DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s RCE filed 1/20/26 is acknowledged.
Claim 25 was amended.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, and 19-27 are pending.
Applicant’s amendments to claim 25 has overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 11/25/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claims (pages 6-7) in a reply filed 1/20/2026 have been considered but are moot because the arguments are based on newly changed limitations in the amendment and new ground of rejections using newly introduced references or a newly introduced portion of an existing reference are applied in the current rejection.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 8, 19-22, and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoryaev et al. US 20200053675 (hereinafter “Khoryaev”) in view of Selvanesan et al. US 20210160014 (hereinafter “Selvanesan”) and in further view of Park et al. US 20230262660 (hereinafter “Park”)
As to claim 1 and 19 (claim 19 is the method claim for the UE in claim 1):
Khoryaev discloses:
A user equipment (UE) comprising a processor configured to: blindly decode, in accordance with a resource pool configuration, a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), (“the R15 UEs 102 may need to perform two blind decodes (one assuming 16QAM format and one assuming 64QAM format) for MCS indexes corresponding to 64QAM modulation, given that R15 receiver does not know whether this is a 16QAM transmission from R14 UE 102 or actual 64QAM transmission from R15 UE 102.”, Khoryaev [0179]) (“In cases in which resource pools are shared by R14 UEs 102 and R15 UEs 102, control signaling may be used to differentiate R14 and R15 transmissions for high order modulations. This may help to avoid usage of dual blind decoding behavior for R15 UEs 102, in some cases. Non-limiting examples of such control signaling are given below.”, Khoryaev [0183]) (“In some embodiments, the UE 102 may transmit a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) that includes the SCI. Embodiments are not limited to usage of the PSCCH, however, as the UE 102 may transmit other elements that include the SCI, in some embodiments.”, Khoryaev [0104])(“ the R15 UEs 102 may need to perform two blind decodes (one assuming 16QAM format and one assuming 64QAM format) for MCS indexes corresponding to 64QAM modulation, given that R15 receiver does not know whether this is a 16QAM transmission from R14 UE 102 or actual 64QAM transmission from R15 UE 102. In order to remove this ambiguity, signaling (explicit or implicit) may be used. In case of explicit signaling, one or more reserved fields of SCI Format 1 may be used to indicate interpretation of MCS index to R15 UEs 102. As an alternative, the UE 102 may transmit two SCIs directed to R14 and R15+ UEs 102.”, Khoryaev [0179])
wherein the resource pool configuration comprises indications of resource pool partitioning and associations between the resource pool partitioning and sidelink (SL) component carrier groups, (CCGs); (“If multiple sidelink CCs are aggregated, the sensing and resource selection procedure may operate across a preconfigured group of sidelink CCs. In this case, the PSCCH/PSSCH resource pool may be defined across the group of sidelink CCs (that is, a common pool across the group of carriers). In some embodiments, the resource configuration may be CC specific.”, Khoryaev [0130]) (“In some embodiments, sidelink CCs may) have different configurations in terms of resource configuration. For instance, a resource pool configuration (such as a number of sub-channels per CC, a number of PRBs per sub-channel and/or other) may differ from one CC to another CC.”, Khoryaev [0134]
