DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 61-65 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 1/06/2026.
New claim 75 is being added to examined claims.
Amendments and Arguments
This action is in response to papers filed 10th August 2026 in which claim 55 was amended with limitations from canceled claim 56. All of the amendments have been thoroughly reviewed and entered.
The amendments made to the claims have overcome some of these previous rejections:
the improper Markush grouping rejection of claim 66 is withdrawn.
the §112a written description of all claims is maintained.
the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 55-56, 57-60, and 66-73 over Cohen and others is withdrawn; however, a new 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 55, 57-60, 66-73 and 75 over Dokladny in view of Cohen and others is made in this office action.
the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 74 over Dokladny in view of Cohen is maintained.
Applicant's remarks have been fully addressed at the end of each section of this OA. Any rejection or objection not reiterated herein has been overcome by amendment.
Status of Claims
Claims 55, 57-60, and 66-75 are being examined.
New Objections to Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(u)(1) because:
the . MPEP §608.02.V states that according to 37 C.F.R. 1.84(u)(1) “View numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation "FIG.".
This applies to Numbering of sheets of drawings as well. Applicant may refer to Patent Rules §1.84 found in the MPEP for all Standards for Drawings.
Maintained Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Written Description
Claims 55, 57-60 and 66-74 remain rejected and new claim 75 is newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The purpose of the written description requirement is to “ensure that the scope of the right to exclude, as set forth in the claims, does not overreach the scope of the inventor’s contribution to the field of art as described in the patent specification.” Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1353-54 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc) (quoting Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916, 920 (Fed. Cir. 2004)). To satisfy the written description requirement, the specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1562-63, 19 USPQ2d 1111 (Fed. Cir. 1991). See also MPEP 2163.04.
For a claim to a genus, a generic statement that defines a genus of substances by only their functional activity does not provide an adequate written description of the genus. Reagents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly, 43 USPQ2d 1398 (CAFC 1997).
An original claim may lack written description support when a broad genus claim is presented but the disclosure only describes a narrow species with no evidence that the genus is contemplated. See Ariad Pharms., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc). The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406. See MPEP 2163.
Scope of the Invention
In the instant case, the genera are:
Active fragment thereof (claims 55 and 74)
The broadest reasonable interpretation of the scope of the genera listed above is a nucleic acid sequence encoding a mammalian heat shock protein 90 (HSP90), or fragment thereof, such that the fragment retains its ability to modulate host microflora. This interpretation is based on description on pg. 19, section on Heat shock protein 90 (HSP90) and constructs encoding same. Further, the description states: the encoded polypeptide is characterized as retaining immunological cross-reactivity with mammalian and bacterial HSP (e.g. containing cross-reactive T-reg epitopes of mammalian and microbial HSP90).
Disclosure of a Complete or Partial Structure
Regarding active fragment thereof, the inventive concept requires the HSP and fragments to retain their ability to modulate host microflora. Further description includes NCBI ref seq IDs for full-length HSP isoforms. The working examples describe a recombinant construct encoding human HSP90 (alpha isoform 2) under CMV promoter expression control was constructed based on the pCDNA3.1 expression vector (pg. 36, Fig. 1). They go on to show that such a plasmid, when injected intramuscularly into a mouse has a positive effect on dysbiosis in mice (Examples 1-3). An unexpected specific modulation of tumor necrosis factor alpha (TNF-a) levels was also seen on administration of the HSP90 plasmid (Example 4). However, it is not clear how an active fragment of HSP90 correspond to these superiorly working full-length HSP90. It is not clear how the full-length HSP90 may be varied so that they retain just the essential conserved domains yet retain the function that defines them; i.e., modulate host microflora, as described by the rest of the disclosure.
Structure/Function Correlation
Regarding the genera, as discussed above, Applicant’s claims encompasses particular fragments of the full-length HSP90 with the proviso that they allow for those fragments, working alone or in combination with other agents, to modulate host microflora [Summary of Invention, pg. 3], while only full-length HSP90 are described in the instant specification without any correlation to what core sequence is encompassed by the term fragment that is recited. The breadth of the claimed genera is enormously broad with an unfathomable number of structurally divergent and diverse fragments.
