Response to Argument
Applicant’s argument: On page 8 of Remarks, the Applicant argues that Ji fails to teach amended claim 1 as recited: “A transmission failure recovery method, applied to a terminal device, comprising: determining a reference signal corresponding to a group of control resource set (CORESET) group; transmitting a transmission failure recovery request to a network device if the reference signal meets a predefined condition, wherein the transmission failure recovery request carries a set index of a beam failure detection reference signal (BFD RS) set of the reference signal corresponding to the CORESET group, and the set index of the BFD RS set of the reference signal corresponding to the CORESET group is used for indicating the network device to perform transmission failure recovery on the CORESET group; wherein the reference signal is a part of or all of BFD RSs in the BFD RS set; wherein if the network device configures one BFD RS set for the terminal device in a bandwidth part, the reference signal is a part of BFD RSs in the BFD RS set; or if the network device configures multiple BFD RS sets for the terminal device in a bandwidth part, the reference signal is all of the BFD RSs in one BFD RS set, and a different CORESET group corresponds to a different BFD RS set; or wherein the reference signal is a reference signal associated with a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state for the CORESET group to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), wherein the CORESET group is a group of CORESETs with same first higher-layer parameter configuration.”
Examiner’s response: Applicant’s argument with respect to claim 1 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection is used that does not rely on any reference applied in prior art rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the arguments. Applicant has amended the claim to recite “determining a reference signal corresponding to a group of control resource set (CORESET) group, recovery request carries a set index of a beam failure detection reference signal (BFD RS) set of the reference signal corresponding to the CORESET group, and the set index of the BFD RS set of the reference signal corresponding to the CORESET group is used for indicating the network device to perform transmission failure recovery on the group of CORESET group, and wherein the reference signal is a reference signal associated with a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state for the group of CORESET group to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), wherein the group of CORESET group is a group of CORESETs with same first higher-layer parameter configuration.” An updated search was conducted and a new reference is applied as shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 11- 14, 17, 29, 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji et al. (US 2021/0058805 A1) (hereafter “Ji”) in view of Guo et al. (US 2018/0302889 A1)(thereafter “Guo”).
Regarding claim 1, Ji teaches A transmission failure recovery method, applied to a terminal device (Ji, Fig. 15), comprising: determining a reference signal corresponding to a control resource set (CORESET) group;
Ji [0008]; An aspect of a method of a terminal is to solve the problems described above, and the detection;
Ji, Fig. 13 [0348]; CORESET group #A 1300 includes three CORESETs 1315, 1320, and 1325, which are configured to cause the terminal to receive the PDCCH transmitted from the first TRP, CORESET group #B 1305 includes one CORESET 1330 configured to cause the terminal to receive the PDCCH transmitted from a coordinated TRP #1, and CORESET group #C 1310 includes one CORESET 1335 configured to cause the terminal to receive the PDCCH transmitted from a coordinated TRP #2. According to the (3-2)th embodiment, the terminal may select at least one RS included in each RS group connected to the individual CORESET group and include the selected RS in the BFD RS set.
transmitting a transmission failure recovery request to a network device if the reference signal meets a predefined condition.
Ji, Fig. 14, Ref. 1405, 1410, 1420, [0382]; The terminal may determine a BFD RS set corresponding to a specific number (M) of RS groups, for example, RS group #0, RS group #1, . . . , RS group #M−1, as BFD RS set #0, BFD RS set #1, . . . , BFD RS set #M−1. In addition, the terminal may monitor whether a beam failure for an individual BFD RS set occurs (indicated by reference numeral 1405). Here, the terminal may receive, from the base station, a configuration of monitoring whether the beam failure for the individual BFD RS set occurs.
Ji, Fig. 14, Ref. 1410 [0383]; The terminal may determine whether a beam failure for an individual BFD RS set occurs according to configuration information relating to the beam failure indication report (indicated by reference numeral 1410)
Ji, Fig. 14, Ref. 1420, [0386]; If it is determined that a beam failure has occurred for all BFD RS sets (reference signal meets a predefined condition), the terminal triggers BFR (indicated by reference numeral 1420= transmitting a transmission failure recovery request to a network device)
A set index of a beam failure detection reference signal (BFD RS) set of the reference signal corresponding to the CORESET group,
Ji [0336] In an embodiment, in case that RS group information or an RS group index (set index of the BFD RS set of the reference signal corresponding to the CORESET group) is configured for an RS referenced in an activated TCI state of a CORESET configured for PDCCH monitoring of a terminal, a base station may configure or implicitly instruct a terminal to include, in the BFD RS set, some or all of RSs included in multiple RS groups.)
Ji [0337] For example, in order to support the case of NC-JT through multiple TRPs, a base station may configure or implicitly indicate the terminal to form one CORESET group.
and the set index of the BFD RS set of the reference signal corresponding to the CORESET group is used for indicating the network device to perform transmission failure recovery on theCORESET group.