and decode (“In some embodiments, the UE 102 may estimate an amount of occupied resources based on one or more SCIs (and/or SCI decode operations) and may calculate a ratio of occupied resources to an amount of resources available at a certain time interval.”, Khoryaev [0106]) a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (“In some embodiments, the UE 102 may transmit a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) that includes the SCI.”, Khoryaev [0104]) in an allocated resource of the cross scheduled SL CC; (“In some embodiments, sidelink cross-carrier scheduling may be enabled when multiple CCs are allocated for sidelink V2V communication. In this case, the control and data transmissions can be transmitted on the same or different CCs in accordance with various techniques.”, Khoryaev [0135])
Khoryaev as described above does not explicitly teach:
obtain, based on the blind decode, a destination identifier (ID) and sidelink cross-scheduling information,
wherein the sidelink cross-scheduling information comprises a SL carrier indication field (SL-CIF), wherein the SL-CIF is obtained in sidelink control information (SCI) format 1-A or SCI format 2-A;
determine whether the destination ID matches the UE; if the destination ID matches the UE, then: select, based on the SL-CIF and based on the resource pool partition where the PSCCH has been successfully decoded by the UE, a cross scheduled SL component carrier (CC) from among a plurality of SL CCs;
However, Selvanesan further teaches blindly decoding based on specified SCI format to verify UE identification and determining scheduling for the UE which includes:
obtain, based on the blind decode, a destination identifier (ID) and sidelink cross-scheduling information, (“FIG. 11 illustrates a SCI format modified in accordance with embodiments of the present invention for scheduling unicast/groupcast transmissions using HARQ over the sidelink. At 406 the additional information provided in the SCI as indicated, namely the source UE ID, like the RNTI, the destination UE ID, like the RNTI, or the group destination ID, the HARQ process ID of the source UE, the new data indicator, and the redundancy versions. The destination IDs may be signaled explicitly or may be signaled implicitly by CRC scrambling, such that the receiving UE recognizes its SCIs by blind decoding and comparing to the descrambled check sum by using its own ID.”, Selvanesan [0208]) (FIG. 10 and 11 shows SCI format 1 and 2 fields for scheduling sidelink devices, Selvanesan)
wherein the sidelink cross-scheduling information comprises a SL carrier indication field (SL-CIF), wherein the SL-CIF is obtained in sidelink control information (SCI) format 1-A or SCI format 2-A; (FIG. 10 shows carrier indicator and SCI format 2A fields for scheduling of PSSCH and FIG. 11 shows SCI format 1 and 2 fields, Selvanesan) (“FIG. 14 illustrates a SCI format modified in accordance with embodiments of the present invention for HARQ feedback reporting for a unicast transmission, and, as is indicated at 410, the modified SCI format 2A now includes fields referring to the source UE ID, for example, the RNTI, and to the HARQ feedback. The field referring to the source UE ID in SCI format 2A may also be signaled implicitly by CRC scrambling, such that the source UE ID discovers a corresponding SCI by blind decoding with its own UE ID.”, Selvanesan [0219])
Khoryaev and Selvanesan are analogous because they pertain to sidelink scheduling for UE.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include blindly decoding based on specified SCI format to verify UE identification and determining scheduling for the UE as described in Selvanesan into Khoryaev. By modifying the method to include blindly decoding based on specified SCI format to verify UE identification and determining scheduling for the UE as taught by Selvanesan, the benefits of multi-carrier compatibility (Khoryaev [0189] and Selvanesan [0005]) are achieved.