Regarding all the fragments claimed, Applicant has not demonstrated possession of any fragment that could be called an active fragments that will still work in the method claimed, other than the full-length HSP90. The examples described do not provide support for the entire genus/subgenera of fragments claimed because the examples show only full-length HSP90 species. The Specification does not provide sufficient evidence that each member of the entire genus of HSP90 claimed would produce the intended outcome of modulating host microflora. The Specification does not provide specific guidance for determining what the structure of species of fragments should be that will work as expected; the functional characteristic is not coupled with a known structure.
The Spec. does not identify a core structure necessary for being an active fragment.
Altogether, the number of species disclosed by complete structure is not sufficient to provide the written description support for the huge genus of heat shock protein 90 (HSP90) fragments and constructs encoding same claimed.
These are broad genera with diverse members and different structures that underly their functions. Although the claims recite compounds that inherently possess a functional characteristic, i.e., modulate host microflora, the functional characteristic is not coupled with a known structure.
Knowledge from the Art
Srivastava (US 20010034042 A1, IDS), which would be considered within the scope of invention teaches fragments of HSP90. Srivastava teach a heat shock protein fragment is one that lacks one or more other domains of the heat shock protein. Srivastava use such fragments for their immunomodulatory properties. Thus, one can eliminate a domain of HSP90 and yet obtain a functional immunomodulatory peptide. However, nothing in the art teaches one of skill how to vary the HSP90 so that a fragment that is an active fragment that can modulate host microflora be obtained.
Dependent Claims
Claims 57-60, 66-73, and 75 do not further limit the genus of active fragments so as to resolve the issues above, and are therefore, not sufficiently described for at least the reasons above.
Conclusion of Written Description
Therefore, the examiner concludes there is insufficient written description support for the instantly claimed genera of active fragments of HSP90 as stated. Only full-length HSP90 but not the full breadth of the claims is supported by Applicant’s disclosure.
Response to Arguments:
In arguments filed 9/01/2026, Applicants argue, pgs. 2-3: the specification provides i. sufficient written description for various limitations in the claims and ii. with respect to active fragment (last para of pg. 3): no specific support in the as-filed disclosure is needed because this is well-known in the art. They go on to provide a discussion of Cohen (cited by Examiner in the §103 rejection) and Srivastava (cited by Examiner in the §112a written description rejection).
Regarding i., the relevance of this fact as pertinent to the instant rejection is unclear since instant rejection is directed to active fragment, not the other limitations of claims. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments spanning pgs. 2 and 3 are moot.
Regarding ii., the written description rejection required a nexus between active fragment and the function dysbiosis; i.e., a structure-function relationship. The discussion of Cohen and Srivastava provided by Applicant is directed to autoimmune inflammatory diseases treated by HSP90 (Cohen) and “anticipated fragments that would be expected to retain the activity and it is also directed to use of a DNA construct encoding HSP90 or active fragments thereof that retain the ability to modify immune functions” (Srivastava). None of this addresses the missing nexus of the WD rejection.
Applicants arguments are not dispositive. The §112a rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 55 and 67-70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liso (Liso et al., Inflamm Bowel Dis., Volume 26, Number 4, April 2020) and Dokladny (Dokladny et al., Am J Physiol Gastrointest Liver Physiol 290: G204–G212, 2006, previously cited) in view of Cohen (Cohen et al., WO 2018178767, cited in IDS, previously cited).
This is a new rejection necessitated by amendment.
Claim interpretation: The term "dysbiosis" as recited in claim 55 refers to a state of the microbiota of the gut or other body area in a subject, in which the normal diversity and/or function of the microbial populations is disrupted (pg. 12, last para).