Ji [0336] In an embodiment, in case that RS group information or an RS group index (set index of the BFD RS set of the reference signal corresponding to the CORESET group) is configured for an RS referenced in an activated TCI state of a CORESET configured for PDCCH monitoring of a terminal, a base station may configure or implicitly instruct a terminal to include, in the BFD RS set, some or all of RSs included in multiple RS groups.
Ji [0337] For example, in order to support the case of NC-JT through multiple TRPs, a base station may configure or implicitly indicate the terminal to form one CORESET group by grouping CORESETs configured for PDCCHs transmitted from respective TRPs and to form one RS group by grouping RSs referenced in the activated TCI state of the CORESET included in one CORESET group. Here, the base station may instruct the terminal to include, in the BFD RS set, the RSs included in the multiple RS groups, and when joint transmission of multiple TRPs occurs through the coordinated TRP, the base station performs beam failure detection based on the reception performance of the PDCCH transmitted by the multiple TRPs. Therefore, smooth downlink transmission between the multiple TRPs and the terminal are possible.
Ji [0338] Here, the terminal may determine to include, in the BFD RS set, at least one RS for each RS group in multiple configured RS groups . If multiple RSs are included in the RS group, the terminal may select some of the RSs included in the RS group according to the rules for the priority of RSs provided in the second embodiment, or it is also possible for the terminal to randomly select some of the RSs and include the same in the BFD RS set. The rule for selecting some of the RSs included in the specific RS group may be based on a part or all of the CORESET index, the type of the RS, the QCL type of the RS, or the time domain transmission information of the RS.
wherein the reference signal is a part of or all of BFD RSs in the BFD RS set wherein if the network device configures one BFD RS set for the terminal device in a bandwidth part, the reference signal is a part of BFD RSs in the BFD RS set:
or if the network device configures multiple BFD RS sets for the terminal device in a bandwidth part, the reference signal is all of the BFD RSs in one BFD RS set, and a different CORESET group corresponds to a different BFD RS set:
or wherein the reference signal is a reference signal associated with a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state for the CORESET group to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), wherein the CORESET group is a group of CORESETs with same first higher-layer parameter configuration.
Ji [0348] CORESET group #A 1300 includes three CORESETs 1315, 1320, and 1325, which are configured to cause the terminal to receive the PDCCH transmitted from the first TRP,
Ji [0349]; Referring to FIG. 13, in the case where the size of the BFD RS is not limited, CSI-RS #a, CSI-RS #b, and CSI-RS #c, which are RSs referenced in the activated TCI state of CORESET #0 1315, CORESET #1 1320, and CORESET #2 1325 included in CORESET group #A 1300, may form an RS group and thus the BFD RS set may include at least one RS. CSI-RS #d, which is an RS referenced in the activated TCI state of CORESET #3 1330 included in the CORESET group #B 1305, may form one RS group and be included in the BFD RS set, and CSI-RS #e, which is an RS referenced in the activated TCI state of CORESET #4 1335 included in the CORESET group #C 1310, may form one RS group and be included in the BFD RS set.
Ji [0353]; In an embodiment, in case that RS group information or an RS group index is configured for an RS referenced in an activated TCI state of a CORESET configured for PDCCH monitoring of a terminal, a base station may configure or implicitly instruct a terminal to include, in a BFD RS set, some or all of RSs included in multiple RS group.
Ji, Fig. 12 [0329]; Referring to FIG. 12, there is shown a situation in which CORESET group #A 1200 is
configured as a group of CORESETs for causing a terminal to receive a PDCCH transmitted from a first
TRP (first TRP= same higher layer parameter= higher layer parameter value of 0), and in which
CORESET group #B 1205 is configured as a group of CORESETs for causing the terminal to receive a
PDCCH transmitted from a second TRP) (coordinated TRP).
Specification [0061] describes higher layer parameter as “group of CORESETs including the higher-
layer parameter CORESETPoolIndex that have the same value correspond to one TRP,”
Ji does not teach wherein the transmission failure recovery request carries a set index of reference signal.
Guo teaches wherein the transmission failure recovery request carries a set index of reference signal.
Guo, Fig. 13 A [0136]; The UE sends a beam recovery request in a configured UL channel and then increases the number of beam recovery request by one at step 1330.
Guo [0145] In one example, the beam recovery request signal can include a TRP Tx beam recommended by the UE. It can be a NR-SS block index. It can be a CSI-RS resource ID. It can be a {CSI-RS resource ID, CSI-RS antenna port ID or CSI-RS antenna port ID set index}.
In view of Guo, Ji is modified such that transmission failure recovery request carries a set index of
reference signal.
Guo and Ji are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
beam failure recovery method.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ji in a manner described above to substitute the configuration information carried on the recovery request with the set index of reference signal to provide a way to achieve better tradeoff between time resource overhead and beam recovery request transmission efficiency (Guo [0237]).