The combination of Khoryaev and Selvanesan as described above does not explicitly teach:
determine whether the destination ID matches the UE; if the destination ID matches the UE, then: select, based on the SL-CIF and based on the resource pool partition where the PSCCH has been successfully decoded by the UE, a cross scheduled SL component carrier (CC) from among a plurality of SL CCs;
However, Park further teaches sidelink cross scheduling with carrier information indicator obtained in SCI format which includes:
determine whether the destination ID matches the UE; if the destination ID matches the UE, then: select, based on the SL-CIF and based on the resource pool partition where the PSCCH has been successfully decoded by the UE, a cross scheduled SL component carrier (CC) from among a plurality of SL CCs; (“The NR V2X UEs may obtain information about the source ID and destination ID for NR V2X unicast communication in the above-mentioned service discovery process.”, Park [0105]) (“The SCI may include at least one of resource allocation information used for transmission of the sidelink data, modulation and coding scheme (MCS) information applied to the sidelink data, group destination ID information, source ID information, unicast destination ID information, power control information of sidelink power control, timing advance (TA) information, DMRS configuration information for sidelink transmission, packet repetitive transmission-related information (e.g., the number of packet repetitive transmissions, resource allocation-related information upon packet repetitive transmission, redundancy version (RV), and HARQ process ID).”, Park [0138]) (“The destination ID is an ID for identifying the reception UE of the PSSCH transmitted by the V2X transmission UE. The source ID is an ID for identifying the transmission UE of the PSSCH transmitted by the V2X transmission UE. The method may be subdivided into the following methods depending on whether the source ID is used or the destination ID is used to identify the start PRB index of PSFCH.”, Park [0214]) (“In the example of FIG. 25, the context in which the carrier where the PSCCH signal is transmitted/received and the carrier in which the PSSCH signal is transmitted/received are the same is exemplified but, without limitations thereto, the carrier where the PSCCH signal is transmitted/received and the carrier where the PSSCH signal is transmitted/received may differ from each other. This may be determined by control information (or configuration information) or UE capability information or a combination of some thereof. As an example, it may be possible to indicate the carrier where the PSSCH signal is to be transmitted/received by the SCI specific field in the SCI format or to previously designate a carrier where the PSSCH signal is transmitted/received for the carrier where the PSCCH signal is transmitted/received, when configuring resource pool-related control information (or configuration information).”, Park [0446]) (“When PSSCH and PSCCH belong to different carriers, this is referred to as cross-carrier scheduling, and carrier information for cross-carrier scheduling may be determined by the control information (or configuration information). As an example, the carrier indicator information for cross-carrier scheduling may be included in the SCI format, and it may also indicate the carrier where PSCCH is transmitted/received.”, Park [0447]) (“Referring to FIG. 25, a UE may be able to receive PSSCH signals through a sidelink channel present in one or more carriers (or cells). The embodiment of FIG. 25 shows a context in which the PSSCH signals 2511, 2513, and 2515 transmitted/received on three carriers CC #1, CC #2, and CC #3 are scheduled through PSCCH signals 2501, 2503, and 2505 transmitted/received on the respective carriers. The three carriers CC #1, CC #2, and CC #3 are an example, and the number of carriers may be increased/decreased as compared with that in the example of FIG. 25.”, Park [0445]) (“For example, the embodiment of FIG. 26 illustrates a case where PSCCH signal 2601 transmitted/received on one carrier CC #1 schedules a plurality of PSSCH signals 2611, 2613, and 2615 transmitted/received on a plurality of carriers CC #1, CC #2, and CC #3. In this case, a plurality of PSSCHs may be scheduled by one SCI format, or a plurality of PSSCHs may be scheduled by individual SCI formats in one carrier.”, Park [0447])
Khoryaev, Selvanesan, and Park are analogous because they pertain to sidelink scheduling for UE.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include sidelink cross scheduling with carrier information indicator obtained in SCI format as described in Park into Khoryaev as modified by Selvanesan. By modifying the method to include sidelink cross scheduling with carrier information indicator obtained in SCI format as taught by Park, the benefits of multi-carrier compatibility (Khoryaev [0189], Park [0446-0447], and Selvanesan [0005]) are achieved.
As to claim 2 and 20 (claim 20 is the method claim for the UE in claim 2):
Khoryaev discloses:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the SL CCGs include a plurality of SL CCs. (FIG. 10 shows component carrier group with multiple component carriers, Khoryaev)
As to claim 3 and 24 (claim 24 is the method claim for the UE in claim 3):
Khoryaev as described above does not explicitly teach:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to: determine whether SL-CIF operation is enabled; determine the cross scheduled SL CC based on the SL cross-scheduling information if SL-CIF operation is enabled; and determine the cross scheduled CC based on where PSCCH is successfully decoded by the UE if SL-CIF operation is not enabled.