Regarding claim 55, Liso had taught an association of dysbiosis with gut epithelial dysfunction in a mouse model of gut barrier dysfunction (Winnie mouse, missense mutation in the Muc2 gene leading to aberrant mucin production; title, whole paper). Liso had taught Winnie mice were characterized by altered mucus production as early as 4 weeks of age, with ensuing intestinal barrier dysfunction, resulting in gut dysbiosis, and inflammation; wherein the gut dysbiosis was characterized by the outgrowth of Bacteroidetes and Verrucomicrobia (Results section of abstract; Fig. 4, in particular, Akkermansia muciniphila, Results section of abstract). This shift in microbiome reads on instant modify microbiota profiles/diversity. Liso conjecture their studies provide the basis for future interventional studies in the treatment of intestinal dysbiosis (last line of conclusion). Thus, the Winnie mouse reads on instant subject that exhibits dysbiosis of GI tract.
Liso lack a teaching on HSP90.
However, before the effective filing date of instant invention, Dokladny had taught HSPs are protective in maintaining the intestinal epithelial tight junction (TJ) barrier. See recitation from last line of abstract:
HSPs play an important protective role in preventing the heat-induced disruption of intestinal TJ barrier and suggest that HSP mediated upregulation of occludin expression may be an important mechanism involved in the maintenance of intestinal epithelial TJ barrier function during heat stress.
Dokladny teach HSP’s protective role in a Caco-2 intestinal epithelial model system, wherein cells exposed to heat were found to result in a significant time- and temperature-dependent increase in TJ permeability, and rapid and sustained increases in HSP expression; and inhibition of HSP expression produced a marked increase in heat-induced increase in Caco-2 TJ permeability (abstract). Quercetin as a HSP inhibitor and cycloheximide (CHX) as protein synthesis inhibitor were tested. See Figs. 1 and 3-10. Dokladny further teach, heat stress has many biological effects in animals including inducing hypoperfusion of intestinal vasculature, activation of various inflammatory cascades and immune mediators , activation of apoptosis, activation of humoral system , and generation of oxygen free radicals that are known to affect the intestinal TJ barrier (pg. G205, l col, 2nd para). Dokladny teach an intact intestinal epithelial TJ barrier is crucial in providing barrier function against paracellular penetration of pathogenic bacteria (pg. G204, l col, 1st para). Thus, Dokladny teach an HSP containing environment would be protective for gut barrier dysfunction. Dokladny pursue most experiments with HSP70 (Fig. 3, 7) but also show that HSP90 behaves similarly (Fig. 4).
Thus, Liso and Dokladny provide motivation for upregulating HSPs in order to preserve Epithelial Tight Junctions / epithelial barriers that may then translate in to overcoming gut dysbiosis.
Neither Liso nor Dokladny teach a construct encoding HSP90.
However, before the effective filing date of instant invention, Cohen had taught a method of treating inflammation by administering HSP90. Cohen had taught such a method as treating an autoimmune inflammatory disease comprising administering to a subject an immunogenic composition comprising a recombinant construct of a nucleic acid sequence encoding a heat shock protein 90 (HSP 90) wherein the nucleic acid sequence is operatively linked to one or more transcription control sequences, thereby treating the inflammatory disease (Cohen claim 1 and abstract; CMV promoter, [0060]).
Regarding claim 67, Cohen had taught the HSP is human HSP90 (Cohen claim 15).
Regarding claim 68, Cohen had taught the construct is in a pharmaceutical composition (Cohen claims 26-27).
Regarding claim 69, Cohen had taught the construct is administered naked [0064].
Regarding claim 70, Cohen had taught the construct can be administered by intramuscular route (Cohen claim 17-18).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a recombinant construct of a nucleic acid sequence encoding a heat shock protein 90 (HSP 90) as taught by Cohen in a method of treating dysbiosis as contemplated by Liso and Dokladny because Liso had taught dysbiosis and inflammation accompany intestinal wall dysfunction, and Dokladny had taught intestinal wall dysfunction may be overcome by promoting HSPs. Thus, one of skill would be motivated to incorporate a vector encoding HSP90 since such a vector was already known and effective in treating inflammatory diseases as taught by Cohen. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination as taught in MPEP 2144.07. The claimed method of treating a subject that exhibits dysbiosis is closely related and associated with the contemplated method of treating dysbiosis as a result of breakdown in gut epithelial barrier.
Thus, Liso and Dokladny in view of Cohen make obvious instant claims 55 and 67-70.
