DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 3-4, 8, 12-29 and 31 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. Claims 25-29 and 31 are withdrawn. Claims 1 has been amended.
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s response filed on 3/19/2026 containing
amendments and remarks to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-9, filed 3/19/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Applicant has amended claim 1 to require in which the removal facilitator extends in a longitudinal direction that is parallel to the longitudinal axis of the consumable such that the tab portion is offset from a longitudinal axis of the consumable, whereas previously this was not required. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of previously applied art and newly found art.
In specific regard to the Applicant’s arguments on page 8 that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to modify Rogan to offset the tab 24 from the longitudinal axis as Rogan’s design specifically positions the tab centrally to facilitate manufacturing as a single part with the top surface, this is not found to be persuasive. Rogan teaches the tab is attached to the lid of the cartridge and thus formed as a single part together with the lid facilitates the manufacturing process of the capsule (page 2, fifth paragraph). Rogan does not teach positioning of the tab centrally to achieve this, but just that the tab and lid are formed as a single part. Further, Rogan teaches alternative configurations of a tab for use on a consumable cartridge would readily occur to a person skilled in the art (page 7, third paragraph), and thus it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that modifying Rogan to have other configurations, such as positioning of the tab noncentrally, would be possible.
The following is a modified rejection made based on amendments made to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 8, 12-14 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogan (WO2019/057976) in view of Riddell (US 1,809,218).
Regarding claim 1, Rogan discloses:
A consumable (cartridge 10/110) configured to be fully inserted into an aerosol provision device (electronic cigarette 50, figure 5, page 5, second paragraph), wherein the consumable comprises:
An aerosol generating material for use in generating aerosol by the aerosol provision device (aerosol forming material 14/114, figure 1a/4a, page 4, last paragraph).
An insertion portion configured for insertion into an aerosol generation zone of the aerosol provision device (casing 12/112, figure 1a/4a, page 4, last paragraph).
A removal facilitator (tab 24/124) that extends away from or is located on a surface of the insertion portion (as shown in figures 1b/4b and 2) and is configured to enhance gripping by a user of the consumable to assist in the removal of the insertion portion from the aerosol generation zone (in the open position a user can firmly grip the tab 24 and remove the cartridge 10 from the aerosol generation device, page 5, third paragraph).
Wherein the consumable is elongate and comprises a longitudinal axis (as shown in figures 1-5).
Wherein the removal facilitator is a tab portion which is freely moveable (tab 24 can pivot about) relative to the insertion portion between a longitudinal position in which the removal facilitator extends in a longitudinal direction that is parallel to the longitudinal axis of the consumable (an open position in which it is substantially perpendicular to the top surface 20) and a radial position in which the removal facilitator extends in a radial direction that is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the consumable (a flat, closed position at the bottom end 30, page 5, third paragraph).
Rogan does not appear to explicitly disclose that when the removal facilitator extends in a longitudinal direction that is parallel to the longitudinal axis of the consumable, the tab portion is offset from a longitudinal axis of the consumable.
However, Rogan further teaches alternative configurations of a tab for use on a consumable cartridge would readily occur to a person skilled in the art (page 7, third paragraph).
Riddell, directed to a cigarette grasper, teaches:
A cigarette provided with a tab on the end of the cigarette so as to be grasped by the fingers to remove a cigarette from the package with ease (lines 1-5).
The tab is freely moveable between a longitudinal position in which the tab extends in a longitudinal direction that is parallel to the longitudinal axis of the consumable (tab will project upwardly from the upper end of the cigarette, lines 56-59) such that the tab portion is offset from a longitudinal axis of the consumable (figure 2) and a radial position in which the removal facilitator extends in a radial direction that is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the consumable (the tab is flexible and may be folded down upon the upper end of the tobacco filler 9, lines 59-62).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the removal facilitator of Rogan to be offset from the longitudinal axis of the consumable when the removal facilitator extends in a longitudinal direction that is parallel to the longitudinal axis of the consumable as taught by Riddell, because both Rogan and Riddell are directed to consumables with a removal facilitator that is a tab portion which is freely moveable between a longitudinal position in which the tab extends in a longitudinal direction that is parallel to the longitudinal axis of the consumable and a radial position in which the removal facilitator extends in a radial direction that is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the consumable, Rogan teaches alternative configurations of a tab would readily occur to a person skilled in the art, and this merely involves incorporating a known way to configure a removal facilitator that is a tab (i.e. off set from a longitudinal axis of the consumer when in a longitudinal position) to a similar removal facilitator to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 3, Rogan discloses wherein the removal facilitator is symmetrical about the longitudinal axis (figure 2, as tab 24 is centered in a width direction, and therefore even modified to project form the upper end, the tab would be symmetrical along its width).
Regarding claim 4, modified Rogan discloses wherein the removal facilitator is asymmetrical about the longitudinal axis (as tab 24 is modified to project from the upper end of the consumable and is therefore asymmetrical along its length).
Regarding claim 8, Rogan discloses wherein the removal facilitator is moveable between a longitudinal position that is aligned with the longitudinal direction of the consumable (an open position in which it is substantially perpendicular to the top surface 20), and a radial position that is aligned with a radial direction of the consumable (from a flat, closed position about the bottom end, page 5, third paragraph).
