information of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service set is changed (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information.);
turning Off or On HARQ feedback of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service (alternative or dispositive limitation);
turning On or Off CSI feedback of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service (alternative or dispositive limitation);
identification information of changed Multicast services and/or broadcast services in the Multicast service and/or broadcast service set (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information. Interpreted to correspond to the type of MBMS service that is provided, which may be a push type or an abrupt type, as disclosed by Ai in at least [0142-0145]. Ai also discloses the control information may be related to a service parameter including, but not limited to one or more of start time, SAI, and frequency in at least [0123].).
Regarding Claim 21, Ai discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein, after receiving a first DCI scrambled by a first RNTI sent by a network side device, the further comprises:
the first DCI including information for indicating that the control information of the Multicast service and/or the broadcast service has been changed (Ai: [0171-0173] – corresponds to sending a DCI on PDCCH scrambled with an RNTI indicating a change notification of an SC-MCCH, which includes MBMS service information. Interpreted to correspond to the type of MBMS service that is provided, which may be a push type or an abrupt type, as disclosed by Ai in at least [0142-0145]. Ai also discloses the control information may be related to a service parameter including, but not limited to one or more of start time, SAI, and frequency in at least [0123].), and/or:
in a case that the control information resource for indicating the Multicast service and/or broadcast service carries change information, receiving the change information of the control information of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service (alternative or dispositive limitation).
Claim 75, directed to an apparatus embodiment of claim 1, recites similar features as claim 1 (in hybrid form) and is therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claim 1. Please see above rejection of claim 1. Ai discloses a network side device comprising at least a memory, processor, and program in at least Figure 11 and claim 23.
Claim 76, directed to an apparatus embodiment of claim 12, recites similar features as claim 12 (in hybrid form) and is therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claim 12. Please see above rejection of claim 12. Ai discloses a terminal comprising at least a memory, processor, and program in at least Figure 12 and claim 29.
10. Claims 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ai in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2023/0124420 A1 to Kim et al. (hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding Claim 2, Ai discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the configuration information of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service includes at least a TMGI (Ai: [0170], [0185]), but does not expressly disclose one of the following:
a Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI) list;
session ID corresponding to TMGI in the TMGI list;
group RNTI corresponding to the TMGI in the TMGI list;
bandwidth Part (BWP) corresponding to the TMGI in the TMGI list;
subcarrier spacing corresponding to the TMGI in the TMGI list;
a logical channel and/or logical channel group corresponding to the TMGI in the TMGI list;
discontinuous Reception (DRX) configuration corresponding to the TMGI in the TMGI list;
uplink resource configuration fed back by Hybrid Automatic Repeat request (HARQ) corresponding to the TMGI in the TMGI list;
uplink resource configuration reported by channel state information (CSI) corresponding to the TMGI in the TMGI list.
However, the feature of including a TMGI list cannot be considered new or novel in the presence of Kim. Kim is similarly concerned with communication of multicast/broadcast services (Kim: [0007]). Kim discloses configuration information of the Multicast service and/or broadcast service includes at least one of the following:
a Temporary Mobile Group Identity (TMGI) list (Kim: [0008], [0097] – information about MBS includes a TMGI list.);
session ID corresponding to TMGI in the TMGI list (alternative or dispositive limitation);
group RNTI corresponding to the TMGI in the TMGI list (Kim: [0009] – information linked to MBS includes “…a group-radio network temporary identity (G-RNTI) corresponding to a TMGI included in the TMGI list.”);
bandwidth Part (BWP) corresponding to the TMGI in the TMGI list (Kim: [0137] – a BWP corresponds to a G-RNTI.);
subcarrier spacing corresponding to the TMGI in the TMGI list (alternative or dispositive limitation);
a logical channel and/or logical channel group corresponding to the TMGI in the TMGI list (Kim: [0094] – “…the UE 1e-05 may determine an MBS RLC-bearer to deliver a MAC service data unit (SDU), in consideration of a logical channel ID (LCID) of the MAC SDU included in a MAC PDU and the G-RNTI of the MAC PDU.” This information is in consideration of a TMGI of interest.);
discontinuous Reception (DRX) configuration corresponding to the TMGI in the TMGI list (alternative or dispositive limitation);
uplink resource configuration fed back by Hybrid Automatic Repeat request (HARQ) corresponding to the TMGI in the TMGI list (alternative or dispositive limitation);
uplink resource configuration reported by channel state information (CSI) corresponding to the TMGI in the TMGI list (alternative or dispositive limitation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the multicast service and/or broadcast service including a TMGI of Ai in view of the multicast service and/or broadcast service including a TMGI of Kim to include a TMGI list for the reasons of seamlessly transferring an active service during a handover (Kim: [0006-0007]).
Claim 13, dependent upon claim 12, recites similar features as claim 2 and is therefore rejected upon the same grounds as claim 2. Please see above rejection of claim 2.
Conclusion
11. Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
12. The prior art made of record (please see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Examiner notes the following references not by order of relevance, but to include relevant portions Applicant should consider when issuing a response.
US PGPub 2011/0103288 A1 to Lee et al. at [0062]; and
US PGPub 2023/0209313 A1 to Chin et al. at [0131], [0146].
BENJAMIN H. ELLIOTT IV
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/BENJAMIN H ELLIOTT IV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474 January 28, 2026