Claims 57-60, 66, 71 and 75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liso (Liso et al., Inflamm Bowel Dis., Volume 26, Number 4, April 2020) and Dokladny (Dokladny et al., Am J Physiol Gastrointest Liver Physiol 290: G204–G212, 2006, previously cited) in view of Cohen (Cohen et al., WO 2018178767, cited in IDS, previously cited) as applied to claims 55 and 67-70 above and further in view of Pitt (Pitt et al, Immunity, Volume 44, Issue 6, 21 June 2016, Pages 1255-1269, previously cited) and evidenced by Auclair (Auclair et al., Clin. Infect. Dis., 60 (Suppl 2) (2015), pp. S135-S143).
This is a new rejection necessitated by amendment.
The method of modifying microbiota profiles by administering a nucleic acid construct encoding HSP90 was made obvious by Liso and Dokladny in view of Cohen above and is incorporated herein.
Neither Liso, Dokladny nor Cohen specifically teach the beneficial microbiota recited and resistance to immunomodulatory treatment.
However, before the effective filing date of instant invention, Pitt had taught several factors are responsible for Resistance Mechanisms to therapy (title). Pitt teach the host microbiota can determine responses to cancer therapies (introduction, Section on The Gut Microbiota and Immune “Fitness”, pg. 1260 - 1263). Pitt teach several studies have shown how distinct bacteria, or bacterial products, can promote alterations in immune responses. Pitt teach Influence of Gut Microbiota on ICB Immunotherapy. Pitt teach Immune-Checkpoint Blockade through Manipulating the Microbiome. Pitt teach the reinstating of defective anti-cancer T cell responses, is derived from immune sensing of the bacterial species present at that particular time in the microflora. Pitt teach mucosal (re)colonization with live (and not dead) immunogenic bacteria (capable of eliciting bacteria-specific Th1 cell immune responses), such as E. hirae or B. fragilis either alone or combined with B. cepacia or Bifidobacterium, is required for reinstating anti-cancer adaptive T cell responses.
Regarding claims 57 and 58, Pitt teach CTLA-4 blockade (Immunotherapy using Immune Checkpoint Blockers) induces the accumulation of distinct Bacteroides spp. in the inner part of the mucus layer. Pitt teach tolerogenic Bacteroides species mediate complete resistance; i.e., are detrimental.
Regarding claims 59-60, Pitt cite Auclair et al., 2015 on pg. 1264, middle of page on left. As evidenced by Auclair, a lack of microbial diversity in the host gut is detrimental to endogenous immune activation (introduction, Auclair). Auclair evidences a specific probiotic combination composed of L. acidophilus CL1285, L. casei LBC80R, and L. rhamnosus as co-therapy (Conclusion para of Auclair).
Regarding claim 66, Pitt state in last para of pg. 1264, “the use of ‘‘prebiotics’’ (nondigestible compounds that stimulate the growth and/or functions of select gut microbiota), ‘‘postbiotics’’ (nonviable gut microbiota products that stimulate biological activities within the host, e.g., butyrate), or carefully selected antibiotics (i.e., that target an undesirable bacterial population) alongside ICBs could yield alternative combinatorial regimens of promise”.
Regarding claim 71, Pitt teach a method of modifying gut microbiota is suitable for use in subjects that have developed resistance to immunomodulatory treatment (Mobilizing the Gut Microbiota to Circumvent Primary Resistance to ICB in Patients, Figure 3).
Regarding claim 75, Pitt teach a specific probiotic formulation consisting of one or several of these immunogenic commensals (considering a choice of the most effective isolates of these species) would be necessary for testing in preclinical models and clinical trials to prevent or compensate for primary resistance to ICBs (Figure 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to apply the method of Liso and Dokladny in view of Cohen to the circumstances taught by Pitt and have a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so since Pitt teach such conditions (resistance to immunomodulatory therapy) are also mediated via a dysregulated immune system. Further, Pitt had provided teachings for modifying gut microbiota, such teachings are easily implementable by one of skill in the art, as at the simplest level such modifying merely requires dietary changes. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination as taught in MPEP 2144.07.