Regarding claim 11, Ji teaches The method according to claim1, before determining the reference signal corresponding to the CORESET group, further comprising: determining whether transmission failure recovery reporting is performed for a CORESET group;
Ji [0363]; Alternatively, the terminal may individually configure the BFD RS set for each RS group according to the capabilities of the terminal, and may report to the base station as to whether beam failure indication for each BFD RS set can be reported to a higher layer of the terminal (determining whether transmission failure recovery reporting is performed for a CORESET group). Accordingly, the base station may be configured to individually configure the BFD RS set only in the case of receiving a report of individual configuration of the BFD RS set for each RS group by the terminal is possible (determining whether transmission failure recovery reporting is performed before determining the reference signal).
Ji [0310]; For example, in case that grouping of CORESETs configured for the terminal is supported in order to support the case of NC-JT through multiple TRPs, a base station may configure or implicitly instruct the terminal to form one RS group by grouping RSs referenced in the activated TCI state of the CORESET included in one CORESET group. Here, the base station may select an RS group connected to the CORESET group including the CORESET configured to monitor a PDCCH transmitted from a first TRP in order to recognize a beam failure of the PDCCH transmitted from the first TRP (a main TRP or a primary TRP), and thus indicate to the terminal to determine a BFD RS set in the corresponding RS group.
if the transmission failure recovery reporting is determined to be performed for a CORESET group, proceeding with execution of determining the reference signal corresponding to the CORESET group.
Ji [0370]; The higher layer of the terminal may obtain information on whether the beam failure of the
individual RS group (as shown in Ji, Fig. 13 and described in claim 5, the RS group corresponds to the
CORESET Group A) has occurred by reporting the beam failure indication for the
individual BFD RS set. Accordingly, flexible network operation is possible by determining whether to
perform the next process of the BFR in a higher layer in consideration of whether a beam failure for
some or all of the BFD RS sets occurs ( with execution of determining the reference signal
corresponding to the CORESET group A).
Ji [0349] Referring to FIG. 13, in the case where the size of the BFD RS set is not limited, CSI-RS #a, CSI-RS #b, and CSI-RS #c, which are RSs referenced in the activated TCI state of CORESET #0 1315, CORESET #1 1320, and CORESET #2 1325 included in CORESET group #A 1300, may form an RS group and thus the BFD RS set may include at least one RS.
Regarding claim 12, The method according to claim 11, wherein the determining whether the transmission failure recovery reporting is performed for CORESET group comprises at least one of the following:
determining, according to a value of a higher-layer parameter configured by the network device, that transmission failure recovery reporting is performed for a group of CORESETs;
determining, according to the number of beam failure detection reference signal (BFD RS) sets corresponding to a bandwidth part configured by the network device, that transmission failure recovery reporting is performed for a CORESET group;
Ji [0385]; Therefore, the terminal (specifically, the higher layer of the terminal) may determine
whether to trigger the BFR. Specifically, the terminal may determine whether a beam failure has
occurred for all BFD RS sets by considering parameters, such as the number of times of the beam
failure indication report by the terminal, required to trigger the BFR, and the timer setting for
initializing the number of times of the beam failure indication report by the terminal (indicated by
reference numeral 1415).
Ji [0386]; If it is determined that a beam failure has occurred for all BFD RS sets (the number of beam
failure detection reference signal (BFD RS) sets), the terminal triggers BFR
(indicated by reference numeral 1420). Meanwhile, in the disclosure, a case of triggering BFR when it
is determined that a beam failure has occurred for all BFD RS sets is described as an example, but the
scope of the disclosure is not limited thereto. That is, even in the case where it is determined that a
beam failure has occurred for the configuration of the base station or for a predetermined number of
BFD RS sets, the BFR may be triggered.
( Ji, Fig. 13, [0349] Referring to FIG. 13, in the case where the size of the BFD RS set is not limited, CSI-RS #a, CSI-RS #b, and CSI-RS #c, which are RSs referenced in the activated TCI state of CORESET #0 1315, CORESET #1 1320, and CORESET #2 1325 included in CORESET group #A 1300, may form an RS group and thus the BFD RS set may include at least one RS. CSI-RS #d, which is an RS referenced in the activated TCI state of CORESET #3 1330 included in the CORESET group #B 1305, may form one RS group and be included in the BFD RS set, and CSI-RS #e, which is an RS referenced in the activated TCI state of CORESET #4 1335 included in the CORESET group #C 1310, may form one RS group and be included in the BFD RS set. ( failure recovery on the CORESET group.)