However, Kim further teaches determining cross scheduling based on CIF which includes:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to: determine whether if (“Whether to perform the cross carrier scheduling may be UE-specifically activated or deactivated and semi-statically known for each terminal through the upper-layer signaling (for example, RRC signaling).”, Kim [0232]) (“When the cross carrier scheduling is activated, a carrier indicator field (CIF) indicating through which DL/UL CC the PDSCH/PUSCH the PDSCH/PUSCH indicated by the corresponding PDCCH is transmitted is required. For example, the PDCCH may allocate the PDSCH resource or the PUSCH resource to one of multiple component carriers by using the CIF. That is, the CIF is set when the PDSCH or PUSCH resource is allocated to one of DL/UL CCs in which the PDCCH on the DL CC is multiply aggregated. In this case, a DCI format of LTE-A Release-8 may extend according to the CIF. In this case, the set CIF may be fixed to a 3-bit field and the position of the set CIF may be fixed regardless of the size of the DCI format. Further, a PDCCH structure (the same coding and the same CCE based resource mapping) of the LTE-A Release-8 may be reused.”, Kim [0233]) and determine the cross scheduled CC based on where PSCCH is successfully decoded by the UE if (“ When the cross carrier scheduling is deactivated, the deactivation of the cross carrier scheduling means that the PDCCH monitoring set continuously means the terminal DL CC set and in this case, an indication such as separate signaling for the PDCCH monitoring set is not required.”, Kim [0237])
Khoryaev and Kim are analogous because they pertain to cross carrier scheduling for UE.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include determining cross scheduling based on CIF as described in Kim into Khoryaev. By modifying the method to include determining cross scheduling based on CIF as taught by Kim, the benefits of multi-carrier compatibility (Khoryaev [0189] and Kim [0233]) are achieved.
The combination of Khoryaev and Kim as described above does not explicitly teach SL-CIF for PSCCH
However, Park further teaches SL-CIF for PSCCH which includes:
SL-CIF for PSCCH (“The NR V2X UEs may obtain information about the source ID and destination ID for NR V2X unicast communication in the above-mentioned service discovery process.”, Park [0105]) (“The SCI may include at least one of resource allocation information used for transmission of the sidelink data, modulation and coding scheme (MCS) information applied to the sidelink data, group destination ID information, source ID information, unicast destination ID information, power control information of sidelink power control, timing advance (TA) information, DMRS configuration information for sidelink transmission, packet repetitive transmission-related information (e.g., the number of packet repetitive transmissions, resource allocation-related information upon packet repetitive transmission, redundancy version (RV), and HARQ process ID).”, Park [0138]) (“The destination ID is an ID for identifying the reception UE of the PSSCH transmitted by the V2X transmission UE. The source ID is an ID for identifying the transmission UE of the PSSCH transmitted by the V2X transmission UE. The method may be subdivided into the following methods depending on whether the source ID is used or the destination ID is used to identify the start PRB index of PSFCH.”, Park [0214]) (“In the example of FIG. 25, the context in which the carrier where the PSCCH signal is transmitted/received and the carrier in which the PSSCH signal is transmitted/received are the same is exemplified but, without limitations thereto, the carrier where the PSCCH signal is transmitted/received and the carrier where the PSSCH signal is transmitted/received may differ from each other. This may be determined by control information (or configuration information) or UE capability information or a combination of some thereof. As an