DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendments filed on 04/07/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-4, 6-12 and 20-28 are currently under examination on the merits.
Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn
Claim Objections
Claim 1, Formula (II) is not clearly presented.
Claim 1 is objected to because “R117” should read “R11”. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6-12 and 20-28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 and 16-21 of copending Application No. 18/040827. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending application claims an silicone formulation comprising a hydroxy-terminated polydiorganosiloxane with chemical formula reading upon instantly claimed formula (II) (see Claim 5), crosslinkers being ketoximino-based silanes with chemical formula reading upon formula (I) (see Claim 1), and other components such as catalyst and filler; and the formulation also has identical skinning time, cracking time, and intended use for sealants, grouting compounds or adhesive. Thus the claimed subject matter as in copending application has all the technical features as recited in the instant claims 1-12 and 20-28. Therefore, it would have been obvious that the instantly claimed invention is unpatentable over the co-pending application No. 18/040827.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-12, 20-21 and 24-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mathew et al (US 5359108, of record, ‘108 hereafter) in view of Hass et al (US 6,413,354, ‘354 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1-4, ‘108 discloses a silicone formulation comprising a hydroxy-terminated polydiorganosiloxane (Examples 1-9); a first crosslinker being methyl (tris(methyl amyl ketoximino) silane (Example 9) satisfying presently claimed formula (I), wherein a is 0, b is 1, c is 3, R2 is methyl being a monovalent hydrocarbon having 1 carbon atom, R3 is a hydrogen, R4 is a methyl; and a second silane crosslinker being tetrafunctional alkoxy-ketoxime silane (such as tetrakis(methyl isobutyl ketoximino) silane as in Example 9), but does not specifically name a silane satisfying chemical formula (II) as in claim 1. However, in the same field of endeavor, ‘354 discloses a silicone formulation comprising a hydroxy-terminated polydiorganosiloxane (C2/L7-L20, C3/L9-L25), a crosslinking agent being methyl trimethyloxysilane, vinyl trimethyloxysilane, methyl triethyloxysilane or the like, satisfying presently claimed formula II, or/and a tetrafunctional alkoxy-ketoxime silane to provide sufficient crosslinking for the silicone resin (C4/L7-L30). In view of ‘345’s recognition that methyl trimethyloxysilane, vinyl trimethyloxysilane and tetrafunctional alkoxy-ketoxime silane are equivalent and interchangeable, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute tetrafunctional alkoxy-ketoxime silane with methyl trimethyloxy silane or vinyl trimethyloxysilane, thereby arriving at the presently claimed invention. Case law holds that the mere substitution of an equivalent (something equal in value or meaning, as taught by analogous prior art) is not an act of invention; where equivalency is known to the prior art, the substitution of one equivalent for another is not patentable. See MPEP 2144.06". ‘345 also discloses that the silicone formulation further include an organometal catalyst (C4/L31-L44, 0.1 wt% as in Examples ) and a filler with amount such as 10 wt% as needed (C3/L60-C4/L6, Example 3), satisfying present claims 2, 9, 21 and 24-25.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, modified ‘108 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, ‘108 also discloses that the weight ratio of second crosslinker to the first crosslinked is 3 (Example 8), and the mixture of hydroxyl terminated polysiloxane with the crosslinker would render the polysiloxane being partially end-capped with the crosslinker during mixing step (See Examples 1-9).
Regarding claims 10 and 26-28, ‘108 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but ‘108 does not expressly set forth the silicone formulation has skinning time or/and early cracking time as presently claimed. However, ‘108 discloses a silicone formulation having hydroxy-terminated polydiorganosiloxane and two crosslinkers being substantially identical to the silicone formulation as presently claimed, it is reasonable to expect that the silicone formulation of ‘108 has the same characteristics as that of the presently claimed silicone formulation, including the skinning time and early cracking time as claimed, in absence of an objective showing to the contrary (See MPEP 2112).
Regarding claim 11, ‘108 also discloses a cured silicone (Examples 1-9, C6/L5-C8/L2).
Regarding claims 12 and 20, ‘108 also discloses that the silicone formulation can be used as a sealant or an adhesive, wherein the method of using it naturally comprising steps of providing silicon formulation and applying silicon on a substrate ([C6/L65-C8/L2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 22-23 would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The reason for the allowance is that prior art of record does not specifically disclose, teach or fairly suggest a composition as recited in the present claim1, wherein the formula II satisfying present claim 6 or claims 22-23.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection in light of Applicant's amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782