Ji [0279]; For example, if a base station and the terminal are to perform signal transmission and reception according to an NR communication system in an unlicensed band, the base station and the terminal may configure four or more CORESETs in one BWP configuration (bandwidth part) to perform a listen before talk (LBT) operation for smooth downlink transmission in a carrier bandwidth. If an LBT bandwidth for performing the LBT operation is smaller than the carrier bandwidth, a CORESET may be configured such that the frequency resources of the CORESET are included in the LBT bandwidth, so as to support a PDCCH transmitted within the LBT bandwidth. The number of CORESETs included in one BWP configuration may be changed according to the size relationship between an LBT bandwidth and a carrier bandwidth. A BFD RS set is configured by RSs, the number of which is smaller than the number of CORESETs, or the size of a BFD RS set is limited to be a particular value, so that a beam failure determination criterion of the terminal is not changed according to the number of CORESETs. Therefore, the reliability of a BFD process and beam failure indication reporting of the terminal can be improved, and an overload applied to a performance due to beam failure detection of the terminal can be lowered.)
or determining, according to the number of higher-layer parameter values for control resource sets CORESETs detected by the terminal device, that transmission failure recovery reporting is performed for a group of CORESETs.
Regarding claim 13, Ji teaches A transmission failure recovery method, applied to a network device (Ji, Fig. 16), comprising: receiving a transmission failure recovery request, wherein the transmission failure recovery request is transmitted by the terminal device, when the terminal device determines that a reference signal corresponding to a control resource set (CORESET) group;
Ji [0008]; An aspect of a method of a terminal is to solve the problems described above, and the detection;
Ji, Fig. 13 [0348]; CORESET group #A 1300 includes three CORESETs 1315, 1320, and 1325, which are configured to cause the terminal to receive the PDCCH transmitted from the first TRP, CORESET group #B 1305 includes one CORESET 1330 configured to cause the terminal to receive the PDCCH transmitted from a coordinated TRP #1, and CORESET group #C 1310 includes one CORESET 1335 configured to cause the terminal to receive the PDCCH transmitted from a coordinated TRP #2. According to the (3-2)th embodiment, the terminal may select at least one RS included in each RS group connected to the individual CORESET group and include the selected RS in the BFD RS set.
Ji [0332] ; Referring to FIG. 12, CSI-RS #a, CSI-RS #b, and CSI-RS #c, which are RSs referenced in the activated TCI state of CORESET #0 1210, CORESET #1 1215, and CORESET #2 1220 included in CORESET group #A 1200, may form an RS group connected to the first CORESET group, and these may be included in the BFD RS set.
Ji, Fig. 14, Ref. 1405, 1410, 1420, [0382]; The terminal may determine a BFD RS set corresponding to a specific number (M) of RS groups, for example, RS group #0, RS group #1, . . . , RS group #M−1, as BFD RS set #0, BFD RS set #1, . . . , BFD RS set #M−1. In addition, the terminal may monitor whether a beam failure for an individual BFD RS set occurs (indicated by reference numeral 1405). Here, the terminal may receive, from the base station, a configuration of monitoring whether the beam failure for the individual BFD RS set occurs.
Ji, Fig. 14, Ref. 1410 [0383]; The terminal may determine whether a beam failure for an individual BFD RS set occurs according to configuration information relating to the beam failure indication report (indicated by reference numeral 1410)
Ji, Fig. 14, Ref. 1420, [0386]; If it is determined that a beam failure has occurred for all BFD RS sets (reference signal meets a predefined condition), the terminal triggers BFR (indicated by reference numeral 1420= transmitting a transmission failure recovery request to a network device)
and the set index of the BFD RS set of the reference signal corresponding to the CORESET group is used for indicating the network device to perform transmission failure recovery on theCORESET group.
Ji [0336] In an embodiment, in case that RS group information or an RS group index (set index of the BFD RS set of the reference signal corresponding to the CORESET group) is configured for an RS referenced in an activated TCI state of a CORESET configured for PDCCH monitoring of a terminal, a base station may configure or implicitly instruct a terminal to include, in the BFD RS set, some or all of RSs included in multiple RS groups.
Ji [0337] For example, in order to support the case of NC-JT through multiple TRPs, a base station may configure or implicitly indicate the terminal to form one CORESET group by grouping CORESETs configured for PDCCHs transmitted from respective TRPs and to form one RS group by grouping RSs referenced in the activated TCI state of the CORESET included in one CORESET group. Here, the base station may instruct the terminal to include, in the BFD RS set, the RSs included in the multiple RS groups, and when joint transmission of multiple TRPs occurs through the coordinated TRP, the base station performs beam failure detection based on the reception performance of the PDCCH transmitted by the multiple TRPs. Therefore, smooth downlink transmission between the multiple TRPs and the terminal are possible.
Ji [0338] Here, the terminal may determine to include, in the BFD RS set, at least one RS for each RS group in multiple configured RS groups . If multiple RSs are included in the RS group, the terminal may select some of the RSs included in the RS group according to the rules for the priority of RSs provided in the second embodiment, or it is also possible for the terminal to randomly select some of the RSs and include the same in the BFD RS set. The rule for selecting some of the RSs included in the specific RS group may be based on a part or all of the CORESET index, the type of the RS, the QCL type of the RS, or the time domain transmission information of the RS.
performing transmission failure recovery on the group of CORESETs according to the transmission failure recovery request.