example, it may be possible to indicate the carrier where the PSSCH signal is to be transmitted/received by the SCI specific field in the SCI format or to previously designate a carrier where the PSSCH signal is transmitted/received for the carrier where the PSCCH signal is transmitted/received, when configuring resource pool-related control information (or configuration information).”, Park [0446]) (“When PSSCH and PSCCH belong to different carriers, this is referred to as cross-carrier scheduling, and carrier information for cross-carrier scheduling may be determined by the control information (or configuration information). As an example, the carrier indicator information for cross-carrier scheduling may be included in the SCI format, and it may also indicate the carrier where PSCCH is transmitted/received.”, Park [0447]) (“Referring to FIG. 25, a UE may be able to receive PSSCH signals through a sidelink channel present in one or more carriers (or cells). The embodiment of FIG. 25 shows a context in which the PSSCH signals 2511, 2513, and 2515 transmitted/received on three carriers CC #1, CC #2, and CC #3 are scheduled through PSCCH signals 2501, 2503, and 2505 transmitted/received on the respective carriers. The three carriers CC #1, CC #2, and CC #3 are an example, and the number of carriers may be increased/decreased as compared with that in the example of FIG. 25.”, Park [0445]) (“For example, the embodiment of FIG. 26 illustrates a case where PSCCH signal 2601 transmitted/received on one carrier CC #1 schedules a plurality of PSSCH signals 2611, 2613, and 2615 transmitted/received on a plurality of carriers CC #1, CC #2, and CC #3. In this case, a plurality of PSSCHs may be scheduled by one SCI format, or a plurality of PSSCHs may be scheduled by individual SCI formats in one carrier.”, Park [0447])
Khoryaev, Kim, and Park are analogous because they pertain to cross carrier scheduling for UE.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include SL-CIF for PSCCH as described in Park into Khoryaev as modified by Kim. By modifying the method to include SL-CIF for PSCCH as taught by Vargas, the benefits of multi-carrier compatibility (Khoryaev [0189], Park [0446-0447], and Kim [0233]) are achieved.
As to claim 5 and 21 (claim 21 is the method claim for the UE in claim 5):
Khoryaev discloses:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the SL CC is activated or deactivated via PSSCH or PSCCH. (“In some embodiments, the UE 102 may transmit a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) that includes the SCI.”, Khoryaev [0104]) (“In some embodiments, sidelink cross-carrier scheduling may be enabled when multiple CCs are allocated for sidelink V2V communication. In this case, the control and data transmissions can be transmitted on the same or different CCs in accordance with various techniques.”, Khoryaev [0135])
As to claim 7 and 22 (claim 22 is the method claim for the UE in claim 7):
Khoryaev discloses:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the SL CC is activated or deactivated via sidelink medium access control (MAC), MAC control element (CE), or PC5-MAC. (“The communication circuitry 500 may include protocol processing circuitry 505, which may implement one or more of medium access control (MAC)”, Khoryaev [0064]) (“In some embodiments, sidelink cross-carrier scheduling may be enabled when multiple CCs are allocated for sidelink V2V communication. In this case, the control and data transmissions can be transmitted on the same or different CCs in accordance with various techniques.”, Khoryaev [0135])
As to claim 8 and 25 (claim 25 is the method claim for the UE in claim 8):
The combination of Khoryaev and Kim as described above does not explicitly teach:
The UE of claim 1, wherein: the processor is configured to select, based on a SL carrier group indication field (SL-CGIF) comprised in the PSCCH and where the PSCCH is successfully decoded by the UE, the cross scheduled SL CC from among the SL CCs.