Regarding claim 12, Rogan discloses wherein a structure of the removal facilitator is self-supporting (as the tab 24 can be in a flat closed position about the bottom end, page 5, third paragraph, and therefore is self-supporting).
Regarding claim 13, Rogan discloses wherein at least the insertion portion is flat (the cartridge 10 has a flat top, page 4, last paragraph).
Regarding claim 14, Rogan discloses wherein at least the insertion portion is planar (other shapes of the cartridge 10 are possible such as a square shape, page 4, last paragraph).
Regarding claim 15, Rogan does not appear to disclose wherein at least the insertion portion is in the form of a disc. However, the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See MPEP § 2144.04 IV B. Therefore, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the shape of the cartridge to be in the form of a disc, as this is merely the change in shape without any new or unexpected results.
Regarding claim 24, Rogan discloses wherein the removal facilitator comprises a substantially flat portion of the consumable (wherein the tab 24 can be in a flat closed position about the bottom end 30, page 5, third paragraph).
Claim(s) 16-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogan (WO2019/057976) and Riddell (US 1,809,218) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fernando (WO2019/211789).
Regarding claim 16, Rogan does not appear to disclose the consumable further comprising a blocking portion configured to prevent the removal facilitator being inserted into the aerosol generation zone.
Fernando, directed to cartridge comprising an aerosol-forming substrate, teaches:
A cartridge that comprises a flange at the top. The flange may help to prevent over-insertion of the cartridge into the receptable (page 12, second paragraph).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the cartridge of Rogan by incorporating a flange at the top as taught by Fernando, and thus a blocking portion configured to prevent the removal facilitator being inserted into the aerosol generation zone, because both Rogan and Fernando are directed to cartridges for aerosol generation devices, Fernando teaches the flange helps to prevent over-insertion of the cartridge, and this merely involves incorporating a known cartridge element (i.e. flange) to a similar cartridge to yield predictable results.
Regarding claims 17-19, as modified Rogan has the flange part of the consumable and the flange has a length and width, this reads on wherein the blocking portion is provided by an overall dimension of the consumable, wherein the overall dimension is a length of the consumable, and wherein the overall dimension is a width of the consumable.
Regarding claim 20, Rogan does not appear to disclose the consumable further comprising a blocking portion configured to prevent the removal facilitator being inserted into the aerosol generation zone, wherein the blocking portion is provided by an overall dimension of the consumable, and wherein the overall dimension is a diameter of the consumable.
Fernando, directed to cartridge comprising an aerosol-forming substrate, teaches:
A cartridge that comprises a flange at the top. The flange may help to prevent over-insertion of the cartridge into the receptable (page 12, second paragraph).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the cartridge of Rogan by incorporating a flange at the top as taught by Fernando, and thus a blocking portion configured to prevent the removal facilitator being inserted into the aerosol generation zone, because both Rogan and Fernando are directed to cartridges for aerosol generation devices, Fernando teaches the flange helps to prevent over-insertion of the cartridge, and this merely involves incorporating a known cartridge element (i.e. flange) to a similar cartridge to yield predictable results.
As modified Rogan has the flange part of the consumable and the flange has a length and width, this reads on wherein the blocking portion is provided by an overall dimension of the consumable, wherein the overall dimension is a diameter of the consumable.
Regarding claim 21, as modified Rogan has a flange that is larger in width than the rest of the consumable, this reads on wherein the overall dimension is provided by a step change in the width of the consumable.
Regarding claim 22, Rogan does not appear to disclose wherein the removal facilitator comprises an open cavity.
Fernando, directed to cartridge comprising an aerosol-forming substrate, teaches:
A cartridge that comprises a flange at the top. The cartridge may be readily removed from the receptacle after use by grasping the flange. The flange may help to prevent over-insertion of the cartridge into the receptable (page 12, second paragraph). As such, the flange is considered to be a removal facilitator is a user may grasp the flange to remove the cartridge.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the cartridge of Rogan by incorporating a flange at the top as taught by Fernando, and thus the removal facilitator further comprises the flange of the cartridge, because both Rogan and Fernando are directed to cartridges for aerosol generation devices, Fernando teaches the flange helps to prevent over-insertion of the cartridge, and this merely involves incorporating a known cartridge element (i.e. flange) to a similar cartridge to yield predictable results.
As Rogan further teaches that the cartridge includes holes 16,18 in a top surface 20 that are used as an inlet or outlet for outside air (figure 2, page 5, third paragraph), the top surface of the cartridge comprises an open cavity. Therefore modified Rogan having the top surface have a flange, and therefore part of the removal facilitator, teaches wherein the removal facilitator comprises an open cavity.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogan (WO2019/057976) and Riddell (US 1,809,218) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hupkes (US2023/0165309).
Regarding claim 23, Rogan further teaches wherein the removal facilitator (i.e. tab) can be gripped by a user to remove the consumable cartridge (page 1, sixth paragraph). Rogan does not appear to disclose wherein the removal facilitator comprises an adhesive region.
Hupkes, directed to a heating arrangement for an aerosol generating device, teaches:
An alternative means for gripping…for example an adhesive, or other types of gripping member ([0058]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the removal facilitator of Rogan by incorporating an adhesive as taught by Hupkes, because both Rogan and Hupkes are directed to aerosol generating devices with gripping members, Hupkes teaches an adhesive is another type of gripping member, and this merely involves the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use.
Conclusion
/N.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755