Ji [0222]; The fourth process of the BFR procedure in the NR system is a process in which the base station having received a BFR request signal of the terminal transmits a response signal to the terminal. Hereinafter, the fourth process may be called a gNB response process. The signaling BeamFailureRecoveryConfig among configuration parameters for BFR includes a search space index for receiving a PDCCH used for transmitting a random access response signal by the base station in response to a BFR request. The base station transmits a PDCCH by using resources in a search space configured for response. If the terminal receives a PDCCH through a search space for receiving the PDCCH, the terminal determines that the BFR procedure is complete ( base transmitting a response of signaling beamFailureRecoveryConfig to UE’s request= perform transmission failure recovery on the group of CORESETs (See explanation of Ji Fig. 13). If the terminal receives a PDCCH through a search space for receiving the PDCCH, the base station may indicate, to the terminal, a new beam configuration for PDCCH or PUCCH transmission.
( Ji, Fig. 13, [0349] Referring to FIG. 13, in the case where the size of the BFD RS set is not limited, CSI-RS #a, CSI-RS #b, and CSI-RS #c, which are RSs referenced in the activated TCI state of CORESET #0 1315, CORESET #1 1320, and CORESET #2 1325 included in CORESET group #A 1300, may form an RS group and thus the BFD RS set may include at least one RS. CSI-RS #d, which is an RS referenced in the activated TCI state of CORESET #3 1330 included in the CORESET group #B 1305, may form one RS group and be included in the BFD RS set, and CSI-RS #e, which is an RS referenced in the activated TCI state of CORESET #4 1335 included in the CORESET group #C 1310, may form one RS group and be included in the BFD RS set. ( failure recovery on the group of CORESETs.)
wherein the reference signal is a part of or all of BFD RSs in the BFD RS set wherein if the network device configures one BFD RS set for the terminal device in a bandwidth part, the reference signal is a part of BFD RSs in the BFD RS set: or if the network device configures multiple BFD RS sets for the terminal device in a bandwidth part, the reference signal is all of the BFD RSs in one BFD RS set, and a different CORESET group corresponds to a different BFD RS set:
or wherein the reference signal is a reference signal associated with a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state for the group of CORESETs to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), wherein the group of CORESETs is a group of CORESETs with same first higher-layer parameter configuration.
Ji [0348] CORESET group #A 1300 includes three CORESETs 1315, 1320, and 1325, which are configured to cause the terminal to receive the PDCCH transmitted from the first TRP,
Ji [0349]; Referring to FIG. 13, in the case where the size of the BFD RS is not limited, CSI-RS #a, CSI-RS #b, and CSI-RS #c, which are RSs referenced in the activated TCI state of CORESET #0 1315, CORESET #1 1320, and CORESET #2 1325 included in CORESET group #A 1300, may form an RS group and thus the BFD RS set may include at least one RS. CSI-RS #d, which is an RS referenced in the activated TCI state of CORESET #3 1330 included in the CORESET group #B 1305, may form one RS group and be included in the BFD RS set, and CSI-RS #e, which is an RS referenced in the activated TCI state of CORESET #4 1335 included in the CORESET group #C 1310, may form one RS group and be included in the BFD RS set.
Ji [0353]; In an embodiment, in case that RS group information or an RS group index is configured for an RS referenced in an activated TCI state of a CORESET configured for PDCCH monitoring of a terminal, a base station may configure or implicitly instruct a terminal to include, in a BFD RS set, some or all of RSs included in multiple RS group.
Ji, Fig. 12 [0329]; Referring to FIG. 12, there is shown a situation in which CORESET group #A 1200 is
configured as a group of CORESETs for causing a terminal to receive a PDCCH transmitted from a first
TRP (first TRP= same higher layer parameter= higher layer parameter value of 0), and in which
CORESET group #B 1205 is configured as a group of CORESETs for causing the terminal to receive a
PDCCH transmitted from a second TRP) (coordinated TRP).
Specification [0061] describes higher layer parameter as “group of CORESETs including the higher-
layer parameter CORESETPoolIndex that have the same value correspond to one TRP,”
Ji does not teach wherein the transmission failure recovery request carries a set index of reference signal.
Guo teaches wherein the transmission failure recovery request carries a set index of reference signal.
Guo, Fig. 13 A [0136]; The UE sends a beam recovery request in a configured UL channel and then increases the number of beam recovery request by one at step 1330.
Guo [0145] In one example, the beam recovery request signal can include a TRP Tx beam recommended by the UE. It can be a NR-SS block index. It can be a CSI-RS resource ID. It can be a {CSI-RS resource ID, CSI-RS antenna port ID or CSI-RS antenna port ID set index}.