However, Park further teaches selecting SL CCs based on carrier indicator which includes:
The UE of claim 1, wherein: the processor is configured to select, based on a SL carrier group indication field (SL-CGIF) comprised in the PSCCH and where the PSCCH is successfully decoded by the UE, the cross scheduled SL CC from among the SL CCs. (“The NR V2X UEs may obtain information about the source ID and destination ID for NR V2X unicast communication in the above-mentioned service discovery process.”, Park [0105]) (“The SCI may include at least one of resource allocation information used for transmission of the sidelink data, modulation and coding scheme (MCS) information applied to the sidelink data, group destination ID information, source ID information, unicast destination ID information, power control information of sidelink power control, timing advance (TA) information, DMRS configuration information for sidelink transmission, packet repetitive transmission-related information (e.g., the number of packet repetitive transmissions, resource allocation-related information upon packet repetitive transmission, redundancy version (RV), and HARQ process ID).”, Park [0138]) (“The destination ID is an ID for identifying the reception UE of the PSSCH transmitted by the V2X transmission UE. The source ID is an ID for identifying the transmission UE of the PSSCH transmitted by the V2X transmission UE. The method may be subdivided into the following methods depending on whether the source ID is used or the destination ID is used to identify the start PRB index of PSFCH.”, Park [0214]) (“In the example of FIG. 25, the context in which the carrier where the PSCCH signal is transmitted/received and the carrier in which the PSSCH signal is transmitted/received are the same is exemplified but, without limitations thereto, the carrier where the PSCCH signal is transmitted/received and the carrier where the PSSCH signal is transmitted/received may differ from each other. This may be determined by control information (or configuration information) or UE capability information or a combination of some thereof. As an example, it may be possible to indicate the carrier where the PSSCH signal is to be transmitted/received by the SCI specific field in the SCI format or to previously designate a carrier where the PSSCH signal is transmitted/received for the carrier where the PSCCH signal is transmitted/received, when configuring resource pool-related control information (or configuration information).”, Park [0446]) (“When PSSCH and PSCCH belong to different carriers, this is referred to as cross-carrier scheduling, and carrier information for cross-carrier scheduling may be determined by the control information (or configuration information). As an example, the carrier indicator information for cross-carrier scheduling may be included in the SCI format, and it may also indicate the carrier where PSCCH is transmitted/received.”, Park [0447]) (“Referring to FIG. 25, a UE may be able to receive PSSCH signals through a sidelink channel present in one or more carriers (or cells). The embodiment of FIG. 25 shows a context in which the PSSCH signals 2511, 2513, and 2515 transmitted/received on three carriers CC #1, CC #2, and CC #3 are scheduled through PSCCH signals 2501, 2503, and 2505 transmitted/received on the respective carriers. The three carriers CC #1, CC #2, and CC #3 are an example, and the number of carriers may be increased/decreased as compared with that in the example of FIG. 25.”, Park [0445]) (“For example, the embodiment of FIG. 26 illustrates a case where PSCCH signal 2601 transmitted/received on one carrier CC #1 schedules a plurality of PSSCH signals 2611, 2613, and 2615 transmitted/received on a plurality of carriers CC #1, CC #2, and CC #3. In this case, a plurality of PSSCHs may be scheduled by one SCI format, or a plurality of PSSCHs may be scheduled by individual SCI formats in one carrier.”, Park [0447])
Khoryaev, Kim, and Park are analogous because they pertain to cross carrier scheduling for UE.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include selecting SL CCs based on carrier indicator as described in Park into Khoryaev as modified by Kim. By modifying the method to include selecting SL CCs based on carrier indicator as taught by Park, the benefits of multi-carrier compatibility (Khoryaev [0189], Park [0446-0447], and Kim [0233]) are achieved.
As to claim 26:
Khoryaev as described above does not explicitly teach:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to receive configuration information indicating SCI format 1-A or SCI format 2-A for the SL-CIF.
However, Selvanesan further teaches blindly decoding based on specified SCI format to verify UE identification and determining scheduling for the UE which includes:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to receive configuration information indicating SCI format 1-A or SCI format 2-A for the SL-CIF. (“In accordance with further embodiments, a direct SCI format including the source UE ID and the HARQ feedback may be provided. The feedback may be provided using an SCI format modified in accordance with embodiments of the present invention so as to include the HARQ feedback and the source UE ID which allows the transmitter or source UE to uniquely identify the feedback based on its ID and the feedback transmission time. FIG. 14 illustrates a SCI format modified in accordance with embodiments of the present invention for HARQ feedback reporting for a unicast transmission, and, as is indicated at 410, the modified SCI format 2A now includes fields referring to the source UE ID, for example, the RNTI, and to the HARQ feedback. The field referring to the source UE ID in SCI format 2A may also be signaled implicitly by CRC scrambling, such that the source UE ID discovers a corresponding SCI by blind decoding with its own UE ID.”, Selvanesan [0219]) (FIG. 10 shows carrier indicator and SCI format 2A fields for scheduling of PSSCH and FIG. 11 shows SCI format 1 and 2 fields, Selvanesan)
Khoryaev and Selvanesan are analogous because they pertain to sidelink scheduling for UE.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include blindly decoding based on specified SCI format to verify UE identification and determining scheduling for the UE as described in Selvanesan into Khoryaev. By modifying the method to include blindly decoding based on specified SCI format to verify UE identification and determining scheduling for the UE as taught by Selvanesan, the benefits of multi-carrier compatibility (Khoryaev [0189] and Selvanesan [0005]) are achieved.