Thus, Liso, Dokladny, and Cohen in view of Pitt make obvious instant claims 57-60, 66, 71 and 75.
Claims 72-73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liso (Liso et al., Inflamm Bowel Dis., Volume 26, Number 4, April 2020) and Dokladny (Dokladny et al., Am J Physiol Gastrointest Liver Physiol 290: G204–G212, 2006, previously cited) in view of Cohen (Cohen et al., WO 2018178767, cited in IDS, previously cited) as applied to claims 55 and 67-70 above and further in view of Chen (US 20240293504 A1 with a priority date of 22nd Jun 2020, previously cited) and Le Tourneau et al. (Dose escalation methods in phase I cancer clinical trials. J Natl Cancer Inst. 2009 May 20;101(10):708-20., previously cited).
The method of treating to modify microbiota diversity by administering HSP90 was made obvious by Liso and Dokladny in view of Cohen above and is incorporated herein.
Liso, Dokladny, and Cohen lack teachings on TNFa inhibitors or schedules.
Specifically, Liso, Dokladny, and Cohen lack teachings on TNF-a antagonist or inhibitor (claim 72), which is selected from the group consisting of adalimumab, certolizumab, certolizumab pegol, golimumab, infliximab and etanercept (claim 73) or manner of administration (claim 72).
However, before the effective filing date of instant invention, Chen had taught a method of treating cancer in a subject comprising administering compositions comprising a recombinant polypeptide and/or nucleic acids and at least one at least one other agent [title, [0009]). Chen teach release of HSP90 from tumors or their environments on treatment with the recombinant polypeptide (Fig. 11-13). Therefore, Chen teach a method of treating cancer in a subject comprising administering compositions comprising a recombinant polypeptide and the at least one other agent is a TNFalpha inhibitory agent [title, [0009]). Chen disclose TNFa receptor, infliximab, adalimumab, certolizumab pegol, golimumab and Enbrel as TNFa inhibitor agents ([0066]). Chen teach their method is capable of treating breast, lung, and colon cancer as well as melanoma (see Examples 2, 4, 11, and 12). Chen teach their method is capable of treating non-cancerous conditions or disorders, an exemplary list of which is provided [0214]. Thus, the cancers or non-cancers that fall within the scope of Chen’s invention are diseases characterized by inflammation [0340].
Regarding claims 72 – 73, Chen teach a method comprising administering to the subject: a composition comprising one Tumor Necrosis Factor alpha (TNFa) inhibitory agent; and a composition comprising a recombinant polypeptide or a nucleic acid encoding the recombinant polypeptide and other agents(Chen claim 1). Since Chen’s method is treating inflammation, it is related to instant invention.
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to add the TNFa inhibitor agent compositions taught by Chen to the method of treating made obvious by Liso, Dokladny, and Cohen to further improve the latter’s treatment by combining multiple therapeutics useful for the same purpose. One skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because all of the compositions had been used to treat the same underlying immune dysregulation. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted). See MPEP 2144.06(I).
Neither of the references cited above explicitly teach administering one composition prior to another composition in a certain order (schedule) or dosages. Le Tourneau, however, teaches dosage optimization in phase I cancer clinical trials (Title, Abstract). Le Tourneau explains that in rule-based phase I trials of drug combinations, the dose level of each drug may be based on several factors such as preclinical data, current tumor-specific standard treatments, the expected control arm if the combination of drugs under evaluation may be benchmarked by future randomized trials, and/or empiricism (Pg 715, “Designs for trials of combinations of agents, second paragraph). Bayesian modeling as well as pharmacokinetic analyses may further provide information regarding toxicities and interactions between different anticancer drugs administered in combination (third and fourth paragraphs). All of these decisions impact the recommended schedules and dosages, which can determine the success or failure of a combination. Thus, while Cohen, Gill and Chen make obvious instant claims 71-72, they do not explicitly teach the schedules or dosages claimed, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art because Le Tourneau recognized that scheduling and dosing of combinations of therapeutics depended on a number of factors, as described above. Thus, it would have been obvious to optimize the dosage schedule and dosages as claimed in order to effectively treat cancer. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Thus, Liso, Dokladny, and Cohen in view of Chen and Le Tourneau make obvious instant claims 72-73.