In view of Guo, Ji is modified such that transmission failure recovery request carries a set index of
reference signal.
Guo and Ji are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
beam failure recovery method.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ji in a manner described above to substitute the configuration information carried on the recovery request with the set index of reference signal to provide a way to achieve better tradeoff between time resource overhead and beam recovery request transmission efficiency (Guo [0237]).
Regarding claim 14, Ji teaches The method according to claim 13, wherein the performing the transmission failure recovery on the CORESET group according to the transmission failure recovery request comprises: if transmission failure recovery reporting is performed for a CORESET group, performing CORESET-level transmission failure recovery on the CORESET group;
Ji [0363]; Alternatively, the terminal may individually configure the BFD RS set for each RS group according to the capabilities of the terminal, and may report to the base station as to whether beam failure indication for each BFD RS set can be reported to a higher layer of the terminal (determining whether transmission failure recovery reporting is performed for a group of CORESETs). Accordingly, the base station may be configured to individually configure the BFD RS set only in the case of receiving a report of individual configuration of the BFD RS set for each RS group by the terminal is possible (determining whether transmission failure recovery reporting is performed).
Ji [0310]; For example, in case that grouping of CORESETs configured for the terminal is supported in order to support the case of NC-JT through multiple TRPs, a base station may configure or implicitly instruct the terminal to form one RS group by grouping RSs referenced in the activated TCI state of the CORESET included in one CORESET group (CORESET-Level). Here, the base station may select an RS group connected to the CORESET group including the CORESET configured to monitor a PDCCH transmitted from a first TRP in order to recognize a beam failure of the PDCCH transmitted from the first TRP (a main TRP or a primary TRP), and thus indicate to the terminal to determine a BFD RS set in the corresponding RS group.
or if transmission failure recovery reporting is not for a CORESET group, performing cell-level transmission failure recovery on a cell.
Regarding claim 17,Ji teaches A terminal device (Ji, Fig. 15), comprising:
a memory, (Ji, Fig. 15 [0396]; The processor 1505 may store programs and data necessary for the operation of the terminal. In addition, the processor 1505 may store control information or data included in a signal acquired by the terminal. The processor 1505 may include a storage medium such as a ROM, a RAM, a hard disk, a CD-ROM, and a DVD, or a memory configured by a combination of storage media.)
a processor (Ji, Fig. 15, Ref 1505), and a program stored in the memory and running on the processor, (Ji, Fig. 15 [0396]; The processor 1505 may store programs and data necessary for the operation of the terminal) wherein the processor, when executing the program, is configured to implements the following steps:
determine a reference signal corresponding to control resource set (CORESETs) group;
Ji [0008]; An aspect of a method of a terminal is to solve the problems described above, and the detection;
Ji, Fig. 13 [0348]; CORESET group #A 1300 includes three CORESETs 1315, 1320, and 1325, which are configured to cause the terminal to receive the PDCCH transmitted from the first TRP, CORESET group #B 1305 includes one CORESET 1330 configured to cause the terminal to receive the PDCCH transmitted from a coordinated TRP #1, and CORESET group #C 1310 includes one CORESET 1335 configured to cause the terminal to receive the PDCCH transmitted from a coordinated TRP #2. According to the (3-2)th embodiment, the terminal may select at least one RS included in each RS group connected to the individual CORESET group and include the selected RS in the BFD RS set.
transmitting a transmission failure recovery request to a network device if the reference signal meets a predefined condition.
Ji, Fig. 14, Ref. 1405, 1410, 1420, [0382]; The terminal may determine a BFD RS set corresponding to a specific number (M) of RS groups, for example, RS group #0, RS group #1, . . . , RS group #M−1, as BFD RS set #0, BFD RS set #1, . . . , BFD RS set #M−1. In addition, the terminal may monitor whether a beam failure for an individual BFD RS set occurs (indicated by reference numeral 1405). Here, the terminal may receive, from the base station, a configuration of monitoring whether the beam failure for the individual BFD RS set occurs.
Ji, Fig. 14, Ref. 1410 [0383]; The terminal may determine whether a beam failure for an individual BFD RS set occurs according to configuration information relating to the beam failure indication report (indicated by reference numeral 1410)
Ji, Fig. 14, Ref. 1420, [0386]; If it is determined that a beam failure has occurred for all BFD RS sets (reference signal meets a predefined condition), the terminal triggers BFR (indicated by reference numeral 1420= transmitting a transmission failure recovery request to a network device)
A set index of a beam failure detection reference signal (BFD RS) set of the reference signal corresponding to the CORESET group,
Ji [0336] In an embodiment, in case that RS group information or an RS group index (set index of the BFD RS set of the reference signal corresponding to the CORESET group) is configured for an RS referenced in an activated TCI state of a CORESET configured for PDCCH monitoring of a terminal, a base station may configure or implicitly instruct a terminal to include, in the BFD RS set, some or all of RSs included in multiple RS groups.)