As to claim 27:
Khoryaev as described above does not explicitly teach:
The method of claim 19, further comprising receiving configuration information indicating SCI format 1-A or SCI format 2-A for the SL-CIF.
However, Selvanesan further teaches blindly decoding based on specified SCI format to verify UE identification and determining scheduling for the UE which includes:
The method of claim 19, further comprising receiving configuration information indicating SCI format 1-A or SCI format 2-A for the SL-CIF. (“In accordance with further embodiments, a direct SCI format including the source UE ID and the HARQ feedback may be provided. The feedback may be provided using an SCI format modified in accordance with embodiments of the present invention so as to include the HARQ feedback and the source UE ID which allows the transmitter or source UE to uniquely identify the feedback based on its ID and the feedback transmission time. FIG. 14 illustrates a SCI format modified in accordance with embodiments of the present invention for HARQ feedback reporting for a unicast transmission, and, as is indicated at 410, the modified SCI format 2A now includes fields referring to the source UE ID, for example, the RNTI, and to the HARQ feedback. The field referring to the source UE ID in SCI format 2A may also be signaled implicitly by CRC scrambling, such that the source UE ID discovers a corresponding SCI by blind decoding with its own UE ID.”, Selvanesan [0219]) (FIG. 10 shows carrier indicator and SCI format 2A fields for scheduling of PSSCH and FIG. 11 shows SCI format 1 and 2 fields, Selvanesan)
Khoryaev and Selvanesan are analogous because they pertain to sidelink scheduling for UE.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include blindly decoding based on specified SCI format to verify UE identification and determining scheduling for the UE as described in Selvanesan into Khoryaev. By modifying the method to include blindly decoding based on specified SCI format to verify UE identification and determining scheduling for the UE as taught by Selvanesan, the benefits of multi-carrier compatibility (Khoryaev [0189] and Selvanesan [0005]) are achieved.
Claim(s) 9 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoryaev in view of Selvanesan and Park, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Guo US 20200029318 (hereinafter “Guo”)
As to claim 9 and 23 (claim 23 is the method claim for the UE in claim 9):
The combination of Khoryaev, Selvanesan, and Park as described above does not explicitly teach:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the destination ID is a Layer 1 destination ID or a Layer 2 destination ID
However, Guo further teaches layer-1 destination ID which includes:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the destination ID is a Layer 1 destination ID or a Layer 2 destination ID (“In one example, a UE can be configured with SCFI format 1 for the HARQ feedback for unicast PSSCH transmission and a UE can be configured with SCFI format 2 for the HARQ feedback for a groupcast PSSCH transmission. And the UE can be requested to choose proper SCFI format according the transmission configuration of a PSSCH. For a PSSCH that is unicast transmission, i.e., the corresponding SCI contain a layer-1 destination ID that identify that receiver UE, the receiver UE can be requested to choose SCFI format 1 to transmit in the configured sidelink feedback channel.”, Guo [0454])
Khoryaev, Selvanesan, Guo, and Park are analogous because they pertain to cross carrier scheduling for UE.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include layer-1 destination ID as described in Guo into Khoryaev as modified by Selvanesan and Park. By modifying the method to include layer-1 destination ID as taught by Guo, the benefits of multi-carrier compatibility (Khoryaev [0189], Park [0446-0447], Guo [Table 2], and Selvanesan [0005]) are achieved.
Conclusion
/A.C.K./
Examiner
Art Unit 2471
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471