Response to Arguments:
Applicants argue, arguments filed 9/01/2026, pgs. 4-6, provides i. among other things, Cohen does not teach the patient population of instant application as amended; i.e., a subject that exhibits dysbiosis of the GI tract and ii. Gill teaches dysbiosis but within a specific genetic background (HLA-B27).
Applicants arguments are persuasive. The references together provide no predictability in treating a patient with dysbiosis with an HSP90 construct. The §103 rejection of independent claim 55 and its dependent claims over Cohen and others is withdrawn.
However, a new §103 rejection over Liso and others that specifically teaches a mouse model of dysbiosis is relied upon that rejects amended claims.
Applicants group claim 74 in the same arguments as above. However, claim 74 is an independent claim and is directed to another limitation, gut barrier dysfunction. Applicants provide no argument regarding this rejection nor have applicants amended this claim.
Therefore, the §103 rejection of claim 74 is maintained.
Claim 74 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dokladny (Dokladny et al., Am J Physiol Gastrointest Liver Physiol 290: G204–G212, 2006) in view of Cohen (Cohen et al., WO 2018178767, cited in IDS).
This is a maintained rejection rewritten to incorporate material from Cohen for clarity.
Claim Interpretation: gut barrier dysfunction, is being interpreted as: an increase in intestinal permeability associated with GI dysbiosis (pg. 3, 2nd para).
Dokladny teach HSP are protective in maintaining the intestinal epithelial tight junction (TJ) barrier. See recitation from last line of abstract:
HSPs play an important protective role in preventing the heat-induced disruption of intestinal TJ barrier and suggest that HSP mediated upregulation of occludin expression may be an important mechanism involved in the maintenance of intestinal epithelial TJ barrier function during heat stress.
Dokladny teach HSP90’s protective role in a Caco-2 intestinal epithelial model system, wherein cells exposed to heat were found to result in a significant time- and temperature-dependent increase in TJ permeability, and rapid and sustained increases in HSP expression; and inhibition of HSP expression produced a marked increase in heat-induced increase in Caco-2 TJ permeability (abstract). Quercetin as a HSP inhibitor and cycloheximide (CHX) as protein synthesis inhibitor were tested. See Figs. 1 and 3-10. Dokladny further teach, heat stress has many biological effects in animals including inducing hypoperfusion of intestinal vasculature, activation of various inflammatory cascades and immune mediators , activation of apoptosis, activation of humoral system , and generation of oxygen free radicals that are known to affect the intestinal TJ barrier (pg. G205, l col, 2nd para). Dokladny teach an intact intestinal epithelial TJ barrier is crucial in providing barrier function against paracellular penetration of pathogenic bacteria (pg. G204, l col, 1st para). Thus, Dokladny teach an HSP containing environment would be protective for gut barrier dysfunction.
Dokladny lack a teaching on a construct encoding HSP90.
However, before the effective filing date of instant invention, Cohen had taught a method of treating an autoimmune inflammatory disease comprising administering an immunogenic composition comprising a recombinant construct of a nucleic acid sequence encoding a heat shock protein 90 (HSP 90) wherein the nucleic acid sequence is operatively linked to one or more transcription control sequences, thereby treating the inflammatory disease (Cohen claim 1 and abstract; CMV promoter, [0060]). Cohen had taught the HSP is human HSP90 (Cohen claim 15).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to administer the construct of HSP90 as taught by Cohen in a method to treat and prevent gut barrier dysfunction as Dokladny provide the teachings and motivation to do so. For e.g., Dokladny had taught that maintaining an intact gut barrier was essential to protect against pathogenic bacteria (dysbiosis). One skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because the composition used in the method would be performing the same function in the method contemplated by Dokladny as it was in the method of Cohen. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07 and 2143 G.
Thus, Dokladny in view of Cohen make obvious instant claim 74.
Therefore the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
SHABANA S. MEYERING, Ph.D.
Examiner
Art Unit 1635
/SHABANA S MEYERING/ Examiner, Art Unit 1635
/CATHERINE KONOPKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1635