Ji [0337] For example, in order to support the case of NC-JT through multiple TRPs, a base station may configure or implicitly indicate the terminal to form one CORESET group.
and the set index of the BFD RS set of the reference signal corresponding to the CORESET group is used for indicating the network device to perform transmission failure recovery on theCORESET group.
Ji [0336] In an embodiment, in case that RS group information or an RS group index (set index of the BFD RS set of the reference signal corresponding to the CORESET group) is configured for an RS referenced in an activated TCI state of a CORESET configured for PDCCH monitoring of a terminal, a base station may configure or implicitly instruct a terminal to include, in the BFD RS set, some or all of RSs included in multiple RS groups.
Ji [0337] For example, in order to support the case of NC-JT through multiple TRPs, a base station may configure or implicitly indicate the terminal to form one CORESET group by grouping CORESETs configured for PDCCHs transmitted from respective TRPs and to form one RS group by grouping RSs referenced in the activated TCI state of the CORESET included in one CORESET group. Here, the base station may instruct the terminal to include, in the BFD RS set, the RSs included in the multiple RS groups, and when joint transmission of multiple TRPs occurs through the coordinated TRP, the base station performs beam failure detection based on the reception performance of the PDCCH transmitted by the multiple TRPs. Therefore, smooth downlink transmission between the multiple TRPs and the terminal are possible.
Ji [0338] Here, the terminal may determine to include, in the BFD RS set, at least one RS for each RS group in multiple configured RS groups . If multiple RSs are included in the RS group, the terminal may select some of the RSs included in the RS group according to the rules for the priority of RSs provided in the second embodiment, or it is also possible for the terminal to randomly select some of the RSs and include the same in the BFD RS set. The rule for selecting some of the RSs included in the specific RS group may be based on a part or all of the CORESET index, the type of the RS, the QCL type of the RS, or the time domain transmission information of the RS.
wherein the reference signal is a part of or all of BFD RSs in the BFD RS set wherein if the network device configures one BFD RS set for the terminal device in a bandwidth part, the reference signal is a part of BFD RSs in the BFD RS set:
or if the network device configures multiple BFD RS sets for the terminal device in a bandwidth part, the reference signal is all of the BFD RSs in one BFD RS set, and a different CORESET group corresponds to a different BFD RS set:
or wherein the reference signal is a reference signal associated with a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state for the CORESET group to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), wherein the CORESET group is a group of CORESETs with same first higher-layer parameter configuration.
Ji [0348] CORESET group #A 1300 includes three CORESETs 1315, 1320, and 1325, which are configured to cause the terminal to receive the PDCCH transmitted from the first TRP,
Ji [0349]; Referring to FIG. 13, in the case where the size of the BFD RS is not limited, CSI-RS #a, CSI-RS #b, and CSI-RS #c, which are RSs referenced in the activated TCI state of CORESET #0 1315, CORESET #1 1320, and CORESET #2 1325 included in CORESET group #A 1300, may form an RS group and thus the BFD RS set may include at least one RS. CSI-RS #d, which is an RS referenced in the activated TCI state of CORESET #3 1330 included in the CORESET group #B 1305, may form one RS group and be included in the BFD RS set, and CSI-RS #e, which is an RS referenced in the activated TCI state of CORESET #4 1335 included in the CORESET group #C 1310, may form one RS group and be included in the BFD RS set.
Ji [0353]; In an embodiment, in case that RS group information or an RS group index is configured for an RS referenced in an activated TCI state of a CORESET configured for PDCCH monitoring of a terminal, a base station may configure or implicitly instruct a terminal to include, in a BFD RS set, some or all of RSs included in multiple RS group.
Ji, Fig. 12 [0329]; Referring to FIG. 12, there is shown a situation in which CORESET group #A 1200 is
configured as a group of CORESETs for causing a terminal to receive a PDCCH transmitted from a first
TRP (first TRP= same higher layer parameter= higher layer parameter value of 0), and in which
CORESET group #B 1205 is configured as a group of CORESETs for causing the terminal to receive a
PDCCH transmitted from a second TRP) (coordinated TRP).
Specification [0061] describes higher layer parameter as “group of CORESETs including the higher-
layer parameter CORESETPoolIndex that have the same value correspond to one TRP,”
Ji does not teach wherein the transmission failure recovery request carries a set index of reference signal.
Guo teaches wherein the transmission failure recovery request carries a set index of reference signal.
Guo, Fig. 13 A [0136]; The UE sends a beam recovery request in a configured UL channel and then increases the number of beam recovery request by one at step 1330.
Guo [0145] In one example, the beam recovery request signal can include a TRP Tx beam recommended by the UE. It can be a NR-SS block index. It can be a CSI-RS resource ID. It can be a {CSI-RS resource ID, CSI-RS antenna port ID or CSI-RS antenna port ID set index}.
In view of Guo, Ji is modified such that transmission failure recovery request carries a set index of
reference signal.
Guo and Ji are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
beam failure recovery method.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ji in a manner described above to substitute the configuration information carried on the recovery request with the set index of reference signal to provide a way to achieve better tradeoff between time resource overhead and beam recovery request transmission efficiency (Guo [0237]).
Regarding claim 20, Ji teaches The terminal device according to claim 17, wherein the transmission failure recovery request indicating the network device to perform the transmission failure recovery on the group of CORESETs comprises at least one of the following manners:
a signal type of the transmission failure recovery request indicates the network device to perform the transmission failure recovery on the group of CORESETs;
a transmission resource of the transmission failure recovery request indicates the network device to perform the transmission failure recovery on the group of CORESETs;
or the transmission failure recovery request carries indication information which is used for indicating the network device to perform the transmission failure recovery on the group of CORESETs.
Ji [0222]; The fourth process of the BFR procedure in the NR system is a process in which the base station having received a BFR request signal of the terminal transmits a response signal to the terminal. Hereinafter, the fourth process may be called a gNB response process. The signaling BeamFailureRecoveryConfig among configuration parameters for BFR includes a search space index for receiving a PDCCH used for transmitting a random access response signal by the base station in response to a BFR request. The base station transmits a PDCCH by using resources in a search space configured for response. If the terminal receives a PDCCH through a search space for receiving the PDCCH, the terminal determines that the BFR procedure is complete ( base transmitting a response of signaling beamFailureRecoveryConfig to UE’s request= transmission failure recovery request is used for indicating the network device to perform transmission failure recovery on the CORESETs). If the terminal receives a PDCCH through a search space for receiving the PDCCH, the base station may indicate, to the terminal, a new beam configuration for PDCCH or PUCCH transmission.
Ji [0238]; For example, information (information for configuring a BFD RS set, or BFD RS configuration information) relating to an RS for beam failure detection or radio link monitoring (RLM), the information being configured for the terminal by the base station (in response to the request sent by terminal), may include at least one of the pieces of information below.
Ji [0245]; a priority of a CSI-RS or an SSB [0246] an indication (this may include at least one of the pieces of information below) relating to an RS group [0247] whether to consider the index of an RS group [0248] whether to make a particular group (e.g. an RS group connected to a main CORESET group) a priority [0249] the index of an RS group having high priority [0250] whether to include at least one RS in each RS group [0251] whether to configure a BFD RS set for each RS group.
( Ji, Fig. 13, [0349] Referring to FIG. 13, in the case where the size of the BFD RS set is not limited, CSI-RS #a, CSI-RS #b, and CSI-RS #c, which are RSs referenced in the activated TCI state of CORESET #0 1315, CORESET #1 1320, and CORESET #2 1325 included in CORESET group #A 1300, may form an RS group and thus the BFD RS set may include at least one RS. CSI-RS #d, which is an RS referenced in the activated TCI state of CORESET #3 1330 included in the CORESET group #B 1305, may form one RS group and be included in the BFD RS set, and CSI-RS #e, which is an RS referenced in the activated TCI state of CORESET #4 1335 included in the CORESET group #C 1310, may form one RS group and be included in the BFD RS set. ( failure recovery on the group of CORESETs.)
Regarding claim 29, Ji teaches A network device, comprising:
a memory, (Ji, Fig. 16, [0402]; The processor 1605 may include a storage medium such as a ROM, a RAM, a hard disk, a CD-ROM, and a DVD, or a memory configured by a combination of storage media.)
a processor (Ji, Fig. 16, Ref. 1605), and a program stored in the memory and running on the processor, (Ji, Fig. 16, [0402]; The processor 1605 may include a storage medium such as a ROM, a RAM, a hard disk, a CD-ROM, and a DVD, or a memory configured by a combination of storage media.)wherein the processor, when executing the program, is configured to perform the method according to claim13 (See the rejection above for claim 13)
Regarding claim 31, A non-transitory processor-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, wherein the computer program is configured to enable the processor to perform the method according to claim1.
(Ji, Fig. 15, [0396] ; The processor 1505 may store programs and data necessary for the operation of the terminal. In addition, the processor 1505 may store control information or data included in a signal acquired by the terminal. The processor 1505 may include a storage medium such as a ROM, a RAM, a hard disk, a CD-ROM, and a DVD, or a memory configured by a combination of storage media.)
Ji [0014]; Moreover, various functions described below can be implemented or supported by one or more computer programs, each of which is formed from computer readable program code and embodied in a computer readable medium. A non-transitory computer readable medium includes media where data can be permanently stored and media where data can be stored and later overwritten, such as a rewritable optical disc or an erasable memory device.
Conclusion
directed to Maryam Emadi whose email is Maryam.emadi1@uspto.gov with telephone number of 703-
756-1834.
Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905.
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478